freemovement.org.uk
Updates, commentary, analysis and training on immigration, asylum and nationality law since 2007. Get the latest from the leading UK immigration website.
At a glance
- Category
- News
- Language
- English
- Paid-content signal
- Paid contentObserved
- Registered
- 2010
- Hosting
- CloudflareInferred
- HTTPS certificate trusted
- PassedObserved
- Last updated
Related questions
More questions →What kind of immigration law updates and analysis does Free Movement publish?
Free Movement publishes news, commentary and case analysis on UK immigration, asylum and nationality law, plus a monthly roundup podcast and a training programme. It is useful if you want to track tribunal and court decisions as they happen and read explanation from people who practise in the field — less so if you need formal legal advice on your own case, which the site does not provide.
What the site covers
The content is organised around practice areas rather than a single feed. From the material on the site, the main strands are:
- Asylum — including Upper Tribunal guidance on the standard of proof in asylum claims.
- Human rights — for example, reporting on trafficking referral numbers and government responses.
- Detention — including litigation over the separation of detained couples.
- Procedure — such as the Administrative Court tightening its approach to urgent judicial review applications.
- Cases — write-ups of decisions from the Upper Tribunal, High Court and other courts.
Each item is attributed to a named author and carries a date, so you can judge how current it is. Contributors include barristers and legal specialists; the site was founded in 2007 by Colin Yeo, a barrister, writer and consultant specialising in immigration law.
How the updates are delivered
| Format | What you get | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Articles and case notes | Written analysis of a decision or development, with the case name and court identified | Checking the reasoning behind a specific judgment |
| Podcast | A monthly immigration roundup | Catching up on several developments in one sitting |
| Webinars and workshops | Live sessions on specific practice issues, with CPD hours stated | Focused training on a single topic |
| Training courses | Introductory and advanced programmes | Structured study, including exam preparation |
The roundup podcast is a practical way to keep pace if you do not read every article — it groups the month's developments rather than treating each in isolation.
Training, if that is what you need
The site runs two main course tiers, both priced from £600:
- Introductory — aimed at people new to immigration law and at preparation for Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 1 exams.
- Advanced — for those moving to level 2.
Webinars and workshops start from £65. Individual sessions state their date, start time and CPD hours — for example, a webinar on exceptional circumstances in family-based immigration applications listed at 1.5 CPD hours. Courses are aimed at solicitors, barristers, IAA (formerly OISC) advisers and others across experience levels.
What it is not
Free Movement is a news, analysis and training site. It does not offer casework or advice on individual matters, and the articles describe decisions rather than telling you what to do about your own situation. If you need representation, the site also carries job adverts from firms — useful mainly as a signal of who is hiring in legal aid immigration work, not as a directory of advisers.
How to use it well
- Follow the practice area you need rather than reading everything; asylum, detention and procedure move at different speeds.
- Check the date and author before relying on an article — the law it describes may have moved on.
- Read the case note alongside the case name so you can locate the judgment itself if you need the full reasoning.
- Use the podcast for breadth, articles for depth — the roundup tells you what changed, the articles tell you why it matters.
Who are Free Movement's immigration law training courses for?
Free Movement's immigration law training is aimed at solicitors, barristers, IAA (formerly OISC) advisers and others working in or entering UK immigration, asylum and nationality law. Courses are split by experience level: an Introductory tier for people new to the field and those preparing for Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 1 exams, and an Advanced tier for practitioners moving to level 2 or deepening existing knowledge. Training is also delivered through regular webinars and workshops, which are open at a lower price point than the full courses.
Who each level is designed for
| Level | Stated audience | Listed price |
|---|---|---|
| Introductory | People new to immigration law; those preparing for IAA (formerly OISC) level 1 exams | from £600 |
| Advanced | Those taking knowledge further; suited to IAA (formerly OISC) level 2 | from £600 |
| Webinars and workshops | Practitioners wanting focused sessions on specific immigration, asylum and nationality law and practice issues | from £65 |
The site describes the overall training range as serving "solicitors, barristers, IAA (formerly OISC) advisers and others of all levels of experience," so the audience is not limited to regulated advisers — it covers the full spread from newcomers to experienced practitioners.
