Website profiles · Technology insights · Alternatives

gameinstitute.com

Online classes in videogame programming, art, and design. Professional college level certifications available.

Paid content
Visit website
Profile views 0 Outbound visits 0 Normal
Game Institute Full homepage screenshot

At a glance

Category
Games & Board Games
Language
English
Paid-content signal
Paid contentObserved
Registered
2000
Hosting
IBM CloudInferred
HTTPS certificate trusted
PassedObserved
Last updated

Website review

This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.

What is Game Institute?

Game Institute is an online training provider focused on video game development, teaching programming, art and design through self-paced video courses. It has operated since 2001 and describes itself as having trained hundreds of thousands of learners, from complete beginners to working professionals. Its catalog centres on industry-standard tools and languages: C#/C++, Unity, Unreal Engine 5, Blender and OpenGL.

What it actually offers

  • Structured video courses with step-by-step instruction, including long project-based series such as a first-person shooter build taught over 150+ hours.
  • Downloadable project material: source code, assets and complete sample games that learners can study and reuse.
  • Bundle options: a lifetime-access package covering all current and future proprietary courses, a project-focused package, and individual series.
  • Unity-authorized training: Game Institute states it is a Unity Authorized Training Partner, which means its Unity workshops and certification preparation are recognised by Unity Technologies.

Who it suits

The strongest fit is someone who wants a guided, project-driven path rather than scattered free tutorials — for example, a hobbyist who wants to finish a playable shooter or racing game while learning C# and Unity, or a career-changer building a portfolio. Because the material is self-paced and spans beginner to professional level, it also works for developers filling a specific gap, such as shader work with OpenGL or asset creation in Blender.

The trade-off is format: recorded courses with downloadable projects suit learners who can stay motivated without live instructors, deadlines or classmates. Anyone who needs real-time feedback, critique sessions or a recognised academic credential should weigh that before committing to a bundle.

A practical next step

Before buying, pick one concrete goal — say, "ship a small FPS demo in Unity" — and check whether the Dead Earth series or the full membership maps onto it. Compare the per-course price against the lifetime package only if you expect to use several courses; otherwise a single series is the lower-risk test of whether the teaching style works for you. For broader comparison, GameDev.tv and Coursera offer alternative structures, including subscription access and university-backed certificates.

Is Game Institute worth the $599 lifetime membership compared to buying individual courses?

Whether it is worth $599 depends on how many of Game Institute's own courses you would actually finish. The lifetime premium membership buys full, immediate lifetime access to all current and future proprietary training releases and updates, per the page. Buying individual courses only makes sense if you have one narrow goal.

Lifetime membership vs. individual courses

Premium lifetime membership Individual courses
Scope Everything Game Institute releases, including future updates One series or package
Best for Learners who will move across several topics (C#/C++, Blender, Unreal Engine 5, Unity, OpenGL) over months or years Someone who only wants one project, such as the Dead Earth first-person shooter series
Trade-off Higher upfront cost; value depends on using multiple courses Lower commitment; you may end up paying again for each new subject

The page lists the membership at $599 and individual packages at lower prices, with a 25% checkout code shown. It also states that projects-only downloads exist separately, which matters if you mainly want source code and assets rather than instruction.

A practical way to decide

  1. List the two or three course areas you would genuinely study in the next year.
  2. Compare the combined individual price of those against the membership.
  3. If that total approaches or exceeds $599, the lifetime option is the better fit; if you would only touch one series, buy that one.

For context on alternatives, compare with Udemy for cheap single courses and Coursera for university-backed programs. Game Institute's differentiator is its Unity Authorized Training Partner status and project-based, self-paced format, which suits independent learners building a portfolio rather than those wanting a formal degree.

Can a complete beginner with no coding experience follow the Game Institute courses?

Yes, in principle: Game Institute explicitly says it trains learners "from total beginners to working professionals," and its courses are self-paced video instruction, so someone with no coding background can start at the beginning and work through lessons at their own speed. The main caveat is that this is a broad catalog rather than a single guided curriculum, so a beginner needs to choose an entry point deliberately rather than buy the largest package and hope for the best.

