Website profiles · Technology insights · Alternatives

games.slashdot.org

Slashdot: News for nerds, stuff that matters. Timely news source for technology related news and B2B software reviews & comparisons.

No paid content found
Visit website
Profile views 0 Outbound visits 0 Normal
Games News Full homepage screenshot

At a glance

Category
News
Language
English
Paid-content signal
No paid content foundObserved
Registered
1997
Hosting
CloudflareInferred
HTTPS certificate trusted
PassedObserved
Last updated

Website review

This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.

What is Games News?

Games News is the gaming section of Slashdot, a long-running technology news and discussion site. It aggregates gaming headlines from outlets such as Gizmodo, Ars Technica, The Verge and Quartz, and attaches a reader comment thread to each item. The tone is news-for-enthusiasts rather than reviews or buying guides: story titles, a short summary, a source link and a running count of comments.

Who it suits

  • Readers who want a quick scan of industry developments — pricing changes, studio closures, hardware and graphics updates — with discussion attached.
  • People who value the comment threads as much as the headlines; the community debate is often the main draw.
  • Anyone who prefers a link-and-summary format over long original reporting.

Trade-offs

  • Original reporting lives at the linked outlets, not on this page; Slashdot supplies the framing and the forum.
  • Coverage skews toward what the community finds notable, so niche releases and hands-on reviews get less attention.
  • Comment threads are lively but variable in quality, and the page is built for desktop-style browsing.

Example

A reader tracking subscription costs can use the section to catch a headline like Microsoft's per-hour pricing for Xbox Cloud Gaming, then follow the source link for detail and read the comments for reactions from other players.

As a next step, treat the section as a headline layer: skim titles, open source links for the substance, and check the comment count as a rough signal of which stories the community considers significant. For original reporting behind a given story, go to the outlet named in the headline, such as Ars Technica or The Verge.

How much does Xbox Cloud Gaming cost per hour after the included Game Pass hours run out?

Based on the page evidence, Xbox Cloud Gaming's pay-as-you-go packages work out to roughly $0.24 per hour: $3.99 for 10 hours, $7.99 for 25 hours, and $11.99 for 50 hours. The 50-hour package is the cheapest per hour, so the more hours you buy at once, the lower the effective rate.

What changes for Game Pass subscribers

Starting in November, Game Pass subscribers reportedly receive only 5 to 15 included cloud-gaming hours depending on their tier. After that allotment runs out, they must buy additional time — even to stream games they already own. Purchased playtime "remains available until it's used," so unused hours don't expire between sessions.

A concrete example

Say you're on a tier with 10 included hours and you stream 30 hours in a month. You'd need 20 extra hours, which the 25-hour package ($7.99) covers with a few hours left over for next month. Someone who streams only a couple of hours past the limit is better off with the 10-hour pack ($3.99), since leftover time carries forward.

How to decide

  • Light overage (under 10 hours): the $3.99 pack.
  • Moderate use (10–25 hours): the $7.99 pack.
  • Heavy streaming (25+ hours): the $11.99 pack, the best per-hour value.

The practical takeaway: if you bought a game expecting to stream it, budget for hourly costs on top of the purchase price once your monthly hours are used up.

Is it still worth buying an Xbox game you plan to stream once pay-as-you-go cloud hours apply?

It depends on how many hours you'll actually stream and whether you have another way to play. Under the pay-as-you-go model described on Games News, buying a game no longer guarantees unlimited cloud access: Game Pass subscribers get only a small monthly allotment of included hours (5 to 15 by tier), and streaming beyond that—even a game you already bought—costs extra, at introductory rates of $3.99 for 10 hours, $7.99 for 25, or $11.99 for 50. Purchased time doesn't expire until used.

When buying still makes sense

  • You mainly play on local hardware. If the purchase is for a console or PC you own, cloud streaming is a backup for travel or a broken machine, and occasional top-up hours are a small premium on a game you'd buy anyway.
  • You'll stream only a few hours. A short single-player game finished in under the included allotment costs nothing extra; a 10-hour top-up is a modest add-on to the purchase price.
  • You want ownership of the license. Buying keeps the game in your library if you cancel Game Pass or cloud hours change again; a subscription-only title can disappear.

When it stops being worth it

  • You have no local hardware and plan to stream everything. Then the real cost is the game plus recurring hourly top-ups, and a long RPG can quietly cost far more than its sticker price. Renting through the subscription library, or playing something already included, is cheaper.
  • You bought the game specifically to stream. The scenario the report highlights—paying full price expecting cloud play, then finding hourly charges on top—is the clearest case against it.

A practical test: estimate your total streaming hours for the game, subtract your tier's included hours, and price the remainder at the top-up rates above. If that total feels like a fair price for the game, buy it; if it rivals or exceeds the purchase price again, wait for a sale or play locally.

