Website profiles · Technology insights · Alternatives

clearogen.com

A 3-Step treatment, formulated by dermatologists to address the root cause of acne and prevent future breakouts. Guaranteed to work. Contains Benzoyl Peroxide and Salicylic Acid. Leaves your skin clear of acne and blemishes, smooth, and healthy. For teens & adults.

No paid content found
Visit website
Profile views 0 Outbound visits 0 Normal
Clearogen Full homepage screenshot

At a glance

Category
Other
Language
English
Paid-content signal
No paid content foundObserved
Registered
2003
Hosting
CloudflareInferred
HTTPS certificate trusted
PassedObserved
Last updated

Website review

This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.

What is Clearogen?

Clearogen is a dermatologist-formulated acne treatment brand built around a three-step routine. Its stated aim is not just to clear existing blemishes but to address what the brand describes as the root cause of acne, using DHT-blocking botanical ingredients alongside standard acne actives. The line is marketed to both teens and adults.

What the product line includes

The site's best-seller list shows two flagship 30-day, three-step treatments:

  • Ultimate Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment — built around 2.5% benzoyl peroxide, aimed at typical inflammatory acne.
  • Sensitive Skin Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment — built around salicylic acid, positioned for people who find benzoyl peroxide too drying or irritating.

Both are sold as complete routines rather than single products, so you use the steps together rather than mixing one item into an existing regimen. The brand also claims clinical backing, citing 94–95% effectiveness and visible improvement within 30 days, plus a satisfaction guarantee.

Who it suits, and the trade-offs

This is a reasonable starting point if you want a structured, all-in-one routine and prefer products that combine prescription-style actives with botanical ingredients. The two formulas also let you choose based on how your skin handles benzoyl peroxide versus salicylic acid.

The trade-offs are worth weighing. Three-step routines take more time and consistency than a single cleanser or spot treatment, and the brand itself notes that best results come from at least three months of use, so it is not a quick fix. Benzoyl peroxide can bleach fabrics and cause dryness, while salicylic acid is gentler but may be slower on deeper breakouts. Before-and-after galleries and customer testimonials are marketing material, not independent proof; individual results vary.

A practical next step

If your acne is mild to moderate and you have not tried a consistent routine, start with the sensitive-skin version if your skin is reactive, or the benzoyl peroxide version if you have oilier, more stubborn breakouts. If you have severe, painful or scarring acne, see a dermatologist first — an over-the-counter routine may not be enough on its own. For broader context on acne ingredients and routines, American Academy of Dermatology is a useful reference.

How do I use the Clearogen 3-Step Treatment?

Clearogen's 3-Step Treatment is designed as a daily routine you follow in order, morning and evening, rather than a single product. The steps typically work as a cleanser, a treatment toner or serum, and a moisturizer or lotion, so each stage prepares the skin for the next. Apply the cleanser first, pat dry, then the treatment step, and finish with the moisturizer to reduce dryness.

Practical sequence

  • Step 1 – Cleanse: Wash gently to remove oil and debris without stripping the skin.
  • Step 2 – Treat: Apply the active step evenly, avoiding the eye area.
  • Step 3 – Moisturize: Seal in hydration to limit irritation from benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid.

Two versions exist, and the choice matters:

Version Key active Better suited to
Ultimate Acne Clearing 2.5% benzoyl peroxide Persistent, inflammatory breakouts
Sensitive Skin Salicylic acid Easier irritation, drier or reactive skin

What to expect

The site's own FAQ says most customers notice improvement within 2–4 weeks and recommends consistent use for at least 3 months. Customer testimonials on the page, such as Sarah M. reporting results in two weeks, are individual accounts rather than guaranteed outcomes, so treat the 30-day and 3-month marks as realistic checkpoints instead of deadlines.

A sensible next step

Start with the version matching your skin type, use it once daily for the first week if you are prone to irritation, then move to twice daily. If burning or peeling appears, reduce frequency rather than abandoning the routine. For a broader comparison of acne ingredients and routines, American Academy of Dermatology offers independent guidance.

Is Clearogen suitable for sensitive skin?

Yes, Clearogen is marketed as suitable for sensitive skin, but the more accurate answer is that it depends on which of its two 3-step treatments you choose and how your skin tolerates benzoyl peroxide.