What suits a true beginner

  • Self-paced format: Page evidence describes "hundreds of hours of step-by-step video instruction" with no fixed schedule, which removes the pressure of keeping up with a class.
  • C#/Unity as a first language: The catalog lists C#, Unity, Blender and Unreal Engine 5. C# with Unity is generally the gentler starting route for someone new to code, because the language is more forgiving than C++ and the engine gives quick visual feedback.
  • Project-based material: The Dead Earth and Game Development series are built around constructing a first-person shooter step by step, which gives a beginner a concrete target instead of abstract exercises.

Where a beginner should be careful

  • C++ and OpenGL: These appear alongside the beginner-friendly tools, but they are considerably harder for someone with no programming experience. Treat them as later steps, not starting points.
  • Large bundles: The Premium lifetime package and the multi-project packages assume you can navigate a lot of material independently. A complete beginner may get more value from a narrower, sequenced course first and expand later.
  • No substitute for persistence: Video courses reward learners who pause, retype examples and debug their own mistakes. Watching passively will not build coding skill regardless of the course quality.

A practical next step

Pick one beginner-level C#/Unity course, complete a small playable prototype (a moving character, one enemy, one win condition), and only then consider a larger package. As a comparison point for structured beginner paths, Unity Learn offers free official tutorials, and freeCodeCamp covers general programming fundamentals if you want to test your appetite for code before committing.

The decision criterion is simple: if you can finish a short free beginner tutorial without losing momentum, a self-paced paid catalog like Game Institute is a reasonable fit; if you find you need deadlines and feedback, look for instructor-led or cohort-based options instead.

How does Game Institute's Unity Authorized Training Partner status help someone preparing for Unity certification?

Game Institute's Unity Authorized Training Partner status matters most if you want a structured path toward Unity certification rather than piecing together tutorials. As a partner, it can offer Unity-authorized workshops and preparation courses for Unity certification exams on Unity's behalf. In practice, that means the exam-prep material follows Unity's own certification standards instead of an independent instructor's interpretation of them.

What that changes for a certification candidate

  • Aligned preparation: You study toward the exam objectives Unity defines, which reduces the risk of learning habits or topics that don't match what's tested.
  • Workshop-style options: Authorized workshops and prep courses suit learners who want guided pacing and a defined finish line before booking an exam.
  • A signal of quality review: The partner status reflects meeting Unity's quality standards, which is useful when comparing providers you don't already know.

Where it helps less

The status covers certification preparation specifically. The wider catalog—C#, C++, Blender, Unreal Engine 5, OpenGL and project-based series like Dead Earth—is Game Institute's own training, not Unity-authorized content. If your goal is general engine skills rather than a certificate, judge those courses on their projects and scope instead.

A practical next step

Ask which specific Unity certification each prep course targets and whether it includes practice assessments, then compare that against the official exam objectives. A useful decision rule: choose authorized prep when the credential itself matters for a job application; choose project-based courses when a portfolio is what you need. For the exam's own requirements, check Unity directly.

What do the Dead Earth and GI Racing projects include, and can I use their source code and assets in my own commercial game?

The Dead Earth and GI Racing projects are downloadable training packages built around complete, commercial-quality game projects. Dead Earth is a first-person shooter developed step by step across 150+ hours of video training; GI Racing 1 & 2 are racing projects in the same series. Both are sold as project packages that bundle the finished project files with source code and asset downloads, and the site also offers a "Projects Only" option that includes Dead Earth, GI Racing 1 & 2, MatchBaker, Balls of Glory and the Carbon3d Engine without the video instruction.

What you get in practice

  • Dead Earth: a full FPS project you build along with the instructor, plus the completed source code and assets to inspect or extend.
  • GI Racing 1 & 2: two racing game projects with their code and assets, useful for studying vehicle handling, track construction and race logic.
  • Supporting projects: MatchBaker (matchmaking), Balls of Glory and the Carbon3d Engine round out the Projects Only bundle.

Can you ship the code and assets commercially?

The page evidence does not state a license for the source code or assets, so treat commercial reuse as something to confirm before you build a product on them. The site markets the projects as "commercial-grade" and describes them as material "to work with and integrate into your own games and experiences," which suggests integration is anticipated — but "commercial-grade" describes quality, not permission. In practice, training projects often mix instructor-created code with third-party assets (textures, audio, models) that carry their own terms, so the safe next step is to check the license or terms page for the specific package, or ask support directly, before shipping anything derived from these files.