What does the reported $1,200 to $1,800 price mean for whether I should wait for the next-gen Xbox?

The reported $1,200–$1,800 figure is a projection, not an announced price, so it shouldn't by itself decide whether you wait. What it does signal is that a next-gen Xbox may be positioned as a premium purchase, which makes the waiting decision mostly about your budget and how much you value current-gen play time versus future hardware.

How to read the number

  • It's a forecast. The headline on Games News attributes the range to reporting by Ars Technica, not a Microsoft statement. Treat it as a planning scenario, not a sticker price.
  • It changes the break-even math. At $1,200–$1,800, a console costs as much as a capable gaming PC or several years of subscription and cloud spending. Waiting only pays off if the new hardware delivers something you specifically need.
  • It pairs with the cloud-pricing shift. The same page covers per-hour Xbox Cloud Gaming packages ($3.99 for 10 hours up to $11.99 for 50 hours, with limited included hours for Game Pass tiers). If you lean on streaming, factor recurring time purchases into the comparison, not just the box price.

Decision criteria

Your situation Lean toward
You play a few big releases a year and already own a working console Wait and watch for official pricing; your current hardware still covers most titles
Your PC or console is failing and you need to play now Buy current-gen or a mid-range PC rather than budgeting on an unconfirmed price
You mainly stream games Compare the hourly cloud cost against buying hardware at all
You want the cheapest path to a specific upcoming exclusive Wait for confirmed specs and price before committing

A practical next step: set a ceiling you'd actually pay, then track official announcements. If the confirmed price lands above your ceiling, the current generation or a PC becomes the better value; if it lands near the low end of the range, waiting is easier to justify.

How will EA shutting down BioWare affect the games and franchises I already own?

EA's shutdown of BioWare does not change what you own. Single-player games like Mass Effect, Dragon Age, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and Jade Empire stay in your library and remain playable as long as the storefront or disc still works. What changes is everything around them: no new patches, no new DLC, and no new entries in those series from the original studio.

The practical consequences split by game type:

  • Finished single-player titles: Safe to keep playing. The main risks are storefront delisting (you keep what you bought, but new buyers may lose access) and online features such as Mass Effect 3's multiplayer or Dragon Age: Inquisition's multiplayer and Keep sync, which depend on servers EA may eventually retire.
  • Games with online or account-linked features: Check whether you rely on EA servers for saves, multiplayer or cloud sync. Back up local saves now.
  • Ongoing franchises: The IP usually stays with EA even when a studio closes, so Mass Effect or Dragon Age could return under a different studio. That means future games may look and play differently rather than disappear.

The Games News coverage on Games News frames the BioWare closure alongside other platform changes, including Microsoft's per-hour Xbox Cloud Gaming pricing. That context matters for a related worry: if you stream games rather than run them locally, access depends on a subscription and hourly allowances, not just ownership. A reader who bought a BioWare game to stream on a laptop could find the game still "owned" but the hours metered.

A sensible next step: list the BioWare titles you own, note which have online components, and download and back up saves and any offline installers while servers and storefronts are still active. If you are deciding whether to buy a BioWare back catalogue title now, favour ones with complete offline single-player campaigns and check current store availability first.

Will AMD's FSR 4.1 improve image quality on my existing Xbox console or handheld?

AMD's FSR 4.1 is expected to improve image quality on existing Xbox consoles and handhelds, based on the headline that AMD is bringing the technology to those devices. The practical gain depends on how each game implements it: expect sharper upscaling and cleaner edges in supported titles rather than a uniform upgrade across everything you own.

What this means in practice

If you play on a handheld, improved upscaling matters most because it lets games render at lower internal resolution and still look crisp, which can help hold frame rates. On a docked console, the benefit is more about image stability in motion and fine detail during fast scenes. Older or unpatched games won't change unless developers ship updates.

How to judge it for your setup

  • Check whether the specific games you play have announced FSR 4.1 support.
  • Compare a supported title before and after the update on your own display.
  • On handhelds, weigh image quality against battery life; sharper upscaling sometimes comes with a performance cost.

For ongoing coverage of this rollout, Games News aggregates the day's gaming headlines and reader discussion, which is useful for tracking which titles and devices get support first.

Related questions

More questions →
How to Follow Daily Tech News Without Getting Overwhelmed

The most reliable way to keep up with daily tech news is to build a small, fixed set of sources you trust, scan headlines once or twice a day, and only go deep on stories that actually affect you. Treat news like a filter, not a firehose: pick two or three outlets with clear bylines and correction policies, add one newsletter or podcast for context, and ignore the rest until a story proves it matters. A site like CNET can serve as one part of that system—its news, reviews, and how-to sections each do a different job, so knowing which section to open saves time.

