What Evidence Does SUTD Present About Graduate Outcomes and Research Strength?

Updated

SUTD's homepage presents four headline indicators: 91.5% of students were employed within six months of completing their final exam, the university rose to 266th in the 2027 QS World University Rankings, more than a quarter of its faculty are among the top 2% of scientists worldwide, and it has raised over $602 million in external research funding since 2010. These are the university's own published claims and should be read as such — the page does not link to the underlying surveys, ranking tables, or funding records, so treat them as a starting point for verification rather than an independent audit.

Graduate outcomes: the 91.5% employment figure

The page states that "91.5% — A vast majority of our students were employed within just 6 months of completing their final exam." This is the only graduate-outcome statistic on the homepage.

What the claim does and does not tell you:

  • It measures timing, not fit. Employment within six months says nothing about whether the job matches the degree, whether it is full-time, or what salary it commands.
  • The denominator is unclear. "Our students" is not defined on the page — it is not stated whether this covers all graduating cohorts, particular programmes, or respondents to a survey.
  • No comparison baseline is given. There is no sector average or peer figure on the page to contextualise 91.5%.

If employment prospects are your main decision factor, ask admissions for the underlying graduate employment survey — cohort size, response rate, full-time vs. part-time breakdown, and median starting salary — before relying on the headline number.

Rankings: 266th in the 2027 QS World University Rankings

The page's lead highlight is "SUTD rises to 266th in 2027 QS World University Rankings." Two things are worth noting:

  • "Rises" implies movement, but the prior position is not stated on the page, so the size of the improvement is not verifiable from this source alone.
  • QS is one ranking among several. The page cites no other ranking body, so the 266th position should be read as QS-specific rather than a general verdict on the university.

For a decision, check the QS table directly to see the indicator-level scores (academic reputation, citations per faculty, employer reputation, international faculty ratio) — a single overall rank hides which dimensions drive the result.

Research strength: faculty and funding

The page makes two research-related claims:

Claim As stated on the page What to check
Faculty quality "More than 1/4 of our faculty are among the top 2% of scientists worldwide" Which top-2% list (e.g., Stanford/Elsevier citation database) and which year's edition
Research funding "Over $602 million in external research funding since 2010" Whether this is cumulative awarded or received, and how it splits across disciplines

The funding figure spans more than a decade, so it is a cumulative total rather than an annual research budget — useful for gauging scale, less useful for comparing current research intensity against peer institutions. The faculty claim depends entirely on the citation database behind "top 2%," which the page does not name.

How to use these figures in a decision

These four indicators are best treated as a screening layer, not a conclusion:

  1. For graduate outcomes, request the full employment survey from admissions and compare full-time employment rates and salary bands against other programmes you are considering.
  2. For rankings, open the QS 2027 table and read the indicator scores rather than the overall position.
  3. For research, if you are considering a graduate programme, ask prospective supervisors about current funded projects — the $602 million cumulative figure says little about your specific lab.
  4. For faculty, ask which citation list underpins the top-2% claim if research mentorship matters to you.

The page also points to SUTD's positioning as "the first Design·AI university," a curriculum combining design and AI, and events such as the Master of Architecture information session for 2027 intake — useful context, but separate from the outcome and research evidence above.