A workable decision rule: if you want the projects to learn from — reading the FPS architecture, adapting racing physics into a prototype — the packages fit that use well. If you plan to sell a game containing their art or large portions of their code, get written confirmation of commercial rights first, and plan to replace any assets whose provenance you can't verify.

For broader comparison of structured game-development training, GameDev.net hosts community discussion and tutorials, and Udemy lists individual courses that often state their licensing terms more explicitly.

Does Game Institute offer payment plans or discounts for students who cannot pay the full course price upfront?

Yes. Game Institute advertises payment plans on its training packages and a standing 25% checkout discount code, so paying the full listed price upfront is not the only route.

What the page shows

  • A discount code: the site displays "Save 25% at checkout with code GAMEMKR25." The listed prices already show the discounted figure alongside the original — for example, the Premium lifetime package is shown as $599.00 reduced to $449.25, and the Projects Only package as $249.00 reduced to $186.75.
  • Payment plans: each package listing carries the line "Payment Plans Available!" — the Premium Online Courses package, the Dead Earth Series, and the Projects Only package all show it. The page does not state the number of instalments, interest, or eligibility terms, so those details would come from the checkout or the provider directly.
  • Lifetime access on the top tier: the Premium package is described as giving "full and immediate lifetime access to all current and future proprietary training releases and updates," which matters if you are spreading payments over time — you are paying for ongoing access, not a single course.

Choosing between the tiers if cost is the constraint

Option Listed price (with 25% shown) What you get Best for
Projects Only $249.00 → $186.75 Projects, source code and asset downloads only (Dead Earth, GI Racing 1&2, MatchBaker, Balls of Glory, Carbon3d Engine) Learners who already follow tutorials elsewhere and mainly want real code and assets to study
Dead Earth Series $399.00 → $299.25 150+ hours of step-by-step video building a first-person shooter Someone who wants one deep, guided project rather than breadth
Premium Online Courses $599.00 → $449.25 Lifetime access to all current and future training releases and updates Long-term self-study across programming, art and design

Practical next step

If upfront cost is the blocker, start with the cheapest package that matches your goal — Projects Only if you learn best by reading existing code — and confirm the payment-plan terms before committing. A concrete example: a beginner who wants structured C#/Unity instruction would likely get more from the video-led Dead Earth Series than from assets alone, even at the higher price, because the assets assume you already know what to do with them.

For comparison, other training options include GameDev.tv for project-based video courses and Unity for its own official learning resources, which is relevant given that Game Institute describes itself as a Unity Authorized Training Partner.

Related questions

More questions →
Is Game Institute's Training Recognized in the Game Industry?

Game Institute presents a credible but limited form of industry recognition. Its strongest verifiable credential is that it operates as a Unity Authorized Training Partner, which means it meets Unity's quality standards and can offer Unity-authorized workshops and preparation courses for Unity certification exams on Unity's behalf. That is a meaningful signal for anyone learning Unity specifically. Beyond that, the site states it has trained hundreds of thousands of designers and developers worldwide since 2001, with many going on to industry jobs — but those outcomes are self-reported, not independently verified.

What the recognition actually covers

The distinction matters: "authorized training partner" status is recognition of the training provider by a software vendor (Unity), not accreditation of the school by an industry body or a guarantee of employment. Here is what the page supports versus what it does not:

Claim What it means How much weight to give it
Unity Authorized Training Partner Meets Unity's quality standards; can deliver Unity-authorized workshops and Unity certification exam prep Strong, specific, and checkable with Unity
Training since 2001 Long operating history Plausible track record, but self-reported
Hundreds of thousands trained; many hired in industry Alumni outcomes Self-reported; no published placement data
"Industry Recognized Developer Training" Marketing framing Treat as a claim, not a credential

Who this recognition is most relevant for

The Unity partner status is the part worth acting on. If your goal is to prepare for Unity certification exams or learn Unity through vendor-sanctioned material, this is a concrete reason to consider the platform. The curriculum also covers C#/C++, Blender, Unreal Engine 5, OpenGL, and other industry-standard tools, so it suits learners who want broad engine and programming exposure rather than a single certification path.

It is less useful as a signal if you are looking for a formal degree, a government-recognized qualification, or published job-placement statistics — the page does not provide those.

