Website profiles · Technology insights · Alternatives

ballard-tighe.com

We offer the best products and customer service in English language development, and we want you to be completely satisfied.

No paid content found
Visit website
Profile views 2 Outbound visits 0 Normal
Ballard & Tighe Full homepage screenshot

At a glance

Category
Education & Learning
Language
English
Paid-content signal
No paid content foundObserved
Registered
1997
Hosting
ballard-tighe.comInferred
HTTPS certificate trusted
PassedObserved
Last updated

Website review

This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.

What is Ballard & Tighe?

Ballard & Tighe is a US education publisher and assessment provider focused on English language development, with roughly 50 years in the field. It sells two main things: instructional materials for English learners, and language proficiency assessments (screeners, placement tests and progress monitoring). Its catalogue spans preschool through K-12, plus dual-language (English and Spanish) resources.

What it actually covers

  • Instruction: Newcomer, LTEL and SLIFE support; structured lessons with vocabulary cards, sentence frames and theme pictures; an integrated reading, writing, listening and speaking approach.
  • Assessments: Proficiency screeners and placement tools, including online reading and writing tests for K-1 in English and Spanish, and the IPT suite. The early childhood English test is listed as an approved TK screener in California.
  • Services: IPT training, webinars, alignment documentation and a help desk.

Who it suits

A district EL coordinator choosing a screener and matching curriculum for newcomers and long-term English learners is the clearest fit; the assessment-plus-instruction pairing means placement data can feed directly into lessons. A single classroom teacher looking for a standalone supplement will find the assessment side heavier than needed.

Trade-offs to weigh

The materials are deliberately systematic and scripted, which helps less-experienced teachers deliver consistent language instruction but leaves little room for improvisation. Assessment flexibility (credits usable across tests, languages and grades, with no stated yearly licence commitment) matters most for districts that test in both English and Spanish.

If you want to compare assessment options before committing, look at WIDA for its English language development standards and screener, and CAL for its proficiency assessments and dual-language work. For a practical next step, request sample lessons and a demo of the specific test you would use, then check the alignment documents against your state's ELD standards.

Which Ballard & Tighe assessment should I use to screen or place English learners in my district?

For district screening and placement, start with Ballard & Tighe's IPT (Idea Proficiency Test) family, which the site describes as its language proficiency assessments covering screeners, placement and progress monitoring. The page specifically notes that the IPT Early Childhood English Test was selected as an approved screener for TK in California, so if you are placing transitional-kindergarten or preschool English learners in that state, that is the most directly relevant product.

Matching the test to the grade band

  • Preschool/TK: IPT Early Childhood English Test, positioned as a screener for the youngest learners.
  • K–12: The broader IPT line is described as supporting proficiency screening, program placement and progress monitoring, with diagnostic reports that include instructional recommendations.
  • Dual language (English and Spanish): The site lists dual-language assessments and notes online reading and writing tests for K–1 in both English and Spanish are available to pilot.

What the site says about how it's used

Ballard & Tighe frames the IPT assessments around data-driven decisions: multiple uses, diagnostic reports with instructional recommendations, and a credit-based model that lets districts use credits across tests, languages and grades without a yearly license commitment. That flexibility matters if you screen across several grade levels or need both English and Spanish measures.

A practical next step

Confirm your state's approved-screener list and your district's grade bands first, then match each band to the corresponding IPT test. If you are in California and screening TK, the approved early-childhood screener is the clear starting point; for K–12 placement, ask Ballard & Tighe which IPT level aligns to each grade and how credits map across tests. The company's site offers demo booking and training webinars, which are useful for calibrating cut scores with your EL coordinator before a full rollout.

How does Ballard & Tighe's IPT compare with other English proficiency assessments for cost and flexibility?

Ballard & Tighe positions its IPT assessments around flexible, credit-based use rather than annual licensing: the site says credits can be applied across tests, languages and grade levels, with no yearly license commitment, and that training and support are included at no extra charge. That structure tends to suit districts or schools that test irregularly—newcomer intake, placement, periodic progress monitoring—because you pay for what you administer instead of reserving a fixed annual seat count. The IPT line also spans early childhood through K-12, with dual English/Spanish options and online reading and writing tests for K-1 available to pilot, so a single vendor can cover screening, placement and progress monitoring.