What the product page says

Clearogen's site answers this directly in its FAQ, stating the formula is dermatologist-tested and "specifically designed to be gentle on sensitive skin." It also sells a dedicated 30-Day Sensitive Skin Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment built around salicylic acid, separate from its main 30-Day Ultimate Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment with 2.5% benzoyl peroxide. The sensitive-skin version exists precisely because the standard one may be too strong for some users.

The practical difference

Ultimate 3-Step Sensitive Skin 3-Step
Key active Benzoyl peroxide 2.5% Salicylic acid
Best for Persistent, non-reactive acne Reactive, easily irritated skin
Main trade-off Can cause dryness, peeling, redness Gentler, but may clear more slowly

Benzoyl peroxide is effective against acne bacteria but is a common trigger for irritation, especially in the first weeks. Salicylic acid is generally better tolerated, though it can still dry out skin when overused.

Who should consider it

  • Teens and adults with mild to moderate acne who want a structured three-step routine rather than a single product.
  • People who have reacted badly to benzoyl peroxide — start with the sensitive-skin version instead.
  • Anyone with diagnosed rosacea, eczema or very reactive skin should patch-test first and check the full ingredient list with a dermatologist, since "dermatologist-tested" is not the same as "irritation-free for everyone."

If you are unsure, order the sensitive-skin set, introduce one step at a time over a week or two, and stop the active if you get burning rather than mild flaking. For a second opinion on ingredient tolerability, the American Academy of Dermatology's consumer pages at American Academy of Dermatology are a reliable, non-commercial reference.

How long does it take to see results with Clearogen?

Most Clearogen users are told to expect noticeable improvement within 2–4 weeks, with clinical results reported at around 28 days. The site's own FAQ says clinical studies showed roughly 94% of users had significant acne reduction within 28 days, and it recommends using the treatment consistently for at least 3 months for best results. Customer testimonials on the page describe seeing changes in about 2 weeks, though individual experiences vary.

What that timeline means in practice

  • Weeks 1–2: Early changes, often less new breakouts or reduced inflammation, rather than fully clear skin.
  • Week 4: The benchmark the brand points to for visible improvement; this is where the 28-day clinical figure applies.
  • Months 2–3: The period the site frames as necessary for the full effect, especially if you are targeting hormonal or persistent acne.

A realistic way to judge it

Pick one simple measure before you start — for example, the number of new pimples per week or how much redness you see in photos — and check it at the same time each week. If nothing changes by week 4, that is a reasonable point to reassess with a dermatologist rather than waiting indefinitely.

The trade-off to keep in mind

Clearogen's 3-step approach combines benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid with botanical DHT-blocking ingredients, so it is aimed at both treating existing breakouts and preventing new ones. That prevention angle is why the brand asks for a longer commitment than a spot treatment. The counterpoint is that benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid can dry or irritate skin, so a slower, consistent routine often beats aggressive daily use. If your skin is sensitive, the salicylic acid version may be the gentler starting point.

For general context on acne treatment timelines, the American Academy of Dermatology American Academy of Dermatology notes that most acne treatments need 4–8 weeks before improvement appears, which is broadly consistent with Clearogen's guidance.

What are the active ingredients in Clearogen and how do they work?

Clearogen's site describes its acne treatment around two familiar actives—benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid—plus a third idea: botanical ingredients it says block DHT, the androgen it links to oil production and breakout formation. The two best-selling kits split those first two actives rather than combining them in one bottle, so the ingredient list you get depends on which version you choose.

The actives, as described on the site

  • Benzoyl peroxide (2.5%) — named on the 30-Day Ultimate Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment. Benzoyl peroxide is a standard acne ingredient that reduces acne-causing bacteria on the skin and helps clear existing inflamed pimples. The 2.5% strength is a moderate, common concentration; lower strengths tend to irritate less but can act more slowly.
  • Salicylic acid — named on the 30-Day Sensitive Skin 3-Step Treatment. It is a beta-hydroxy acid that exfoliates inside the pore, which suits blackheads, clogged pores and mild inflammatory acne. It is often the gentler of the two for people who cannot tolerate benzoyl peroxide.
  • DHT-blocking botanicals — the site claims "natural DHT-blocking ingredients" and "powerful botanical compounds." DHT is an androgen; the marketing logic is that less DHT activity means less sebum, and therefore fewer breakouts. This is the brand's stated mechanism rather than a mainstream first-line acne treatment, and the page does not name the specific botanicals or the concentrations. Treat the DHT claim as the product's positioning, not as an established effect you can verify from the page.

