Website profiles · Technology insights · Alternatives

locallyuncensored.com

Uncensored AI for chat, images, video and a coding agent. Free and open source on GitHub, on your own PC, or online without a GPU. Local chats stay on your PC.

Paid content
Visit website
Profile views 4 Outbound visits 1 Normal
Uncensored AI Studio: Free, Open Source Chat, Image, Video Full homepage screenshot

At a glance

Category
Development
Language
English
Paid-content signal
Paid contentObserved
Registered
2026
Hosting
FastlyInferred
HTTPS certificate trusted
PassedObserved
Last updated

Website review

This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.

What is Uncensored AI Studio?

Uncensored AI Studio is a free, open-source AI toolkit from Locally Uncensored that covers chat, image generation, video and a coding agent. Its distinguishing idea is deployment choice: you can run it on your own PC, or use the same catalog online if you don't have a GPU. Chats run locally stay on your machine.

What you actually get

  • Chat across a large model catalog — the page cites 47 chat models, all included in every plan and pack, with no moderation layer added to text by the product itself.
  • Image and video generation alongside chat, plus a coding agent — positioned as a studio rather than a single chat window.
  • Two ways to run it: install locally (open source, GitHub) or use the hosted version in a browser without owning a GPU.
  • Release notes that state what changed in each version, which matters if you depend on a specific model or workflow.

Who it suits

Your situation Reasonable fit
You want unrestricted text generation and control over the model Strong — the local install and no added moderation layer are the point
You have no GPU but want the same models The online option exists for exactly this
You need a single chat app Probably overkill — this bundles image, video and coding tools too
You need guaranteed uptime or vendor support Weigh carefully; self-hosted means you maintain it

A practical next step

Decide first whether your priority is privacy or convenience. If chats must never leave your machine, plan for a local install and check your hardware against the models you want. If you'd rather not manage that, start with the browser version and confirm the model list matches what you need. Either way, look at the pricing page before committing, since the page references plans and credit packs for the online route.

For a broader set of open-weight models to compare against, Hugging Face hosts many of the same families.

How does the local version differ from the online version in terms of privacy and hardware requirements?

The core split is simple: the local version keeps your chats on your own machine and asks you to supply the hardware, while the online version runs the same catalog on someone else's servers so you don't need a GPU at all.

Privacy

On the local version, the site states that local chats stay on your PC. That is the meaningful difference: your prompts, uploaded images and generated output don't leave the machine, so there's no third-party server holding the conversation. The trade-off is that you're responsible for the disk, backups and any sharing you do yourself.

On the online version, prompts and files are processed on remote infrastructure. The site says it adds no moderation layer of its own to text, but "no moderation layer" is not the same as "no data leaves your device" — routing through a hosted service inherently means the request travels off your machine. If your concern is confidentiality of the content itself (client material, personal writing, unreleased work), that distinction matters more than the moderation question.

Hardware

Local Online
GPU You provide it; the site frames buying a GPU as a choice you can skip Not required
Setup Runs on your own PC; the site claims under five minutes Browser only
Model access Whatever your hardware can run The full catalog, including all 47 chat models, included in every plan and pack
Ongoing cost Your electricity and hardware Paid plans or credit packs

The practical consequence: local gives you the strongest privacy but caps you at what your GPU can handle, and large video or image models are the first thing to suffer on modest hardware. Online removes that ceiling and gives you access to every model in the catalog, at the cost of sending your data off-device and paying for usage.

How to choose

Ask one question first: does the content need to stay on your machine? If yes, go local and check your GPU against the models you actually want to run — especially for video. If no, and your hardware is weak or you want the full catalog, the online route is the lower-friction option. A middle path many people take is local for sensitive text work and online for heavy image or video generation.

For specifics on what each route includes, see Uncensored AI Studio and its pricing page.

What can I generate with the studio beyond text chat, such as images, video, or code?

The studio is positioned as a full creative suite rather than a chat window. Beyond text chat, the page names three additional output types: images, video, and a coding agent. So the practical answer is that you can hold text conversations, generate images, generate video, and delegate coding tasks to an agent — all within the same environment.

What that looks like in practice

  • Chat — text conversation across a large catalog of models, with the page stating that every chat model is included in every plan and pack and that no moderation layer is added to text on their side.
  • Images — still-image generation, useful for concept art, mockups, illustrations, or assets you would otherwise commission.
  • Video — moving-image generation, suited to short clips, animatics, or motion tests rather than long-form editing.
  • Coding agent — an agent that works on code, which fits tasks like scaffolding a small app, refactoring a script, or generating boilerplate you would rather not write by hand.

