What Does the Upgrade Option on Where's the dish? Offer?

Where's the dish? publicly lists an Upgrade option at wheresthedish.com/upgrade, but the site's own pages don't spell out what that upgrade includes. What the site does state clearly is its core promise: "Recipes without the noise." So the honest answer is: an upgrade path exists, and the free-facing product is a stripped-down recipe site — but the specific features, price, and billing terms behind that Upgrade link aren't documented in the material available here. Treat the link as a starting point to investigate, not as a confirmed feature list.

What the site tells you before you consider upgrading

The homepage sections — Popular recipes, What you get, Loved by home cooks, and Ready to get started? — frame the product around removing clutter from recipe browsing. The tagline "Recipes without the noise" and the site's stated focus on "the best parts of cooking" both point to the same positioning: fewer distractions, more recipe.

That matters for the upgrade question because it tells you what kind of site this is. It is not presenting itself as a meal-planning suite, a grocery-delivery service, or a nutrition tracker. If the free experience is already "recipes without the noise," an upgrade would most plausibly extend that idea — more recipes, saved collections, or an ad-free reading experience — but that is inference, not a published fact.

What is actually confirmed vs. what is not

Question What the available site material supports
Is there an upgrade option? Yes — an "Upgrade" link exists at /upgrade
What does it cost? Not stated in the available material
What features does it add? Not stated in the available material
Is there a free tier? The site presents recipes and content publicly, but no free-vs-paid comparison is published
Payment methods accepted Not stated
Can you cancel or get a refund? Not stated

The presence of an "Upgrade" keyword and link is the only pricing signal available. Nothing in the source indicates the amount, the billing cycle, or whether any part of the site is gated.

Who should bother clicking the Upgrade link

Consider opening the Upgrade page if you match one of these situations:

  • You already use the free site regularly and want to know whether paying removes something you find annoying (ads, limits, or missing features).
  • You want to support the site and are checking whether there's a paid tier that funds it.
  • You're comparing recipe sites and need the paid terms to finish the comparison.

Skip it for now if you've never used the site, or if you only need one recipe — there's no evidence the free content is restricted.

What to check on the Upgrade page before paying

Because the public material doesn't answer these, verify them directly on /upgrade:

  1. Price and billing period — monthly vs. annual, and whether it auto-renews.
  2. Exactly what changes — is it ad removal, extra recipes, saved lists, or something else? Look for a free-vs-upgraded comparison.
  3. Cancellation and refund terms — how you cancel and whether refunds are offered.
  4. Account requirements — whether upgrading requires creating an account first.
  5. Payment methods — no payment platform is listed in the available material, so confirm what's accepted at checkout.

If the Upgrade page doesn't clearly answer items 1–3, that's a reason to wait rather than a reason to assume the best.

The practical takeaway

Where's the dish? is positioned as a low-noise recipe site, and it does offer an Upgrade path — that much is verifiable. Everything beyond that (price, features, terms) is unpublished in the material available, so the decision has to be made by reading the Upgrade page itself. Use the checklist above as your filter: if the page answers price, features, and cancellation clearly, you can decide on the spot; if it doesn't, hold off until it does.

wheresthedish.com
Focus on the best parts of cooking