What counts as useful daily tech news

Useful tech news changes a decision, a risk assessment, or your understanding of something you already use. That includes:

  • Product and platform changes that affect devices, apps, or accounts you own (pricing shifts, feature removals, security patches).
  • Security and privacy incidents with confirmed scope, such as a breached service or a patched vulnerability.
  • Regulatory and policy moves that change what companies can do in your region.
  • Genuine product launches with shipping dates and prices, not just announcements of future announcements.

Noise looks similar but adds nothing: rewritten press releases, "reportedly" stories with no named source, rumor roundups about products that may never ship, and near-identical coverage of the same event across ten sites. A quick test—can I name one thing I would do differently after reading this?—filters most of it out.

Compare the main formats

Format Best for Main trade-off
News feeds / homepages Fast headline scanning, breaking stories Easy to doomscroll; headlines lack context
Newsletters A curated daily or weekly digest Arrives on the sender's schedule; can pile up
Podcasts Context, interviews, analysis during commutes Slower; hard to skim; often days behind
Social accounts Real-time alerts from sources you already trust Algorithm-driven; rumors spread fast
RSS readers Full control, no algorithm, no ads in the feed Requires setup; some sites publish partial feeds

A practical combination: one feed or homepage for scanning, one newsletter for a daily summary, and one podcast or long-read source for depth. That is usually enough to stay informed without spending an hour a day.

How to judge whether a tech outlet is reliable

Reliability is a set of habits you can check, not a brand you assume. Look for:

  1. Named bylines with a beat. A reporter who consistently covers security or chips is easier to trust than an anonymous aggregation account.
  2. Primary sourcing. Links to the company blog, filing, court document, or the researcher who found the flaw—not just "a report says."
  3. Clear labeling of rumor vs. confirmed. Words like "reportedly," "rumor," and "leak" should be visible, not buried.
  4. Correction practice. A visible corrections policy and updated articles with a note at the bottom are strong signals.
  5. Separation of news and commerce. Reviews and buying advice should disclose how products were obtained and whether affiliate links exist.

If a site publishes a striking claim with no source, no byline, and no update history, treat it as a lead to verify elsewhere, not a fact.

A simple daily routine

Step 1 — Scan (5 minutes). Open your feed or homepage once in the morning. Read headlines only. Save anything relevant with a bookmark or "read later" tool.

Step 2 — Triage (2 minutes). Sort saved items into three buckets: affects me now (security, account changes, price hikes), useful context (industry shifts, policy), and skip. Delete the third bucket without guilt.

Step 3 — Go deep (10–15 minutes, optional). Read only the first bucket in full. For the second, one solid explainer is usually better than five news briefs.

Step 4 — Weekly catch-up. Once a week, skim a newsletter or listen to a podcast episode to catch anything your daily scan missed.

A simple rule that works for most people: scan daily, read deeply twice a week. Breaking news rarely requires an immediate response unless it involves an account or device you use right now.

Where CNET fits

CNET publishes several distinct content types, and choosing the right one matters more than reading everything:

  • News covers launches, policy, and industry events—useful for the daily scan.
  • Reviews test specific products and are best consulted when you are actually buying something, not as daily reading.
  • How-tos and advice explain settings, fixes, and workflows—read these when you have a concrete problem.
  • Deals are time-sensitive and commercial; treat them as shopping leads, not news.

In practice, you might use CNET's news section as one of your two or three scan sources, check reviews only at purchase time, and search how-tos when something breaks. That keeps the site useful without turning it into another feed to clear.

Bottom line

You do not need to read everything. Pick a small set of sources with visible bylines and correction practices, scan headlines on a schedule, and reserve deep reading for stories that touch your devices, accounts, money, or privacy. Formats are tools—feeds for speed, newsletters for curation, podcasts for context—and a source like CNET is most valuable when you match its section to your actual need rather than treating it as one undifferentiated stream.

What Price Is Microsoft Reportedly Projecting for the Next-Gen Xbox?

Microsoft is reportedly projecting a price of $1,200 to $1,800 for its next-generation Xbox console, according to a report cited by Ars Technica and surfaced on Games News (games.slashdot.org). This is a reported internal projection, not an officially announced retail price — Microsoft has not confirmed a launch price, and the figure should be treated as a rumor until an official announcement appears.

What the Report Actually Says

The Slashdot Games page lists the item as:

"Microsoft Reportedly Projects $1,200 To $1,800 Price For Next-Gen Xbox (arstechnica.com) 101"

Three details matter for reading this correctly:

  • "Reportedly projects" — the number comes from reporting on Microsoft's internal expectations, not from a press release, store listing, or pre-order page.
  • A range, not a point — $1,200 to $1,800 is a spread of $600, which suggests uncertainty about final configuration, component costs, or market conditions at launch.
  • Source attribution — the linked source is Ars Technica; the Slashdot entry is an aggregator headline pointing to that reporting.

