Lodd Pricing, Free Tier, and Privacy: What You Get Before You Pay
Updated
Lodd is free for up to 2,500 events per month, and the site describes pricing as "simple" with an upgrade path beyond that. Privacy is presented as a design principle rather than a feature: the page's own heading is "Private by design," and the framing throughout is "your data, your questions." If you want to test an MCP-native analytics tool with an AI agent before committing budget, the free tier is the intended entry point. What the site does not publish is the actual price of the paid tier, the exact event-count thresholds above the free plan, or the mechanics of how data is stored and isolated — so treat those as open questions to confirm before you rely on Lodd for anything sensitive.
What the free tier covers
The only concrete number on the page is the ceiling: free up to 2,500 events/mo. An "event" here is the unit Lodd counts — the same unit its 42 MCP tools query across traffic, events, funnels, conversion attribution, and engagement metrics.
That budget is small. A low-traffic site, a staging environment, a side project, or a single landing page can plausibly stay under 2,500 events in a month. A production site with steady visitor flow will not. The practical read: the free tier is sized for evaluation and small surfaces, not for running analytics on a real audience at scale.
| Question | What the site says | What it doesn't say |
|---|---|---|
| Free allowance | 2,500 events/mo | How events are counted (pageviews vs. custom events vs. both) |
| Paid tier | Exists — "Simple pricing," upgrade implied | Price, currency, billing period |
| Overage | Not stated | Whether you're cut off, throttled, or charged |
| Payment methods | Not stated | Cards, invoicing, etc. |
How pricing is framed
The page uses the phrase "Simple pricing" as a section heading and references an upgrade, but publishes no numbers. That's a deliberate pattern in early-stage developer tools: the free tier is the pitch, and pricing is discussed in context. It also means you cannot budget from the page alone.
Two things follow from this. First, the free tier is the honest starting point — you can install, connect an agent, and see whether the query model fits how you work before any commercial conversation. Second, "simple pricing" is a claim, not a specification. If cost predictability matters to you, get the actual tier structure in writing before you route production traffic into Lodd.
Privacy: what "private by design" actually claims
The page's third heading is "Private by design," and the recurring line is "Your data, your questions." The intent is clear — analytics data stays tied to your account and is queried by your agent rather than pooled into someone else's dashboard product. That's a meaningful contrast with the default model of mainstream web analytics, where your traffic data lives in a vendor's interface and you visit it on their terms.
But "private by design" is a positioning statement, not a data-processing agreement. The page does not state where data is stored, how long it's retained, whether it's encrypted at rest, whether it's used for anything beyond serving your queries, or what happens to it if you stop paying. Those are the questions that determine whether Lodd is appropriate for a site handling personal data, health information, or anything under a compliance regime.
If your use case is a marketing site or a developer tool, the privacy framing is probably sufficient context to proceed. If your use case involves regulated data, treat the heading as a prompt to ask for specifics rather than as an answer.
Why the free tier is the right way to evaluate this
Lodd's value proposition is not "another dashboard." It's that your agent holds all 42 tools in the same conversation as your code, so a single question can pull traffic, funnel, and source data together. The page's own example walks through this: a 34% signup drop traced to Reddit traffic falling 45% after a post aged off a front page, plus a funnel break where /pricing → /signup fell from 28% to 11% because a 12-field form was killing casual traffic.
That kind of multi-tool reasoning is what you're actually buying. It's also hard to judge from a feature list — you need to ask your own questions against your own data and see whether the answers are useful. The 2,500-event free tier is enough to do exactly that on a small property, and it's the only way to find out whether the "one prompt to set up, any prompt to query" claim holds up for your workflow.
Choosing: when the free tier is enough, and when to ask about upgrading
Stay on the free tier if you're evaluating Lodd, running it on a side project or staging site, or your monthly event volume comfortably fits under 2,500. There's no reason to pay for capacity you don't use.
Ask about the paid tier if you're putting Lodd in front of real traffic, you need a cost figure to justify the tool internally, or you need retention and storage guarantees the page doesn't provide. The upgrade path exists; the terms are the missing piece.
Look elsewhere if you need published, self-serve pricing before you can adopt a tool, or if your data falls under a regime that requires documented processing terms. Neither is a flaw in Lodd — it's just a mismatch between what the page discloses and what your situation requires.
The one thing you can act on today without waiting for answers: connect an agent to a low-traffic property, stay inside the free allowance, and test whether the query model actually replaces the dashboard you're trying to escape.