Where the trade-offs show up

Consideration IPT (as described on the site) Typical alternative (state or consortium tests)
Cost model Credits across tests, languages and grades; no annual license Often per-student annual licensing or state-funded administration windows
Flexibility Choose test, language and grade as needed; pilot options for new tests Fixed test forms, fixed windows, limited local choice
Reporting Diagnostic reports with instructional recommendations Usually proficiency levels; instructional detail varies
Best fit Local screening, placement, progress checks, dual-language programs Formal accountability and state reporting requirements

The practical question is what the results must do. If they feed state accountability reporting, a state-designated assessment is usually mandatory regardless of cost. If they inform classroom placement, intervention grouping or dual-language program decisions, IPT's credit model and diagnostic reporting are the more adaptable choice. For a concrete case: a mid-year influx of newcomer students can be screened and placed without buying a full year of licenses for every enrolled English learner.

A sensible next step is to estimate your annual test volume by purpose—screening, placement, progress monitoring—and compare that against a license-based quote; then ask Ballard & Tighe directly about credit pricing and pilot access for the K-1 online tests. For context on how other providers structure proficiency testing, see WIDA and ELPAC.

Are Ballard & Tighe's English language development materials aligned with WIDA standards?

Yes, at least one program is explicitly documented as WIDA-aligned. Ballard & Tighe states that its Hands-On English (Grades K-1) program received the WIDA PRIME 2020 Seal, scoring 4/4 in all evaluated areas, which the company describes as strong and comprehensive alignment to the WIDA evaluation criteria. A full report is offered on the site for readers who want the detailed evidence.

That said, alignment is program-specific, not a blanket claim across the catalog. The site presents many other products—Carousel of IDEAS, Champion of IDEAS, Frames for Fluency, EnglishMats, Go English 2!, and the IPT assessments—without stating a WIDA rating for each. If WIDA alignment is a requirement for your district, treat the PRIME seal as verified for Hands-On English (K-1) and ask Ballard & Tighe directly about the specific program and grade band you are considering.

Practical next step

  • If you teach K-1 newcomers: the PRIME-sealed Hands-On English is the clearest documented match; review the full report before adopting.
  • If you need upper-grade or secondary materials: request the alignment documentation for that specific title rather than assuming the K-1 result carries over.
  • If you are comparing vendors: WIDA publishes its PRIME criteria and a list of recognized products, so you can check claims independently at WIDA.

For districts weighing a purchase, the useful question is not "Is this publisher WIDA-aligned?" but "Is this particular program, at this grade level, backed by a current PRIME review?"

Can I pilot Ballard & Tighe's online K-1 reading and writing tests in English and Spanish?

Yes. Ballard & Tighe lists its online reading and writing tests for K-1 in English and Spanish as "Now Available to Pilot," with a link for schools interested in piloting. This is aimed at early-grade teachers and ELL/dual-language coordinators who want to try the K-1 tests before wider adoption.

What a pilot likely involves

  • Audience: K-1 students in English or Spanish programs, including dual-language settings.
  • Use case: Trying the online format with young learners and seeing how results fit screening or progress-monitoring decisions.
  • Trade-off: A pilot lets you test fit and logistics (device use, scheduling, staff comfort) without committing broadly; it is not the same as a full rollout.

Next step

Use the pilot link on the site's K-1 test section to ask about scope, timing and what participation requires. Before starting, decide which K-1 classes and languages you want to include and how you will judge whether the format works for your youngest students.

What training and support does Ballard & Tighe provide for teachers implementing its programs?

Ballard & Tighe describes teacher support as part of the product package rather than an add-on. Its site lists IPT Training, Training Webinars and a Help Desk under services, and it markets assessments with "unlimited support and free training/insertion" alongside flexible credit-based use. In practice, that suggests a school adopting the IPT screeners or placement tests can expect onboarding for test administration and score interpretation, while classroom programs such as Hands-On English or Carousel of IDEAS come with a structured teacher toolkit—detailed lesson plans, vocabulary cards, theme pictures and sentence frames—that reduces the preparation burden on individual teachers.

