Website profiles · Technology insights · Alternatives

childbirthinternational.com

Online courses for birth & lactation training and certification. Build skills and knowledge at home, on your terms.

Paid content
Visit website
Profile views 10 Outbound visits 1 Normal
Training & Certification Courses for Birth & Lactation Professionals Full homepage screenshot

At a glance

Category
Education & Learning
Language
English
Paid-content signal
Paid contentObserved
Registered
2003
Hosting
InMotion Hosting, Inc.Inferred
HTTPS certificate trusted
PassedObserved
Last updated

Related questions

More questions →
What Training and Certification Courses Does Childbirth International Offer?

Childbirth International (CBI) offers four core certification tracks—Birth Doula, Lactation Counselor, Postpartum Doula, and Childbirth Educator—plus a Professional Development category for continuing education. All are online courses you complete at your own pace, with trainer support and assignment feedback. If you are choosing a direction to enter the birth and lactation field, the four certifications map to distinct roles, so the right pick depends on which families and which stage of the perinatal period you want to support.

The four certification tracks

Course Role it prepares you for Who you support
Birth Doula Training Birth doula Families during pregnancy, labor, and birth
Lactation Counselor Training Lactation counselor Parents working through infant feeding and breastfeeding
Childbirth Educator Training Childbirth educator Groups or individuals preparing for birth
Postpartum Doula Training Postpartum doula Families in the weeks after birth

Each course page carries the detailed content for that direction, so compare them side by side before committing.

How to choose between them

  • Choose Birth Doula if you want to be present through labor and birth itself.
  • Choose Postpartum Doula if your interest is the recovery period—newborn care, parent rest, and household adjustment after birth.
  • Choose Lactation Counselor if feeding support is the part of the work you find most compelling.
  • Choose Childbirth Educator if you would rather teach preparation and decision-making than attend births one-to-one.

These are not mutually exclusive over a career; many professionals add a second certification later. But for a first credential, pick the role you can picture yourself doing weekly.

Professional Development

Beyond the four certifications, CBI lists a Professional Development category. This is for existing professionals adding skills rather than entering the field for the first time. If you already hold a certification and want targeted further training, start here rather than with a full certification course.

How the training is delivered

  • Fully online and self-paced. CBI states you can study from anywhere at a time that works for you, including via a mobile app, and take as long as you need.
  • Trainer support throughout. You have access to a trainer for the duration, not just at the end.
  • Assignment format flexibility. You can submit assignments in a variety of formats.
  • Personalized feedback. CBI describes a hands-on approach with personalized feedback; one birth doula student, Chantelle, noted that this feedback and the provided resources eased her anxiety about entering a new field.
  • No recertification or membership fees. CBI states course costs are all-inclusive and that you will never be asked to recertify or pay for membership.

Cost and payment

CBI's site indicates you can pay in one payment or spread it across a five-month payment plan, with dedicated pages for Payments & Payment Plans and Payment Plan Terms. Check those pages for current figures and the conditions attached to the plan—the site does not state amounts in the material available here, so confirm before enrolling.

Scale and track record

CBI reports 11,000+ students, learners in 142 countries, and 27 years of online training experience. These figures are useful mainly as a signal that the online format is well established rather than new.

What to do next

  1. Read the four course pages and note which role matches your goals.
  2. Review the payment plan terms if you intend to spread the cost.
  3. Confirm the time commitment and assignment requirements for your chosen track before enrolling, since CBI allows you to take as long as you need but you will still be working through graded assignments.

If you are still deciding whether CBI is the right provider at all, the four-track structure and the no-recertification, no-membership model are the two features most worth weighing against other programs.

How Do Online Master's Courses in Europe Work?

Online master's courses in Europe are generally structured the same way as on-campus degrees: you complete a set number of credits (usually 60–120 ECTS), pass assessments, and receive the same degree title as campus students at that institution. What changes is the delivery mode. Programs range from fully online and asynchronous to hybrid formats that require short residencies, and recognition depends far more on the institution's accreditation than on whether you studied from home or on campus.

