How Is Tango Priced, and Can I Start for Free?
Updated
Tango invites you to "get started for free," and it maintains a dedicated Pricing page at tango.ai/pricing where current plan details are listed. The site itself does not publish specific prices, tier names, or what each tier includes, so the exact cost of paid plans has to be confirmed on that page. What the site does make clear is that you can begin using Tango without paying upfront and upgrade later if your needs grow.
What the Site Confirms About Cost
The homepage repeats "Get started for free" as its main call to action and states that Tango is "trusted by 1M+ users." A Pricing link appears in the site navigation, which is where plan-level information lives. Beyond that, the public page evidence does not include dollar amounts, billing periods, seat minimums, or a feature-by-feature comparison of plans.
| Question | What the site shows | What to verify on the Pricing page |
|---|---|---|
| Is there a free way to start? | Yes — "Get started for free" appears as the primary CTA | Whether this is a free trial, a free tier, or both |
| Are paid plans offered? | Yes — a Pricing page exists | Plan names, prices, and billing cycle |
| What differs between plans? | Not specified in the page evidence | Feature limits, seat counts, and admin controls |
| Are there login or access restrictions? | Not stated | Account requirements and any workspace limits |
Because pricing and access terms are not spelled out in the source material, treat any assumption that Tango is entirely free, or free without an account, as unconfirmed until you check the Pricing page.
What You Get Before Deciding to Pay
Pricing only matters in relation to what the product does, and the site is specific about the core workflow:
- Start recording and do your work in the browser.
- Tango turns the workflow into a step-by-step guide with screenshots, highlights, and descriptions — no separate screen-recording session or redo.
- Share the result as a link, an embed, or a PDF export.
It works across web tools, with Salesforce, Workday, and Epic named as examples. That means you can test the capture-and-share loop on a real process — for example, documenting how your team submits an expense report in Workday — before committing to a paid plan.
Features That May Affect Which Plan You Need
The site describes capabilities beyond basic guide creation, and these are the areas most likely to differ across plans:
- Guide Me — walks people through each click inside the tool they are using.
- Pins — answer questions in context, in the moment.
- Voice Transcription — turns speech into written steps.
- Automations — turn guides into automations, with data extraction that finds and fills in information and rules that catch mistakes before they are saved.
- Deployment options — link, embed, or PDF, plus in-app guidance where work happens.
If your goal is simply to replace a written SOP or a slide deck with a shareable guide, the capture-and-share basics may be enough. If you want guidance delivered inside the applications your team uses, or want to convert guides into automations, those are the features to match against plan tiers on the Pricing page.
How to Decide
Use the free start to run a short pilot, then choose a plan based on two variables the site highlights: team size and the features you actually use.
- Solo or small team documenting a few processes: start free, capture two or three real workflows, and share them as links. This tells you whether the screenshot-and-description output matches your documentation standard.
- Team onboarding or software training: test whether Guide Me and Pins fit how your colleagues work, since these affect whether people follow the guide inside their tools.
- Operations or compliance-heavy work: check whether automations, data extraction, and rules are included in the plan you are considering, because these are the features tied to error prevention.
A practical check before paying: pick one workflow that currently lives in someone's head, record it, and send the link to a colleague who has never done the task. If they can follow it without asking you questions, the core value is proven — then compare plans on the Pricing page for the features you want to add.
Common Sticking Points
- Assuming the free option is unlimited. The site says you can start for free but does not describe free-tier limits; confirm them on the Pricing page.
- Choosing a plan before testing. Capture a real workflow first so you know which advanced features you would actually use.
- Overlooking deployment needs. If your team needs guidance inside Salesforce, Workday, or Epic rather than a standalone link, verify that in-app guidance is part of your plan.
- Ignoring team size. Seat-based differences are common in this category; the site does not publish them, so check before rolling out to a department.
For the definitive answer on cost, go to tango.ai/pricing; for a no-cost evaluation, use the "Get started for free" path and test it on one workflow your team repeats weekly.