How the steps are meant to work together

The format is a three-step routine rather than a single product: cleanse, treat, and moisturise or protect. The idea is that the active step does the clearing while the other steps reduce the dryness and irritation that benzoyl peroxide in particular can cause. The site frames results as gradual—noticeable improvement in two to four weeks, with a recommendation to continue for at least three months.

Choosing between the two kits

Ultimate (benzoyl peroxide 2.5%) Sensitive Skin (salicylic acid)
Primary active Benzoyl peroxide Salicylic acid
Best suited to Inflammatory, bacterial-driven acne Clogged pores, milder or easily irritated skin
Main trade-off More drying or irritating for some Gentler, but may be slower on inflamed cysts

The page lists the Ultimate kit at $29.95 and the Sensitive Skin kit at $39.95, and it cites "94%" or "95%" effectiveness figures from clinical studies without showing the studies themselves. Those numbers come from the brand's own marketing.

A practical next step

If your acne is mostly blackheads and congestion, or your skin stings easily, start with the salicylic acid version. If you get red, inflamed pimples, the benzoyl peroxide version matches that pattern better. Either way, introduce it gradually—one application a day for the first week—and use a light moisturiser, since both actives can dry the skin. If you are already using a prescription retinoid or another benzoyl peroxide product, check with a clinician or pharmacist before layering them. For general context on how these ingredients are normally used, the American Academy of Dermatology's patient pages at American Academy of Dermatology are a reasonable reference.

Can Clearogen help with hormonal acne?

Clearogen is positioned as an acne treatment that addresses a hormonal driver, not just surface breakouts. Its site describes “natural DHT-blocking ingredients” and “powerful botanical compounds” alongside standard acne actives (benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid). DHT is an androgen hormone that can increase oil production and contribute to hormonal acne, so this is the mechanism the brand claims to target.

What that means in practice

  • Hormonal acne pattern: deep, recurring bumps along the jawline, chin, cheeks, or back that flare around periods, stress, or hormonal shifts.
  • Clearogen's angle: reduce the hormonal trigger with botanicals while the 3-step regimen also treats existing blemishes with benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid.
  • Best suited for: teens and adults who want an at-home regimen and have mild to moderate persistent acne, including those who suspect a hormonal component.
  • Limits: it is a topical cosmetic-style treatment, not a prescription hormonal therapy. Severe cystic acne, or acne tied to a diagnosed endocrine condition such as PCOS, usually needs a dermatologist and may need prescription options.

The site cites clinical results (95% effective, visible improvement in 30 days) and offers a 30-day benzoyl peroxide version and a sensitive-skin salicylic acid version. Those claims come from the brand; treat them as marketing evidence rather than independent proof.

A practical next step

If your breakouts cluster on the jawline and chin and are mild to moderate, a reasonable trial is the sensitive-skin 3-step version if your skin reacts easily, used consistently for at least 8–12 weeks. Track photos and note flare timing. If there is no meaningful change by then, or if you have painful cysts, scarring, or signs of a hormonal disorder, see a dermatologist rather than layering more over-the-counter products.

For broader context on how hormonal acne is treated, the American Academy of Dermatology's acne resource at American Academy of Dermatology is a reliable starting point.

Related questions

More questions →
How to Use the Clearogen 3-Step Treatment for Best Results

Use the Clearogen 3-Step Treatment as a daily, consistent routine: cleanse, apply the acne treatment, then moisturize — in that order, every day, for at least 3 months. The site states most customers see noticeable improvement within 2–4 weeks and that clinical studies show 94% of users experienced significant acne reduction within 28 days, but it also recommends using the treatment as directed for at least 3 months for best results. Consistency matters more than any single step.