What the support covers, and for whom

  • Assessment users: training and webinars are most relevant to staff who administer screeners, place students and read diagnostic reports; the help desk handles operational questions during testing windows.
  • Newcomer and ELD teachers: the toolkit materials support day-to-day delivery, which matters most for teachers new to a program or working with newcomers, LTELs and SLIFE students.
  • Program leads: free training is a practical lever when rolling a program across grades or sites, since it lowers the cost of bringing new staff up to speed mid-year.

A practical next step

Before committing, ask for the training schedule and format (live versus recorded), who on staff is eligible, and whether sessions cover report interpretation—not just test administration. For a district piloting the K–1 online reading and writing tests, confirm how training scales if you expand to more grades or add Spanish. Ballard & Tighe's own materials are the place to start: Ballard & Tighe.

Related questions

More questions →
Which Instructional Materials Does Ballard & Tighe Offer for English Language Development?

Ballard & Tighe organizes its English language development (ELD) materials by grade band—preschool/TK, elementary (K–5), and secondary—and by learner need, including newcomers, LTELs, SLIFE, and general language intervention. The catalog combines core and supplemental programs such as Hands-On English, Carousel of IDEAS, Frames for Fluency, and Go English 2!, each built around structured, explicit language teaching with teacher tools like lesson plans, vocabulary cards, theme pictures, and sentence frames. The right choice depends on your students' grade level and whether you need a full core program or targeted supplemental support.

Programs by Grade Level

Preschool / TK

  • Carousel of IDEAS — a core ELD program for young learners.
  • EnglishMats — supplemental materials for early language exposure.
  • IPT Early Childhood English Test — an assessment tool; the site notes it was selected as an approved screener for TK in California.

Elementary (K–5)

  • Hands-On English, Grades K–1 — a core program that received the WIDA PRIME 2020 Seal, scoring 4/4 in all areas for alignment to evaluation criteria.
  • Hands-On English, Grades 2–5 — the upper-elementary continuation of the same program.
  • Carousel of IDEAS — also listed for elementary.
  • Frames for Fluency — supplemental oral language practice built on sentence frames.
  • Creative IDEAS and Creative Beats — additional supplemental resources.
  • Go English 2! and Go Spanish 2! — paired English and Spanish materials.
  • Dictionaries — reference support for learners.

Secondary

  • Champion of IDEAS — a core ELD program for secondary students.
  • Frames for Fluency — carried into secondary for oral fluency practice.
  • Go English 2! and Go Spanish 2! — dual-language materials.
  • Dictionaries — reference support.
  • Explore the Ages — a content-based resource.
  • ELTiS — an English language test used at the secondary level.
  • One Step (Content-Based Resources) — content-based instructional support.

Matching Materials to Learner Profiles

The site explicitly frames its ELD programs around four learner groups: newcomers, LTELs (long-term English learners), SLIFE (students with limited or interrupted formal education), and all proficiency levels. Core and supplemental programs are described as highly structured, systematic, and explicit, with an integrated skills approach covering reading, writing, listening, and speaking, and an emphasis on oral fluency through targeted sentence-frame practice.

For language intervention, Ballard & Tighe offers systematic grammar and vocabulary development intended to address language gaps for all students—useful when students need targeted skill-building rather than a full core curriculum.

What the Programs Include

Across the ELD offerings, the site describes a complete teacher toolkit: detailed lesson plans, vocabulary cards, theme pictures, sentence frames, and content-based instruction. Sample lessons are available to view before committing.

Assessments Alongside Instruction

Instructional materials sit next to a separate assessment line: language proficiency assessments and screeners for program placement, progress monitoring, and diagnostic reporting with instructional recommendations. The site describes these as affordable and flexible—credits can be used across tests, languages, and grades, with no yearly license fee commitment, plus unlimited support and free training. If you are choosing materials, it is worth checking which assessments pair with your chosen program so placement and progress data line up with instruction.