How to verify before you commit

  1. Confirm the Unity partnership directly through Unity's own authorized-partner listings rather than relying on the site's badge.
  2. Check what the certification prep actually prepares you for — ask which Unity certification exams the courses map to.
  3. Ask for outcome specifics if placement matters to you: completion rates, portfolio examples, or alumni references.
  4. Match the package to your goal. The site lists a lifetime all-access membership at $599 (discounted to $449.25 with code GAMEMKR25), a project-based Dead Earth series at $399 ($299.25 discounted), and a projects-only option at $249 ($186.75 discounted), with payment plans mentioned. Recognition-wise, all tiers draw on the same provider status; the difference is scope of content, not credential level.

The honest bottom line

Game Institute's recognition rests mainly on its Unity Authorized Training Partner status, which is real and specific but narrow — it validates the training relationship with Unity, not a general industry stamp of approval. The training history since 2001 and alumni outcomes add context but are unverified claims. If Unity certification or vendor-sanctioned Unity training is your target, the recognition is relevant and worth confirming with Unity directly; if you need accredited credentials or proof of hiring outcomes, look for that evidence before enrolling.

How Do Online Master's Courses in Europe Work?

Online master's courses in Europe are generally structured the same way as on-campus degrees: you complete a set number of credits (usually 60–120 ECTS), pass assessments, and receive the same degree title as campus students at that institution. What changes is the delivery mode. Programs range from fully online and asynchronous to hybrid formats that require short residencies, and recognition depends far more on the institution's accreditation than on whether you studied from home or on campus.

The main formats you'll encounter

Fully online, asynchronous

All coursework, lectures, and materials are delivered through a learning platform. You study on your own schedule within weekly or module deadlines. This is the most flexible option and the most common for working professionals.

Fully online, synchronous

You attend live seminars and lectures at fixed times, often via video conferencing. This mimics a campus timetable and works well for discussion-heavy subjects, but it requires you to be available in the institution's time zone.

Hybrid or blended

Most study is online, but you attend one or more short on-campus periods — typically a kick-off week, a lab-intensive block, or a final thesis defense. Some programs in fields like engineering, health, or business use this to cover practical components.

Online with optional campus tracks

A smaller number of programs let you switch between online and on-campus modules, or complete the degree online but attend electives in person.

Credits, ECTS, and what the degree is worth

European master's programs use the ECTS system:

Program type Typical credits Typical duration (full-time)
Taught master's (MA, MSc, LLM) 60–120 ECTS 1–2 years
MBA 60–90 ECTS 1–2 years
Research master's (MPhil, MRes) 120 ECTS 2 years

One ECTS credit represents roughly 25–30 hours of total student workload, including self-study. A 90-ECTS online master's therefore carries the same academic weight as a 90-ECTS on-campus master's at the same institution.

The key question is not "online or not" but who accredits the program. In most European countries, the national quality assurance agency or the state recognizes degrees from accredited institutions regardless of delivery mode. If you need the degree for a regulated profession, a visa, or a public-sector job, verify recognition with the relevant authority in your own country before enrolling — this is a general rule, not legal advice for your situation.

Admission requirements for international applicants

Requirements vary by country and institution, but online master's programs commonly ask for:

  • A completed bachelor's degree (or equivalent) in a relevant field.
  • A minimum grade or GPA, sometimes expressed as a class of degree.
  • English proficiency — IELTS, TOEFL, or an equivalent, unless your previous degree was taught in English. Some programs accept a waiver or an internal test.
  • A motivation letter or statement of purpose.
  • A CV, especially for MBA and executive programs.
  • Letters of recommendation (often 1–2).
  • Work experience for MBA and some professional master's degrees.
  • Specific prerequisites such as statistics, programming, or a portfolio for design and technical fields.

Typical application steps

  1. Shortlist 3–5 programs and check each one's accreditation and recognition in your country.
  2. Confirm the language of instruction and whether your proficiency test meets the threshold.
  3. Prepare documents early — transcripts, translations, and credential evaluations can take weeks.
  4. Check application deadlines; many European programs have rolling admissions, but some have fixed intakes.
  5. Submit the application and any application fee.
  6. If admitted, complete enrollment, pay any deposit, and set up your student account and platform access.