What the webinars add
Webinars and workshops run regularly and cover "all sorts of immigration, asylum and nationality law and practice issues." They are a way to get targeted updates or deep dives without committing to a full course. One listed example is a webinar on exceptional circumstances in family-based immigration applications, scheduled for 21 October 2026, worth 1.5 CPD hours and starting at 10:30.
If your goal is CPD hours or a specific practice topic rather than a structured qualification pathway, the webinar tier is the more direct fit. If you are preparing for an IAA (formerly OISC) exam or building foundational knowledge, the Introductory course is the stated match.
How to decide
- New to immigration law, or sitting IAA (formerly OISC) level 1: Introductory course.
- Working adviser or lawyer moving to level 2, or wanting to extend existing knowledge: Advanced course.
- Need CPD or a single practice issue covered: a webinar or workshop.
- Already a member: the site notes a login option for existing members, separate from the "become a full member" route.
Prices are listed as "from" figures, so the final cost depends on the specific course or event chosen.
How to access Free Movement membership, training and webinars
Free Movement (freemovement.org.uk) is a UK immigration law site founded in 2007 by barrister Colin Yeo. It publishes news, commentary and case analysis on immigration, asylum and nationality law, and sells training to practitioners. There are three separate ways to engage: a paid full membership, bookable training courses, and individual webinars or workshops. Prices are published for training and webinars; payment is handled through Stripe.
What you can access and how
| Offering | Who it's for | Published price | How to start |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full membership | Readers who want ongoing access to the site's content | Not stated in the available material | "Become a full member now" link, or "Login Here" if already a member |
| Introductory training | People new to immigration law; aimed at Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 1 exams | from £600 | "Book Now" |
| Advanced training | Those building on existing knowledge; aimed at Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 2 | from £600 | "Book Now" |
| Webinars and workshops | Solicitors, barristers, IAA advisers and others, across experience levels | from £65 | "Book Now" |
The site describes its training as covering "a huge range of immigration law training courses for solicitors, barristers, IAA (formerly OISC) advisers and others of all levels of experience."
Membership
Membership is the route to the site's full content offering. If you already hold a membership, use the "Login Here" link rather than signing up again. If you don't, the "Become a full member now" link leads to sign-up. The available material does not state a membership price, so treat the cost as something to confirm on the sign-up page before committing.
Training courses
Two course tiers are advertised:
- Introductory — positioned for people new to immigration law and for the Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 1 exams. From £600.
- Advanced — positioned as taking your knowledge further, and for Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) level 2. From £600.
Both are booked through a "Book Now" action on the site. Because the figures are given as "from" prices, the final cost depends on the specific course you choose — check the individual course page before booking.
Webinars and workshops
Free Movement runs "regular webinars and workshops on all sorts of immigration, asylum and nationality law and practice issues," priced from £65. These are bookable individually, so they suit practitioners who want a specific topic rather than a full course.
A concrete example from the site: a webinar on Exceptional circumstances in family-based immigration applications, dated 21 October 2026, worth 1.5 CPD hours, starting at 10:30. That listing shows the format to expect — a dated session, a stated CPD value, and a start time — which is useful if you need to log continuing professional development.
Payment
Stripe is the payment platform used across these offerings. Have your card details ready at the point of booking or sign-up.
Practical steps
- Decide which you need: ongoing content access (membership), a structured course (Introductory or Advanced), or a single session (webinar).
- Go to freemovement.org.uk and use the relevant link — "Become a full member now," "Book Now" for a course, or the webinar listing.
- Check the specific page for the exact price, since course and webinar prices are quoted as starting figures.
- Complete payment via Stripe.
- If you already have a membership, log in instead of re-registering.
Common sticking points
- "From" pricing. The £600 and £65 figures are minimums, not flat fees. Confirm the actual amount on the course or webinar page.