How to Choose

If you need… Consider…
A core program for K–1 Hands-On English, Grades K–1
A core program for grades 2–5 Hands-On English, Grades 2–5
A core program for secondary Champion of IDEAS
Oral fluency practice at any level Frames for Fluency
Early childhood core materials Carousel of IDEAS
Grammar and vocabulary intervention Language intervention materials
Dual-language (English/Spanish) support Go English 2! / Go Spanish 2!
Content-based secondary resources One Step, Explore the Ages

To confirm fit, the site offers sample lessons, a full WIDA PRIME report for Hands-On English (K–1), and a contact path (Call/Demo/E-mail) for booking time with the team.

How to Contact Ballard & Tighe, Request a Demo, or Place an Order

Ballard & Tighe handles contact, demos, and orders through three main paths on its site: a Call/Demo/E-mail section for direct contact and demo requests, an Order/Contact page for placing orders, and a Help Desk for support. Training webinars and free English language resources sit alongside these. The site does not publish phone numbers, email addresses, or prices in the material available here, so you will need to open those pages to get the actual contact details and ordering terms.

Contacting Ballard & Tighe and requesting a demo

The site groups these actions under a single Call/Demo/E-mail heading, which suggests one entry point covers all three. The homepage also repeats the demo invitation in context: for example, the language intervention section says "Book time to learn more," and the online K-1 reading and writing tests (English and Spanish) are described as "Now Available to Pilot," with a link for pilot information.

A practical sequence:

  1. Go to the Call/Demo/E-mail section to find the current phone number and email address.
  2. If you want a walkthrough rather than a direct purchase, use the same section to book a demo. The "Book time" prompts on the product sections point to the same kind of scheduling.
  3. If you are interested in piloting the online K-1 tests, follow the pilot link described on the homepage rather than the general demo request.

What to expect: the site does not state response times or demo formats, so confirm scheduling details when you make contact.

Placing an order

Orders go through the Order/Contact page, which is listed in the site's Services section. The same page appears to double as a general contact channel, so it is the place to ask about purchasing if you are unsure which product or assessment you need.

Before ordering, note two things the site does state:

  • Assessments use a credit model. The site describes its proficiency assessments as "affordable & flexible: use credits across tests/languages/grades; no yearly license fee commitment." That means you buy credits rather than an annual license, and the same credits can be applied across different tests, languages, and grade levels.
  • Support and training are included. The site lists "unlimited support and free training/insert" (the excerpt is cut off) as part of the assessment offering. Confirm the exact scope when you order.

The material available does not list prices, payment methods, or minimum order quantities. Treat any figure you need as something to request through Order/Contact.

Support, training, and free resources

Beyond buying, the site offers several resources that may answer questions before you contact anyone:

Resource Where it lives What it is for
Help Desk Services section Technical or account support
IPT Training and Training Webinars Services section Learning to administer and use the IPT assessments
Free English Language Resources Services section Downloadable classroom and instructional materials
Alignments Services section Documentation of how products align to standards

The alignments page is worth checking if your district requires evidence of standards alignment. The site highlights one concrete example: Hands-On English (K-1) received the WIDA PRIME 2020 Seal with 4/4 in all areas, and a full report is available to read.

A note on what the site emphasizes

Ballard & Tighe describes itself as a one-stop solution for English language development, with 50 years of experience. Its catalog spans instructional materials (newcomers, LTELs, SLIFE, and all proficiency levels), language intervention, and proficiency assessments and screeners. The IPT Early Childhood English Test is noted as an approved screener for TK in California. These details matter mainly for framing your inquiry: when you contact the company, naming the specific product line or assessment you are considering will get you a more useful answer than a general question.

If your goal is simply to reach a person, start with Call/Demo/E-mail. If your goal is to buy or ask about pricing and credits, start with Order/Contact. If your goal is to use a product you already have, start with the Help Desk or the training webinars.