How exams, thesis work, and support are handled remotely

  • Assessment: written assignments, online proctored or open-book exams, group projects, presentations, and participation. Some programs use timed take-home exams instead of invigilated ones.
  • Thesis or capstone: usually supervised remotely via video calls and email, with milestones and a final written submission. Some institutions require an oral defense by video; a few require it on campus.
  • Support: academic advisors, library access (often digital), technical helpdesk, and career services. Quality varies widely, so ask current students or check program pages for what is actually provided.
  • Interaction: discussion forums, cohort groups, and live sessions. Asynchronous programs can feel isolating if you don't build in regular contact.

Practical considerations before you commit

  • Time zones: synchronous programs may schedule classes in the institution's local time. Check whether live sessions fall at workable hours for you.
  • Language of instruction: many European master's programs are taught in English, but not all. Confirm the language for lectures, exams, and thesis supervision.
  • Tuition structure: online programs are often priced per credit or per year, and may differ from on-campus rates. Public universities in some countries charge modest fees; private and executive programs cost more. Ask for a full breakdown of tuition, platform fees, and any residency costs.
  • Recognition and mobility: if you plan to work in a regulated profession or apply for a visa, confirm in advance that the specific degree is accepted where you intend to use it.
  • Time commitment: expect 15–20 hours per week for a full-time online master's, or roughly half that for part-time study.

Online vs. on-campus: a quick comparison

Factor Online On-campus
Flexibility High; study around work Fixed timetable
Networking Digital, sometimes weaker In-person, stronger
Cost Often lower tuition, no relocation Tuition plus living costs
Practical/lab work Limited or via short residencies Full access
Recognition Depends on accreditation, not mode Depends on accreditation
Campus experience Minimal Full

A simple decision checklist

  1. Is the program accredited and recognized in the country where you plan to use the degree?
  2. Does the format (async, sync, hybrid) fit your schedule and time zone?
  3. Are the language requirements realistic for you?
  4. Can you meet the prerequisites and admission documents?
  5. Does the total cost — tuition plus any residency travel — fit your budget?
  6. Does the program offer the support you'll need to finish a thesis remotely?

If you can answer yes to all six, an online master's from a European institution is a credible route to the same degree title as campus study. If any answer is uncertain, resolve that point before you apply rather than after you enroll.

What Game Institute Costs: Prices, Discounts, and Payment Plans

Game Institute currently lists three main training packages on its site: a Premium lifetime membership at $599 (reduced to $449.25 with the code GAMEMKR25), the Dead Earth Series at $399 ($299.25 with the code), and a Projects Only package at $249 ($186.75 with the code). The site also states that payment plans are available, though it does not publish the specific terms. All three prices and the 25% discount appear directly on the Game Institute catalog page.

Current Package Prices

Package What you get List price Price with GAMEMKR25
Premium Online Courses Training Package Lifetime access to all current and future proprietary training releases and updates $599.00 $449.25
Dead Earth Series Step-by-step training for building a commercial-quality first-person shooter; 150+ hours of video $399.00 $299.25
Projects Only Projects, source code, and asset downloads only (Dead Earth, GI Racing 1 & 2, MatchBaker, Balls of Glory, Carbon3d Engine) $249.00 $186.75

The discount is described on the site as "Save 25% at checkout with code GAMEMKR25," so the reduced prices apply when the code is entered during checkout rather than being automatic.

How the Discount Works

The code GAMEMKR25 takes 25% off the listed price of each package. The math checks out on all three tiers: $599 × 0.75 = $449.25, $399 × 0.75 = $299.25, and $249 × 0.75 = $186.75. If you are comparing packages, apply the same 25% to whichever tier you are considering rather than assuming the discount is limited to one product.

Payment Plans

Each of the three packages shows a "Payment Plans Available!" note on the catalog page. The site does not publish the number of installments, interest terms, or eligibility requirements, so the practical step is to check the options presented at checkout before committing. If spreading the cost matters to your decision, confirm the plan details there rather than relying on the list price alone.