The bigger decision: local or online

The page frames the same catalog as running either on your own PC or online. That choice matters more than the feature list:

On your own PC Online
Hardware Needs a capable GPU No GPU required
Privacy Local chats stay on your PC Runs on someone else's infrastructure
Setup Install and configure locally Browser-based
Cost pattern Your hardware and power Plans and packs

If your work involves sensitive material, the local option is the reason to pick this over a hosted service. If you lack a GPU or want to start immediately, the online route removes that barrier.

A concrete scenario

Say you are prototyping a short animated explainer. You could draft the script in chat, generate a few style frames as images, turn the best ones into short video clips, and then hand the coding agent the job of building a simple page to host them. One tool, four output types, no switching between subscriptions.

Next step

Decide which constraint binds you first — privacy or hardware. If it is privacy, plan for the local install and check the minimum GPU requirement before committing. If it is hardware, start online and treat local as a later upgrade. Then check the pricing page for what plans and packs actually include, since the page claims all chat models are bundled regardless of tier. For a broader comparison of open-weight options, Ollama and Hugging Face are useful reference points.

How much do the plans and credit packs cost, and what is included in each?

The page itself does not publish plan or credit-pack prices. Its pricing links point to a separate plans-and-packs page on LU Labs, so exact figures have to be checked there rather than on the studio page. What the page does state about inclusions is unusually simple: 47 chat models are available online and "every one of them" is included in every plan and every pack, with no moderation layer of the studio's own added to text.

What is included, based on the page

  • All 47 chat models, in every tier — no model is locked behind a higher plan.
  • Chat, image, video and a coding agent as one studio rather than a chat-only app.
  • Two delivery routes: run it on your own PC, or use the online version if you would rather not buy a GPU.
  • Local chats stay on your PC, and the project is free and open source on GitHub.
  • Release notes accompany each version, so you can see what changed before updating.

How to choose between a plan and a pack

The page does not explain the difference in billing terms, so treat this as a decision criterion rather than a product claim: a subscription suits steady, regular use where you want the whole catalog always available; a credit pack suits occasional or bursty use where you would rather pay once for a block of usage. Because model access is identical across tiers, the real question is how much usage you need, not which models you get.

A practical next step

If you already have a capable GPU, install the open-source version first — it costs nothing and keeps chats on your machine. If you do not, or you want to test the catalog before committing hardware, use the online studio, then compare the plans-and-packs page on LU Labs against your expected monthly usage.

Can I run the studio on my own PC without a GPU, and what are the minimum system requirements?

You can run Uncensored AI Studio on a PC without a discrete GPU, but the experience changes depending on how you do it. The site's own framing is "on your PC or online," and it explicitly offers an online path for people who "prefer not to buy a GPU." That online route runs the same model catalog in the browser, so your hardware matters far less.

Two ways to run it without a GPU

  • Online, in the browser. No GPU purchase, no local model downloads, no VRAM ceiling. The page states the same catalog of models runs online, including 47 chat models that are included in every plan and pack. This is the practical choice for laptops, office desktops, or any machine with modest integrated graphics.
  • Locally on CPU only. Open-source local inference can run on CPU, but it is slow and memory-hungry compared with GPU acceleration. The site does not publish a CPU-only minimum spec, so treat any local CPU setup as experimental rather than the intended experience.

What the site does and does not specify

The page evidence gives a clear split:

Requirement area What is stated
GPU Not required if you use the online option
Chat models 47 chat models, all included in every plan and pack
Moderation No moderation layer added to text by the studio
Local privacy Local chats stay on your PC
Setup time "Running in under five minutes"
Exact minimum RAM, VRAM, CPU, disk Not published in the available page information

Because no numeric minimums are given, avoid planning around a specific RAM or VRAM figure you saw elsewhere. The honest answer is: the online mode has no meaningful local hardware floor beyond a working modern browser and a stable connection, while local mode's requirements depend on which model you load.

A concrete decision path

If your goal is to try the studio this week on a laptop with integrated graphics, start online. You get the full chat catalog, no download wait, and no GPU spend. Move to a local install only if keeping chats on your own machine is a hard requirement, and then check the project's GitHub release notes, since the site says every release documents what changed.