Piloting Ballard & Tighe's Online K-1 Reading and Writing Tests: What to Know

Ballard & Tighe offers online reading and writing tests for K-1 in both English and Spanish, and the site states these are "now available to pilot." If you want to evaluate them, the site directs interested educators to click through for more information on piloting. The pilot is aimed at schools or programs serving young learners who want to try the tests before adopting them. The site does not publish pilot terms, duration, cost, or eligibility details, so those specifics need to be confirmed directly with the company.

What the K-1 tests are

The tests are online reading and writing assessments for kindergarten and first grade, offered in English and Spanish. They sit within Ballard & Tighe's broader assessment catalog, which includes language proficiency assessments, screeners, placement tests, and progress-monitoring tools, plus targeted assessments for young learners and dual-language (English and Spanish) options.

The company describes its assessments generally as data-driven tools that support instructional decisions for English learners, usable for proficiency screening, program placement, and progress monitoring, with diagnostic reports that provide instructional recommendations.

Why a K-1 pilot may be worth considering

  • Early-grade focus: Most assessment catalogs concentrate on later grades; these tests target K-1 specifically, where reading and writing are just emerging.
  • Dual-language coverage: English and Spanish versions let you evaluate both tracks with one vendor.
  • Fit with existing products: If you already use or are considering other Ballard & Tighe assessments, piloting the K-1 tests lets you judge whether the reporting and instructional recommendations work together.
  • Support included: The site states its assessments come with unlimited support and free training/insertion (the excerpt is truncated), and that credits can be used across tests, languages, and grades with no yearly license fee commitment. These are general assessment claims, not pilot-specific terms.

How to express interest

The site's pilot callout says: "If you're interested in piloting our online K-1 tests, click here for more information." The practical path is:

  1. Go to the Ballard & Tighe site and find the K-1 pilot callout on the homepage.
  2. Follow the pilot link to the information page.
  3. If the page does not answer your questions, use the site's Order/Contact or Call/Demo/E-mail options to ask about pilot scope, timeline, and requirements.

The site does not specify what the pilot involves (number of students, length, data-sharing, or cost), so treat those as questions for the company rather than assumptions.

Questions to ask before committing

Because the published material is thin on pilot mechanics, clarify:

  • Scope: How many students and classrooms can participate, and for how long?
  • Languages and grades: Can you pilot both English and Spanish, and both K and grade 1?
  • Reporting: What diagnostic reports and instructional recommendations will you see during the pilot?
  • Training: What training or support is provided, and is it free during the pilot?
  • Cost and commitment: Is the pilot free, and does it carry any obligation to purchase? (The site's "no yearly license fee commitment" language refers to its assessment credits generally; confirm how it applies to a pilot.)
  • Data and privacy: How is student data handled during the pilot?

How it relates to the rest of the catalog

A K-1 pilot is most useful as part of a broader evaluation. Ballard & Tighe's assessment lineup includes proficiency screeners, placement and progress-monitoring tools, and targeted assessments for young learners, alongside instructional materials such as Hands-On English (K-1), which received the WIDA PRIME 2020 Seal with 4/4 in all areas. If you are considering both instruction and assessment, piloting the K-1 tests alongside a review of the K-1 instructional materials gives a fuller picture of alignment.

Bottom line

The K-1 online reading and writing tests in English and Spanish are open for pilot interest, and the site points you to a pilot information page. Use that page and the contact options to confirm scope, cost, training, and data terms before you commit; the published site does not answer those questions. A pilot makes sense if you serve K-1 English learners or dual-language students and want to test the assessments' reports and instructional recommendations before adopting them.

What is Ballard & Tighe and what does the website offer?

Ballard & Tighe is a publisher of English language development (ELD) instructional materials and language proficiency assessments, and its website is a catalog and service hub for educators who assess and teach English learners. The site is relevant if you work in a K–12, preschool/TK, or early childhood program and need screening, placement, progress-monitoring tests, structured ELD curricula, or training to support them. The company describes itself as a 50-year provider of materials for assessing and instructing English.

What the company does

Ballard & Tighe positions itself as a one-stop source for English language development. Its work splits into two connected halves:

  • Instructional materials for English learners, including newcomers, long-term English learners (LTELs), students with limited or interrupted formal education (SLIFE), and students at all proficiency levels.
  • Assessments — screeners, placement tests, and progress-monitoring tools — that feed instructional decisions.

