How Does Canova Medical Compare With NHS Treatment for Skin Lesion Removal?
Updated
Canova Medical is a private, surgeon-led clinic chain that removes skin lesions and treats skin cancer, and it differs from NHS care mainly in speed, who performs the procedure, and cost. The site states assessments and removals are "usually within hours or days from your first enquiry," with same-day removal appointments available, and that no GP referral is needed. Choose Canova if you want a fast, specialist-led removal and are willing to pay fixed private fees; stay with the NHS if you want treatment free at the point of use and can accept a wait. The sections below compare both routes on the dimensions that usually decide this choice.
Speed: assessment and removal
| Dimension | Canova Medical | NHS |
|---|---|---|
| Referral needed | No GP referral needed (per site) | GP referral is the usual route to secondary care |
| Time from enquiry to removal | "Usually within hours or days," same-day removal appointments offered | Waiting times vary by area and urgency; not stated here |
| Who you see | Speciality surgeons and dermatologists; every procedure performed by a plastic surgeon | Often starts in general practice, then referral to a hospital specialist |
The practical difference is the front door. With the NHS you typically start at a GP, who decides whether to refer you; with Canova you can book a consultation directly. If your main concern is how long you wait, that is the clearest point of separation — but note the site gives no specific NHS comparison figures, so treat "hours or days" as Canova's own claim about its own service, not a measured head-to-head.
Who performs the procedure
Canova positions itself on focus: "We remove lesions. Nothing else." It states it has been surgeon-led since 2004, with 10+ specialist surgeons, and that every procedure is performed by a plastic surgeon. It contrasts this with clinics that "dilute their expertise across fillers, lasers and cosmetic add-ons."
On the NHS, skin lesion removal may be done in general practice for simple cases or in hospital dermatology, plastic surgery, or minor surgery settings for others, depending on the lesion and local pathways. If having a surgeon assess and remove the lesion in one focused service matters to you, that is Canova's core selling point. If not, the NHS route may be adequate.
Histology and follow-up
Canova lists histology as part of its skin cancer pathway, alongside excision with appropriate margins and "clear follow-up pathways without the NHS wait." Histology means the removed tissue is examined in a lab — important when the lesion could be cancerous, because it confirms what it was and whether margins were clear.
The NHS also provides histology when tissue is removed, as part of standard cancer pathways. The difference Canova emphasises is timing and continuity, not whether histology happens at all.
Trust signals: regulation and ratings
- CQC registration: Canova states its clinics are CQC-registered and inspected. The CQC is the independent regulator of health and social care in England, so this is a checkable status rather than a marketing claim.
- Ratings: Canova describes its clinics as "amongst the highest rated in each city." Ratings are a useful signal but are self-reported here — verify current reviews yourself before booking.
- Established: Since 2004, which gives a track record.
- Locations: Harley Street (London), Wilmslow (Cheshire), and Crosby (Liverpool), with a fourth clinic opening soon. If you are outside these areas, travel is a real cost to weigh.
Cost: the trade-off
The site advertises fixed fees and a Fees page, but the provided material does not list prices, so no figure can be quoted here. The NHS is free at the point of use for eligible patients. The decision is therefore: pay a private fixed fee for speed and a surgeon-led service, or accept an NHS wait at no direct cost. Check Canova's Fees page for current pricing before deciding.
How to choose
Canova Medical may suit you if:
- You want assessment and removal quickly, possibly same-day.
- You want a surgeon-led service focused only on lesions and skin cancer.
- You are near London, Wilmslow, or Liverpool, or willing to travel.
- You are willing to pay fixed private fees.
The NHS may suit you if:
- You want treatment free at the point of use.
- You can wait for a referral and appointment.
- Your lesion is being managed through an existing NHS pathway.
Either way, act on warning signs: if a mole is changing, bleeding, or new, get it assessed promptly rather than waiting to compare options.
What to check before booking
- Confirm current fees on Canova's Fees page — prices are not stated in the source material.
- Confirm whether your specific lesion type is treated (the site lists cysts, dermatofibroma, keloid, lipoma, milia, moles, seborrhoeic keratosis, skin tags, verruca, warts, ingrown nails, BCC excision, and skin cancer checks).
- Ask what happens if histology shows something needing further treatment.
- Verify the CQC status and recent patient reviews for your chosen clinic.