- Membership cost is not published in the available material. Don't assume it matches the training prices; check the sign-up page.
- Two different logins to keep straight. Membership login is separate from booking a course or webinar — booking a webinar does not necessarily make you a full member.
- CPD hours vary. The example webinar carries 1.5 CPD hours; check each session's stated value if you're counting towards a requirement.
What job adverts are listed on Free Movement?
Free Movement carries job adverts for roles in UK immigration, asylum and nationality law, posted on the site as a service to the sector. The listings visible on the site are typically from law firms and similar organisations, and they set out the practical terms a candidate needs to judge fit: salary, contract type, hours, leave and pension. One example currently shown is a Turpin Miller vacancy for a Solicitor/Senior Caseworker in legal aid immigration, leading a women's prison project.
What a Free Movement job advert contains
The Turpin Miller listing illustrates the format. It states:
- Role: Solicitor/Senior Caseworker, Legal Aid Immigration – Women's Prison Project Lead
- Salary: £40,000+, dependent on qualifications and experience
- Contract: Full-time and permanent
- Hours: 37.5-hour week
- Leave: 25 days annual leave plus bank holidays
- Pension: 3% pension contribution
- Flexibility: Flexible working available
The advert describes the post as an opportunity to join an experienced deportation team and lead the firm's women's prison project. It is attributed to Free Movement and dated 8 October 2026.
Who the adverts are for
These listings suit qualified lawyers and caseworkers already working in, or moving into, immigration and asylum law — the same audience Free Movement writes for. The site describes its readership and training market as solicitors, barristers, IAA (formerly OISC) advisers and others across all levels of experience. A legal aid immigration post with a project-lead element assumes prior casework or advocacy experience rather than entry-level status.
How to read the listings
Job adverts sit alongside Free Movement's news, analysis and training content, so the site is a single place to track sector developments and openings. When assessing a listing, check the stated salary basis (here "dependent on qualifications and experience"), whether legal aid funding shapes the caseload, and what the project-lead element adds to the core caseworker role. Because adverts are time-limited, confirm the vacancy is still open with the employer before applying.
What is Free Movement and what does the website cover?
Free Movement (freemovement.org.uk) is a UK immigration law website founded in 2007 by Colin Yeo, a barrister, writer, campaigner and consultant specialising in immigration law. It publishes news, commentary and analysis on immigration, asylum and nationality law, and also sells training courses and webinars. It is aimed primarily at legal professionals and advisers — solicitors, barristers and Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) advisers — though the editorial content is readable by anyone following UK immigration law.
What the site publishes
The editorial side covers immigration, asylum and nationality law through several formats:
- News and case analysis — posts on tribunal and court decisions, such as Upper Tribunal guidance on the higher standard of proof in asylum claims, or a High Court judgment on procedural fairness and certification of protection claims (for example R (FNB and FNN) v Secretary of State for the Home Department [2026] EWHC 2374 (Admin)).
- Commentary on policy and practice — for example posts on trafficking referral numbers and government messaging about "misuse" of the system.
- Podcasts — a recurring immigration roundup, such as the September 2026 edition.
- Job adverts — immigration sector vacancies, such as a Solicitor/Senior Caseworker role at Turpin Miller leading a women's prison project.
Posts are attributed to named authors, and the site has been running since 2007, so there is a substantial archive behind current items.
Training and webinars
Free Movement runs paid training at several levels, described on the site as suitable for solicitors, barristers, IAA (formerly OISC) advisers and others at all experience levels:
| Offering | Stated audience | Price shown |
|---|---|---|
| Introductory course | Those new to immigration law; preparation for IAA (formerly OISC) level 1 exams | from £600 |
| Advanced course | Those taking knowledge further; preparation for IAA (formerly OISC) level 2 | from £600 |
| Webinars and workshops | Open to all levels, on specific immigration, asylum and nationality practice topics | from £65 |
Webinars are scheduled individually and carry CPD hours — for example, a webinar on exceptional circumstances in family-based immigration applications listed at 1.5 CPD hours. Prices are "from" figures, so the actual cost depends on the specific course or event.