Choosing Between the Packages

The packages differ mainly in scope, not in topic:

  • Premium is the broadest option. It includes lifetime access to all current and future proprietary training releases and updates, covering tools and languages such as C#/C++, Blender, Unreal Engine 5, Unity, and OpenGL. Choose this if you want ongoing access and expect to work through multiple subjects over time.
  • Dead Earth Series is a single guided project: 150+ hours of video building a first-person survival horror/shooter game from the ground up. Choose this if you learn best by completing one large, structured project.
  • Projects Only gives you the projects, source code, and assets without the video instruction. Choose this if you already have the programming background and mainly want commercial-grade code and assets to study or integrate.

One thing to weigh: the Projects Only package includes the Dead Earth project files, but it does not include the 150+ hours of instruction that the Dead Earth Series provides. If you are new to the material, the instruction is the part that carries the learning.

What the Site Establishes About Quality

Game Institute states it has trained hundreds of thousands of designers and developers since 2001 and is a Unity Authorized Training Partner, which the site says allows it to offer Unity-authorized training workshops and preparation courses for Unity certification exams. The courses are self-paced and described as suitable for all skill levels, from beginners to working professionals. These points are relevant to whether the price is justified, but they are the provider's own claims rather than independent verification.

Practical Checklist Before Buying

  1. Decide whether you want broad, ongoing access (Premium), one structured project (Dead Earth Series), or assets and code only (Projects Only).
  2. Enter GAMEMKR25 at checkout and confirm the 25% reduction appears before paying.
  3. If you need to spread the cost, review the payment plan terms at checkout, since they are not published on the catalog page.
  4. Confirm the package includes what you actually need — for example, video instruction versus project files alone.
What Is Game Institute and What Does It Offer?

Game Institute (gameinstitute.com) is an online training platform for video game design and development, offering self-paced video courses, downloadable project source code and assets, and professional certification-oriented training. It is aimed at learners from complete beginners to working developers, and its catalog centers on programming, art, and design skills using industry-standard tools such as Unity, Unreal Engine 5, C#/C++, Blender, and OpenGL. It is a course and training provider rather than a degree-granting institution, so it suits people who want structured, project-based instruction they can complete on their own schedule.

What the platform teaches

According to the site, the curriculum covers the main skill areas needed to build games:

  • Programming: C# and C++, plus APIs such as OpenGL
  • Engines: Unity and Unreal Engine 5
  • Art and assets: Blender and related content creation
  • Project work: commercial-grade game projects with source code and assets that learners can study and integrate into their own work

The site describes itself as offering "the most extensive collection of online instruction, source code, assets and tools" for indie and professional developers, and states it has trained hundreds of thousands of designers and developers since 2001.

How the training is delivered

All instruction is online and self-paced. The site states that learners can study from home at their own pace and take as long as needed to work through lessons until they are comfortable with the material. Courses are built around step-by-step video instruction — for example, the Game Development Series is described as 150+ hours of video guiding learners through building a triple-A-style first-person survival horror game, and the Dead Earth Series is described as 150+ hours building a commercial-quality first-person shooter from the ground up.

Training packages and pricing

The site lists several purchase options. Prices below are as shown on the page, with a checkout discount code (GAMEMKR25) advertised for 25% off:

Package What it includes Listed price With advertised 25% discount
Premium Online Courses — Lifetime Account Full, immediate lifetime access to all current and future proprietary training releases and updates $599.00 $449.25
Dead Earth Series Step-by-step development of a commercial-quality first-person shooter; 150+ hours of video training $399.00 $299.25
Projects Only Project files, source code, and asset downloads only (Dead Earth, GI Racing 1&2, MatchBaker, Balls of Glory, Carbon3d Engine) $249.00 $186.75

The page also notes that payment plans are available. The discount figures reflect the code advertised on the site; confirm the final price at checkout, since promotional terms can change.

Certification and recognition

Game Institute describes itself as a Unity Authorized Training Partner, stating that it meets Unity's quality standards and can offer Unity-authorized training workshops and preparation courses for Unity certification exams on behalf of Unity Technologies. The site also references professional, college-level certifications. If a specific credential matters for your goals (for example, a particular employer or further study), verify the current certification details directly with Game Institute and the certifying body before enrolling.

Who it is for

The site states it trains everyone from total beginners to working professionals. In practice:

  • Beginners can start with structured video courses that walk through building complete games.
  • Self-taught developers can use the project source code and assets to study real implementations.
  • Working developers can target specific engines, languages, or Unity certification preparation.