For a local install, plan around these practical factors rather than a published spec sheet:

  • System RAM is the main constraint for CPU inference; larger models need substantially more than smaller ones.
  • Disk space scales with how many models you keep downloaded.
  • A discrete GPU with adequate VRAM is what turns local mode from usable into fast.

If you want to compare the online option against other browser-based AI studios, LU Labs is the related service referenced for plans and credit packs.

How do I install and set up the open-source studio, and how long does it take?

Installation depends on which path you take: running the studio on your own PC, or using the hosted online version. The page frames the local route as the main event — "Generate Anything. Locally. Uncensored." — and claims you can be "Running in under five minutes," which is a reasonable estimate for the online path and for a local install on a machine that already has a compatible GPU and drivers. A first-time local setup on a fresh machine usually takes longer, mostly spent downloading model files rather than running the installer.

Local install on your own PC

The project is distributed as free, open-source software, so the setup flow is the familiar one:

  1. Get the release from the project's GitHub repository (linked from the site).
  2. Install the runtime and dependencies for your operating system.
  3. Launch the studio and let it pull the models you want to use.
  4. Point it at a model catalog and start a chat, image, or video job.

The time cost is dominated by step 3. Model downloads are large, and the first launch of a given model often includes an initialization step. On a machine with a modern GPU and a fast connection, a single small chat model can be ready in a few minutes; a full image or video model set can take considerably longer. If you have no GPU, the local path either won't be practical or will fall back to slow CPU inference — which is exactly the case the site addresses with its online option.

Online, without a GPU

The page notes: "Prefer not to buy a GPU? The same catalog runs online." This is the fastest route — no install, no downloads, no hardware requirement. You open the browser, pick a model, and start. The page states that 47 chat models are available online and that all of them are included in every plan and every pack, with no added moderation layer on text. That makes the online path the better choice for trying the catalog before committing to a local setup, or for machines that can't run the larger models.

What you get once it's running

The site is explicit that this is "Not a chat app. The whole studio." In practice that means chat, image generation, video, and a coding agent under one interface, rather than four separate tools. The page also emphasizes that "Every release says what changed," which matters if you plan to keep a local install updated over time — you can read release notes before pulling a new version instead of discovering behavior changes mid-project.

Choosing between the two

Local install Online
Setup time Installer is quick; model downloads add minutes to hours Effectively immediate
Hardware Needs a capable GPU for good speed None beyond a browser
Privacy "Local chats stay on your PC" Runs on remote infrastructure
Best for Ongoing private work, large models, offline use First look, weak hardware, occasional use

If privacy of your conversations is the priority, the local path is the one that matches that goal, since the page states local chats stay on your machine. If speed of getting started is the priority, start online and install locally later once you know which models you actually use. Pricing and plan details are listed on the site's own pricing page, so check there for current terms rather than assuming a free tier covers heavy use.

Related questions

More questions →
What Are Open-Source UI Element Libraries and How Do They Differ From UI Frameworks?

An open-source UI element library is a collection of individual, ready-made interface pieces—buttons, cards, inputs, toggles, loaders—that you copy into your own project and adapt. A UI framework, by contrast, is a structured system of components, conventions, and often a theming layer that governs how your whole interface is built. The practical difference: an element library gives you a snippet; a framework gives you a way of working. If you need a polished button in ten minutes, reach for the element library. If you're building a 40-screen product with a team, you probably want the framework.

What "open-source UI element library" actually means

The term gets used loosely, so it helps to separate the parts:

  • Open-source: the code is publicly available, and the license tells you what you may do with it—copy, modify, redistribute, or use commercially.
  • UI element: a single, self-contained piece of interface, usually small enough to read in one sitting. A button with hover states, a pricing card, a search field.
  • Library: a browsable, searchable collection of those elements, typically contributed by many different people.

On a site like Uiverse, elements are shared by a community and written in plain CSS or Tailwind. You find one you like, copy the markup and styles, paste them into your project, and adjust colors, spacing, and text to fit. There's no package to install and no build step required—which is exactly the appeal, and also the source of most of the confusion.

Element library vs. UI framework: the core differences

Dimension Open-source UI element library UI framework / design system
Unit of reuse A single snippet you copy A component you import or call
Installation None; paste into your code Package install, config, sometimes a provider
Consistency Depends on you; each element may look different Enforced by shared tokens and APIs
Theming Manual edits per element Central theme/config file
Updates You own the copy; no upstream updates Version bumps bring fixes and changes
Accessibility Varies per contributor; must be checked Usually tested and documented
Best for Prototypes, landing pages, small sites, one-off needs Multi-page apps, teams, long-lived products
Learning curve Low—read the CSS Higher—learn the API and conventions

The table isn't a verdict. It's a map of trade-offs. Element libraries win on speed and freedom; frameworks win on consistency and maintenance.