Membership and access
The site distinguishes between browsing and full membership: it advertises "Become a full member now" alongside a login for existing members. Training courses and webinars are paid products, with Stripe appearing as a payment platform. The site does not state that editorial content is free of charge or free of login in the material available, so if access to particular articles matters to you, check the membership terms before relying on it.
Who it is for
- Immigration lawyers and caseworkers — case analysis, procedural updates and CPD-bearing training.
- IAA/OISC advisers — structured courses mapped to level 1 and level 2 exams.
- Journalists, researchers and campaigners — a running record of UK immigration law and policy developments since 2007.
- Anyone following a specific case or policy area — searchable commentary by topic (asylum, detention, human rights, procedure).
If you need practitioner-level analysis of UK immigration law plus optional paid training, Free Movement is a long-established source. If you only need occasional background reading, the editorial posts alone may be enough — but confirm current membership and access terms on the site, since the available material does not specify what is open and what is restricted.
Website Overview
Identifiable technologies and additional version or configuration signals make the service easier to fingerprint, which may help targeted scanners narrow their checks. An established domain and managed infrastructure suggest continuity of operations and may support dependable delivery, although neither guarantees service quality.
Domain and Registration
Registered in 2010, this domain has about 16 years of history. That suggests continuity, although ownership and purpose may have changed. Transfer-protection status is present, helping reduce the risk of unauthorized domain transfers. Registration contact information is publicly available through RDAP. The domain uses the common .uk extension, which is not an independent safety signal.
DNS and Email
Nameservers are provided by Cloudflare, indicating managed DNS hosting. MX records point to the Google Workspace email service. No CNAME was found; the observed records resolve directly to addresses. SPF and DMARC are configured. DKIM status is unknown. TXT records include verification markers for Google. Such markers may also remain after a service stops being used.
TLS and Certificates
The public key uses EC with 256 bits. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. No organization name is present in the certificate; the available fields are consistent with domain validation. The certificate was issued within the Google Trust Services cloud or CDN ecosystem. The certificate's total validity is about 90 days, consistent with a short renewal cycle.
HTTP and Browser Security
The response lacks these common security headers: CSP. No X-Powered-By header was found, reducing one common source of backend fingerprinting information. The cf-ray response header indicates a CDN or caching proxy in the delivery path. No obvious internal addresses or debug information were found in the headers. The Server header identifies cloudflare without an exact version.
Technology Stack Analysis
The public page identifies WordPress 7.1.3, jQuery, Google Tag Manager, Stripe, Cloudflare, with exact versions exposed for 1 technologies. These details can narrow vulnerability checks, although exposure alone is not a vulnerability.
Search and Social Sharing
The Generator tag identifies WordPress 7.1.3, making the publishing system easier to fingerprint. Open Graph is partially configured; og:image is missing. Twitter Card metadata is configured. JSON-LD includes Organization data, helping describe the organization as an entity. The title has 58 characters, within a common display range.