The main formats you'll encounter

Fully online, asynchronous

All coursework, lectures, and materials are delivered through a learning platform. You study on your own schedule within weekly or module deadlines. This is the most flexible option and the most common for working professionals.

Fully online, synchronous

You attend live seminars and lectures at fixed times, often via video conferencing. This mimics a campus timetable and works well for discussion-heavy subjects, but it requires you to be available in the institution's time zone.

Hybrid or blended

Most study is online, but you attend one or more short on-campus periods — typically a kick-off week, a lab-intensive block, or a final thesis defense. Some programs in fields like engineering, health, or business use this to cover practical components.

Online with optional campus tracks

A smaller number of programs let you switch between online and on-campus modules, or complete the degree online but attend electives in person.

Credits, ECTS, and what the degree is worth

European master's programs use the ECTS system:

Program type Typical credits Typical duration (full-time)
Taught master's (MA, MSc, LLM) 60–120 ECTS 1–2 years
MBA 60–90 ECTS 1–2 years
Research master's (MPhil, MRes) 120 ECTS 2 years

One ECTS credit represents roughly 25–30 hours of total student workload, including self-study. A 90-ECTS online master's therefore carries the same academic weight as a 90-ECTS on-campus master's at the same institution.

The key question is not "online or not" but who accredits the program. In most European countries, the national quality assurance agency or the state recognizes degrees from accredited institutions regardless of delivery mode. If you need the degree for a regulated profession, a visa, or a public-sector job, verify recognition with the relevant authority in your own country before enrolling — this is a general rule, not legal advice for your situation.

Admission requirements for international applicants

Requirements vary by country and institution, but online master's programs commonly ask for:

  • A completed bachelor's degree (or equivalent) in a relevant field.
  • A minimum grade or GPA, sometimes expressed as a class of degree.
  • English proficiency — IELTS, TOEFL, or an equivalent, unless your previous degree was taught in English. Some programs accept a waiver or an internal test.
  • A motivation letter or statement of purpose.
  • A CV, especially for MBA and executive programs.
  • Letters of recommendation (often 1–2).
  • Work experience for MBA and some professional master's degrees.
  • Specific prerequisites such as statistics, programming, or a portfolio for design and technical fields.

Typical application steps

  1. Shortlist 3–5 programs and check each one's accreditation and recognition in your country.
  2. Confirm the language of instruction and whether your proficiency test meets the threshold.
  3. Prepare documents early — transcripts, translations, and credential evaluations can take weeks.
  4. Check application deadlines; many European programs have rolling admissions, but some have fixed intakes.
  5. Submit the application and any application fee.
  6. If admitted, complete enrollment, pay any deposit, and set up your student account and platform access.

How exams, thesis work, and support are handled remotely

  • Assessment: written assignments, online proctored or open-book exams, group projects, presentations, and participation. Some programs use timed take-home exams instead of invigilated ones.
  • Thesis or capstone: usually supervised remotely via video calls and email, with milestones and a final written submission. Some institutions require an oral defense by video; a few require it on campus.
  • Support: academic advisors, library access (often digital), technical helpdesk, and career services. Quality varies widely, so ask current students or check program pages for what is actually provided.
  • Interaction: discussion forums, cohort groups, and live sessions. Asynchronous programs can feel isolating if you don't build in regular contact.

Practical considerations before you commit

  • Time zones: synchronous programs may schedule classes in the institution's local time. Check whether live sessions fall at workable hours for you.
  • Language of instruction: many European master's programs are taught in English, but not all. Confirm the language for lectures, exams, and thesis supervision.
  • Tuition structure: online programs are often priced per credit or per year, and may differ from on-campus rates. Public universities in some countries charge modest fees; private and executive programs cost more. Ask for a full breakdown of tuition, platform fees, and any residency costs.
  • Recognition and mobility: if you plan to work in a regulated profession or apply for a visa, confirm in advance that the specific degree is accepted where you intend to use it.
  • Time commitment: expect 15–20 hours per week for a full-time online master's, or roughly half that for part-time study.

