What Educational Resources Does ASMBS Offer on Its Learning and Knowledge Hub?

Updated

ASMBS (asmbs.org) offers continuing education for metabolic and bariatric surgery professionals through its Learning and Knowledge Hub, an online learning platform. According to the site, the Hub provides webinars, courses, CME credits, and access to leading experts, and it currently features two new Assessment-Based Certificate programs. The Hub is aimed at healthcare professionals who want to build or refresh bariatric surgery expertise; patients looking for general information are directed to a separate "For Patients" section rather than the Hub.

What the Learning and Knowledge Hub includes

The site describes the Hub as a place to "level up your bariatric surgery expertise" and lists these components:

  • Webinars — cutting-edge sessions on bariatric surgery topics
  • Courses — structured educational content
  • CME credits — continuing medical education credit for participants
  • Expert connection — access to leading experts in the field
  • Assessment-Based Certificate programs — two new programs described as "now available on The Hub"

The site does not publish a full course catalog, pricing, or eligibility requirements in the material available, so the specific number of courses, credit hours, and cost are not confirmed here. You would need to visit the LMS (linked from the ASMBS site as "Visit the LMS") to see the current catalog and any fees or membership requirements.

Annual Meeting content on demand

ASMBS makes educational content from its Annual Meeting 2026 (held in San Antonio, Texas) available OnDemand. This means professionals who could not attend in person can still access the meeting's educational sessions. The site does not specify how long the content stays available or whether there is a separate fee for OnDemand access.

How to start using the Hub

  1. Go to asmbs.org and locate the Learning and Knowledge Hub section (the site links to it as "Visit the LMS").
  2. Create or sign in to your account on the LMS platform.
  3. Browse available webinars, courses, and the two Assessment-Based Certificate programs.
  4. Check each item's page for CME credit details and any cost before enrolling.

Expected result: you gain access to the platform's course listings and can enroll in the programs relevant to your practice.

Common sticking points: the site does not state whether the Hub requires ASMBS membership, whether courses are free, or how CME credits are claimed. Confirm these on the LMS itself rather than assuming access is open or free.

Related resources for professionals

Beyond the Hub, ASMBS offers members a complimentary subscription to the digital version of SOARD (Surgery for Obesity and Related Diseases), discounted registration for the ASMBS Annual Meeting, ASMBS Weekend, and post-graduate CE courses, and access to the ASMBS DocMatter online community for case discussion. These are listed as membership benefits, so some educational offerings may be tied to membership status. The site does not publish membership pricing in the available material.

Choosing based on your goal

If your goal is… The relevant resource is…
Earn CME credits Learning and Knowledge Hub courses and webinars
Build a recognized credential The two Assessment-Based Certificate programs
Catch up on Annual Meeting 2026 OnDemand content from the San Antonio meeting
Ongoing case discussion with peers ASMBS DocMatter community (listed as a member benefit)
Read peer-reviewed research Digital SOARD subscription (listed as a member benefit)

For current course counts, credit hours, and any fees, check the Hub directly, since the ASMBS site does not publish those details.