How to access Free Movement membership, training and webinars
Updated
Free Movement (freemovement.org.uk) is a UK immigration law site founded in 2007 by barrister Colin Yeo. It publishes news, commentary and case analysis on immigration, asylum and nationality law, and sells training to practitioners. There are three separate ways to engage: a paid full membership, bookable training courses, and individual webinars or workshops. Prices are published for training and webinars; payment is handled through Stripe.
What you can access and how
| Offering | Who it's for | Published price | How to start |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full membership | Readers who want ongoing access to the site's content | Not stated in the available material | "Become a full member now" link, or "Login Here" if already a member |
| Introductory training | People new to immigration law; aimed at Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 1 exams | from £600 | "Book Now" |
| Advanced training | Those building on existing knowledge; aimed at Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 2 | from £600 | "Book Now" |
| Webinars and workshops | Solicitors, barristers, IAA advisers and others, across experience levels | from £65 | "Book Now" |
The site describes its training as covering "a huge range of immigration law training courses for solicitors, barristers, IAA (formerly OISC) advisers and others of all levels of experience."
Membership
Membership is the route to the site's full content offering. If you already hold a membership, use the "Login Here" link rather than signing up again. If you don't, the "Become a full member now" link leads to sign-up. The available material does not state a membership price, so treat the cost as something to confirm on the sign-up page before committing.
Training courses
Two course tiers are advertised:
- Introductory — positioned for people new to immigration law and for the Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 1 exams. From £600.
- Advanced — positioned as taking your knowledge further, and for Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 2. From £600.
Both are booked through a "Book Now" action on the site. Because the figures are given as "from" prices, the final cost depends on the specific course you choose — check the individual course page before booking.
Webinars and workshops
Free Movement runs "regular webinars and workshops on all sorts of immigration, asylum and nationality law and practice issues," priced from £65. These are bookable individually, so they suit practitioners who want a specific topic rather than a full course.
A concrete example from the site: a webinar on Exceptional circumstances in family-based immigration applications, dated 21 October 2026, worth 1.5 CPD hours, starting at 10:30. That listing shows the format to expect — a dated session, a stated CPD value, and a start time — which is useful if you need to log continuing professional development.
Payment
Stripe is the payment platform used across these offerings. Have your card details ready at the point of booking or sign-up.
Practical steps
- Decide which you need: ongoing content access (membership), a structured course (Introductory or Advanced), or a single session (webinar).
- Go to freemovement.org.uk and use the relevant link — "Become a full member now," "Book Now" for a course, or the webinar listing.
- Check the specific page for the exact price, since course and webinar prices are quoted as starting figures.
- Complete payment via Stripe.
- If you already have a membership, log in instead of re-registering.
Common sticking points
- "From" pricing. The £600 and £65 figures are minimums, not flat fees. Confirm the actual amount on the course or webinar page.
- Membership cost is not published in the available material. Don't assume it matches the training prices; check the sign-up page.
- Two different logins to keep straight. Membership login is separate from booking a course or webinar — booking a webinar does not necessarily make you a full member.
- CPD hours vary. The example webinar carries 1.5 CPD hours; check each session's stated value if you're counting towards a requirement.