Because the learning is self-paced with no fixed cohort, it rewards learners who can set their own schedule; those who need deadlines or live instruction may find it less suited.

How to decide whether to use it

  1. Clarify your goal. If you want hands-on project experience in Unity, Unreal, C#, C++, or Blender, the catalog matches that. If you need an accredited degree, this is not that kind of provider.
  2. Pick the package that matches your need. Choose Projects Only if you mainly want source code and assets; choose a series if you want guided video instruction on a specific project; choose the lifetime account if you expect to use many courses over time.
  3. Check the current price and terms at checkout, including whether the advertised discount code applies to your selection and what the payment plan involves.
  4. Verify certification claims with Unity or the relevant body if a credential is part of your plan.

The main trade-off is breadth and project realism versus structure: Game Institute offers a large library of self-paced, project-based material, but it depends on you to stay on track.

How Game Institute's Course Packages Differ and How to Choose

Game Institute currently lists three main purchase options, and the right one depends on whether you want structured video instruction, a single project-based course, or just the code and assets. The Premium Online Courses package ($599, discounted to $449.25 with code GAMEMKR25) gives lifetime access to all current and future proprietary training releases and updates. The Dead Earth Series ($399, discounted to $299.25) is a focused 150+ hour video course on building a commercial-quality first-person shooter. Projects Only ($249, discounted to $186.75) includes the projects, source code, and asset downloads without the video teaching. Payment plans are listed as available for all three.

The three packages at a glance

Package Price (with GAMEMKR25) Video instruction Projects, source code & assets Access terms
Premium Online Courses $599 → $449.25 Full library of proprietary training Included Lifetime access to all current and future releases and updates
Dead Earth Series $399 → $299.25 150+ hours, step-by-step FPS build The Dead Earth project Not stated beyond the course itself
Projects Only $249 → $186.75 None Dead Earth, GI Racing 1 & 2, MatchBaker, Balls of Glory, Carbon3d Engine Downloads only

What each package is actually for

Premium Online Courses

This is the broadest option: it bundles the full catalog of Game Institute's own training with lifetime access, including future releases and updates. The site describes the curriculum as covering C#/C++, Blender, Unreal Engine 5, Unity, OpenGL, and other industry-standard languages, tools, and APIs. Choose this if you are starting from scratch or want to move across disciplines (programming, art, engine work) and expect to keep using the material over time. The lifetime-and-future-releases term is the main thing that separates it from buying individual courses.

Dead Earth Series

This is a single, deep project course: 150+ hours of step-by-step video building a triple-A-style first-person survival horror game. It suits learners who want one complete, guided production experience rather than a broad library — for example, someone who already knows the basics and wants to see a full commercial-quality FPS assembled from the ground up. If your goal is "finish one substantial game with instruction," this is the most direct path.

Projects Only

This package contains no video teaching. It delivers the Dead Earth project plus GI Racing 1 & 2, MatchBaker, Balls of Glory, and the Carbon3d Engine as source code and assets. It fits developers who learn by reading and modifying code, or who want ready-made commercial-grade projects to integrate into their own work. If you need explanations of why something is built a certain way, this package will not provide them.

How to decide

  • You want the widest skill coverage and long-term value: Premium. The lifetime access to future releases means the cost is spread over everything Game Institute publishes, not just today's catalog.
  • You want one complete guided project: Dead Earth Series. You trade breadth for depth and save $150 versus Premium.
  • You already know how to code or build in an engine and mainly want reference material: Projects Only. It is the cheapest entry and includes multiple projects, but you supply your own learning structure.
  • Budget is the deciding factor: the spread is $449.25 / $299.25 / $186.75 after the discount code, so the gap between tiers is meaningful. Note that the discount is applied at checkout with code GAMEMKR25, and payment plans are offered if you prefer to spread the cost.

Before you buy

Game Institute states it has trained hundreds of thousands of designers and developers since 2001 and is a Unity Authorized Training Partner, which means it can offer Unity-authorized workshops and certification exam preparation. Learning is self-paced and online, and the site says it welcomes all skill levels, from beginners to working professionals. The page does not state refund terms or how long the discount code remains valid, so confirm those at checkout if they matter to your decision.