Hosting and Email
Registration details
| Registrar | Easyspace Ltd |
|---|---|
| Registered | 2010-03-22 |
| Expires | 2027-03-22 |
| Domain status | client transfer prohibited、client update prohibited |
| Nameservers | eric.ns.cloudflare.com、iris.ns.cloudflare.com |
| DNSSEC | unsigned |
DNS records
| Type | Name | Value | TTL | Priority |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | freemovement.org.uk | 104.21.48.159 | 300 | — |
| A | freemovement.org.uk | 172.67.154.83 | 300 | — |
| AAAA | freemovement.org.uk | 2606:4700:3034::6815:309f | 300 | — |
| AAAA | freemovement.org.uk | 2606:4700:3035::ac43:9a53 | 300 | — |
| MX | freemovement.org.uk | aspmx.l.google.com | 300 | 1 |
| MX | freemovement.org.uk | alt1.aspmx.l.google.com | 300 | 5 |
| MX | freemovement.org.uk | alt2.aspmx.l.google.com | 300 | 5 |
| MX | freemovement.org.uk | alt3.aspmx.l.google.com | 300 | 10 |
| MX | freemovement.org.uk | alt4.aspmx.l.google.com | 300 | 10 |
| NS | freemovement.org.uk | eric.ns.cloudflare.com | 86400 | — |
| NS | freemovement.org.uk | iris.ns.cloudflare.com | 86400 | — |
| TXT | freemovement.org.uk | anthropic-domain-verification-41ws9k=MrzZqBfLnH1bA0eRxKqJzTQZr | 300 | — |
| TXT | freemovement.org.uk | brevo-code:a331910b145be563ad6e24a8c4966fe0 | 300 | — |
| TXT | freemovement.org.uk | ca3-7f751a3f3a504e3e9b5360ed1ec58283 | 300 | — |
| TXT | freemovement.org.uk | google-site-verification=9gDeUj-p8u6UKxGa1lTUSx2IrZ4rYe8512ojWltrW7A | 300 | — |
| TXT | freemovement.org.uk | google-site-verification=JexUI4W6RQjxpgJw2kRC00KOMqzgCbPsQSYU-rVIO2A | 300 | — |
| TXT | freemovement.org.uk | mailerlite-domain-verification=e777b40846b430ca7d3883b270a94d93814eb4fe | 300 | — |
| TXT | freemovement.org.uk | v=msv1 t=b04d3dc46f0f42ad79f40e840e8e7b | 300 | — |
| TXT | freemovement.org.uk | v=spf1 include:_spf.mlsend.com include:_spf.google.com include:mailgun.org ~all | 300 | — |
| DMARC | _dmarc.freemovement.org.uk | v=DMARC1; p= quarantine; rua=mailto:[email protected] | 300 | — |
TLS and certificates
| Assessment | Normal configuration |
|---|---|
| Supported protocols | TLSv1.2、TLSv1.3 |
| Negotiated protocol | TLSv1.3 |
| Certificate subject | freemovement.org.uk |
| Issuer | Google Trust Services |
| Valid until | 2026-12-03T07:20 · Remaining when checked: 50 days |
| Verification details | Certificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed |
HTTP response headers
| Header | Value |
|---|---|
| content-type | text/html; charset=UTF-8 |
| server | cloudflare |
| strict-transport-security | max-age=5; includeSubDomains |
| x-frame-options | SAMEORIGIN |
| x-content-type-options | nosniff |
| referrer-policy | strict-origin-when-cross-origin |
| permissions-policy | geolocation=(self), payment=(self) |
Identified technologies
Pages, Search and Sharing
| Meta description | Updates, commentary, analysis and training on immigration, asylum and nationality law since 2007. Get the latest from the leading UK immigration website. |
|---|---|
| Canonical URL | https://freemovement.org.uk/ |
| Language | English (default) |
| Twitter Card | summary_large_image |
Social Sharing Preview
11 fieldsrobots.txt (opens in a new tab)
18 rulesgptbot 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
chatgpt-user 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
ccbot 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
anthropic-ai 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
bytespider 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
claudebot 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
google-extended 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
perplexitybot 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
amazonbot 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
facebookbot 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
meta-externalagent 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
meta-externalfetcher 0 allowed · 1 disallowed
- Disallow
/
All bots 1 allowed · 5 disallowed
- Allow
/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php - Disallow
/wp-admin/ - Disallow
/wp-includes/ - Disallow
/wp-content/uploads/*.pdf - Disallow
/*?s= - Disallow
/?s= - Interval
Crawl delay 10 seconds
No matching rules.
Sitemaps
1Recent Updates
- Website images
- Screenshots
- Network details
- Website Technologies
- Pages and Search Information
- HTTP Response Information
- TLS and certificates
- DNS Information
- Domain Registration
- Website profile
- Website Description
- Website Name
- Website profile
- Website Description
- Website Name
User reviews (0)