Why You Should Treat It as a Rumor

Signal What it tells you
Wording "reportedly projects" Internal estimate, not a committed price
No official Microsoft pricing page No confirmed MSRP to compare against
Wide $600 range Final price likely depends on specs and timing
Aggregator headline Slashdot summarizes third-party reporting; check the Ars Technica article for context

A projected price can shift for reasons unrelated to the console itself — memory and chip costs, tariff or trade policy, currency movement, and how a competitor prices its hardware. A range this wide is a planning envelope, not a promise to buyers.

How to Verify Before You Rely on It

  1. Open the linked Ars Technica article from the Slashdot item and read how the figure was sourced — who provided it, and whether Microsoft responded.
  2. Check Microsoft's official Xbox newsroom and store pages for any published price or pre-order listing. Absence of a listing is itself informative.
  3. Set a check date — revisit official channels around major gaming events or holiday seasons, when console pricing is typically announced.
  4. Compare against the current generation's launch prices to sanity-check whether $1,200–$1,800 fits the pattern you'd expect, rather than accepting the range at face value.

What This Means If You're Planning a Purchase

  • Don't budget around $1,200–$1,800 yet. Treat it as a scenario, not a target.
  • Watch for the distinction between projection and announcement. A price becomes actionable only when Microsoft publishes it or retailers open pre-orders.
  • Note the related cloud-gaming pricing shift covered on the same page: Microsoft has introduced pay-as-you-go hours for Xbox Cloud Gaming, with introductory packages at $3.99 for 10 hours, $7.99 for 25 hours, and $11.99 for 50 hours, and Game Pass subscribers receiving limited included hours by tier starting in November. If you're weighing a next-gen console against cloud streaming, the total cost of ownership now includes per-hour streaming fees once included hours run out.

The short answer: the reported figure is $1,200 to $1,800, attributed to Ars Technica reporting on Microsoft's projections — unconfirmed, wide-ranging, and worth re-checking against official sources before you make any decision based on it.

How Microsoft's Per-Hour Pricing for Xbox Cloud Gaming Works

Microsoft has introduced pay-as-you-go pricing for Xbox Cloud Gaming, with introductory time packages priced at $3.99 for 10 hours, $7.99 for 25 hours, or $11.99 for 50 hours. Starting in November, Game Pass subscribers will receive only 5 to 15 included cloud-gaming hours depending on their tier, and must buy additional time once that allotment runs out—even to stream games they have already purchased. Purchased playtime "remains available until it's used," so unused hours do not expire between sessions.

The Time Packages

Package Price Hours included Approximate cost per hour
Entry $3.99 10 hours ~$0.40
Mid $7.99 25 hours ~$0.32
Large $11.99 50 hours ~$0.24

The larger the package, the lower the effective hourly rate. These are described as introductory packages, so treat the per-hour figures as launch pricing rather than a permanent rate card.

What Changes for Game Pass Subscribers

Starting in November, the monthly cloud-gaming hours bundled with Game Pass depend on your subscription tier and fall somewhere in the 5-to-15-hour range. Two consequences follow:

  • Your included hours are capped. Heavy cloud players will hit the limit faster than they might expect; a 15-hour ceiling is roughly half an hour a day.
  • Ownership no longer guarantees streaming. If you bought a game outright—say, because your PC couldn't run it or you wanted to play on a laptop in bed—you still need cloud hours to stream it. Once your monthly allotment is gone, you pay by the hour on top of the purchase price.

This is the sharpest break from the previous model. Before these changes were announced in September, buying a game outside the Game Pass library came with the assumption that cloud streaming would be available to play it. Under the new scheme, that assumption no longer holds.

How to Decide Whether This Affects You

Ask three questions before the November change takes effect:

  1. Do you stream games you own, or mostly titles inside the Game Pass library? The former group is hit hardest, since the game purchase and the streaming hours are now separate costs.
  2. How many hours a month do you actually play via cloud? Compare that against your tier's 5–15 hour allowance. If you're well under, the change may cost you nothing.
  3. Is your playtime bursty or steady? Because purchased hours carry over until used, occasional long sessions are easier to absorb than daily streaming that steadily drains the monthly allotment.

Practical Notes

  • Unused purchased time carries over. You won't lose hours between gaming sessions, which makes buying a larger package less risky than a strict monthly reset would.
  • Check your tier's exact allowance. The 5–15 hour range varies by subscription level; confirm your specific number rather than assuming the midpoint.
  • Budget for the game plus the hours. For a purchased title streamed heavily, the true cost is the game price plus the hourly rate for every hour beyond your included allotment.