The three steps and their order

Clearogen is sold as a 3-step system, and the site describes it as formulated by dermatologists to address the root cause of acne and prevent future breakouts. The steps follow the standard acne-routine sequence:

  1. Cleanse — remove oil, dirt, and residue so the active ingredients can reach the skin.
  2. Treat — apply the acne treatment containing the active ingredient (benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid, depending on which version you chose).
  3. Moisturize — replenish the skin barrier, which reduces the dryness and irritation that actives can cause.

The site also references "Natural DHT-Blocking Ingredients" and "Powerful botanical compounds" as part of how the system works, and describes the treatment as addressing the root cause of acne rather than only surface blemishes.

Which version you're using changes the active ingredient

The two best-selling options on the site differ in their active ingredient, so the "treat" step is not identical between them:

Product Active ingredient Listed price
30-Day Ultimate Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide $29.95
30-Day Sensitive Skin Acne Clearing 3 Step Treatment Salicylic Acid $39.95

If you chose the sensitive-skin version, the salicylic acid step is the one designed to be gentler. The site states the formula is dermatologist-tested and specifically designed to be gentle on sensitive skin. If you're on the benzoyl peroxide version, expect the treat step to be the most potentially drying part of the routine — which is exactly why the moisturize step shouldn't be skipped.

How much to use and how to apply

The site's own "How to Use Clearogen" video is described as a step-by-step application guide, and the FAQ confirms the routine is meant to be used "as directed." Beyond that, the site does not publish specific gram or pump amounts per step, so follow the directions printed on your specific product packaging rather than guessing from a general rule.

What the site does support as general guidance:

  • Apply the treatment step to clean, dry skin — not immediately after a wet cleanse, since damp skin can increase irritation from actives.
  • Use the system daily rather than intermittently; the 2–4 week and 28-day timelines assume consistent use.
  • Don't layer the treatment step with other acne actives (a second benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid product) unless a dermatologist tells you to — the site doesn't describe the system as designed to be stacked with additional actives.

Do you need other skincare products?

The site presents Clearogen as a complete 3-step treatment, not a product meant to be combined with a separate acne regimen. The three steps already cover cleansing, active treatment, and moisturizing, which are the core of a basic routine. If you want to add anything, a sunscreen is the most reasonable addition for daytime use — but note the site does not state that sunscreen is included in the system or required by it, so treat that as a general skincare consideration rather than a Clearogen instruction.

Consistency is the variable that matters most

The clearest pattern in the site's own claims is that results are tied to time and adherence, not to application technique:

  • 2–4 weeks: most customers see noticeable improvements.
  • 28 days: clinical studies cited by the site show 94% of users experienced significant acne reduction.
  • 30 days: the site advertises "visible improvement in one month" and "results in 30 days."
  • 3 months: the site's own recommendation for best results.

Those numbers only hold if you actually use the system daily. If you skip days or stop at the two-week mark because you haven't seen a dramatic change yet, you're outside the window the site describes as when results appear.

Common sticking points

  • Stopping too early. The site's shortest meaningful window is 2–4 weeks, and its own best-results recommendation is 3 months. Judging the product after a few days isn't supported by anything on the site.
  • Skipping moisturizer because skin feels oily. The moisturize step exists to offset the drying effect of the active step; dropping it tends to make irritation worse, not acne better.
  • Using the wrong version for your skin. If you have sensitive skin and picked the benzoyl peroxide version, the site's sensitive-skin option (salicylic acid) is the one it describes as specifically designed to be gentle.
  • Expecting the site to specify exact amounts. It doesn't publish per-step quantities, so your product packaging is the authoritative source for how much to use.

What the site does not tell you

The site does not publish a full ingredient list for each step, exact application amounts, or a specific time-of-day requirement beyond a daily routine. It also does not state whether the treatment should be used once or twice daily. For those details, check the individual product packaging or contact the brand directly rather than assuming a schedule.

Which Clearogen 3-Step Treatment Should I Choose: 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide or Salicylic Acid?

Choose the 30-Day Ultimate Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment with 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide ($29.95) if you have ordinary, non-reactive acne-prone skin and want the more aggressive of the two options. Choose the 30-Day Sensitive Skin Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment with Salicylic Acid ($39.95) if your skin stings, reddens, or flakes easily, or if you have reacted badly to benzoyl peroxide before. Both are 30-day, 3-step regimens from the same dermatologist-formulated line, and both are listed as best sellers on clearogen.com.

