Does Storefront Charge Hidden Fees and How Do Payments Work?
Updated
Storefront's own site states "No hidden fees and free support," and its payment platform is Stripe. That means the headline answer is: the platform presents itself as not adding hidden charges on top of listed space prices, and card payments run through Stripe. However, the site does not publish a fee schedule, cancellation terms, or deposit rules on the pages available here, so the only reliable way to confirm the total cost for a specific space is to check that listing or ask Storefront directly before booking.
What the site actually says about fees
The homepage description includes two claims worth separating:
- "No hidden fees" — the platform says it does not add undisclosed charges beyond what you see.
- "Free support" — support is described as free, which is distinct from the space rental price itself.
Neither claim tells you the full cost of a booking. A space's listed price, any security deposit, cleaning charges, or minimum rental period are set per listing, and those details are not covered in the material available here. Treat "no hidden fees" as a statement about Storefront's own charges, not as a guarantee that the total you pay equals the headline price.
How payment is processed
The site lists Stripe as its payment platform. In practice this means:
- You find a space and submit a booking request through Storefront.
- Payment is handled through Stripe's payment infrastructure rather than by transferring funds directly to the host.
- Your card details are entered into Stripe's system, not stored by the space owner.
The site does not specify here whether you pay in full at booking, in installments, or after confirmation, nor whether Stripe processing fees are passed on to you. Those are exactly the details to confirm with Storefront or the listing before you commit.
Booking duration affects what you pay
Storefront lets you book by the day, week, month, or year, and the search filters include duration bands:
| Duration filter | Typical use |
|---|---|
| Less than 1 week | Short pop-ups, photo shoots, sample sales |
| 1–4 weeks | Longer pop-ups, showrooms |
| 1 month+ | Monthly retail or office use |
| 6 months+ | Longer-term flexible space |
Because pricing is per listing and tied to duration, the same space can cost very different amounts depending on how long you book. A "no hidden fees" policy does not mean the price is the same across durations — it means the platform isn't adding undisclosed charges to whatever the listing states.
What to check before you book
Since the available site material doesn't publish a fee breakdown, verify these directly:
- Total price for your exact dates — confirm the listing price covers your full booking window.
- Deposit and refund terms — ask whether a security deposit applies and when it's returned.
- Cancellation policy — the site doesn't state one here, so get it in writing.
- What "free support" covers — confirm whether it includes help during your booking or only before.
- Payment schedule — ask whether Stripe charges you upfront, on confirmation, or in stages.
The Priority Pass angle
Storefront offers a Priority Pass for customers who want a better chance of securing a space. According to the site, Priority Pass customers receive bespoke space propositions, a dedicated account manager, and access to exclusive and offline spaces. The site does not state the cost of a Priority Pass here, so if you're considering it, ask whether it carries a fee and whether that fee is separate from the space rental price.
Bottom line
Storefront presents itself as charging no hidden fees and providing free support, with payments processed through Stripe. But the site doesn't publish a fee schedule, deposit rules, or cancellation terms in the material available, so "no hidden fees" should be read as a claim about the platform's own charges — not as a complete picture of your total cost. Confirm the full price, deposit, and cancellation terms for your specific space before booking.