The core mechanism is simple: cloud play is now metered, Game Pass bundles a small monthly meter, and everything past it is billed by the hour—including games you already own. Whether that matters to you depends entirely on how much you stream and what you stream.

What AMD Bringing FSR 4.1 to Xbox Consoles and Handhelds Means

FSR 4.1 coming to Xbox consoles and handhelds means AMD's latest version of its upscaling technology is reportedly headed to Xbox hardware, according to a headline on Games News (games.slashdot.org) that links to a report from The Verge. For players, the practical effect is that supported games on those devices may be able to render at a lower internal resolution and upscale the image, which can help frame rates or visual quality — but the real-world benefit depends on which games and devices actually support it.

What FSR actually is

FSR (FidelityFX Super Resolution) is AMD's image upscaling technology. A game renders frames at a lower resolution, then FSR reconstructs a higher-resolution image. The trade-off is straightforward:

  • Lower internal resolution reduces the GPU workload.
  • Upscaling restores detail so the final image looks closer to native resolution.

That is why FSR is often used to hit smoother frame rates on fixed hardware like consoles and handhelds, where you cannot simply install a faster GPU.

What the report says — and what it doesn't

The Games News item is a headline pointing to The Verge's coverage: "AMD Is Bringing FSR 4.1 to Xbox Consoles and Handhelds." The available source material gives the claim and the outlet, not a full compatibility list, a release date, or a per-game breakdown.

So treat the following as open questions rather than settled facts:

Question Status in the source
Which Xbox consoles are covered? Not specified
Which handhelds are covered? Not specified
Which games will support FSR 4.1? Not specified
When does it arrive? Not specified
Does it require a game update? Not specified

Why it matters for Xbox players

On closed platforms like Xbox, graphics settings are usually fixed by the developer. An upscaling upgrade can therefore matter in two ways:

  1. Performance modes — a game that struggles to hold a target frame rate could use FSR 4.1 to render lower and upscale, gaining headroom.
  2. Quality modes — a game could keep its target frame rate while pushing a sharper final image.

Handhelds benefit most in principle, because they are the most power-constrained Xbox devices. But the gain only appears in games that ship an FSR 4.1 implementation — a system-level announcement does not automatically improve every title.

How to judge the news for your own setup

Rather than assuming an instant improvement, check these points as details emerge:

  • Your device: confirm whether your console or handheld model is named in AMD's or Microsoft's support list.
  • Your games: look for patch notes or developer statements mentioning FSR 4.1 support.
  • The mode you play: compare frame rate and image sharpness before and after any update, since upscaling quality varies by implementation.
  • Version differences: FSR 4.1 is a newer revision than earlier FSR versions, so older coverage of "FSR support" may not describe what 4.1 adds.

The bottom line

The headline signals that AMD's newest upscaling version is reportedly coming to Xbox consoles and handhelds, per The Verge via Games News. The potential upside is better performance or image quality on constrained hardware; the caveat is that the benefit is game-by-game and device-by-device, and the source material does not yet specify compatibility, timing, or supported titles.

What Is Games News on Slashdot (games.slashdot.org)?

Games News on Slashdot is the gaming section of Slashdot, a long-running news and discussion site aimed at technology enthusiasts. It aggregates short summaries of gaming-industry news, links each item to its original source, and shows a comment count so you can jump into the discussion. It is a news-and-commentary hub, not a game store, review database, or download portal.

What you'll find on the page

The section mixes business and platform news with hardware and studio developments. Recent headlines shown on the page illustrate the range:

Headline Topic Source linked
Microsoft Announces Per-Hour Cost for Xbox Cloud Gaming Service Cloud gaming pricing gizmodo.com
Microsoft Reportedly Projects $1,200 To $1,800 Price For Next-Gen Xbox Console hardware arstechnica.com
EA Is Shutting Down BioWare Studio/business news qz.com
AMD Is Bringing FSR 4.1 to Xbox Consoles and Handhelds Graphics tech theverge.com

Each entry follows the same pattern: a headline, the original outlet in parentheses, a comment count, a byline with date and time, and a short department tag (for example, "parking-meter-for-gaming dept."). The body is a brief excerpt that points you to the full story elsewhere.

How the content is structured

Aggregation, not original reporting

Slashdot summarizes and links out. The substance of each story lives at the source site named in the headline, so treat the on-page text as a pointer rather than the full article.

Discussion is part of the product

The number after each headline (55, 101, 46, 12 in the examples above) is the comment count. Slashdot's identity is built on reader commentary, so the value of a visit often comes from the thread as much as the summary.

Timely, tech-literate framing

Items are posted with a timestamp and a short editorial tag, and the selection skews toward platform economics, hardware, and studio news that a technically minded audience would care about.

