Is Uncensored AI Studio free, and what plans or packs are available?
Updated
Uncensored AI Studio is free and open source, and it can run on your own PC. The site also points to paid options: a Pricing page and a "See plans and packs" link on lu-labs.ai, which suggests there are plans or credit packs for people who don't want to buy a GPU. The exact prices and what each plan includes are not stated in the material available here, so check the official pricing pages for current numbers.
What "free" means here
The site describes the studio as "Free and open source on GitHub, on your own PC, or online without a GPU." That covers two different situations:
- On your own PC — you run it locally, and local chats stay on your PC.
- Online without a GPU — the same catalog runs online, so you don't need local hardware.
The free/open-source claim applies to the software itself. It does not automatically mean every online option costs nothing, because the site separately links to plans and packs.
What's included across plans and packs
One detail is stated directly: the online catalog has 47 chat models, and "every one of them included in every plan and every pack." So model access does not appear to be tiered — you aren't choosing a plan based on which chat models you get.
The site also says it adds "no moderation layer of our own to text."
Local vs online: what changes
| Local (your PC) | Online (no GPU) | |
|---|---|---|
| Hardware needed | Your own machine | None stated |
| Where chats live | Stay on your PC | Not specified in the material here |
| Cost | Free, open source | Plans and packs exist; prices not stated here |
| Model access | Same catalog | All 47 chat models in every plan and pack |
If privacy of chat data is your deciding factor, the local option is the one with an explicit statement that chats stay on your PC. If you don't have a GPU, the online route avoids that purchase, but you'd be looking at the plans/packs side.
What to check before deciding
The material doesn't give prices, credit amounts, or what distinguishes one plan or pack from another. To make a decision, go to:
locallyuncensored.com/pricing/- The "See plans and packs" link on lu-labs.ai (credits tab)
Compare those against simply running it locally for free, especially if you already have hardware that can handle it. The studio also covers chat, images, video, and a coding agent — not just chat — so check whether the plan you're considering covers the parts you actually want to use.