Online vs. on-campus: a quick comparison

Factor Online On-campus
Flexibility High; study around work Fixed timetable
Networking Digital, sometimes weaker In-person, stronger
Cost Often lower tuition, no relocation Tuition plus living costs
Practical/lab work Limited or via short residencies Full access
Recognition Depends on accreditation, not mode Depends on accreditation
Campus experience Minimal Full

A simple decision checklist

  1. Is the program accredited and recognized in the country where you plan to use the degree?
  2. Does the format (async, sync, hybrid) fit your schedule and time zone?
  3. Are the language requirements realistic for you?
  4. Can you meet the prerequisites and admission documents?
  5. Does the total cost — tuition plus any residency travel — fit your budget?
  6. Does the program offer the support you'll need to finish a thesis remotely?

If you can answer yes to all six, an online master's from a European institution is a credible route to the same degree title as campus study. If any answer is uncertain, resolve that point before you apply rather than after you enroll.

What to Know About Childbirth International Course Costs and Payment Plans

Childbirth International (CBI) describes its course costs as all-inclusive: the price covers the training, and students are told they will never be asked to recertify or pay a membership fee afterward. You can pay in one payment or spread it across a five-month payment plan. If you are weighing the long-term cost of certification, that combination — one upfront price with no renewal or membership charges — is the main thing that separates CBI from programs that bill you again every few years.

What "all-inclusive" covers

According to CBI's own description of its training, course costs are all-inclusive and there is no separate recertification or membership charge. In practical terms, that means the number you see when you buy a course is meant to be the total you pay to train and stay certified — not a first installment before renewal fees start.

CBI also states that payment plans carry their own terms, published on a separate Payment Plan Terms page. Read that page before enrolling, because the terms govern what happens if you miss an installment or want to change your plan.

Payment options

Option What it means Who it suits
One payment Pay the full course cost at once Students who want the cost settled and done
Five-month payment plan Spread the cost over five months, subject to the plan's terms Students who prefer to split the cost while studying

Both options give access to the course, per CBI's description. The choice is about cash flow, not about what you receive.

Why the no-recertification policy matters for total cost

Many certification bodies charge a renewal or recertification fee every few years, plus membership dues. Over a career, those add up and are easy to overlook when comparing a program's sticker price. CBI explicitly says students are never asked to recertify or pay for membership, so the comparison point is the course price itself rather than price plus recurring fees.

If you are comparing CBI against another program, put the numbers side by side on the same basis:

  • Initial course cost
  • Any renewal or recertification fee, and how often it recurs
  • Any required membership fee
  • Whether study materials, assignment submissions, and trainer support are included or billed separately

CBI's stated position answers the first, second, and third points in its favor; the fourth is covered by its "all-inclusive" description.

What to check before you enroll

  1. Open the Payments & Payment Plans page on childbirthinternational.com to see the current cost and plan details. Prices are not stated in the material summarized here, so confirm them at the source rather than relying on secondhand figures.
  2. Read the Payment Plan Terms page if you intend to use the five-month plan. This is where the conditions that apply to your specific arrangement are set out.
  3. Confirm which course you want first. CBI lists Birth Doula Training, Lactation Counselor Training, Childbirth Educator Training, Postpartum Doula Training, and Professional Development. Costs and plan eligibility may differ by course, so check the page for the course you actually intend to take.
  4. Note the study format. CBI says you can study from anywhere, at your own pace, submit assignments in a variety of formats, and keep trainer support for as long as you need. If your plan depends on finishing within a fixed window, verify that against the course terms.

Common sticking points

  • Assuming the plan is interest-free or fee-free. The existence of separate Payment Plan Terms means conditions apply. Check them rather than assuming.
  • Budgeting only for the course. CBI says no recertification or membership fees, but other costs — such as books or materials you choose to buy beyond what's included — are not addressed in the material here.
  • Comparing sticker prices across programs. A cheaper course with recurring renewal fees can cost more over ten years than a higher-priced course with none. Compare total cost of ownership, not just the entry price.

