What Materials and Sustainability Claims Apply to Gardening Works Products?

Updated

Gardening Works builds its raised beds, whelping boxes, and composting bins by hand in a family workshop in the Ribble Valley, using responsibly sourced timber. The company describes its products as eco-friendly, made in the UK, and built to last, and says it has over 20 years of experience hand-building these items. If you care about where a garden product comes from and how it is made, those are the claims to check against your own priorities.

The materials

The core material across the range is timber. Gardening Works states that every product is made from sustainable timber and that the timber is responsibly sourced. The products are assembled with a slot-together system rather than screws, so the panels themselves are the structure — there is no metal fixings kit to account for in the material list.

The site does not name a specific timber species or give treatment details, so if you need to know exactly which wood is used or how it is finished, that is a question to put to the workshop directly.

The sustainability claims

Gardening Works makes three related claims:

  • Responsibly sourced timber — the wood is described as responsibly sourced and sustainable.
  • Made in the UK — everything is built by hand in the Ribble Valley workshop, which the company frames as local and sustainable.
  • Eco-friendly and built to last — the products are described as eco-friendly, and durability is presented as part of the sustainability story: a bin or bed that lasts longer needs replacing less often.

These are the company's own descriptions rather than independently certified claims. The site does not reference a specific certification scheme, so treat "responsibly sourced" as a stated sourcing policy rather than a verified label.

What the design adds

Two design choices support the sustainability angle in practical ways:

No tools, no fixings. The slot-together system means no screws or drills are needed. Fewer separate components means less packaging and fewer mixed materials at end of life.

Modular and customisable. The designs are modular, so you can expand a setup later by adding on rather than replacing it. Custom sizes are also available. Buying once and extending is a more efficient path than discarding a fixed-size unit that no longer fits.

Where the products are made

All items come from the family workshop in the Ribble Valley, and the business has been hand-building them for over 20 years. UK-wide delivery or click & collect is offered. For buyers trying to shorten supply chains, a domestically handmade product is the main practical difference here.

What is not stated

The site does not specify timber species, treatment or preservative details, or any third-party environmental certification. It also does not state a product lifespan in years. If any of those matter to your decision, ask before ordering — the company says it replies to enquiries within 48 hours and that real people, not scripts, handle them.

How to weigh the claims

Claim What it means in practice
Responsibly sourced timber Stated sourcing policy; no named certification on the site
Handmade in the UK Built in the Ribble Valley workshop; UK-wide delivery or click & collect
Eco-friendly Company description tied to timber sourcing and durability
Built to last Durability presented as reducing replacement frequency; no lifespan figure given
Modular and customisable Expand or resize later instead of replacing

If your priority is a UK-made, timber product with a low-fixings design, the stated approach lines up with that. If you need documented certification or specific material data, get those answers from the workshop first — the website does not provide them.