A concrete example of what a story looks like

Take the cloud gaming item. The summary states that Microsoft revealed pay-as-you-go pricing for Xbox Cloud Gaming, with introductory packages at $3.99 for 10 hours, $7.99 for 25 hours, or $11.99 for 50 hours. It adds that starting in November, Game Pass subscribers receive only 5 to 15 included cloud-gaming hours depending on tier and must buy additional time, even to stream games they already purchased. It also notes that purchased playtime "remains available until it's used."

That is the full shape of a Slashdot item: the key facts, a source link, and a hook for debate. If you need the complete reporting, follow the gizmodo.com link.

When this site is useful — and when it isn't

Good fit if you want:

  • A quick scan of gaming-industry headlines filtered for a tech-savvy audience
  • Pointers to original reporting across outlets like Gizmodo, Ars Technica, Quartz, and The Verge
  • Reader discussion and disagreement around each story

Look elsewhere if you want:

  • Full articles without leaving the page
  • Game reviews, release calendars, or storefronts
  • Guaranteed coverage of a specific niche (the selection is editorial, not exhaustive)

Practical tips for reading it

  • Read the headline's parenthetical first — it tells you which outlet holds the full story.
  • Check the comment count before investing time; a high count signals an active, possibly contentious thread.
  • Use the timestamp to judge freshness, since the page mixes items posted at different times.
  • Treat pricing and product details in summaries as a snapshot; confirm current figures at the linked source before relying on them.

Website Overview

An established domain and managed infrastructure suggest continuity of operations and may support dependable delivery, although neither guarantees service quality. Several search or sharing settings need attention. Together they may make snippets, preview images or preferred URLs less consistent across platforms.

Domain and Registration

Registered in 1997, this domain has about 29 years of history. That suggests continuity, although ownership and purpose may have changed. Transfer-protection status is present, helping reduce the risk of unauthorized domain transfers. The registrar is GoDaddy.com, LLC, a widely used domain service provider. The domain uses the common .org extension, which is not an independent safety signal.

DNS and Email

Nameservers are provided by constellix.com, indicating managed DNS hosting. MX records point to the sourceforge.net email service. CAA records restrict which certificate authorities are authorized to issue certificates. SPF and DMARC are configured. DKIM status is unknown. TXT records include verification markers for Google. Such markers may also remain after a service stops being used.

TLS and Certificates

The public key uses EC with 256 bits. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. No organization name is present in the certificate; the available fields are consistent with domain validation. The certificate was issued by Let's Encrypt, commonly associated with automated certificate services. The certificate's total validity is about 89 days, consistent with a short renewal cycle.

HTTP and Browser Security

The response lacks these common security headers: X-Content-Type-Options, Referrer-Policy. No X-Powered-By header was found, reducing one common source of backend fingerprinting information. The cf-ray response header indicates a CDN or caching proxy in the delivery path. No obvious internal addresses or debug information were found in the headers. The Server header identifies cloudflare without an exact version.

Technology Stack Analysis

The public page identifies Cloudflare without precise versions, leaving fewer clues for version-specific scanning.

Search and Social Sharing

No homepage canonical URL was detected. If duplicate URLs exist, consolidation may be less explicit. Open Graph is partially configured; og:image, og:type is missing. The title has 21 characters, within a common display range. A meta description is present, with 132 characters. The observed directives allow indexing and link following.

Hosting and Email

DNSconstellix.com
HostingCloudflare
Emailsourceforge.net
Approximate IP geolocation (inferred; a CDN or proxy may differ from the origin server) Location unknown Inferred 104.18.4.215

Registration details

RDAP / WHOIS

RegistrarGoDaddy.com, LLC
Registered1997-10-05
Expires2027-10-04
Domain statusclient delete prohibited、client renew prohibited、client transfer prohibited、client update prohibited
Nameserversns11.constellix.com、ns21.constellix.com、ns31.constellix.com、ns41.constellix.net、ns51.constellix.net、ns61.constellix.net
DNSSECunsigned