CBI reports 11,000+ students, learners in 142 countries, and 27 years of online training experience, which is relevant if continuity and track record factor into your decision. The concrete decision points, though, are the current course price, the payment plan terms, and whether the no-recertification, no-membership model fits how you expect to use the certification.

What Makes Childbirth International's Training Approach Different?

Childbirth International (CBI) trains birth and lactation professionals through fully online, self-paced courses that emphasize evidence-informed content, personalized trainer feedback, and a philosophy of helping families make their own choices. Its approach suits people who want to study from anywhere, submit assignments in formats that work for them, and avoid recertification fees or membership costs. The main trade-off is that this is distance learning: you get flexibility and ongoing trainer support, but no in-person clinical placement is described in the available material.

The core philosophy: supporting families, not directing them

CBI states that its purpose goes beyond delivering training — it describes itself as being in the business of helping students become who they want to be, professionally and personally. The stated belief is that parents often begin their journey with fear and uncertainty, and that they need knowledge and skills to determine their own direction.

That belief shapes how CBI frames the professional's role: doulas, childbirth educators, and lactation counselors should know how to help families navigate their own path rather than follow a prescribed one. If you are looking for a program with a strong point of view about client autonomy, this is the through-line of CBI's material.

What "training without boundaries" means in practice

CBI uses the phrase "training without boundaries" to describe several concrete features:

  • Study anywhere, any time. Coursework is online, and CBI mentions a mobile app for studying during commutes or other downtime.
  • No fixed completion deadline. Students can take as long as they need, with trainer support available throughout that period.
  • Flexible assignment formats. You can submit assignments in a variety of formats rather than one required style.
  • All-inclusive course costs. CBI states that you will never be asked to recertify or pay for membership.
  • Two payment routes. You can pay in one payment or spread it across a five-month payment plan.

The site also links to a Payments & Payment Plans page and Payment Plan Terms page, so the specific terms and current amounts should be checked there rather than assumed.

The course lineup

CBI organizes its training around four professional roles, plus continuing development:

Course Role it prepares you for
Birth Doula Training Supporting clients through labor and birth
Lactation Counselor Training Breastfeeding and lactation support
Childbirth Educator Training Teaching childbirth preparation
Postpartum Doula Training Supporting families after birth
Professional Development Ongoing skill building for practicing professionals

CBI reports that more than 11,000 students have chosen it for training, across 142 countries, with 27 years of experience in online training. Those figures describe scale and longevity; they are not a measure of outcomes, which the available material does not report.

What students say the experience is like

A testimonial from Chantelle, a Birth Doula, describes two things worth noting. First, the academic side: she says the training "opened my eyes to new perspectives" and that she learned more than just labor and birth — she also learned about herself. Second, the support side: she credits personalized feedback and a hands-on approach with easing her anxiety about entering a new field, and says CBI provided plenty of resources to succeed.

If personalized feedback matters to you, that testimonial is the clearest signal in the available material that it is part of the experience. It is one student's account, not a guarantee of how much feedback any individual course includes.

Who this approach fits — and who it may not

It likely fits you if:

  • You need to keep working or caregiving while training and cannot attend scheduled classes.
  • You want to start without committing to a single completion date.
  • You prefer a program that frames professional support around client autonomy.
  • You want costs to be all-inclusive, with no recertification or membership fees afterward.

It may not fit you if:

  • You learn best in live, in-person cohorts with hands-on practice.
  • You want a program that places you directly in clinical settings — nothing in the available material describes in-person placements.
  • You need to compare exact tuition before deciding; CBI's public pages point to payment plan terms, so confirm current pricing directly with CBI.

How to decide

Start by identifying which of the four roles matches your goal, since each has its own course. Then check the payment plan terms to see whether the five-month option changes your total cost or carries conditions. Finally, weigh the flexibility against the lack of described in-person training: if you are comfortable learning remotely and value ongoing trainer feedback, CBI's model is built around exactly that.

