What Subscription Options Does Agora.community Offer?
Updated
Agora.community runs on a membership model with at least two tiers: a general community membership and a premium membership. The clearest documented difference is that weekly critique is available for premium members only — the site states this directly on its homepage. Beyond that, Agora.community has a dedicated subscription/billing page at agora.community/billing, which is where current plan names, prices, and billing terms live. Because the site's public pages don't publish specific pricing figures, treat the billing page as the authoritative source before you commit.
What the Free Community Tier Appears to Include
Agora.community describes itself as a community with 197k+ members and 2k+ lessons, and it advertises joining the community as a distinct action from premium features. Based on the homepage evidence, the non-premium experience centers on:
- Community membership — access to the platform and its member base
- On-demand animation courses — the site lists 18+ prerecorded 3D animation courses spanning fundamentals, character, creature, and game animation
- Course browsing — a public catalogue of courses such as Game Fundamentals 1, The 12 Principles of Animation, Stylized Mechanics 1, and Face Animation Performance
The homepage does not explicitly state which of these are fully free versus gated. It only flags weekly critique as premium-exclusive, which implies other elements may be open to general members — but that is an inference, not a published guarantee.
What Premium Membership Adds
The one confirmed premium benefit from the source material is weekly critique, described as "weekly critique from Alex Ferreira Simoes, Head of Education at Agora Community." The homepage presents this under an "Open Review" section, suggesting a recurring feedback loop on student work.
Other features listed on the homepage — exclusive character rigs, portfolio-ready work, industry professional mentors, guided learning, gamification, live mentoring, and guilds — are presented as part of the overall offering. The page does not label each one as free or premium, so you should confirm tier-by-tier on the billing page rather than assume.
How to Check Current Plans and Pricing
- Go to
agora.community/billing. - Review the plan names, what each includes, and the billing cycle.
- Compare the premium tier specifically against whether you want weekly critique — that is the documented dividing line.
- Check the payment options shown at checkout before entering any details.
The site's pricing signals include the keywords "subscription" and "pricing," and the billing page is linked as "Subscription," confirming a paid subscription exists. No prices, free-trial terms, or refund policies are published in the source material, so none can be assumed.
Choosing Between Tiers
| Consideration | General community | Premium |
|---|---|---|
| Weekly critique | Not available | Available |
| Course catalogue access | Listed as part of the platform | Listed as part of the platform |
| Exclusive rigs, guilds, live mentoring | Not explicitly assigned to a tier | Not explicitly assigned to a tier |
| Best for | Browsing courses and joining the community | Animators who want recurring professional feedback |
If structured critique is the reason you're joining, premium is the tier that matters. If you mainly want to explore the course catalogue and community first, start with the general membership and upgrade once you've confirmed the premium features match your goals.
What to Verify Before Subscribing
- Exact price and billing frequency — only on the billing page
- Whether a free trial exists — not stated in the source material
- Cancellation and refund terms — not stated in the source material
- Which courses and rigs are gated — the homepage doesn't break this down by tier
Because Agora.community's public pages describe benefits without publishing prices, the billing page is the only reliable place to confirm what you'd actually pay and receive.