Licensing and attribution: what to check before you paste

This is where people get into trouble, and it's worth slowing down for.

  1. Find the license. Every element or collection should state one. Common open-source licenses include MIT, Apache-2.0, and BSD. Some projects use copyleft licenses like GPL, which can impose obligations if you redistribute your code.
  2. Understand what the license permits. MIT and Apache-2.0 are permissive: you can typically use the code in commercial and closed-source projects. Copyleft licenses may require you to release derivative source under the same terms.
  3. Check attribution requirements. Permissive licenses usually require you to keep the copyright notice and license text somewhere in your project. That's a real obligation, not a formality.
  4. Look for per-element terms. On community sites, the site's overall terms and the individual contributor's stated wishes may differ. If a contributor asks for credit, honor it.
  5. When in doubt, ask or avoid. If a snippet has no license at all, you don't have clear permission to reuse it. Treat "no license" as "not open source," even if the code is publicly visible.

This article is general information, not legal advice. For commercial products with real exposure, have someone qualified review the licenses you're relying on.

How to use a community element in your project: a practical workflow

Here's a repeatable process that avoids most of the usual mess.

1. Start from a real need, not a browsing session

Decide what you need first—"a compact primary button with a loading state"—then search. Browsing aimlessly produces a pile of pretty snippets that don't fit together.

2. Copy the smallest version that works

Take the markup and the styles. Strip anything you don't need: demo wrappers, extra animations, decorative layers. Less code means fewer surprises.

3. Convert it to your conventions

If your project uses design tokens or CSS variables, replace hard-coded values:

/* Before: hard-coded */
.button { background: #4f46e5; border-radius: 8px; }

/* After: token-based */
.button { background: var(--color-primary); border-radius: var(--radius-md); }

This one step is what keeps a copied element from looking like a foreign object in your UI.

4. Check accessibility before you ship

Community elements vary widely here. Verify at minimum:

  • Keyboard focus is visible and the element is reachable by Tab.
  • Color contrast meets WCAG AA (4.5:1 for normal text).
  • Interactive elements use semantic HTML (<button>, not a clickable <div>).
  • Form inputs have associated labels.
  • Motion respects prefers-reduced-motion.

5. Test in context

Paste it into a real page with real content. Long labels, small screens, and dark mode break more copied elements than anything else.

6. Note where it came from

Keep a short comment or an internal credits file: source, license, date. Future you—and your legal reviewer—will be grateful.

Where element libraries genuinely shine

  • Prototypes and demos: you need something clickable today, not a design system.
  • Landing pages and marketing sites: a handful of distinctive elements, each custom.
  • Filling gaps: your framework lacks one specific component, and you don't want to build it from scratch.
  • Learning: reading well-made CSS is one of the fastest ways to improve.
  • Small projects: a personal site doesn't need a theming architecture.

Where they fall short

  • Consistency at scale: ten elements from ten contributors rarely look like one product.
  • Maintenance: you own every copy. When your design changes, you edit each one.
  • Accessibility debt: you inherit whatever the contributor did or didn't do.
  • No upstream fixes: a bug fixed in the original won't reach your copy.
  • Integration friction: different naming conventions, different units, different assumptions about resets.

When to choose which

Choose an element library when the scope is small, the timeline is short, or you need a few distinctive pieces rather than a whole system.

Choose a framework or design system when multiple people build multiple screens over months, when consistency is a product requirement, or when accessibility and theming need to be guaranteed rather than checked.

A hybrid works well for many teams: adopt a framework for the structural components—forms, navigation, layout—and borrow individual elements for the places where you want personality. Just route every borrowed element through the same token and accessibility checks, so it lands as part of your system rather than beside it.

The short version: open-source UI element libraries are a fast, flexible way to get good-looking interface pieces into a project. They are not a substitute for a design system, and the license and accessibility details are the part worth reading carefully.

Does Uncensored AI Studio Add Any Moderation to Chats?

No. According to the site's own description, Uncensored AI Studio adds no moderation layer of its own to text. The excerpt states plainly: "We add no moderation layer of our own to text." That is the core of what "uncensored" means here — the platform does not insert its own filter between you and the model's output. This applies to the chat models in the catalog, and the same catalog is available both locally and online.

