How Maranatha Baptist University Connects Faith with Ministry Preparation

Updated

Maranatha Baptist University (mbu.edu) frames its purpose around ministry: its stated mission is to develop leaders for ministry in the local church and the world. That connection between faith and ministry preparation shows up in three concrete places on the site: a seminary and ministry-related degree tracks, a Great-Commission involvement program called Global Encounters, and reported outcomes such as 75 partnering local churches and 95% of alumni serving in a local church. This is an explainer for prospective students and families who want to see how the ministry emphasis is actually structured, not just stated.

The mission statement is the organizing idea

The university describes itself as existing "to develop leaders for ministry in the local church and the world." Read closely, that sentence has two directions: ministry inside a local congregation and ministry beyond it. The site's evidence follows the same split — local church partnerships and alumni service on one side, global engagement on the other.

This matters for interpretation. Maranatha is not presenting ministry preparation as an alternative to career preparation; the homepage pairs ministry language with academics, athletics, and business and music field-test results. The ministry focus is the frame around the programs, not a separate track.

Ministry-related programs and formats

The site lists graduate programs, undergraduate programs, and graduate certificates, offered on-campus and online. Ministry-specific evidence includes:

  • Master of Arts in Ministry — the seminary introduced a Church Music Track within this degree in fall 2026.
  • Maranatha Baptist Seminary — named as the unit introducing that program.
  • Graduate study in business, education, or ministry — the site's own pathway description for students seeking a master's degree or certificate.

The homepage also points students toward "preparing for future ministry and service opportunities" as a distinct reason to inquire. For a full program list, the site's programs section is the authoritative source; the page evidence here confirms the ministry degree and seminary but does not enumerate every major.

Formats at a glance

Format Where offered (per site) Ministry-relevant example
Undergraduate programs On-campus and online General ministry/service preparation pathway
Graduate programs On-campus and online MA in Ministry
Graduate certificates Listed as an option Business, education, or ministry focus
Dual credit for high school juniors/seniors Not specified in evidence College courses taken early

Global Encounters and Great-Commission involvement

The site describes Global Encounters 2026 under the heading "Frontline Involvement," with the stated aim that students recognize their responsibility for Great-Commission involvement and see opportunities for it. The program is presented as designed to engage students directly rather than as a classroom topic.

Two cautions for readers: the evidence does not specify eligibility, cost, destination, or credit structure for Global Encounters, and the 2026 date means details may change. Treat the program as a signal of institutional emphasis and confirm logistics with the university.

Local church partnership and alumni outcomes

The homepage reports these figures:

  • 75 partnering local churches
  • 95% of alumni serving in a local church

These numbers are the clearest link between the mission statement and measurable activity. They also suggest a model in which local churches function as partners in training and placement rather than as an audience for it.

How to read them responsibly: they are institutional self-reported statistics without stated methodology, cohort definition, or time frame in the available evidence. They are useful as a description of emphasis; they are not an independent measure of program quality. Prospective students should ask what "serving" includes and how the percentage is calculated.

Other signals on the same page

The homepage mixes academic and co-curricular claims: 10 men's and women's sports, top 11% on a national business major field test, and top 1% on a national music major field test. It also notes approval to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA), which is relevant to online students in other states. A "Pay My Bill" link exists under finances; no tuition figures or payment terms appear in the evidence, so cost should be checked directly.

How to decide whether this fit is right for you

Use the ministry emphasis as a filter, then verify:

  1. Confirm the program — check the programs section for the specific undergraduate major, graduate degree, or certificate you want, and whether it is offered online or on-campus.
  2. Ask about ministry placement — request the methodology behind the 75-church and 95%-alumni figures, and ask which churches partner.
  3. Ask about Global Encounters — eligibility, cost, duration, and whether it carries credit.
  4. Check authorization for online study — if you live outside Wisconsin, confirm SARA-related coverage for your state.
  5. Request cost and aid details — the site's finance pages are the starting point; nothing in the available evidence states tuition or aid amounts.

This profile suits students who want ministry formation woven through a conventional degree, and who value local-church partnership as part of training. It is a weaker fit for someone seeking a purely secular campus environment or a ministry program whose outcomes are documented by independent data — in that case, ask for the underlying numbers before deciding.