How Much Does Positive User Cost? Pricing Plans and What to Check

Updated

Positive User does not publish plan prices on its homepage. The site links to a dedicated Pricing page (user.com/pricing), and the homepage promotes a free start ("Get started free," "Get started now") alongside a Schedule a demo option for sales-assisted deals. So the accurate answer to "how much does it cost" is: you need to check the pricing page or talk to sales, because the public evidence shows a free entry point and a paid structure, but no numbers.

What the site actually confirms

Signal What it tells you
"Pricing" link in navigation A formal pricing page exists — start there for current numbers
"Get started free" / "Get started now" A free starting path is advertised, typically for the first newsletter / basic use
"Schedule a demo" Higher-tier or larger-team deals are handled through sales
"Trusted by +15,000 marketing teams" / "800,000+ users active monthly" Platform is positioned for teams of varying sizes, not a single flat consumer price
"25 years experience," "300+ experts" Vendor is established; expect tiered B2B pricing rather than one number

The homepage does not state whether the free option is a permanent free plan or a trial, and it does not list per-contact or per-channel rates. Treat any specific figure you see elsewhere as unverified until you confirm it on the pricing page.

Why the price is not a single number

Positive User bundles several channels and capabilities that are usually billed by usage:

  • Email, SMS, WhatsApp, Web Push, Mobile Wallet — SMS and WhatsApp in particular are normally metered by message volume, so cost scales with how much you send.
  • Contact database size — the platform stores, filters, and manages contact lists in one unified database, so pricing commonly tiers by number of contacts.
  • Automation and AI features — workflows, 360° profiles, and AI-powered engagement are typically higher-tier capabilities.
  • Seats / team size — "marketing teams" framing suggests per-user or per-team components.

Because these dimensions vary per account, a published flat rate would be misleading. That is why the vendor routes you to a pricing page or a demo.

How to get your actual number

  1. Open the pricing page at user.com/pricing and note the plan names, what each includes, and any contact or send limits.
  2. Identify your usage drivers before comparing: how many contacts you store, which channels you need (email only vs. email + SMS/WhatsApp), and whether you need automation/AI.
  3. Check the free tier's limits — confirm whether "get started free" is a permanent plan or a trial, and what it caps (contacts, sends, features).
  4. Book a demo if your needs involve multiple channels, automation, or a larger contact base — sales quotes are the reliable source for those configurations.
  5. Ask specifically about: overage charges for SMS/WhatsApp, contact-count thresholds, and whether AI/workflow features are add-ons or included.

Common sticking points

  • Assuming "free" means free forever. The site says "get started free," not "free plan." Verify the duration and limits.
  • Comparing on headline price only. A cheaper base plan can cost more once SMS/WhatsApp volume or extra contacts are added.
  • Skipping the demo for complex setups. If you need multi-channel journeys or AI personalization, the self-serve price may not reflect your real configuration.

Bottom line

Positive User offers a free starting path and a paid, tiered structure, but the homepage does not disclose prices. For a decision, go to the pricing page for published plans and use the demo/sales route if your use case spans multiple channels, automation, or a large contact list. Confirm contact limits, channel usage costs, and whether AI and workflow features are included before committing.