What is Worcester Sixth Form College?

Updated

Worcester Sixth Form College (wsfc.ac.uk) is a specialist 16–19 education provider in Worcester, United Kingdom. It offers A Levels, vocational qualifications at Level 3 and Level 2, T Levels, Applied & AAQ courses, a Foundation Programme at Level 2, and Access to HE. It is aimed at students who have finished compulsory secondary education and are preparing for university, further study, or employment.

Who the college is for

The college describes itself as a specialist in 16–19 education, so its main audience is school leavers in that age range. The site separates applications for 16–18 year olds from other routes, and it also lists Access to HE, which is typically used by adults returning to education rather than by 16–18 year olds.

If you are:

  • A Year 11 student finishing GCSEs — you would look at A Levels, vocational Level 2/3 courses, Applied & AAQ, or T Levels.
  • Not ready for Level 3 study — the Foundation Programme at Level 2 is the listed starting point.
  • An adult without traditional qualifications — Access to HE is the relevant route.
  • Applying for a September start — the site states it is "not too late to apply for September," with applications handled through the Apply Now link for 16–18 year olds.

Courses offered

Course type Level Typical purpose
A Levels Level 3 Academic route, usually for university entry
Applied & AAQ Level 3 Applied/general qualifications alongside or instead of A Levels
Vocational Qualifications Level 3 and Level 2 Career-focused study
T Level Level 3 Technical qualification with industry content
Foundation Programme Level 2 Progression route for students not yet ready for Level 3
Access to HE Access level Route to higher education for adults

The homepage groups these under a single "Courses" heading, so the exact subject list and entry requirements need to be checked on the individual course pages rather than inferred from the homepage.

How to find out more or apply

  1. Check the prospectus — the site offers a downloadable prospectus, which is the most reliable single source for course details.
  2. Attend an open event — the homepage lists "Open Events 2026" and "Open Events 2026-27," which are the standard way to visit, meet staff, and ask about entry requirements.
  3. Apply online — the Apply Now link is specified for 16–18 year olds. The site does not state a fee for applying, but it also does not state that application is free, so confirm any costs directly if that matters to you.
  4. Read college news and the student blog — these give a sense of results, student achievements, and day-to-day life, though they are promotional in nature.

What the site does not tell you

The homepage evidence does not include tuition fees, financial support details, exact entry grades, term dates, or whether applications carry a cost. Those details would need to come from the course pages, the prospectus, or direct contact with the college. Treat anything not stated on the site as unconfirmed rather than assuming a default.