What is Free Movement and what does the website cover?

Updated

Free Movement (freemovement.org.uk) is a UK immigration law website founded in 2007 by Colin Yeo, a barrister, writer, campaigner and consultant specialising in immigration law. It publishes news, commentary and analysis on immigration, asylum and nationality law, and also sells training courses and webinars. It is aimed primarily at legal professionals and advisers — solicitors, barristers and Immigration Advice Authority (formerly OISC) advisers — though the editorial content is readable by anyone following UK immigration law.

What the site publishes

The editorial side covers immigration, asylum and nationality law through several formats:

  • News and case analysis — posts on tribunal and court decisions, such as Upper Tribunal guidance on the higher standard of proof in asylum claims, or a High Court judgment on procedural fairness and certification of protection claims (for example R (FNB and FNN) v Secretary of State for the Home Department [2026] EWHC 2374 (Admin)).
  • Commentary on policy and practice — for example posts on trafficking referral numbers and government messaging about "misuse" of the system.
  • Podcasts — a recurring immigration roundup, such as the September 2026 edition.
  • Job adverts — immigration sector vacancies, such as a Solicitor/Senior Caseworker role at Turpin Miller leading a women's prison project.

Posts are attributed to named authors, and the site has been running since 2007, so there is a substantial archive behind current items.

Training and webinars

Free Movement runs paid training at several levels, described on the site as suitable for solicitors, barristers, IAA (formerly OISC) advisers and others at all experience levels:

Offering Stated audience Price shown
Introductory course Those new to immigration law; preparation for IAA (formerly OISC) level 1 exams from £600
Advanced course Those taking knowledge further; preparation for IAA (formerly OISC) level 2 from £600
Webinars and workshops Open to all levels, on specific immigration, asylum and nationality practice topics from £65

Webinars are scheduled individually and carry CPD hours — for example, a webinar on exceptional circumstances in family-based immigration applications listed at 1.5 CPD hours. Prices are "from" figures, so the actual cost depends on the specific course or event.

Membership and access

The site distinguishes between browsing and full membership: it advertises "Become a full member now" alongside a login for existing members. Training courses and webinars are paid products, with Stripe appearing as a payment platform. The site does not state that editorial content is free of charge or free of login in the material available, so if access to particular articles matters to you, check the membership terms before relying on it.

Who it is for

  • Immigration lawyers and caseworkers — case analysis, procedural updates and CPD-bearing training.
  • IAA/OISC advisers — structured courses mapped to level 1 and level 2 exams.
  • Journalists, researchers and campaigners — a running record of UK immigration law and policy developments since 2007.
  • Anyone following a specific case or policy area — searchable commentary by topic (asylum, detention, human rights, procedure).

If you need practitioner-level analysis of UK immigration law plus optional paid training, Free Movement is a long-established source. If you only need occasional background reading, the editorial posts alone may be enough — but confirm current membership and access terms on the site, since the available material does not specify what is open and what is restricted.