Website review
This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.
What is UF Continuing Medical Education used for?
UF Continuing Medical Education (UF CME) is the University of Florida College of Medicine's office for creating, accrediting and delivering professional development for physicians and other clinicians. Its main uses are license renewal, conference planning and accredited medical education.
Core uses
- Florida license renewal: The site groups the courses Florida physicians need to renew, including Medical Error Prevention, Domestic Violence, HIV Update and Controlled Substance Prescribing, with required hour counts shown for each.
- DEA opioid training: It covers the one-time 8-hour substance use disorder training that the MATE Act requires for new or renewed DEA licenses after June 27, 2023.
- CME credit for events: UF departments can apply for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit for a program they are planning.
- Conference logistics: UF CME's planning services let departments focus on content while its staff handles the logistics of running a CME conference.
- Online learning and events: Featured online learning and an upcoming events list give clinicians ways to earn credit outside a live conference.
Who it is for
The primary audience is University of Florida faculty, clinical and research departments, and Florida-licensed physicians who need specific renewal courses. Clinicians outside UF can use the online courses and events, but some renewal courses ask for a UFL email at registration, so access may be limited to UF affiliates. Departments planning their own programs are a second audience, using the application and planning services rather than enrolling as learners.
How to choose a path
| If you need to… | Start with… |
|---|---|
| Renew a Florida license | The required courses list and its hour requirements |
| Satisfy DEA/MATE training | The opioid education requirement section |
| Offer CME credit for your own event | The CME application |
| Have someone manage event logistics | Conference planning services |
| Earn credit on your own schedule | Featured online learning or upcoming events |
A practical first step is to check the Florida Board of Medicine renewal requirements against the course list, then confirm whether a course requires a UFL email before you register. If you are planning a program rather than attending one, submit the CME application early, since credit approval and logistics take time to arrange. For broader context on accredited CME, the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education explains how AMA PRA Category 1 Credit works.
Which courses do Florida physicians need to renew their medical license?
Florida-licensed physicians renewing through the Florida Board of Medicine generally need to complete several specific CME courses, and the UF College of Medicine's CME office lists them clearly. Based on that page evidence, the required topics and hours are:
| Requirement | Hours | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Medical Error Prevention | 2 | Required for Florida license renewal |
| Domestic Violence | 2 | Required for Florida license renewal |
| HIV Update | 1 | Required for Florida license renewal |
| Controlled Substance Prescribing | 2 | Approved by the Florida Board of Medicine to meet the renewal requirement under section 456.0301 |
| Substance Use Disorders / Opioid Education | 8 | One-time DEA requirement tied to the MATE Act; applies to new or renewing DEA licensees as of June 27, 2023 |
The page groups these under "Required Courses for License Renewal" and "Opioid Education Requirements," and it distinguishes the Florida license renewal courses from the DEA/MATE Act training. That distinction matters: the 8-hour substance use disorder training is a federal DEA requirement, not a Florida Board of Medicine renewal course, though both may appear on the same checklist.
As a practical next step, confirm your specific renewal cycle and any additional category requirements directly with the Florida Board of Medicine, since total CME hours and topic requirements can vary by license type and renewal period. The UF CME page provides registration links for the courses it lists; you can access them through UF Continuing Medical Education.
If you are affiliated with the University of Florida, note that some course registrations ask for a UFL email address, which may affect access. Physicians outside UF should verify eligibility before registering.
How do I complete the DEA MATE Act 8-hour substance use disorder training requirement?
The University of Florida's CME office provides a dedicated route for this requirement: its opioid education section describes an 8-hour substance use disorders training course tied to the DEA MATE Act. According to the site, the MATE Act requires new or renewing DEA licensees, as of June 27, 2023, to complete at least 8 hours of training on opioid or other substance use disorders and appropriate pain treatment before obtaining or renewing a DEA license. The page notes this is a one-time education requirement for renewals after June 27, 2023. See UF Continuing Medical Education.
What to check before you enroll
- Total hours: The course must cover the full 8 hours; partial courses generally won't satisfy the requirement on their own.
- Topic coverage: Training should address opioid or other substance use disorders and appropriate treatment of pain, not just one of the two.
- Accreditation: Look for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit or equivalent accredited CME, since the site describes its programs in those terms.
- Documentation: Keep your completion certificate or transcript, as you may need it for DEA registration or renewal.
A practical scenario
A physician whose DEA registration comes up for renewal and who has never completed MATE Act training would use the UF course to knock out the full 8 hours in one program, then file the certificate with their renewal paperwork. Someone who already completed some accredited hours should confirm the total and topic mix meet the 8-hour standard before assuming they're done.
Next step
Start at the UF CME opioid education page and register for the 8-hour course, then verify the completion certificate lists the hours and topics your DEA renewal requires. If you practice in Florida, note that the site also lists separate state renewal courses—such as 2 hours of Controlled Substance Prescribing, 2 hours of Medical Error Prevention, 2 hours of Domestic Violence, and 1 hour of HIV Update—so you can plan both requirements together.
How can UF College of Medicine departments apply for CME credit for their event?