What "No Moderation Layer of Our Own" Actually Means

The phrase is specific, and the specificity matters. It says the platform adds no moderation of its own. That is a claim about the platform's own behavior, not a claim that every model in the catalog behaves identically or that nothing anywhere filters anything.

In practice, for text chat, the practical meaning is:

  • The platform does not run your prompt or the model's reply through its own content filter before showing it to you.
  • The catalog is presented as 47 chat models, and the site says every one of them is included in every plan and every pack — so model access is not gated by tier in a way that would silently swap in a more restricted model.
  • The site frames this as "Generate Anything. Locally. Uncensored." — the positioning is that the studio is not a chat app with a moderation policy bolted on, but a full studio.

What this does not mean: it is not a guarantee about the underlying model's own training, and it is not a statement that no law or platform term applies to you. Those are separate questions, covered below.

Local Chats Stay on Your PC

This is the part that changes the moderation picture most, because it changes where your data goes rather than what the model says.

When you run the studio locally, the site states that local chats stay on your PC. Your conversation is not routed through the platform's servers. That has two consequences worth separating:

  1. No server-side filtering step. There is no point at which your text passes through platform infrastructure where a moderation layer could sit. The interaction is between your machine and the model running on it.
  2. No server-side record. Because the chat stays on your PC, there is no platform-side log of it to review, filter, or act on.

If you instead use the online option — the site notes you can run the same catalog online "without a GPU" — your chat is no longer purely local. The "no moderation layer of our own to text" statement is about the platform's own filtering, and the site does not describe adding one for online use either. But the data-location difference is real and is the main thing that changes between the two modes.

Local vs Online: What Changes for Moderation

Dimension Local (on your PC) Online (no GPU needed)
Platform's own text moderation layer None added, per site None added, per site
Where chat data lives Stays on your PC Not local; leaves your machine
Model catalog Same catalog Same catalog
Hardware requirement Needs a capable PC/GPU Runs without a GPU

The moderation answer is the same in both columns. The difference is where your conversation physically goes. If keeping chats off any server is the reason you care about moderation, local is the mode that delivers that; online trades that property for not needing a GPU.

The Boundaries You Still Own

"Uncensored" describes the platform's filtering behavior. It does not remove the rules that apply to you from outside the platform:

  • Applicable law still applies. What you generate and what you do with it is your responsibility regardless of whether a filter sat in the path.
  • The platform's terms still apply. Using the service is still subject to its usage terms; "no moderation layer" is not the same as "no terms."
  • The model's own behavior is not the platform's filter. A model may still refuse, hedge, or produce something unexpected based on how it was trained. That is the model, not a platform moderation layer.

So the accurate reading is: the platform does not add its own moderation to text, and local chats stay on your PC — but you remain the one responsible for how you use the output.

How to Verify This Yourself

If you want to confirm the behavior rather than take the description at face value:

  1. Run the studio locally and send a prompt you would expect a moderated service to block or soften.
  2. Watch whether the reply is altered, truncated, or replaced with a policy message by the platform — as opposed to the model itself declining.
  3. Check where the conversation is stored: with local mode, the site says it stays on your PC, so look for it on your own machine rather than in a web account.
  4. Compare the same prompt in online mode to see whether the platform's behavior differs — the site presents the catalog as the same in both.

The expected result, per the site's description, is that no platform-level filter intervenes in either mode, with the local/online distinction showing up in data location rather than in filtering.

Bottom Line

Uncensored AI Studio states that it adds no moderation layer of its own to text, and that local chats stay on your PC. Those two facts together are what "uncensored" means for chat here: no platform filter in the path, and — in local mode — no server in the path either. The catalog is the same locally and online, so the choice between them is about hardware and data location, not about how much gets filtered. Your own legal and terms obligations are unaffected either way.

How to Get Started with Uncensored AI Studio in Under Five Minutes

You can start Uncensored AI Studio in under five minutes by choosing one of two paths: run it locally on your own PC, or use it online in a browser without a GPU. The local path requires downloading the open-source release from GitHub and having hardware that can run the models; the online path requires only a browser and an account, and the site states the same model catalog runs in both places. The site's own heading claims "Running in under five minutes," so the steps below are organized around that claim.

Before you start: pick your path

The single decision that determines your setup is local vs. online. Everything else follows from it.

