Does the Scottish Maritime Museum Offer Free Entry for Children?

Updated

Yes. The Scottish Maritime Museum advertises "KIDS GO FREE" — up to 3 children go free with every paying adult. The offer appears on the museum's own homepage alongside its welcome message for the Irvine and Dumbarton sites, so it is the museum's stated policy rather than a third-party promotion.

What the offer actually says

The homepage wording is short and specific:

"KIDS GO FREE — Up to 3 children go free with every paying adult."

Two things follow from that:

  • The adult pays. The free child places are tied to a paying adult, not to a family ticket or a child-only booking.
  • The cap is three. A fourth child in the same group would not be covered by this wording, so you would need to check the current price for an additional child.

Which sites it covers

The same homepage block lists both museum locations:

Location Named on homepage
Irvine Museum Yes
Dumbarton Museum Yes

The "KIDS GO FREE" line sits directly above the two location names in the same welcome section, which suggests it is presented as a general admission offer rather than one tied to a single site. That said, the homepage does not spell out per-site terms, so if you are planning around one specific museum it is worth confirming before you travel.

How to check before you go

  1. Go to scottishmaritimemuseum.org.
  2. Look at the admission information for the site you intend to visit — Irvine or Dumbarton.
  3. Confirm the child age range that qualifies as a "kid" for the free place, and the price for any child beyond the third.

The homepage excerpt does not state an age limit for the free child places, nor a price for additional children, so those details need to come from the current admission page rather than from the "KIDS GO FREE" banner alone.

Other ways entry is covered

If you expect to visit more than once, the museum also promotes a Friends membership, which it describes as giving unlimited free entry to both the Irvine and Dumbarton museums "plus much more." For a family planning repeat visits, that is the alternative worth comparing against paying per visit — the homepage does not publish the membership price, so check the membership page for current rates.

Practical summary

  • Free child entry: yes, up to 3 children per paying adult.
  • Where: advertised for both Irvine and Dumbarton.
  • Not stated on the homepage: child age limit, price for a 4th child, membership cost.
  • Best check: the museum's own admission pages at scottishmaritimemuseum.org, since offers and prices can change.