DNS records

DNS

TypeNameValueTTLPriority
Awww.slashdot.org.cdn.cloudflare.net104.18.4.215300—
Awww.slashdot.org.cdn.cloudflare.net104.18.5.215300—
MXslashdot.orgmx.sourceforge.net360010
NSslashdot.orgns11.constellix.com86400—
NSslashdot.orgns21.constellix.com86400—
NSslashdot.orgns31.constellix.com86400—
NSslashdot.orgns41.constellix.net86400—
NSslashdot.orgns51.constellix.net86400—
NSslashdot.orgns61.constellix.net86400—
TXTslashdot.orgbrave-ledger-verification=4d77fce14921bcdfa7fb16e9086b7006958551a1fddd0bad8181c14cc63fa9e5300—
TXTslashdot.orgca3-2ee991aacde4477d8f87191e5892ea4e300—
TXTslashdot.orgca3-d544fc84b0da44919971660318584992 300—
TXTslashdot.orggoogle-site-verification=ZbCscTBXGpjHX5RXLk1jcBu2tufiv-2mOmk_YZ4HWag300—
TXTslashdot.orggoogle-site-verification=jFAuqCOYSH2xJlPDh77tHRwZ9VtcS_3ebHBCCO_ndiY300—
TXTslashdot.orggoogle-site-verification=mwj5KfwLNG8eetH4m5w1VEUAzUlHotrNwnprxNQN5Io300—
TXTslashdot.orggoogle-site-verification=uNYSi1PcKvBrZjpA8ftcmExM2qpIK5OMd6I13B2m8YI300—
TXTslashdot.orgtollbit-domain-verification=28de5e4a29113eb7d5f7e603d7d3440cecdbd41338c3e29a8da963c40e7c0631300—
TXTslashdot.orgv=spf1 ip4:216.105.38.0/26 ip4:216.34.181.51 include:servers.mcsv.net -all300—
TXTslashdot.orgyandex-verification: 12ee25860da9b12f300—
CNAMEgames.slashdot.orgwww.slashdot.org900—
CAAslashdot.org0 iodef "mailto:[email protected]"600—
CAAslashdot.org0 issue "amazon.com"600—
CAAslashdot.org0 issue "cloudflare.com"600—
CAAslashdot.org0 issue "digicert.com"600—
CAAslashdot.org0 issue "letsencrypt.org"600—
CAAslashdot.org0 issue "sectigo.com"600—
DMARC_dmarc.slashdot.orgv=DMARC1; p=reject; rua=mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; fo=1;1800—

TLS and certificates

TLS / SSL

AssessmentNormal configuration
Supported protocolsTLSv1.2、TLSv1.3
Negotiated protocolTLSv1.3
Certificate subjectslashdot.org
IssuerLet's Encrypt
Valid until2026-11-10T20:03 · Remaining when checked: 14 days
Verification detailsCertificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed

HTTP response headers

HTTP

HeaderValue
content-typetext/html; charset=utf-8
cache-controlno-cache
servercloudflare
strict-transport-securitymax-age=31536000
content-security-policyframe-ancestors 'self'; upgrade-insecure-requests;form-action 'self' slashdot.org slashdot.us15.list-manage.com;fenced-frame-src https:; frame-src 'self' slashdot.org *.lijit.com btloader.com *.btloader.com *.btmessage.com http://*.pro-market.net *.crsspxl.com *.google.com *.googlesyndication.com *.safeframe.usercontent.goog *.doubleclick.net *.gstatic.com *.googleadservices.com *.adtrafficquality.google console.googletagservices.com *.amazon-adsystem.com challenges.cloudflare.com *.adnxs.com *.indexww.com *.rubiconproject.com *.pubmatic.com *.smartadserver.com *.tapad.com http://*.youtube.com http://*.youtube-nocookie.com player.twitch.tv slashdotmedia.com as.slashdot.org *.as.slashdot.org error-report.com *.error-report.com html-load.com *.html-load.com *.fb.html-load.com content-loader.com *.content-loader.com *.fb.content-loader.com css-load.com *.css-load.com 07c225f3.online *.07c225f3.online *.criteo.com *.openx.net *.pghub.io; object-src http://*.youtube.com;script-src 'self' slashdot.org *.slashdot.org *.slashdotmedia.com a.fsdn.com challenges.cloudflare.com *.lijit.com *.moatads.com *.adsafeprotected.com *.sharethrough.com *.2mdn.net *.adnxs.com *.bing.com *.script.ac *.ybp.yahoo.com *.adnxs-simple.com *.truste.com *.adrta.com pghub.io/js/pandg-sdk.js *.pubmatic.com ml314.com *.stack-sonar.com *.licdn.com translate.googleapis.com *.doubleclick.net *.googleadservices.com *.adtrafficquality.google translate.google.cn *.gstatic.cn *.google.com *.ampproject.org *.amazon-adsystem.com *.criteo.net *.creativecdn.com *.crwdcntrl.net *.uidapi.com *.im-apps.net *.euid.eu *.openxcdn.net *.id5-sync.com cdn.jsdelivr.net/gh/prebid/shared-id/ *.33across.com *.permutive.app *.consentmanager.net *.microsofttranslator.com *.gstatic.com *.googletagservices.com *.google-analytics.com *.googlesyndication.com *.cloudflareinsights.com d3tglifpd8whs6.cloudfront.net rpxnow.com btloader.com *.btmessage.com *.crsspxl.com http://*.pro-market.net *.4dex.io *.adnxs-simple.com *.s-onetag.com *.rubiconproject.com *.trustarc.com *.truste.com *.doubleverify.com *.tapad.com *.pghub.io pghub.io *.sharethru.com j.6sc.co as.slashdot.org *.as.slashdot.org html-load.com *.html-load.com *.fb.html-load.com content-loader.com *.content-loader.com *.fb.content-loader.com css-load.com *.css-load.com 07c225f3.online *.07c225f3.online cmp.inmobi.com *.inmobicdn.net blob: data: 'unsafe-inline' 'unsafe-eval';report-uri https://sourceforge.report-uri.com/r/d/csp/enforce
x-frame-optionsSAMEORIGIN
permissions-policygeolocation=(), microphone=(), camera=(), payment=(), document-domain=(), display-capture=(), autoplay=(), bluetooth=(), identity-credentials-get=(), otp-credentials=(), publickey-credentials-create=(), publickey-credentials-get=(), usb=(), accelerometer=(), ambient-light-sensor=(), captured-surface-control=(), compute-pressure=(), gamepad=(), hid=(), idle-detection=(), local-fonts=(), magnetometer=(), midi=(), screen-wake-lock=(), serial=(), speaker-selection=(), window-management=(), xr-spatial-tracking=(), local-network=(), local-network-access=(), loopback-network=()