Condition Local (on your PC) Online (browser)
GPU required Yes, you need hardware capable of running the models No — the site explicitly says you can run it "online without a GPU"
Where you get it Open-source release from GitHub The website itself
Where your chats live "Local chats stay on your PC" Handled by the online service
Best for Privacy-first use, offline work, full control Quick start, weaker hardware, trying it before committing

If you don't have a capable GPU and don't want to buy one, the online path is the intended alternative — the site frames it as "Prefer not to buy a GPU? The same catalog runs online."

Path A: Start online in a browser

  1. Open locallyuncensored.com in your browser. No installation step is involved on this path.
  2. Create or sign in to an account if the service prompts you. The online catalog is tied to plans and packs (see the pricing section below), so an account is how access is tracked.
  3. Pick a chat model. The site states there are 47 chat models online, and that every one of them is included in every plan and every pack.
  4. Start chatting. The site describes this as "Chat in the browser."

Expected result: you're in a chat session with the model you selected, with no local install and no GPU.

Path B: Run it locally on your PC

  1. Confirm your hardware can run the models. This is the step most likely to push you past five minutes, because it's a check rather than a click. If you're unsure, use the online path instead.
  2. Get the open-source release from GitHub. The project is described as "Free and open source on GitHub," and releases are documented — the site notes "Every release says what changed," so check the release notes for your version.
  3. Install and launch it on your own PC. The site's framing is "on your own PC" and "Generate Anything. Locally. Uncensored."
  4. Verify that chats stay local. The site states "Local chats stay on your PC" — this is the main reason to choose this path over the browser.

Expected result: the studio runs on your machine, and your chat data doesn't leave it.

What you actually get once you're in

This isn't only a chat app. The site describes it as "Not a chat app. The whole studio," covering:

  • Chat — 47 chat models online, all included in every plan and pack
  • Images — image generation is part of the catalog
  • Video — video generation is part of the catalog
  • A coding agent — listed alongside chat, images, and video

Moderation: what to expect

The site states it adds "no moderation layer of our own to text." That's a specific claim about text, made by the operator — it describes their own layer, not what any underlying model provider might do. Treat it as the site's stated policy rather than a guarantee about every output.

Free vs. paid: what the site actually says

The site's title and description call the project "Free and open source on GitHub." Separately, the online catalog is organized into plans and packs, with a pricing page and a "See plans and packs" link pointing to lu-labs.ai. The excerpt confirms that all 47 chat models are included in every plan and every pack — so model access isn't tiered by which plan you pick.

What the available material does not specify: exact prices, what each plan or pack contains, whether a free tier exists for online use, or whether an account is required for every online action. Check the pricing page directly for those details rather than assuming.

Common places people get stuck

  • Assuming "free" covers everything. The GitHub project is free and open source; the online service is sold as plans and packs. These are two different things.
  • Trying the local path without checking hardware first. This is the most common way to blow past five minutes.
  • Expecting the online and local versions to differ in model choice. The site says the same catalog runs in both.
  • Reading "no moderation layer of our own" as "no moderation at all." The claim is scoped to the operator's own text layer.
What Is Uncensored AI Studio (locallyuncensored.com)?

Uncensored AI Studio is a free, open-source AI toolkit that runs either on your own PC or online without a GPU. It bundles chat, image generation, video, and a coding agent into one application, and it adds no moderation layer of its own to text. If you want an AI studio you can run locally — where chats stay on your machine — or you want the same model catalog hosted online because you don't have a GPU, this is the choice it's built around.

What the studio actually includes

The site describes it as "not a chat app. The whole studio." In practice that means four capabilities under one roof:

  • Chat — text conversation across a catalog of models
  • Image generation
  • Video generation
  • A coding agent

The chat side is the most documented: the site states there are 47 chat models, and that every one of them is included in every plan and every pack. That's a flat catalog rather than a tiered one — you don't unlock models by paying more.

Local vs. online: the two ways to run it

This is the core decision the product is organized around.

Local (your PC) Online (no GPU)
Hardware Your own machine None required
Privacy Chats stay on your PC Runs on hosted infrastructure
Model access Same catalog Same catalog
Setup Download and run Use in the browser

The site's own framing: "Uncensored AI, on your PC or online," and "Prefer not to buy a GPU? The same catalog runs online." So the trade-off isn't capability — it's where the compute happens and where your conversation data lives.

If privacy is your reason for being here, the local path is the one that matters. The site explicitly says local chats stay on your PC. The online path is for people who want the same models without buying hardware.

The "uncensored" part, stated precisely

The claim on the page is narrow and worth reading exactly: "We add no moderation layer of our own to text."

