What Does turboSMTP's Free Plan Include and What Are Its Limits?

Updated

turboSMTP's free plan gives you 6,000 emails per month through its SMTP relay service, with no stated time limit and access to the same delivery infrastructure used by paying customers. It fits testing, development, and low-volume transactional or newsletter sending. Once you consistently exceed 6,000 emails a month, or need features tied to paid plans, you move to a monthly or pay-as-you-go plan based on send volume.

What the free plan includes

Based on the provider's own description of its service, the free tier covers:

  • 6,000 emails per month — stated on the site as "FREE 6000 emails/month."
  • SMTP relay access — the same authenticated SMTP relay service the provider sells, used for transactional email (order confirmations, password resets) and newsletter campaigns.
  • Delivery tracking — real-time reports on outgoing and opened emails, so you can see what happened to messages you sent.
  • API access for developers — the site describes an email API for sending transactional emails and newsletters from a website or app.
  • Worldwide server infrastructure — servers and IP addresses in Europe, the USA, the Middle East, and Asia.
  • GDPR compliance — the provider states it is 100% GDPR compliant.

The site presents the free plan as a real entry point, not a stripped-down demo: the same relay, tracking, and API surface are described across the service as a whole.

Where the limits are

The clearest limit is volume: 6,000 emails per month. Everything above that requires a paid plan. The site says you can "BUY the full service" and choose among "a wide range of monthly and pay-as-you-go plans based on the number of sent emails."

Two things the page does not specify, and which you should confirm before committing:

  • Whether 6,000/month is a hard cap or a soft one — the site does not say what happens when you hit the limit mid-month (sending stops, messages queue, or you're prompted to upgrade).
  • Whether every feature is available on the free tier — 24/7 human support is advertised as a headline feature of the service, but the page does not state which plan tiers it applies to.

The site also does not publish prices or payment methods on this page, so treat cost as something to check on the pricing page rather than assume.

Free vs. paid: what actually changes

Dimension Free plan Paid plans
Monthly volume 6,000 emails Based on number of emails sent; monthly or pay-as-you-go
SMTP relay Included Included
Delivery tracking Included Included
Email API Included Included
Server infrastructure Europe, USA, Middle East, Asia Same
GDPR compliance Stated Stated
24/7 human support Not specified per tier Advertised as a service-wide feature

The provider's own deliverability comparison on the page puts turboSMTP at 99% inbox placement versus 82% for "other SMTP" and 70% for "free SMTP" generally. That figure is the provider's marketing claim, not an independent benchmark — but it signals the pitch: the free tier is meant to run on the same authenticated infrastructure as the paid one, rather than on a separate, lower-quality pool.

Who the free plan fits

  • Developers testing an integration — 6,000 emails is enough to wire up the API, verify authentication, and confirm delivery before scaling.
  • Small apps with light transactional traffic — password resets and order confirmations for a low-volume product can sit inside 6,000/month.
  • Small newsletter lists — a list of a few hundred subscribers sent to once or twice a month stays under the cap.
  • Anyone evaluating deliverability — you can measure inbox placement on your own list before paying.

Who should go straight to a paid plan

  • Senders above 6,000 emails/month — you'll need a plan sized to your volume.
  • Anyone who needs guaranteed support terms — if 24/7 human support is a requirement, confirm which plans include it before relying on the free tier.
  • High-volume or time-sensitive transactional senders — order confirmations and password resets that must arrive immediately are better served by a plan with headroom, so a mid-month cap never blocks them.

How to verify the free plan fits your needs

  1. Estimate your monthly volume — count transactional emails plus newsletter sends for a typical month. If it's comfortably under 6,000, the free tier is a reasonable starting point.
  2. Sign up and send a test batch — use the SMTP relay or API to send to addresses you control, then check the delivery tracking reports for inbox placement.
  3. Watch the counter through a full month — the real test is whether your normal traffic plus any spikes stays under the cap.
  4. Check the pricing page before you scale — the site does not publish prices here, so confirm current plan costs and what each tier includes before you outgrow the free allowance.

The practical decision rule: if your sending is light, intermittent, or still being built, the free plan's 6,000 emails/month is enough to run it for real. If your volume is steady and near or above that number, price out a paid plan now rather than discovering the limit mid-campaign.