How Childbirth International's Online Training Format Works

Childbirth International (CBI) delivers all of its birth and lactation training fully online, with no fixed deadlines and no required login times. You work through course material at your own pace, from anywhere, and keep access to a trainer for support for as long as you need it. That format suits people who are fitting study around a job, family, or shift work — and it is a poor fit if you want live classes, a cohort schedule, or in-person skills practice.

What "fully online" actually means here

CBI describes its model as "training without boundaries." In practice, that means:

  • No fixed schedule. There are no set class times and no completion deadline. You decide when and how fast to move through the material.
  • Any location. Study from home, a café, or in transit. CBI states you can use its mobile app to study on a commute.
  • Continuous trainer support. You have access to a trainer throughout your study period, not just during a fixed term.
  • Flexible assignment formats. You choose how you submit assignments from a range of accepted formats, rather than being locked into one submission type.

The site reports 11,000+ students, learners in 142 countries, and 27 years of online training experience — useful context for judging whether a distance-only model has held up over time.

The courses this format applies to

The same online structure covers all four certification tracks:

Course Intended role
Birth Doula Training Birth doula
Lactation Counselor Training Lactation counselor
Childbirth Educator Training Childbirth educator
Postpartum Doula Training Postpartum doula

CBI also lists Professional Development courses alongside these four certification tracks.

Cost structure and payment

Two details matter for planning:

  • All-inclusive course costs. CBI states course costs are all-inclusive and that you will never be asked to recertify or pay for membership. If avoiding recurring fees matters to you, that is a concrete difference from programs that charge renewal or membership dues.
  • Two payment routes. You can pay in one payment or spread it across a five-month payment plan. CBI publishes separate pages for Payments & Payment Plans and Payment Plan Terms — read the terms page before committing, since plan conditions are set out there rather than in the general course description.

The site does not publish specific prices in the material available here, so check the payment pages for current figures.

How to judge whether it fits you

It likely fits if you:

  • Need to study around irregular hours or a full-time job
  • Want to start immediately rather than wait for a term to begin
  • Prefer written and self-directed learning over live video sessions
  • Want to avoid recertification or membership fees

It likely does not fit if you:

  • Learn best in live, scheduled classes with peers
  • Want in-person, hands-on practice as part of certification
  • Need a hard deadline to stay motivated — the open-ended timeline that helps some learners can stall others

A realistic way to test the format before buying

Pick one week and block out the times you would actually study — for example, 30 minutes on two commutes plus one hour on a weekend morning. Then check two things on CBI's site: whether the assignment formats accepted for your chosen course match how you prefer to work, and what the payment plan terms require of you month to month. If those two answers line up with the week you just sketched, the self-paced model is likely workable for you.

Website Overview

Identifiable technologies and additional version or configuration signals make the service easier to fingerprint, which may help targeted scanners narrow their checks. An established domain and managed infrastructure suggest continuity of operations and may support dependable delivery, although neither guarantees service quality.

Domain and Registration

Registered in 2003, this domain has about 23 years of history. That suggests continuity, although ownership and purpose may have changed. The registrar is Tucows Domains Inc., a widely used domain service provider. The domain uses the common .com extension, which is not an independent safety signal.

DNS and Email

Nameservers are provided by childbirthinternational.com, indicating managed DNS hosting. MX records point to the Google Workspace email service. No CNAME was found; the observed records resolve directly to addresses. SPF and DMARC are configured. DKIM status is unknown. TXT records include verification markers for Google. Such markers may also remain after a service stops being used.

TLS and Certificates

The certificate issuer is Sectigo Limited, a commercial certificate authority. The certificate uses an RSA 2048-bit public key, offering broad client compatibility. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. No organization name is present in the certificate; the available fields are consistent with domain validation. The certificate is valid for about 198 days in total, with 156 days remaining.

HTTP and Browser Security

The checked browser-security headers were not detected, leaving fewer explicit browser-side safeguards. No X-Powered-By header was found, reducing one common source of backend fingerprinting information. No obvious internal addresses or debug information were found in the headers. The Server header identifies Apache without an exact version. No explicit CDN or WAF marker was found in the response headers.