That means the studio itself doesn't insert a filter between you and the model. It does not mean every model behaves identically, and it doesn't describe what any upstream model provider does. Treat "uncensored" here as a statement about the application layer, not a guarantee about every output.

Open source and updates

The project is free and open source on GitHub. The site also notes that "every release says what changed" — changelogs are published per release, which is useful if you're running it locally and want to know whether an update affects your setup.

Getting started

The site claims you can be "running in under five minutes." The realistic split:

  • Online route — open it in a browser, no GPU, no install. Fastest path if you just want to try the models.
  • Local route — you'll need to get it onto your machine from the GitHub project. This is where the five-minute estimate depends heavily on your hardware and how much of the stack you already have.

Who this fits

  • You want local inference and data that doesn't leave your machine → the local install is the point.
  • You want the same models but have no GPU → the online option exists specifically for this.
  • You want image, video, and coding in one tool rather than four subscriptions → that's the "whole studio" pitch.
  • You need a specific model that isn't in the 47-model catalog → check the catalog before committing; the flat "all models in all plans" structure only helps if what you need is in there.

Pricing details for the online plans and packs are listed on the site's pricing page — check there for current figures rather than assuming the online tier is free just because the software is open source.

Local vs Online in Uncensored AI Studio: What Actually Changes

The difference comes down to where the model runs, not what you can generate. Uncensored AI Studio offers the same catalog of chat, image, video, and coding models either way: you can install it on your own PC, or run it online in a browser without a GPU. Local chats stay on your PC. If you have the hardware and want the strongest privacy, run it locally; if you don't want to buy a GPU, the online option uses the same catalog.

The core distinction

Uncensored AI Studio is described as "not a chat app. The whole studio." That matters for this comparison, because the local/online split applies across the whole toolset, not just text chat.

Dimension Local (on your PC) Online (in browser)
Where models run Your own machine Remote, accessed via browser
GPU required Yes, for local inference No
Chat privacy Local chats stay on your PC Not stated as local
Model catalog Same catalog Same catalog
Moderation layer No moderation layer added to text No moderation layer added to text
Setup Install on your PC No install; open in browser

Two things stay constant across both paths: the model catalog, and the fact that the studio adds no moderation layer of its own to text. So the choice is about hardware and privacy, not about capability.

What "local" actually means here

Running locally means the software and the models live on your PC. The site's own framing is "Generate Anything. Locally. Uncensored." and "Local chats stay on your PC."

The practical consequences:

  • You need a GPU. Local inference depends on your own hardware. This is the main cost of the local path.
  • Your chats don't leave the machine. This is the main benefit, and it's the reason many people choose local in the first place.
  • Setup is on you. The site advertises "Running in under five minutes," so the install is meant to be quick, but it's still something you do on your own system.

If your reason for using an uncensored studio is that you don't want conversation data leaving your computer, local is the option that matches that goal.

What "online" actually means here

The online path exists specifically for people who don't want to deal with hardware. The site puts it plainly: "Prefer not to buy a GPU? The same catalog runs online."

The practical consequences:

  • No GPU purchase or management. You open it in a browser and use it.
  • Same models. The catalog doesn't shrink when you go online. The site states that its 47 chat models are "every one of them included in every plan and every pack."
  • Privacy is not the selling point. The local-privacy claim is attached to local chats. The online option is framed around convenience, not around keeping data on your machine.

How to choose

Use these as decision rules rather than a ranking:

  • Choose local if you already have a capable GPU, or you're willing to get one, and keeping chats on your own PC is a priority.
  • Choose online if you don't want to buy a GPU, you want to start immediately in a browser, or you're on a machine that can't run local inference.
  • Consider both if you want local privacy for sensitive work but also want to use the studio from a laptop or a machine without a GPU. Nothing in the description prevents using the same catalog through both paths.

Two things worth checking before you commit

  1. Pricing and plan details. The site links to a Pricing page and to "See plans and packs" on lu-labs.ai. The catalog being included "in every plan and every pack" tells you models aren't gated by tier, but it doesn't tell you what the plans cost. Check the pricing pages directly for current numbers.
  2. Your own hardware. "Running in under five minutes" describes the install, not the inference speed. Local performance depends on your GPU, so the local experience varies by machine in a way the online experience doesn't.

The short version: same studio, same catalog, same no-added-moderation stance. Local buys you privacy and costs you hardware; online buys you convenience and gives up the local-only privacy guarantee.

