Website Review
What is Great Learning?
Great Learning is an online education platform focused on career-oriented programs in technology and business fields such as AI, machine learning, data science, cloud computing, cybersecurity, digital marketing, and software engineering. It offers a mix of short certificate courses, postgraduate certificates, and full degree programs, often in partnership with universities, and positions itself around helping working professionals advance or switch careers.
Great Learning
What it offers
- Certificate programs in areas like AI, agentic AI, generative AI, data science, cloud, and cybersecurity, typically ranging from a few weeks to several months.
- Postgraduate and degree programs, including master's-level offerings, delivered with university partners.
- Career support, including resume tools and job-search assistance, aimed at professionals targeting new roles or promotions.
- Enterprise training, for companies looking to upskill teams.
Who it's for
It suits working professionals who want flexible, part-time study without pausing their careers, as well as learners seeking a structured, university-backed credential rather than self-directed courses. Programs are mostly online and often run on weekends or evenings.
How to decide
If you need a recognized credential to signal skills to employers, a longer postgraduate or degree program may fit better. If you want to build specific, current skills quickly, a short certificate in a high-demand area like generative AI could be a faster path. Check each program's duration, format, and university partner, since these vary widely and affect both cost and how much time you'll need each week.
How do Great Learning's certificate programs compare to traditional university degrees for career advancement?
Great Learning's certificate programs are built for speed and job-skill relevance, while traditional university degrees are built for depth, credentials and long-term optionality. For most working professionals, the certificate route is the faster lever for a specific promotion or role switch; a degree is the stronger lever when a formal credential is a hard gate.
The practical difference
| Dimension | Certificate programs (as listed on Great Learning) | Traditional university degrees |
|---|---|---|
| Time | Weeks to months (examples on the page range from 6 weeks to about 6 months) | Typically 2+ years |
| Focus | Applied, tool- and workflow-oriented: AI agents, generative AI, data science, cloud, cybersecurity | Broad theory plus specialisation, research and general education |
| Format | Online, weekend, mentored or blended cohorts | Campus or full online degree structure |
| Best for | Reskilling, upskilling, portfolio building, internal mobility | Career entry, regulated fields, research, academic pathways |
| Trade-off | Narrower signal; may not satisfy formal degree requirements | Higher cost and time; slower to reflect current tools |
What this means in practice
If your goal is to move into an AI-adjacent role, lead an AI project, or add agent and generative-AI skills to an existing job, a short mentored certificate is often enough to change how you are perceived internally. A data analyst who completes a 12–16 week applied AI program and ships two internal use cases has a concrete story for a promotion conversation. That story usually matters more to a hiring manager than the certificate itself.
A degree matters more when the gate is formal: certain employers, visa or immigration processes, teaching and research roles, or job postings that state "bachelor's/master's required." In those cases, no certificate substitutes.
How to decide
- Choose a certificate when the target role values demonstrable skills, your timeline is under a year, and you can pair the course with a real project.
- Choose a degree when the credential is a stated requirement, you want research depth, or you are early in your career without work experience to lean on.
- Consider stacking: a degree for the credential, short certificates for current tools. The Great Learning catalogue leans heavily toward the second category, with programs in AI, agentic AI, data science, cloud and cybersecurity listed at Great Learning.
Next step
Write down the exact job title you want and find five live postings for it. If four or more list a degree as required, prioritise the degree. If they emphasise tools, projects and years of experience instead, pick one certificate that maps directly to those tools and budget time for a portfolio project alongside it.
What are the admission requirements and application process for Great Learning's PG programs?
The short answer: Great Learning does not publish one universal admission standard for its PG programs. Each program is delivered with a different university or partner, so eligibility, documents and deadlines vary by program. What you can rely on is the general shape of the process: choose a program, confirm eligibility for that specific cohort, submit an application with academic and professional details, and complete any screening or interview step the partner requires.
What typically drives eligibility
- Bachelor's degree. Most postgraduate-level programs expect a recognised undergraduate degree; some accept final-year students or applicants with relevant work experience in place of a strict subject match.
- Work experience. Business-facing AI, leadership and CTO-style programs often assume several years of professional experience, while foundational certificate tracks are more open to early-career learners.
- Technical background. Data science, ML and software development tracks usually expect comfort with programming, statistics or quantitative work. Some programs are explicitly positioned as "no code" alternatives for non-technical learners.
- English proficiency. Instruction is in English, so applicants from non-English-medium backgrounds may need to demonstrate proficiency.
How the application usually runs
- Pick the program and check its page for the current cohort dates and stated eligibility.
- Submit an online application with your academic history, CV and professional details.
- Take any required aptitude or screening assessment, where the program uses one.
- Attend a short interview or counselling call with the program team.
- Receive an admission decision, then confirm your seat and complete payment or financing steps.
A practical scenario
Suppose you have five years in marketing and want the AI business-strategy route. Your degree and experience will likely clear eligibility, but you may be asked to show quantitative comfort or complete a preparatory module. A colleague with a computer science degree applying to the same program may face a different checklist. That is why comparing program pages matters more than comparing the platform as a whole.
Next step
Open the specific program page on Great Learning, find its "eligibility" or "who is this for" section, and note three things: the degree requirement, the experience expectation and the application deadline. If any of those are unclear, ask the program advisor directly before paying.