The site also lists language intervention materials and science-based academic skill building among its offerings.

Main product lines on the site

The catalog is organized by age group and purpose. The table below summarizes what the site lists.

Category Products listed
Preschool/TK Proficiency assessments, early childhood English test
Elementary (K–12) OnlineIPT, Hands-On English (Grades K–1 and 2–5), EnglishMats, Carousel of IDEAS, Frames for Fluency, Creative IDEAS, Creative Beats, Go English 2!, Go Spanish 2!, Dictionaries
Secondary Champion of IDEAS, Frames for Fluency, Go English 2!, Go Spanish 2!, Dictionaries, Explore the Ages, ELTiS, One Step (content-based resources)
Assessments Language proficiency assessments, targeted assessments for young learners, dual language (English and Spanish) tests

Two product notes stand out on the homepage:

  • Hands-On English (K–1) was awarded the WIDA PRIME 2020 Seal and received 4/4 in all areas, which the site says indicates strong alignment to the evaluation criteria. A full report is linked.
  • Online reading and writing tests for K–1 in English and Spanish are listed as "now available to pilot," with a link for more information.

Assessments and screeners

The assessment line is built around data-driven decisions for English learners. According to the site, the tests support multiple uses: proficiency screening, program placement, and progress monitoring. Diagnostic reports include instructional recommendations.

The site also states that the assessments are affordable and flexible: credits can be used across tests, languages, and grades, and there is no yearly license fee commitment. Unlimited support and free training are listed as included. These are the vendor's own claims; confirm current terms directly with Ballard & Tighe before budgeting.

One concrete adoption signal: the IPT Early Childhood English Test was selected as an approved screener for TK in California, with a "Learn more" link on the homepage.

Instructional approach

For its ELD programs, the site describes core and supplemental materials that are highly structured, systematic, and explicit. Specific features listed include:

  • A complete teacher toolkit with detailed lesson plans, vocabulary cards, theme pictures, and sentence frames.
  • An integrated skills approach covering reading, writing, listening, and speaking.
  • An emphasis on oral fluency through targeted practice with sentence frames.
  • Content-based instruction.

The site offers "Book time" and "View sample lessons" links so you can examine lessons before deciding.

Training, services, and free resources

Beyond products, the site lists:

  • Services: ordering and contact, a help desk, and IPT training.
  • Training: webinars in addition to IPT training.
  • Free English language resources and alignments (documents mapping materials to standards or criteria).
  • About: company information, contact details, and customer stories.

The homepage's first section is a "Call/Demo/E-mail" prompt, so the intended next step for a new district or school is a demo request rather than self-serve purchase.

Is it relevant to your program?

The site is worth a closer look if you need one or more of the following:

  • A screener or placement test for English learners, including TK/early childhood or K–1 reading and writing in English or Spanish.
  • A structured ELD curriculum for newcomers, LTELs, SLIFE, or mixed-level classes, with heavy teacher scaffolding.
  • Progress monitoring tied to diagnostic reports with instructional recommendations.
  • Training and alignment documentation to support adoption.

If you only need standalone classroom supplements or materials outside English language development, the catalog is narrower than a general education publisher's.

Practical next steps

  1. Identify your use case (screening, placement, progress monitoring, or core instruction) and age band.
  2. Use the site's "Book time" or demo request to see sample lessons and test items.
  3. Ask specifically about credit-based pricing, cross-grade and cross-language credit use, and what "free training" covers.
  4. Request the WIDA PRIME report for Hands-On English (K–1) and any alignment documents relevant to your state or program model.
  5. If you are in California TK, confirm the current approved-screener status of the IPT Early Childhood English Test directly with the vendor.

The site does not publish prices or a self-service checkout, so treat cost and licensing details as items to confirm in a demo conversation.

What types of English language proficiency assessments and screeners does Ballard & Tighe provide?

