Which Types of Students Does Walsh University Welcome?

Updated

Walsh University is a Catholic university in Ohio that enrolls undergraduate, graduate, and online adult accelerated students, and its admission pages list dedicated entry points for first-time, transfer, international, military and veteran, first-generation, graduate, and online/accelerated students. It reports a student body drawn from 42 states and 35 countries. If you fit one of those groups, the site provides a matching pathway to request information, visit, or apply; the exact requirements for each pathway are not detailed on the homepage, so confirm them with the admissions office or the specific program page.

Student groups with dedicated admission pathways

The site's Admission & Aid menu names the following audiences, which indicates each has its own process or support:

  • First-Time Students
  • Transfer Students
  • International Students
  • Military & Veteran Students
  • First Generation Students
  • Graduate Students
  • Online & Accelerated Students

Two additional programs appear in the same menu and may affect cost or eligibility:

  • WU Promise Grant — described as "An Opportunity for a Tuition-Free Education." Eligibility conditions are not stated on the homepage; check the grant page before assuming you qualify.
  • Service to Scholars Discount Program — a discount program listed alongside admission audiences; the qualifying service and discount amount are not specified on the homepage.

High school students can also explore College Credit Plus, Ohio's dual-enrollment program listed in the menu.

What the university says about its student body and experience

  • Students come from 42 states and 35 countries.
  • More than 60 majors are offered.
  • 98% of students receive some form of financial scholarship or aid, per the university.
  • The university describes small class sizes, experiential learning, interdisciplinary institutes, internships, and global learning programs.
  • It is an NCAA Division II athletics institution (Cav Nation).

These are the university's own claims; treat the aid percentage as a reported figure and verify your own package with Financial Aid.

How to take the next step

The homepage surfaces three concrete actions:

  1. Request Info — submit an inquiry through the Request Info link in the menu.
  2. Visit — "Schedule A Visit" to tour campus and meet with Admissions; a "Virtual Tour" is also listed. A "Discover Walsh Day" event is promoted with registration (the page mentions November 7).
  3. Apply — the Apply link in the main menu, plus a MyWalsh portal for current users.

For graduate or online/accelerated programs, start from those menu sections rather than the first-time undergraduate flow, since requirements and timelines differ.

Common sticking points

  • International applicants should confirm English proficiency, credential evaluation, and visa-related deadlines directly, as the homepage only confirms that international students are enrolled and welcomed.
  • Transfer students should ask early which credits apply; the site lists a transfer pathway but not credit-transfer rules.
  • Military and veteran students have a named pathway, but benefit processing details are not on the homepage.
  • Cost questions: the WU Promise Grant and Service to Scholars Discount are the two aid programs highlighted, but neither's terms are published on the homepage—read the linked pages or ask Financial Aid before budgeting.

In short: Walsh organizes admission around specific student types, so identify your category first, then use the matching Request Info, Visit, or Apply link.