Website Overview

Page metadata, canonical configuration and social previews work together to provide more consistent search and sharing presentation.

Domain and Registration

The domain was registered less than a year ago and has limited historical evidence to assess. Transfer-protection status is present, helping reduce the risk of unauthorized domain transfers. The registrar is Porkbun LLC, a widely used domain service provider. The domain uses the common .com extension, which is not an independent safety signal.

DNS and Email

Nameservers are provided by porkbun.com, indicating managed DNS hosting. No CNAME was found; the observed records resolve directly to addresses. No MX record was found. A conventional explicit inbound-mail route is not configured. TXT records include verification markers for Google. Such markers may also remain after a service stops being used. DNSSEC signatures were not detected, so this additional DNS authenticity protection is not confirmed.

TLS and Certificates

The certificate uses an RSA 2048-bit public key, offering broad client compatibility. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. No organization name is present in the certificate; the available fields are consistent with domain validation. The certificate was issued by Let's Encrypt, commonly associated with automated certificate services. The certificate's total validity is about 89 days, consistent with a short renewal cycle.

HTTP and Browser Security

The checked browser-security headers were not detected, leaving fewer explicit browser-side safeguards. CORS permits any origin to read this response. This is common for public resources; sensitive responses need narrower handling. No X-Powered-By header was found, reducing one common source of backend fingerprinting information. The x-cache, x-served-by, via response header indicates a CDN or caching proxy in the delivery path. No obvious internal addresses or debug information were found in the headers.

Technology Stack Analysis

The public page identifies Fastly without precise versions, leaving fewer clues for version-specific scanning.

Search and Social Sharing

Twitter Card metadata is configured. JSON-LD includes Organization data, helping describe the organization as an entity. The title has 58 characters, within a common display range. A meta description is present, with 159 characters. The observed directives allow indexing and link following.

Hosting and Email

DNSporkbun.com
HostingFastly
EmailUnknown
Approximate IP geolocation (inferred; a CDN or proxy may differ from the origin server) United States flagUnited States Inferred 185.199.108.153

Registration details

RDAP / WHOIS

RegistrarPorkbun LLC
Registered2026-04-02
Expires2027-04-02
Domain statusclient delete prohibited、client transfer prohibited
Nameserverscuritiba.ns.porkbun.com、fortaleza.ns.porkbun.com、maceio.ns.porkbun.com、salvador.ns.porkbun.com
DNSSECunsigned

DNS records

DNS

TypeNameValueTTLPriority
Alocallyuncensored.com185.199.108.153300—
Alocallyuncensored.com185.199.109.153300—
Alocallyuncensored.com185.199.110.153300—
Alocallyuncensored.com185.199.111.153300—
NSlocallyuncensored.comcuritiba.ns.porkbun.com86400—
NSlocallyuncensored.comfortaleza.ns.porkbun.com86400—
NSlocallyuncensored.commaceio.ns.porkbun.com86400—
NSlocallyuncensored.comsalvador.ns.porkbun.com86400—
TXTlocallyuncensored.comgoogle-site-verification=3LVa9OGiuOvM_jYZz51eJmzUeikBfEB4Y95tvGwnIpU600—

TLS and certificates

TLS / SSL

AssessmentNormal configuration
Supported protocolsTLSv1.2、TLSv1.3
Negotiated protocolTLSv1.3
Certificate subjectlocallyuncensored.com
IssuerLet's Encrypt
Valid until2026-12-30T07:58 · Remaining when checked: 77 days
Verification detailsCertificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed

HTTP response headers

HTTP

HeaderValue
content-typetext/html; charset=utf-8
cache-controlmax-age=600
serverGitHub.com
access-control-allow-origin*

Identified technologies

Fastly

Pages, Search and Sharing

Meta descriptionUncensored AI for chat, images, video and a coding agent. Free and open source on GitHub, on your own PC, or online without a GPU. Local chats stay on your PC.
Canonical URLhttps://locallyuncensored.com/
LanguageEnglish (default)
Twitter Cardsummary_large_image
All bots 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
oai-searchbot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
claude-searchbot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
perplexitybot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
duckassistbot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
google-notebooklm 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
chatgpt-user 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
claude-user 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
perplexity-user 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
mistralai-user 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
gptbot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
claudebot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
amazonbot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
meta-externalagent 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
ccbot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
cohere-ai 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
diffbot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
bytespider 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
bingbot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
applebot 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/

User reviews (0)

  • No reviews yet.