Ballard & Tighe offers English language proficiency assessments and screeners for three main uses: screening students for program eligibility, placing them at the right instructional level, and monitoring progress over time. The product family includes IPT (in both paper and OnlineIPT formats), ELTiS for secondary students, and dual-language English/Spanish tests for young learners. All are presented as data-driven tools that generate diagnostic reports with instructional recommendations. The right choice depends on the student's age band and whether you need a screener, a placement test, or ongoing progress monitoring.

Assessment categories and what each is for

The site groups its assessment offerings around three decision types:

  • Proficiency screeners — initial identification of English learners who may need services.
  • Program placement — determining the appropriate instructional level once a student is identified.
  • Progress monitoring — tracking growth over time to inform instruction.

The same tests are described as serving multiple purposes across these categories, so a single instrument may cover screening and placement depending on how your program uses it.

Product lines mentioned on the site

Product Age/grade focus Notes from the site
IPT Early childhood through K-12 Core language proficiency assessment family; also offered as OnlineIPT
OnlineIPT K-12 online Online delivery of the IPT assessments
IPT Early Childhood English Test Early childhood / TK Selected as an approved screener for TK in California
ELTiS Secondary Listed among secondary assessment products
Online Reading & Writing Tests K-1, English and Spanish Available to pilot

The site also lists targeted assessments for young learners and dual-language (English and Spanish) options alongside the main proficiency assessments.

Features that affect the decision

A few details from the site are worth weighing when choosing:

  • Diagnostic reports with instructional recommendations — results are framed as feeding directly into teaching decisions, not just classification.
  • Flexible purchasing — the site describes using credits across tests, languages, and grades, with no yearly license fee commitment. Confirm current terms with the vendor before budgeting.
  • Support and training — unlimited support and free training/insertion are mentioned; IPT training and webinars are listed under services.
  • Approved screener status — the IPT Early Childhood English Test is described as an approved screener for TK in California, which matters if you operate in that context.

How to narrow it down

  1. Identify the decision you need to make — screening, placement, or progress monitoring — since the site positions its tests as multi-use.
  2. Match by age band — early childhood/TK, K-1, K-12, or secondary (ELTiS).
  3. Decide on delivery — paper IPT versus OnlineIPT, and whether the K-1 online reading/writing pilot fits your program.
  4. Check language coverage — dual English/Spanish options exist for younger learners if you serve bilingual populations.
  5. Confirm logistics — request a demo or contact the help desk to verify pricing, credit terms, and training availability for your specific tests.

The site's Call/Demo/E-mail and Order/Contact sections are the practical entry points for confirming details that aren't published, such as exact per-test costs and current pilot eligibility.

Website Overview

An established domain and managed infrastructure suggest continuity of operations and may support dependable delivery, although neither guarantees service quality. Several search or sharing settings need attention. Together they may make snippets, preview images or preferred URLs less consistent across platforms.

Domain and Registration

Registered in 1997, this domain has about 29 years of history. That suggests continuity, although ownership and purpose may have changed. Transfer-protection status is present, helping reduce the risk of unauthorized domain transfers. The registrar is GoDaddy.com, LLC, a widely used domain service provider. The domain uses the common .com extension, which is not an independent safety signal.

DNS and Email

Nameservers are provided by GoDaddy, indicating managed DNS hosting. MX records point to the Microsoft 365 email service. SPF and DMARC are configured. DKIM status is unknown. DNSSEC signatures were not detected, so this additional DNS authenticity protection is not confirmed. The lowest observed DNS TTL is 600 seconds.

TLS and Certificates

The certificate uses an RSA 2048-bit public key, offering broad client compatibility. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. No organization name is present in the certificate; the available fields are consistent with domain validation. The certificate is valid for about 397 days in total, with 147 days remaining. The certificate covers the main domain and its usual www hostname.

HTTP and Browser Security

The response lacks these common security headers: HSTS. No X-Powered-By header was found, reducing one common source of backend fingerprinting information. No obvious internal addresses or debug information were found in the headers. The Server header identifies Apache without an exact version. No explicit CDN or WAF marker was found in the response headers.

Technology Stack Analysis

The public page identifies jQuery, Apache without precise versions, leaving fewer clues for version-specific scanning.