Technology Stack Analysis

The public page identifies WordPress 7.1.1, jQuery, Google Tag Manager, Apache, with exact versions exposed for 1 technologies. These details can narrow vulnerability checks, although exposure alone is not a vulnerability.

Search and Social Sharing

The title has 68 characters and may be truncated in search results. The Generator tag identifies WordPress 7.1.1, making the publishing system easier to fingerprint. Open Graph is partially configured; og:image is missing. Twitter Card metadata is configured. JSON-LD includes Organization data, helping describe the organization as an entity.

Hosting and Email

DNSchildbirthinternational.com
HostingInMotion Hosting, Inc.
EmailGoogle Workspace
Approximate IP geolocation (inferred; a CDN or proxy may differ from the origin server) United States flagUnited States Inferred 104.247.72.18

Registration details

RDAP / WHOIS

RegistrarTucows Domains Inc.
Registered2003-01-08
Expires2027-01-08
Domain statusactive
Nameserversns1.inmotionhosting.com、ns2.inmotionhosting.com
DNSSECunsigned

DNS records

DNS

TypeNameValueTTLPriority
Achildbirthinternational.com104.247.72.183600—
MXchildbirthinternational.comaspmx.l.google.com36001
MXchildbirthinternational.comalt1.aspmx.l.google.com36005
MXchildbirthinternational.comalt2.aspmx.l.google.com36005
MXchildbirthinternational.comaspmx2.googlemail.com360010
MXchildbirthinternational.comaspmx3.googlemail.com360010
NSchildbirthinternational.comns1.childbirthinternational.com14400—
NSchildbirthinternational.comns2.childbirthinternational.com14400—
TXTchildbirthinternational.comgoogle-site-verification=UbTp03fJMBDlolN-IUf75_dCmAWVClDm9r-Tj7ozuW814400—
TXTchildbirthinternational.comi95t89kqg42esuojhn66k1fag514400—
TXTchildbirthinternational.comv=spf1 include:mailgun.org ~all14400—
TXTchildbirthinternational.comv=spf1 ip4:104.247.72.18 +a +mx +ip4:205.134.251.205 +include:spf.google.com ~all14400—
DMARC_dmarc.childbirthinternational.comv=DMARC1; p=none; rua=mailto:[email protected]14400—

TLS and certificates

TLS / SSL

AssessmentNormal configuration
Supported protocolsTLSv1.2、TLSv1.3
Negotiated protocolTLSv1.3
Certificate subjectchildbirthinternational.com
IssuerSectigo Limited
Valid until2027-03-03T23:59 · Remaining when checked: 156 days
Verification detailsCertificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed

HTTP response headers

HTTP

HeaderValue
content-typetext/html; charset=UTF-8
cache-controlmax-age=0
serverApache

Identified technologies

WordPress 7.1.1jQueryGoogle Tag ManagerApache

Pages, Search and Sharing

Meta descriptionOnline courses for birth & lactation training and certification. Build skills and knowledge at home, on your terms.
Canonical URLhttps://childbirthinternational.com/
LanguageEnglish (default)
Twitter Cardsummary_large_image
All bots 1 allowed · 6 disallowed
  • Allow/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
  • Disallow/wp-content/uploads/wc-logs/
  • Disallow/wp-content/uploads/woocommerce_transient_files/
  • Disallow/wp-content/uploads/woocommerce_uploads/
  • Disallow/*?add-to-cart=
  • Disallow/*?*add-to-cart=
  • Disallow/wp-admin/

Recent Updates

  • Website images
  • Screenshots
  • Network details
  • Website Technologies
  • Pages and Search Information
  • TLS and certificates
  • HTTP Response Information
  • DNS Information
  • Domain Registration
  • Website profile
  • Website Description
  • Website Name
  • Website profile
  • Website Description
  • Website Name

User reviews (0)

  • No reviews yet.