Website review
This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.
What is Matrix College of Counselling & Psychotherapy?
Matrix College of Counselling & Psychotherapy is a specialist counselling training college based in East Anglia, England, offering a three-year BSc (Hons) in Integrative Counselling. Its teaching is validated and quality assured by Middlesex University, and its professional standards are overseen by the UKCP (UK Council for Psychotherapy). It describes itself as a registered provider of Higher Education regulated by the Office for Students.
What it offers
- One main programme: a three-year BSc (Hons) in Integrative Counselling, developed, delivered and assessed by Matrix, with the award made by Middlesex University. The course was re-validated in July 2024.
- Flexible teaching patterns: weekend teaching on Saturdays and Sundays, or weekday teaching on Thursdays and Fridays.
- Practice placement element: students gain practical experience in local counselling agencies, which matters if you need to accumulate client hours toward accreditation.
- Reflective and ethical emphasis: the college highlights self-reflective practice, ethical standards and safe practice as core to its training.
- Taster sessions: autumn taster sessions are advertised (for example, a Saturday morning and a weekday evening), bookable by email.
Who it suits
This is aimed at mature learners in Norfolk, Cambridgeshire, Suffolk and the wider East Anglia region who want a university-validated counselling qualification while training locally, rather than relocating for a degree. The weekend option is the practical draw for people juggling work or caring responsibilities, though it means committing part of every weekend for three years.
What to check before applying
- Entry requirements and accreditation pathway. Ask what prior qualifications or experience are needed, and whether the degree leads toward UKCP registration and what additional hours that requires.
- Placement support. Since placements are in local agencies, ask how the college helps you find one, whether you must arrange it yourself, and what happens if none is available.
- Costs and funding. Fees, placement-related costs and any eligibility for student finance are not stated on the page; request these in writing.
- Timing. Applications for a September 2027 start open in January 2027, so plan well ahead.
A useful next step is to email the college contact listed on the site to request the course handbook and confirm entry requirements, fees and placement arrangements, or to book a taster session to see the teaching style firsthand. For comparison, you can also look at how other training routes describe their accreditation and placement support, such as BACP or UKCP.
How does the BSc (Hons) Integrative Counselling course qualify me to practise as a counsellor?
The BSc (Hons) Integrative Counselling at Matrix College of Counselling & Psychotherapy is a three-year professional training route, validated by Middlesex University and awarded and quality assured by that university. Completion gives you an honours degree in counselling, and the course is designed to meet the academic and professional standards expected of psychotherapeutic counsellors. In practical terms, the qualification itself is what opens the door to practice; registration with a professional body is a separate step you take after or alongside qualifying.
How the course builds practice readiness
- Academic validation: Middlesex University appoints an external examiner to confirm the programme meets required academic standards and is equivalent to other university training.
- Professional standards: Professional standards are overseen by the UKCP, and the college states it adheres to their Standards for Education and Training for Psychotherapeutic Counsellors.
- Practical experience: Training includes practical experience in local counselling agencies, which is how most trainees accumulate the supervised client hours that registration bodies expect.
- Reflective and ethical practice: The programme emphasises self-reflective practice, ethical and safe standards, and skill development alongside knowledge.
What "qualified to practise" actually means
Qualifying with the BSc gives you the educational qualification. To practise as a counsellor or psychotherapeutic counsellor, you would typically then apply for registration with a professional body such as the UKCP (or another recognised register), which assesses your training, supervised practice and fitness to practise. Employers and agencies often ask for both a recognised qualification and registration, so treat the degree and the registration as two connected but distinct milestones.
A concrete next step
If you are weighing this route, ask the college directly how much supervised client work is included, what placement support is provided, and which professional registers recent graduates have joined. The college lists an email contact for course details and runs autumn taster sessions, which are a low-commitment way to ask those questions in person.
For comparison, other UK training routes include university-based counselling degrees and UKCP-accredited trainings delivered by other institutions; check each provider's official pages for their own validation and registration pathways.
What are the entry requirements and application deadlines for the counselling programme?
Entry requirements aren't stated on the page you've shared. The college describes its BSc (Hons) Integrative Counselling and its quality assurance, but it does not list academic qualifications, prior experience, or interview requirements. Treat any specific entry criteria you see elsewhere as unconfirmed until the college states them directly.
Application timing is clearer. Applications for a September 2027 start open in January 2027. That's a long runway, and it matters if you're weighing a career change: you can use the intervening period to gain relevant experience or arrange your finances.
What the page does confirm
- Programme: three-year BSc (Hons) in Integrative Counselling, validated by Middlesex University, re-validated in July 2024.
- Delivery: weekend teaching (Saturday and Sunday) or weekday teaching (Thursday and Friday) — a real decision point if you work, since neither pattern is an evening-only route.
- Placement expectation: students gain practical experience in local counselling agencies, so you'll need capacity for placement hours alongside taught days.
- Professional alignment: standards are overseen by the UKCP, following their Standards for Education and Training for Psychotherapeutic Counsellors.
- Regulatory status: registered provider of Higher Education with the Office for Students, including a published student protection plan.
How to get the actual requirements
The page directs enquiries to Nikkita at [email protected], and offers Autumn Taster Sessions (Saturday 31 October, 10am–1pm; Tuesday 24 November, 6–9pm) bookable by email. A taster session is the most efficient way to ask about entry criteria, interview process and any minimum English or maths qualifications, because you can compare your own background against current students.
Useful comparison points
If you're deciding between training routes, ask each provider the same four questions:
| Question | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Minimum entry qualifications | Determines whether you need an access course first |
| Interview or selection process | Affects your timeline and preparation |
| Placement support | Some colleges find placements; others expect you to |
| Accreditation route | UKCP, BACP or neither changes your post-qualification options |
For broader context on accredited training and what registration involves, the UKCP and BACP publish their own training and membership criteria — useful for checking that a course leads where you want it to.