Website Overview

Software versions and possible internal network details are exposed together, potentially making targeted reconnaissance easier. Identifiable technologies and additional version or configuration signals make the service easier to fingerprint, which may help targeted scanners narrow their checks.

Domain and Registration

Registered in 2000, this domain has about 26 years of history. That suggests continuity, although ownership and purpose may have changed. Transfer-protection status is present, helping reduce the risk of unauthorized domain transfers. The domain uses the common .com extension, which is not an independent safety signal.

DNS and Email

The observed email authentication setup is incomplete: DMARC is missing. Nameservers are provided by softlayer.com, indicating managed DNS hosting. MX records point to the Google Workspace email service. No CNAME was found; the observed records resolve directly to addresses. TXT records include verification markers for Google. Such markers may also remain after a service stops being used.

TLS and Certificates

The certificate issuer is DigiCert Inc, a commercial certificate authority. The certificate uses an RSA 2048-bit public key, offering broad client compatibility. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. No organization name is present in the certificate; the available fields are consistent with domain validation. The certificate is valid for about 364 days in total, with 112 days remaining.

HTTP and Browser Security

The Server header exposes the software version: Microsoft-IIS/10.0. This makes version-targeted checks easier, but is not proof of an exploitable vulnerability. X-Powered-By exposes backend information: PHP/8.5.12. The checked browser-security headers were not detected, leaving fewer explicit browser-side safeguards. The headers contain possible internal network information: Microsoft-IIS/10.0. No explicit CDN or WAF marker was found in the response headers.

Technology Stack Analysis

The public page identifies Shopify, Bootstrap, Google Analytics, Microsoft IIS 10.0, PHP, with exact versions exposed for 1 technologies. These details can narrow vulnerability checks, although exposure alone is not a vulnerability.

Search and Social Sharing

Twitter Card metadata is configured. The title has 58 characters, within a common display range. A meta description is present, with 110 characters. The observed directives allow indexing and link following. No Generator meta tag is publicly exposed.

Hosting and Email

DNSsoftlayer.com
HostingIBM Cloud
EmailGoogle Workspace
Approximate IP geolocation (inferred; a CDN or proxy may differ from the origin server) United States flagUnited States Inferred 169.62.43.99

Registration details

RDAP / WHOIS

RegistrarMoniker Online Services LLC
Registered2000-01-14
Expires2027-01-14
Domain statusclient transfer prohibited
Nameserversns1.softlayer.com、ns2.softlayer.com
DNSSECunsigned

DNS records

DNS

TypeNameValueTTLPriority
Awww.gameinstitute.com169.62.43.99300—
MXgameinstitute.comaspmx.l.google.com864001
MXgameinstitute.comalt1.aspmx.l.google.com864005
MXgameinstitute.comalt2.aspmx.l.google.com864005
MXgameinstitute.comalt3.aspmx.l.google.com8640010
MXgameinstitute.comalt4.aspmx.l.google.com8640010
NSgameinstitute.comns1.softlayer.com86400—
NSgameinstitute.comns2.softlayer.com86400—
TXTgameinstitute.comgoogle-site-verification=rJo21Ahje0Me-kVqitXrMhc8-34MufOSwXC1ZB-Yl3s86400—
TXTgameinstitute.comv=spf1 include:servers.mcsv.net include:mail.zendesk.com include:_spf.google.com ~all86400—

TLS and certificates

TLS / SSL

AssessmentNormal configuration
Supported protocolsTLSv1.2
Negotiated protocolTLSv1.2
Certificate subjectwww.gameinstitute.com
IssuerDigiCert Inc
Valid until2027-02-19T23:59 · Remaining when checked: 112 days
Verification detailsCertificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed

HTTP response headers

HTTP

HeaderValue
content-typetext/html; charset=UTF-8
serverMicrosoft-IIS/10.0

Identified technologies

ShopifyBootstrapGoogle AnalyticsMicrosoft IIS 10.0PHP

Pages, Search and Sharing

Meta descriptionOnline classes in videogame programming, art, and design. Professional college level certifications available.
Canonical URLhttps://www.gameinstitute.com/
LanguageEnglish (default)
Twitter Cardsummary
All bots 0 allowed · 3 disallowed
  • Disallow/training/
  • Disallow/indie/
  • Disallow/login.php

User reviews (0)

  • No reviews yet.