Search and Social Sharing

No homepage canonical URL was detected. If duplicate URLs exist, consolidation may be less explicit. No Open Graph metadata was detected, so social previews may depend on platform inference. The title has 15 characters, within a common display range. A meta description is present, with 124 characters. The observed directives allow indexing and link following.

Hosting and Email

DNSGoDaddy
Hostingballard-tighe.com
EmailMicrosoft 365
Approximate IP geolocation (inferred; a CDN or proxy may differ from the origin server) United States flagUnited States Inferred 184.168.31.228

Registration details

RDAP / WHOIS

RegistrarGoDaddy.com, LLC
Registered1997-02-19
Expires2028-02-20
Domain statusclient delete prohibited、client renew prohibited、client transfer prohibited、client update prohibited
Nameserversns05.domaincontrol.com、ns06.domaincontrol.com
DNSSECunsigned

DNS records

DNS

TypeNameValueTTLPriority
Aballard-tighe.com184.168.31.228600—
MXballard-tighe.comballardtighe-com01i.mail.protection.outlook.com36000
NSballard-tighe.comns05.domaincontrol.com3600—
NSballard-tighe.comns06.domaincontrol.com3600—
TXTballard-tighe.comsending_domain1112413=1b3da5694e2d2c9445cdc8515bb95ff84321cd5ed378c651b2bd3c309140b2e21800—
TXTballard-tighe.comv=spf1 mx include:spf.protection.outlook.com include:_spf.salesforce.com include:secureserver.net ip4:134.128.98.208 ip4:184.168.31.228 ip4:50.63.10.96 include:u57321848.wl099.sendgrid.net include:u57150306.wl057.sendgrid.net ~all1800—
CNAMEwww.ballard-tighe.comballard-tighe.com3600—
DMARC_dmarc.ballard-tighe.comv=DMARC1; p=quarantine; rua=mailto:[email protected],mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; fo=11800—

TLS and certificates

TLS / SSL

AssessmentNormal configuration
Supported protocolsTLSv1.2、TLSv1.3
Negotiated protocolTLSv1.3
Certificate subjectballard-tighe.com
IssuerGoDaddy.com, Inc.
Valid until2027-03-18T18:08 · Remaining when checked: 147 days
Verification detailsCertificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed

HTTP response headers

HTTP

HeaderValue
content-typetext/html; charset=UTF-8
serverApache
content-security-policydefault-src 'self'; base-uri 'self'; object-src 'none'; frame-ancestors 'self'; form-action 'self'; script-src 'self' 'unsafe-inline' 'unsafe-eval' https://www.google.com https://www.gstatic.com https://www.recaptcha.net https://embed.acuityscheduling.com; style-src 'self' 'unsafe-inline' https://maxcdn.bootstrapcdn.com https://fonts.googleapis.com; img-src 'self' data: blob: https://www.google.com https://www.gstatic.com; font-src 'self' data: https://maxcdn.bootstrapcdn.com https://fonts.gstatic.com; connect-src 'self' https://www.google.com https://www.gstatic.com https://www.recaptcha.net; frame-src 'self' https://www.google.com https://www.recaptcha.net https://drive.google.com https://app.acuityscheduling.com; media-src 'self' blob:
x-content-type-optionsnosniff
referrer-policystrict-origin-when-cross-origin
permissions-policycamera=(), microphone=(), geolocation=(), payment=()

Identified technologies

jQueryApache

Pages, Search and Sharing

Meta descriptionWe offer the best products and customer service in English language development, and we want you to be completely satisfied.
Canonical URLNot detected
LanguageEnglish (default)
Twitter CardNot detected

Unknown

All bots 0 allowed · 6 disallowed
  • Disallow/ipt-rpt-samples/
  • Disallow/ipt-rpt-samples-CA/
  • Disallow/language-learning-samples/
  • Disallow/language-ladder/
  • Disallow/onlineipt-questionnaire/
  • Disallow/iptk1/iptk1pilot.pdf

No sitemaps found

User reviews (0)

  • No reviews yet.