Do you need to subscribe or register to access Nursing Times?

Updated

You do not need to pay to read everything on Nursing Times, but the site does operate a login and subscription model. Its homepage shows Sign In, Register and Subscribe entry points, and the word "subscribe" appears in its own navigation and pricing signals. That means some content is likely open to browse, while other parts — particularly the full CPD and clinical resource library — may require an account or a paid subscription. The exact boundary between free and restricted content is not stated on the page, so treat any specific article as "check before you commit".

What the site is

Nursing Times (nursingtimes.net) describes itself as "a leading source of nursing news and the most-visited nursing website in Europe", covering CPD, clinical research and innovation to support nurses' careers. It is aimed at nurses and the wider nursing profession, including students and newly registered nurses.

What you can expect to find

The homepage and topic navigation point to several content areas:

  • News — e.g. stories on Martha's rule expansion, NMC regulation changes, and workforce issues.
  • Clinical practice — peer-reviewed-style articles such as "Ocular compartment syndrome: assessment and emergency management" and "Urinary tract infections: causes, diagnosis and treatment".
  • CPD: Learning Units — structured learning content, for example on pressure ulcer causes and classifications.
  • Opinion — columns and commentary from nurses and editors.
  • Topic hubs — Anatomy, Core skills, Leadership, Children's nursing, Education, Learning disabilities, and more.
  • Students / Newly registered — sections aimed at early-career nurses.
  • Ask Nursing Times, Events, Nursing Insights, Jobs — additional services beyond editorial content.

Free browsing vs. account vs. subscription

Access level What it typically covers What to check
Open browsing Headlines, news teasers, topic pages, some article openings Whether the full article text is visible without a prompt
Register / Sign In Likely unlocks a personal account, saved content or gated articles What the registration form asks for and whether it is free
Subscribe Full access to CPD units, clinical archive and premium resources Current price, term and what is included — not stated on the page

Because the page shows a Subscribe link but no pricing details, do not assume the paid tier is free or that registration alone removes all limits. The site does not publish its free/paid split in the material available here.

How to decide what you need

  1. Start without an account. Open a news story and a clinical practice article. If you can read them in full, browsing is enough for casual use.
  2. Hit a wall? If you see a sign-in or subscribe prompt, note which content triggered it — that tells you what the paywall covers.
  3. Register if you only need occasional access. Registration is a separate step from subscribing; check whether it is free before entering details.
  4. Subscribe only if you need the CPD units or the full clinical archive. Confirm the current price and cancellation terms on the subscription page, since these are not shown in the homepage material.

Common sticking points

  • "Subscribe" appears in the menu even when you are just browsing — it is a persistent call to action, not proof that the page you are on is paywalled.
  • Login and subscribe are different actions. Signing in does not necessarily grant the same access as a paid plan.
  • The free/paid boundary can change. Publishers move articles behind paywalls over time, so an article that was open last month may not be now.
  • No price is listed on the homepage. If cost matters to you, go to the subscription page directly rather than inferring from the site's general description.