Identified technologies

Cloudflare

Pages, Search and Sharing

Meta descriptionSlashdot: News for nerds, stuff that matters. Timely news source for technology related news and B2B software reviews & comparisons.
Canonical URLNot detected
LanguageEnglish (default)
Twitter CardNot detected
All bots 1 allowed · 83 disallowed
  • Allow/llms.txt
  • Disallow/authors.pl
  • Disallow/index.pl
  • Disallow/index2.pl
  • Disallow/firehose.pl
  • Disallow/messages.pl
  • Disallow/metamod.pl
  • Disallow/users.pl
  • Disallow/users2.pl
  • Disallow/search.pl
  • Disallow/search
  • Disallow/submit.pl
  • Disallow/pollBooth.pl
  • Disallow/pubkey.pl
  • Disallow/topics.pl
  • Disallow/zoo.pl
  • Disallow/palm
  • Disallow/bookmark.pl
  • Disallow/%7E
  • Disallow/~*/friends
  • Disallow/~*/fans
  • Disallow/~*/foes
  • Disallow/~*/freaks
  • Disallow/~*/tags
  • Disallow/~*/achievements
  • Disallow/submission
  • Disallow/journal
  • Disallow/comments.pl
  • Disallow/slashdot-it.pl
  • Disallow/tag
  • Disallow/stories/
  • Disallow/interviews/
  • Disallow/?issue=
  • Disallow/software/link?
  • Disallow/software/link$
  • Disallow/software/visit?
  • Disallow/software/visit$
  • Disallow/software/tp/?
  • Disallow/svc/
  • Disallow/software/comparison/*-vs-*-vs-*-vs-
  • Disallow/software/comparison/*/add-software
  • Disallow/software/p/*/reviews/new
  • Disallow/software/p/*/reviews/add
  • Disallow/software/*?q=
  • Disallow/software/*&q=
  • Disallow/software/*?categories=
  • Disallow/software/*&categories=
  • Disallow/software/*?company_sizes=
  • Disallow/software/*&company_sizes=
  • Disallow/software/*?deployment=
  • Disallow/software/*&deployment=
  • Disallow/software/*?free_options=
  • Disallow/software/*&free_options=
  • Disallow/software/*?integrates_with=
  • Disallow/software/*&integrates_with=
  • Disallow/software/*?org_types=
  • Disallow/software/*&org_types=
  • Disallow/software/*?api=
  • Disallow/software/*&api=
  • Disallow/software/*?regions=
  • Disallow/software/*&regions=
  • Disallow/software/*?support=
  • Disallow/software/*&support=
  • Disallow/software/*?training=
  • Disallow/software/*&training=
  • Disallow/software/*?feature_
  • Disallow/software/*&feature_
  • Disallow/software/transfer_site
  • Disallow/about/floating_sitewide
  • Disallow/about/review-guidelines
  • Disallow/jobs
  • Disallow/software/tp3
  • Disallow/directory/tp
  • Disallow/my/
  • Disallow/*/wp-login.php
  • Disallow/supporters.shtml
  • Disallow/topics.shtml
  • Disallow/awards.shtml
  • Disallow/login.pl
  • Disallow/api/v2/record_user_opt_out
  • Disallow/prefs
  • Disallow/content/category/
  • Disallow/content/tag/
  • Disallow/hi

User reviews (0)

  • No reviews yet.