What does Federation University offer international students?
Updated
Federation University's website frames its offer to international students around one idea: you are not just there for a degree, but for a career path. The page states that guaranteed paid Co-op internships and placements give you real work experience and industry connections, so you graduate with relevant professional skills and the confidence to move from study into employment. That guarantee is the headline claim to check against your specific course, since the details of how it applies will vary by program.
The core promise: work experience built into the degree
The site describes Federation as Australia's first co-operative university and says it offers guaranteed industry placements in every degree. For international students, the page puts it more directly:
- You want a career path, not just a qualification.
- You get real work experience and industry connections.
- The mechanism is guaranteed paid Co-op internships and placements.
- The intended outcome is graduating with professional skills and confidence to transition into employment.
The phrase "earn as you learn" appears in the Co-op section, which signals that the placements are paid rather than unpaid work experience. If payment is a deciding factor for you, confirm the arrangement for your course before applying, because the page does not break down rates, hours or eligibility per program.
Outcomes the university reports
The homepage lists several figures that international students often weigh when comparing institutions:
| Claim | Detail given |
|---|---|
| First-generation students | #1 in Australia for first-generation student enrolments |
| Young university ranking | #175 in the Times Higher Education Young University Rankings 2024 |
| Starting salary | #1 in Victoria for starting salary (undergraduate) |
| Employment after study | 80% of undergraduate students in full-time employment 4–6 months after course completion |
These are the university's own reported figures, so treat them as claims to verify against your field of study rather than guarantees. The employment figure in particular refers to undergraduates overall, not international graduates specifically.
What you can explore on the site
The homepage is organised around a few entry points that are useful for international applicants:
- Explore our courses – browse by study area or course level. Study areas listed include Business, Education, Science, Engineering, Health and Allied Health, Information Technology, Nursing/Midwifery/Paramedicine, Pathways, Performing and Visual Arts, Psychology, Social Sciences/Arts and Community Services, and Trades and Apprenticeships.
- International students – a dedicated section describing the career-focused offer and where studying with Federation could take you.
- Federation Co-op – explains the co-operative model and the paid internship and placement structure.
- Why study at Federation – covers the support and outcome claims above.
What the page does not cover
The homepage does not state tuition fees, entry requirements, English language requirements, visa processes, scholarship amounts or application deadlines. It also does not specify whether the paid Co-op guarantee applies identically to every international student intake. Those details sit on the international student pages and individual course pages, so plan to check them there before you commit.
How to use this if you are deciding
If guaranteed paid work experience is the reason you are considering Federation, the practical next step is to open the international students section and the Co-op page, then match them against one or two specific courses you are interested in. Confirm three things for your chosen course: that the placement is guaranteed, that it is paid, and how it fits around your visa conditions. The homepage gives you the pitch; the course and international pages give you the terms.