The two treatments side by side

Ultimate Acne Clearing 3-Step Sensitive Skin Acne Clearing 3-Step
Active ingredient 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide Salicylic Acid
Listed price $29.95 $39.95
Regimen length 30 days 30 days
Steps 3 3
Positioned for Standard acne-prone skin Sensitive skin
Site status Best Seller Best Seller

The price gap is the reverse of what many shoppers expect: the sensitive-skin version costs $10 more. If budget is the deciding factor and your skin tolerates benzoyl peroxide, the lower-priced option is the one the site leads with.

What actually differs between them

The meaningful difference is the active ingredient, not the step count.

Benzoyl peroxide (2.5%) is the classic acne active. It works on the bacteria side of breakouts. The 2.5% concentration is on the lower end of what's sold, which matters because higher percentages are more irritating without necessarily working better for most people.

Salicylic acid is a beta-hydroxy acid. It works more on the pore-clogging and surface-shedding side, and it is generally the gentler of the two for reactive skin.

Clearogen's site also describes the line as addressing "the root cause of acne" using "natural DHT-blocking ingredients" and "powerful botanical compounds." That DHT-blocking positioning is the brand's central claim and appears across the product line, so it is not what separates these two kits from each other — the active ingredient is.

How to decide for your skin

Work through these in order:

  1. Have you used benzoyl peroxide before? If yes and it was fine, the $29.95 kit is the straightforward pick. If it left you red, tight, or peeling, go with salicylic acid.
  2. Is your skin generally reactive? Easy flushing, stinging on new products, or visible flaking point toward the sensitive-skin kit.
  3. Where are your breakouts? If they are mostly surface-level and clustered, either can work. If they are deep and inflamed, the site's own framing of the benzoyl peroxide kit as the "Ultimate" option suggests it is the more intensive of the two.
  4. Are you already using other actives? If you layer other exfoliating or drying products, the salicylic acid kit is easier to combine without over-drying.

If you are genuinely unsure, the sensitive-skin kit is the safer first purchase — you can step up to benzoyl peroxide later, but recovering from an irritation reaction costs you the whole 30-day cycle.

What the site claims about results

Clearogen states that clinical studies show 95% effective and that 94% of users experienced significant acne reduction within 28 days. The FAQ on the site says most customers see noticeable improvement within 2–4 weeks and recommends using the treatment as directed for at least 3 months for best results.

Note the tension there: both kits are sold as 30-day treatments, but the brand's own guidance says three months for best results. Budget for three consecutive kits if you want to match the recommended timeline, not one.

Customer testimonials on the page describe results in about two weeks, and the site states the treatment is "guaranteed to work." No guarantee terms, refund window, or return conditions appear in the page content provided, so check those before ordering if the guarantee is part of your decision.

Practical notes before you buy

  • Both kits are 3-step, 30-day regimens. You are choosing an active ingredient, not a different routine structure.
  • The site does not list full ingredient panels in the content provided. If you have known sensitivities beyond benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid, confirm the complete ingredient list before purchase.
  • No pricing beyond the two kit prices is shown here. Bundle pricing, subscriptions, or shipping costs are not in the available page content.
  • The brand's own FAQ recommends 3 months. Treat the 30-day kit as one cycle, not a complete course.

The short version: ordinary acne-prone skin and a $29.95 budget points to benzoyl peroxide; sensitive or reactive skin points to salicylic acid at $39.95.

Is Clearogen Suitable for Sensitive Skin, and How Long Until You See Results?

Clearogen sells a sensitive-skin version of its 3-step acne treatment, and the site states the formulas are dermatologist-tested and designed to be gentle on sensitive skin. On timing, the site says most customers notice improvement within 2–4 weeks, cites clinical studies showing 94% of users had significant acne reduction within 28 days, and recommends using the treatment as directed for at least 3 months for best results. If your skin reacts badly to benzoyl peroxide, the sensitive-skin option uses salicylic acid instead — that distinction matters more than anything else on this page.

