What Pocket Bard Costs and What the Free and Paid Options Include
Updated
Pocket Bard lists two paid plans — $6.99 monthly and $49.99 yearly — and also offers free content, including a free Fantasy Essentials collection with over 100 one-shot sound effects and access to free Open Worlds. The paid plans center on the Fantasy Essentials collection, which you can preview through the interactive demo on the site before deciding. The site does not state whether the paid plans unlock anything beyond that collection, so treat the plan descriptions as limited to what is listed.
Free vs. paid at a glance
| What you get | Free | Paid ($6.99/mo or $49.99/yr) |
|---|---|---|
| Fantasy Essentials collection | Yes — free collection with 100+ one-shot SFX | Yes |
| Open Worlds content | Yes — listed as free | Yes |
| Other collections (Modern Horror, Sci-Fi, etc.) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Interactive demo preview | Yes | Yes |
The site's collection list shows Free Open Worlds and a FREE Fantasy Essentials Collection alongside other named collections (Modern Horror, Sci-Fi, and additional Fantasy Essentials entries). Only the free status of Open Worlds and Fantasy Essentials is explicitly labeled; pricing for the remaining collections isn't specified in the available material.
What the paid Fantasy Essentials collection adds
The paid Fantasy Essentials collection is organized by scene type, with previewable categories such as:
- Settings: Town, City, Village, Tavern, Dark Streets, Springvale
- Wilderness: Mountains, Plains, Forest, Cave, Ancient Grove, Swamp
- Dungeon and danger: Graveyard, Dungeon Entrance, Dungeon Corridors, Dungeon Lair
- Other: Dwarven Kingdom
Each category is marked "Tap to preview," so you can hear samples before committing. The app also advertises adaptive audio with seamless transitions and intensity adjustment (Explore, Combat, Victory, Intensity, Ambiences, One-shots), which is the core feature the paid content is built around.
How to preview before paying
- Open the Pocket Bard site and use the interactive demo ("Try our interactive demo").
- Tap through the collection categories (e.g., Tavern, Forest, Dungeon Lair) to hear the ambience and music samples.
- Compare the free Fantasy Essentials and Open Worlds content against the paid collection's scene coverage.
- If the demo meets your session needs, choose monthly for short campaigns or a trial period, or yearly if you expect to run games across many months — the yearly plan works out to roughly $4.17 per month versus $6.99 monthly.
The site notes the full experience requires downloading the desktop app, so the demo is a preview rather than the complete tool.
Choosing between monthly and yearly
- Monthly ($6.99): Better if you're testing Pocket Bard across a few sessions or running a short campaign.
- Yearly ($49.99): Better if you run regular sessions and want the lower effective monthly rate.
Both plans are listed against the same Fantasy Essentials collection, so the decision is about commitment length, not feature differences — at least according to the pricing information available.
Common sticking points
- Unclear scope of paid plans: The site lists prices next to Fantasy Essentials but doesn't spell out whether other collections (Modern Horror, Sci-Fi) are included, sold separately, or free. Confirm in the app before buying if those genres matter to you.
- Demo vs. full app: The interactive demo runs in the browser, but the full experience is a desktop download. Don't judge the final workflow from the demo alone.
- Free content is real but limited: The free Fantasy Essentials collection and Open Worlds give you a usable starting set, but the scene-by-scene depth shown in the paid collection (dungeon corridors, lairs, specific biomes) is where the paid tier appears to add value.
For game masters who want adaptive, tap-controlled ambience without juggling browser tabs, the free tier is enough to test the concept; the paid plans are the step up if the Fantasy Essentials scene library matches your campaign settings.