What are the differences between Scoold open source, Scoold Pro, and Scoold Cloud?
Scoold comes in three editions that differ mainly in who runs the infrastructure and how much functionality you get: the open source edition (Apache 2.0, self-hosted, free to download), Scoold Pro (premium features, still self-hosted, no per-seat fees), and Scoold Cloud (a managed deployment for teams that don't want to run it themselves). If you want full data ownership and don't need premium features, open source is enough. If you need advanced capabilities but must keep data on your own infrastructure, Pro is the middle path. If you'd rather not operate anything, Cloud is the option — but you'll need to check the official pricing page for current figures, since the site doesn't publish them in the material available here.
The three editions at a glance
| Open Source | Scoold Pro | Scoold Cloud | |
|---|---|---|---|
| License / model | Apache 2.0 | Premium version of the same product | Managed hosting of Scoold |
| Who runs it | You (on-premises or any cloud) | You (on-premises or any cloud) | Scoold (hosted) |
| Cost structure | Free to download | Premium, no per-seat fees, no surprises | Not stated in available material |
| Data ownership | Full — your infrastructure, your rules | Full — your infrastructure, your rules | Hosted by the vendor |
| Best for | Teams that want a free, self-controlled Q&A/knowledge base | Teams needing premium features without giving up self-hosting | Teams that want Scoold without operating it |
The site's own framing is that Scoold is "available as open source or a premium version — Scoold Pro," and that Pro comes with "premium features without gotchas — no per-seat fees, no surprises." Scoold Cloud is presented as a separate deployment path ("Deploy Scoold in minutes on Scoold Cloud!").
Open source: what you actually get
The open source edition is not a stripped-down demo. Based on the site, it includes the core platform capabilities:
- Full-text search — every question, answer, and comment is indexed.
- Enterprise SSO — LDAP, SAML 2.0, OAuth 2.0, and SCIM support.
- Reputation & badges — points, achievement badges, and leaderboards.
- On-premises deployment — as a Docker container, to any cloud provider, as a JAR, or as a native executable.
- REST API — for integrations and automations (an MCP server is listed as coming soon).
- Multiple spaces — separate areas for teams, departments, or projects from one instance.
- Backup & restore — import and export your data at any time.
Because it's Apache 2.0, you can download it and self-host without a license fee. The trade-off is operational: you handle deployment, upgrades, and infrastructure.
Scoold Pro: premium features, same self-hosting model
Pro is the paid tier of the same self-hosted product. The distinguishing claims on the site are about pricing philosophy rather than a feature list: no per-seat fees and no surprise costs. That matters for budgeting — a per-seat model scales with headcount, while a flat premium license doesn't.
What the available material does not specify is the exact feature delta between open source and Pro, or Pro's price. Those details live on the official pricing page, which is the only reliable source for current numbers.
Scoold Cloud: managed deployment
Cloud is the option for teams that want Scoold's functionality without running the infrastructure. The site positions it as a fast path ("Deploy Scoold in minutes on Scoold Cloud!"). The trade-off is the usual one for managed services: you give up some control over where data lives in exchange for not operating the stack.
The material provided doesn't state Cloud's pricing, plan limits, or whether it includes Pro features. Treat those as open questions to resolve on the pricing page.
How to choose
- Choose open source if Apache 2.0 licensing, self-hosting, and the core feature set (search, SSO, reputation, REST API, spaces) cover your needs and you have the capacity to run it.
- Choose Pro if you need premium functionality but data residency or compliance requires self-hosting — and the no-per-seat-fee model fits your budget better than per-user pricing.
- Choose Cloud if you want Scoold without operating it and are comfortable with vendor-hosted data.
What to verify before deciding
The site's marketing pages don't publish prices or a full open-source-vs-Pro feature matrix. Before committing:
- Open the official pricing page for current costs and plan details.
- Confirm exactly which features are Pro-only versus included in open source.
- For Cloud, check data location, backup policy, and whether Pro features are bundled.
- If you're evaluating self-hosting, confirm your deployment target is supported (Docker, cloud, JAR, or native executable are all listed).
Scoold reports 1000+ instances deployed, 5M+ Docker Hub downloads, and a 4.9/5 customer satisfaction figure — useful context for maturity, but not a substitute for checking the specifics that matter to your team.