UF College of Medicine departments apply for CME credit by submitting the UF CME application for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit through the Office of Continuing Medical Education at UF College of Medicine Continuing Medical Education. The page presents this as the standard route for departments planning a program and seeking accreditation.
How the process works in practice
- Identify the activity. The department defines the educational need and target audience for its event.
- Submit the CME application. The application requests AMA PRA Category 1 Credit for the program.
- Coordinate with UF CME. The office works with UF faculty and clinical and research departments to design, implement and evaluate professional development programs.
- Optionally hand off logistics. Conference Planning Services let departments concentrate on content while UF CME staff handle event logistics.
Who this fits
The application route suits a department that has a clear clinical or research topic and an audience of physicians or other licensed professionals, but no in-house accreditation process. Planning Services suit larger conferences where room booking, registration and on-site coordination would otherwise pull faculty away from content development.
A concrete example
A nephrology division wants to run a half-day symposium on dialysis access. The division chair drafts the learning objectives and speaker list, then submits the CME application so attendees can earn AMA PRA Category 1 Credit. If the division expects 150 registrants, it can also request Conference Planning Services rather than assigning those tasks to clinical staff.
Decision criteria
| Situation | Likely path |
|---|---|
| Small departmental grand rounds needing credit | Submit the CME application |
| Multi-day conference with external faculty | Apply for credit and request Planning Services |
| Event content already finalized, logistics covered | Application only |
Practical next step
Before submitting, confirm the activity meets ACCME expectations for needs assessment, learning objectives and evaluation, and check the CME Guidebook on the site for preparation guidance. If the event also serves Florida licensure renewal, note that the office separately offers required courses on medical error prevention, controlled substance prescribing, domestic violence, HIV and DEA opioid education.
What conference planning services does UF CME offer for program organizers?
UF CME's Conference Planning Services are aimed at University of Florida College of Medicine departments that want to offer accredited continuing medical education but would rather not manage event logistics themselves. The stated model is that the department supplies the educational content and subject-matter expertise, while UF CME's professional staff handles the operational side — including applying for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit through the CME application process. Organizers who need credit attached to a program start by submitting that application; departments that want end-to-end support instead route the event through the planning service.
What the service covers in practice
- Accreditation and credit — Reviewing a proposed activity and securing AMA PRA Category 1 Credit designation.
- Program design and evaluation — Helping identify educational needs, shape objectives and assess whether the activity worked.
- Logistics — The operational tasks the department hands off so its faculty can concentrate on teaching.
- Coordination across departments — Working with UF faculty, clinical and research departments to spot and build educational opportunities.
Who it fits, and who it doesn't
| Organizer situation | Best route |
|---|---|
| UF College of Medicine department with faculty content but limited staff time | Full planning services |
| Department with its own event team that only needs credit designation | CME application for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit |
| Individual physician seeking license-renewal coursework | The online required-course catalog, not planning services |
The trade-off is control versus workload: handing logistics to central staff reduces administrative burden but means the department gives up some say over scheduling, vendors and format. Programs with unusual formats, tight timelines or existing vendor relationships may find that less attractive.
A practical first step for a UF department is to decide which of the two entry points applies — a credit application or a planning request — and bring a rough program outline, target audience, proposed date and learning objectives to that first conversation. That gives the planning staff enough to advise on credit eligibility and logistics before any commitment.
Are UF CME online courses free for University of Florida faculty?
Yes for the specific license-renewal courses listed on the UF CME site, though the page does not state that every UF CME online course is free. The required Florida renewal modules—Medical Error Prevention (2 hours), Domestic Violence (2 hours), and HIV Update (1 hour)—are accessed by registering with a UFL email address, which indicates no-cost access for University of Florida affiliates. Other featured online learning and upcoming CME events are not described as free, so treat those as separately priced or department-funded.
What this means in practice
- Free with a UFL email: the Florida Board of Medicine renewal courses noted above, plus the Controlled Substance Prescribing course approved by the Florida Board of Medicine.
- Not confirmed as free: "Featured Online Learning," upcoming CME events, and conference-style programs. These are typically funded through registration fees or departmental budgets.
- Who it is for: UF College of Medicine faculty, clinical and research departments, and affiliated physicians who need Florida licensure renewal credit or AMA PRA Category 1 Credit.
- Main trade-off: the free route is narrow and compliance-focused. If you need broader clinical or specialty content, you will likely look beyond these renewal modules.
A quick comparison
| Course type | UFL email required | Free access indicated |
|---|---|---|
| Medical Error Prevention (2 hrs) | Yes | Yes |
| Domestic Violence (2 hrs) | Yes | Yes |
| HIV Update (1 hr) | Yes | Yes |
| Controlled Substance Prescribing (2 hrs) | Not stated | Yes, per Florida Board approval |
| Featured online learning / CME events | Not stated | Not stated |
Next step
If you are a UF faculty member renewing a Florida license, start with the required renewal courses and register using your UFL email. If you are outside UF or need non-renewal content, check the CME Guidebook and the featured online learning section first, then confirm cost and credit type with the UF CME office before enrolling. For a broader view of accredited CME options, the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education explains how AMA PRA Category 1 Credit is awarded.
User reviews (0)