The two 3-step treatments, and which one is for sensitive skin

Clearogen's best-seller list shows two 30-day 3-step treatments:

Treatment Active ingredient Price (as listed)
30-Day Ultimate Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide $29.95
30-Day Sensitive Skin Acne Clearing 3 Step Treatment Salicylic Acid $39.95

If your skin is sensitive, the salicylic acid version is the one the site positions for you. Benzoyl peroxide is a common irritant for reactive skin, so the sensitive-skin formula exists precisely to offer an alternative active. Note that the site does not publish full ingredient lists or a separate sensitivity patch-test protocol in the material available here — if you have a known allergy or a diagnosed skin condition, check the complete ingredient list on the product page or ask a dermatologist before starting.

What "dermatologist-tested" and "gentle" mean here

The site describes the treatment as "Dermatologist Formulated & Recommended," "Clinically Proven," and "95% Effective," and states the formula is dermatologist-tested and specifically designed to be gentle on sensitive skin. It also mentions natural DHT-blocking ingredients and botanical compounds as part of how it addresses the root cause of acne.

Two caveats worth keeping in mind:

  • These are the brand's own claims. The page does not link to the underlying clinical studies, so you cannot verify the 94% or 95% figures independently from what's shown here.
  • "Gentle" is a positioning claim, not a guarantee for every sensitive-skin user. Even salicylic acid can cause dryness or stinging when you start, especially if you layer it with other actives.

How long until you see results

The site gives three timeframes, and they serve different purposes:

  • 2–4 weeks: most customers see noticeable improvements with consistent use.
  • 28 days: clinical studies cited by the site show 94% of users experienced significant acne reduction.
  • 3 months: the minimum recommended period of consistent use for best results.

The practical reading: judge the product on the 3-month mark, not the 2-week mark. A customer testimonial on the page claims results in 2 weeks, but that's an individual experience, not the expected timeline. If you stop at one month because improvement is partial, you may be quitting before the recommended window closes.

Using it on sensitive skin without making things worse

The site's own FAQ confirms the formula is dermatologist-tested and designed for sensitive skin, but it doesn't spell out a ramp-up routine. Based on how 3-step systems with salicylic acid generally work, a cautious approach looks like this:

  1. Patch test first. Apply a small amount to a discreet area (like behind the ear or along the jaw) and wait 24–48 hours before using it on your full face.
  2. Start slower than the label. If your skin is reactive, begin with once daily instead of twice, then build up as your skin tolerates it.
  3. Don't stack other actives. Avoid adding retinol, strong exfoliants, or a second acne treatment during the first few weeks — irritation usually comes from combining products, not from one product alone.
  4. Watch for the wrong kind of reaction. Mild dryness or flaking in the first week or two is common. Persistent burning, swelling, or a rash is not — stop and consult a dermatologist.
  5. Stay consistent for 3 months. The site ties best results to at least 3 months of directed use, so consistency matters more than intensity.

What the site doesn't tell you

  • No full ingredient lists are shown in the available material, so you can't screen for specific allergens from this page alone.
  • No pricing beyond the two best-seller prices above, and no information on subscriptions, shipping, or returns is included here.
  • No independent study links — the clinical percentages are brand-stated.

If your main concern is sensitivity, the salicylic acid 3-step treatment is the version to start with, and the 3-month mark is the fair point to decide whether it's working. If you have a diagnosed skin condition or are using prescription acne medication, get a dermatologist's input before adding this on top.

What Is Clearogen? Products, Ingredients, and What the Site Offers

Clearogen is the official website of a skincare brand that sells dermatologist-formulated acne treatments. Its core offering is a 3-step acne-clearing system built around benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid, positioned to address what the brand describes as the root cause of acne and to prevent future breakouts. The site is a direct-to-consumer store: you can browse products, read clinical and customer claims, watch usage and before/after videos, and add items to a cart.

What Clearogen sells

The site's best-seller list shows two 30-day, 3-step treatment options:

Product Key active Listed price
30-Day Ultimate Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide $29.95
30-Day Sensitive Skin Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment Salicylic Acid $39.95

Both are described as 30-day regimens. The benzoyl peroxide version is the brand's most popular listing; the salicylic acid version is positioned for sensitive skin. A "Shop All Products" link suggests additional items beyond these two, though the page evidence only details these best sellers.