Decision criterion
If you need a fixed, predictable admissions standard, a single university degree program may suit you better. If you want flexibility across AI, data, cloud and leadership tracks, Great Learning's model works — but only if you verify requirements program by program.
Does Great Learning offer career support or job placement assistance after completing a program?
Yes. Career support is part of how Great Learning presents its programs: the site lists a dedicated Career Support section alongside program discovery and success stories, and it highlights graduates moving into top-tier companies. That signals placement-focused help is a core part of the offering rather than an optional extra.
What that typically includes, based on the page structure and common practice for mentored online programs:
- Career services content covering resumes, interview preparation and job-search strategy. Great Learning also offers an AI Resume Builder as a paid tool, which is separate from any program-level support.
- Mentored formats. Many listed programs are marked "Mentored," which usually means live sessions with practitioners who can give feedback on projects and career direction.
- Employer visibility. The emphasis on hiring companies suggests partnerships or recruiting pipelines, though the specific employers and terms aren't detailed on the page.
- Alumni outcomes. Success stories function as proof points; treat them as individual examples, not guarantees.
What to verify before enrolling
Placement assistance is not the same as a guaranteed job. Ask the program advisor directly:
- Is career support included in the fee, or is it a paid add-on?
- How many 1:1 coaching sessions, and with whom?
- Which employers recruit from this specific program, and in which locations?
- What are the eligibility conditions — attendance, project completion, minimum scores?
- Are placement figures published per cohort, with the methodology?
Practical next step
Pick two or three programs from the AI, data science or leadership tracks, then compare their career-support terms side by side before paying. If you want a broader view of how online providers handle placement, Coursera and edX publish university-partner program pages with similar career-service descriptions, which makes them useful benchmarks.
What is the cost of Great Learning's programs and are there payment plans available?
Great Learning does not publish a single, site-wide price list, so you cannot look up one number that covers its catalog. Program costs vary widely by format, duration and credential level, and the site's own pricing signals point to subscription-style access (Academy Pro+) and a resume-building tool rather than fixed fees for each certificate or degree.
What determines the cost
- Credential type. Short mentored certificates and weekend workshops sit at the low end; postgraduate programs and university-backed degrees sit much higher.
- Length and delivery. The page evidence shows formats ranging from 6 weeks to 2 years, and modes including self-paced online, live online weekdays/weekends, mentored and blended.
- University partner. Programs co-branded with a university typically cost more than standalone certificates.
- Specialisation. AI, agentic AI, data science and leadership tracks dominate the catalog and may be priced differently from general tech courses.
Are payment plans available?
The page evidence does not confirm instalment plans, EMI options or financing partners. It only shows Academy Pro+ and an AI Resume Builder as paid offerings. Treat any claim about EMI or no-cost instalments as something to verify directly with Great Learning before committing.
How to decide
If you are a working professional testing a career switch into AI or data science, start with a short, low-commitment certificate to judge teaching quality and time demands before enrolling in a 12–24 month postgraduate program. If your employer is funding the course, the higher-cost university-backed programs usually carry more weight on a CV.
Next step: open the specific program page you are considering and look for a fees, financing or admissions-contact section, then ask admissions in writing about total cost, instalment options and refund terms. You can browse the catalog at Great Learning. For comparison, other providers publish similar information: Coursera, edX, Simplilearn and Udacity.
How are Great Learning's online courses delivered and what is the typical time commitment?
Great Learning delivers its programs online, in formats built around live teaching, recorded material and mentor support rather than a single self-paced video library. The page describes many offerings as "Online," "Online Weekend," "Live Online Weekdays & Weekend," "Mentored," or "Blended," so the exact mix depends on which program you pick.
Typical formats
- Online Weekend: live sessions held on weekends, aimed at working professionals.
- Live Online Weekdays & Weekend: scheduled live classes spread across the week and weekend.
- Mentored: structured learning with mentor guidance alongside the coursework.
- Blended: a mix of online instruction and other components.
- Online (unspecified): scheduled online delivery, with the specific live/recorded balance not stated on the page.
Typical time commitment The durations listed on the page range widely:
| Program type | Example duration |
|---|---|
| Short certificate | 6 weeks |
| Certificate | 9–18 weeks |
| Applied / professional programs | 12–16 weeks |
| Postgraduate-level programs | 3–5 months |
| Leadership program | 6 months |
| Degree (MSc) | 2 years |
As a rule of thumb: short certificates suit a few hours per week over one to four months, while postgraduate and degree programs assume a heavier, longer commitment. The page does not state weekly hours, so treat the week counts as the reliable signal and confirm the weekly load with the program page before enrolling.
Which format fits whom
- If you work full time, a weekend or weekend-plus-weekday format is usually the practical choice.
- If you want accountability and feedback, prioritise "Mentored" programs over purely self-paced ones.
- If you need a quick, focused skill, a 6–18 week certificate is the better fit than a multi-month program.
- If you are aiming at a formal qualification, the 2-year MSc is the only degree-level option visible in the listing.
Next step Pick two or three programs in your subject area, note each one's delivery label and week count, then check the individual program page for the weekly schedule and whether sessions are recorded. Compare that against your available hours before committing. If you want a broader view of alternative providers, Coursera and edX list comparable university-backed online programs you can benchmark against.
User reviews (0)