Next step: email [email protected] before the January 2027 window and ask for the entry requirements in writing, along with whether the taster sessions include an admissions briefing.
How do the weekend and weekday teaching formats compare for someone with a full-time job?
For someone in full-time work, the main difference is not the total commitment but when it falls. Matrix runs the same BSc (Hons) Integrative Counselling on two schedules: weekend teaching (Saturday and Sunday) and weekday teaching (Thursday and Friday), per the college's page. So the choice is really about which days you can protect over three years, not which route is lighter.
What each format suits
- Weekend teaching (Sat–Sun): Best if your job is Monday–Friday and your evenings or weekends are otherwise free. The trade-off is losing most of your weekend for study, plus travel across Norfolk, Cambridgeshire, Suffolk or East Anglia, and any placement hours may also fall on weekends.
- Weekday teaching (Thu–Fri): Only realistic if your employer will release you, you work shifts or compressed hours, or you can reduce to part-time. The advantage is keeping weekends intact for rest, family and paid work; the risk is that two full weekdays away is a bigger ask of an employer than a Saturday.
A practical way to decide
- Check whether your contract allows a recurring weekday absence, and whether it would be paid, unpaid or annual leave.
- Map your placement needs: the college says students gain practical experience in local counselling agencies, and those hours have to fit around teaching.
- Test the stamina question honestly. Weekend teaching removes the commute-after-work problem but removes recovery time; weekday teaching preserves weekends but demands employer goodwill.
If you are unsure, the college's autumn taster sessions (Saturday 31 October, 10 am–1 pm and Tuesday 24 November, 6–9 pm) let you sample both a weekend and a weekday-evening format before committing. Contact details are on Matrix College of Counselling & Psychotherapy. For comparison, other UK training routes include Metanoia Institute and Regent's College London.
What kind of practical placement support does Matrix provide with local counselling agencies?
Matrix's own course description says students get practical experience in local counselling agencies, but it does not specify how placements are found, how many hours are required, or what supervision is provided. Treat that as an area to clarify directly with the college.
Matrix College of Counselling & Psychotherapy describes the BSc (Hons) Integrative Counselling as a three-year programme, delivered on weekends or weekdays, with academic standards monitored by Middlesex University and professional standards overseen by the UKCP.
H3 Practical questions to ask before applying
- Who arranges the placement — the college, the student, or a mix of both?
- Which local agencies does Matrix currently work with, and in which towns?
- What is the minimum number of client hours, and by when must they be completed?
- What supervision is included, and who pays for it?
- What happens if a placement falls through partway through the course?
H3 Why this matters
Placement is often the part of counsellor training that students find hardest to secure, because agencies need to be able to take on a trainee and provide suitable clients and supervision. A college with long-standing regional links can often open doors that a student applying cold cannot. Matrix's stated focus on East Anglia and its history of training counsellors suggest that local agency relationships are part of its model, but the page does not confirm the mechanics.
H3 A useful next step
Contact the college before applying and ask for specifics rather than general reassurance. A good answer names agencies, gives typical weekly client hours, and explains what support exists if a placement ends early. If you are comparing options, the same questions are worth asking any course you consider, including university-based routes. You can also check the UKCP register to confirm a course's professional recognition.
How does Matrix's UKCP and Middlesex University accreditation affect my career prospects?
Matrix's dual oversight — UKCP professional standards plus Middlesex University academic validation — mainly affects three practical things: whether your qualification is recognised by the professional body you want to join, whether it carries academic weight if you later want to study further, and how much structure and external scrutiny sit behind your training.
What each body actually does here
| Body | Role for this course | Practical effect for you |
|---|---|---|
| Middlesex University | Validates and awards the BSc (Hons) Integrative Counselling; re-validated July 2024; appoints an external examiner | You graduate with a university award, and academic standards are checked against comparable university training |
| UKCP | Oversees professional standards; Matrix states it adheres to UKCP Standards for Education and Training for Psychotherapeutic Counsellors | Signals the training is aligned with a recognised psychotherapy body's training expectations |
| Office for Students | Matrix is a registered higher education provider | Course design, student support and a published student protection plan are expected to meet regulatory standards |
How this shapes career prospects
For most people training as a counsellor, the accreditation that matters most is the one that lets you register with a professional body and be listed on an accredited register. UKCP alignment points in that direction, but the key detail to confirm is whether this specific programme gives you a direct route to UKCP registration on completion, or whether you need additional post-qualification hours, supervision or a further stage. That single answer changes your timeline by months or years, so ask it before you apply rather than after.
The Middlesex validation matters more than it first appears. A university award is portable: it supports applications for further study, and it gives employers, agencies and NHS or charity services a familiar reference point when they screen CVs. It also means an external examiner reviews the programme, which is a genuine quality check rather than a marketing line.
The third piece — Matrix's own description of students as "mature, skillful and ethical" and its placement links with local counselling agencies — is where employability is often really built. Voluntary-sector and agency work during training is typically what turns a qualification into a paid role.
A concrete scenario
Suppose you finish the three years and apply for a paid counselling post at a local charity. The panel will look for: a recognised qualification, registration or eligibility to register, a placement record with client hours, and a supervisor reference. Middlesex and UKCP together support the first two; the placement side is on you, and Matrix's agency links help you get it.
Your next step
Email the college and ask three specific questions: which professional register graduates can join and when; whether the BSc alone satisfies UKCP requirements or needs a further training stage; and how placements are arranged and how many client hours students typically accumulate. Compare the answers with another training route — for instance a university-based counselling programme such as The Open University or a UKCP-listed training elsewhere — so you are weighing routes, not just this one.
User reviews (0)