Omnis Studio Free vs Paid: What the Website Actually Tells You

Updated

Omnis Studio offers a free Community Edition you can download now, and a Pro edition aimed at professional development. The website confirms the free version is for building web and mobile applications, and that a free trial exists — but it does not publish a feature-by-feature comparison or pricing details on the pages available here. So the honest answer is: the free edition is a real, downloadable product for web and mobile work, while the paid Pro edition is positioned for professional use, and you should confirm the exact differences on the official pricing page before committing.

What the website states

From the Omnis Studio site:

  • Community Edition — "DEVELOP WEB AND MOBILE APPLICATIONS NOW" with a "Free Download."
  • Free trial — listed among the site's pricing signals.
  • Pro — described as "app development for every device."
  • Omnis Studio 12 — the current release, announced on the homepage.

The site's core promise applies across editions: "One Codebase. Every Platform. Maximum Speed." — build and deploy for web, mobile, and desktop from a single codebase.

What the free edition covers

Based on the site's own framing, the Community Edition is presented as a working path to:

  • Web application development
  • Mobile application development
  • Download and use at no stated cost

The homepage also points to a free Omnis Academy for learning and an Omnis Knowledgebase for reference — both relevant if you're evaluating the free tier.

What the paid edition is positioned for

The site labels Pro as "app development for every device" and describes Omnis Studio overall as supporting:

  • Web, mobile, and desktop deployment from one codebase
  • Full-stack development in a single tool
  • A dual role as both development environment and application server
  • Extensive connectivity and integration with existing systems
  • Fast prototyping

These are the capabilities the product markets as a whole. The available pages do not break them down by edition, so treat them as product-level claims rather than confirmed Pro-only features.

What the site does not tell you

The following are not specified in the material available here, and you should verify them directly:

Question Status on site
Price of Pro Not published on these pages
Feature limits of Community Edition Not itemized
Deployment/licensing restrictions per edition Not stated
Whether the free trial differs from Community Edition Not clarified

How to decide

Use these conditions to guide your next step:

  • If you're prototyping or learning — start with the Community Edition. The site explicitly supports web and mobile development there, and the free Academy lowers the learning cost.
  • If you need desktop deployment, application-server use, or commercial distribution terms — check the official pricing page, since the site doesn't confirm these are included in the free tier.
  • If you're evaluating for a team — confirm licensing and deployment rights in writing before standardizing, because the available pages don't address them.

The practical move: download the Community Edition, build a small web or mobile prototype, and use that experience to judge whether you need Pro — then confirm Pro's exact scope and price on the official pricing page.