The 3-step treatment concept

Clearogen frames acne as having an underlying cause it targets, rather than treating only surface blemishes. The brand highlights "natural DHT-blocking ingredients" and "powerful botanical compounds" alongside the standard acne actives. In practice, the 3-step format means a fixed daily routine — typically a cleanser, a treatment, and a moisturizer or similar — that you follow in sequence. The site includes a "How to Use Clearogen" video described as a step-by-step application guide, which is the most direct source for the exact order and frequency.

If you want the precise routine, watch that guide rather than assuming a generic cleanse-treat-moisturize order, since the brand's steps and timing are specific to its kit.

Claims the site makes

Clearogen's marketing leans heavily on clinical and dermatologist backing. According to the site:

  • The treatment is "Dermatologist Formulated & Recommended."
  • It is "Clinically Proven 95% Effective."
  • Clinical studies are cited as showing "94% of users experienced significant acne reduction within 28 days."
  • Results are described as visible in 30 days, with a recommendation to use the treatment as directed for at least 3 months for best results.

These are the brand's own claims as stated on its pages. Treat percentages and timelines as marketing figures attributed to Clearogen, not independently verified numbers.

Who it's for

The site states the treatment is for teens and adults, and that the formula is dermatologist-tested and designed to be gentle enough for sensitive skin — which is why a separate salicylic acid version exists for that group. The brand also markets a "guaranteed to work" promise, though the page evidence does not spell out the terms, so check the guarantee details before relying on it.

What else the site provides

Beyond the store, Clearogen's homepage functions as a decision-support page:

  • Before/after gallery — six pairs of click-to-zoom comparison images.
  • Video content — customer success stories (named "Sarah" and "John" in the examples shown), a usage guide, and before/after results.
  • Customer testimonials — verified-buyer quotes citing results in about two weeks and reduced hormonal acne.
  • FAQ section — answers on timelines and sensitive-skin suitability.

How to decide if it fits your needs

  • If you want a single fixed routine rather than assembling separate products, the 3-step kit is the straightforward option.
  • If you have sensitive skin, the salicylic acid version is the one the brand directs you to; benzoyl peroxide can be more drying or irritating for some users.
  • If you're comparing on price, the two best sellers differ by $10, with the sensitive-skin option costing more.
  • If clinical proof matters to you, note that the effectiveness figures come from the brand's own statements — look for the underlying study details if that's a deciding factor.

The site does not display pricing beyond the two listed products, payment methods, or shipping terms in the available page content, so confirm those at checkout.

How Does Clearogen's 3-Step Treatment Address the Root Cause of Acne?

Clearogen's 3-Step Treatment is designed to work on two fronts at once: it uses DHT-blocking botanical ingredients to target what the brand describes as the root cause of acne, while benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid handles existing breakouts and clogged pores. The site states the treatment is dermatologist-formulated, clinically proven, and 95% effective, with visible results in about 30 days. It comes in two versions — a 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide formula ($29.95) and a Salicylic Acid formula for sensitive skin ($39.95), both sold as 30-day, 3-step systems.

The two-layer approach: root cause vs. surface symptoms

Most acne treatments focus only on what you can see — pimples, blackheads, inflammation. Clearogen's stated premise is that this misses the underlying trigger. According to the site, the treatment addresses "the root cause of acne and prevent future breakouts" rather than just clearing what's already there.

That translates into two jobs the 3-step system is meant to perform:

  • Prevent new breakouts at the source — through natural DHT-blocking ingredients and botanical compounds
  • Clear existing acne and blemishes — through benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid, leaving skin "smooth and healthy"

The distinction matters because it shapes what you should expect. A surface-only treatment tends to clear skin and then let breakouts return. A root-cause approach aims to reduce how often new breakouts form in the first place.

What DHT blocking has to do with acne

The site repeatedly highlights "Natural DHT-Blocking Ingredients" and "Powerful botanical compounds" as the mechanism behind its root-cause claim. DHT (dihydrotestosterone) is an androgen hormone that, in the brand's framing, drives the oil production and pore behavior that lead to acne — which is why the treatment is positioned for both hormonal acne and general breakout-prone skin.

One customer testimonial on the site specifically credits this: "The DHT-blocking technology really works! My hormonal acne has significantly reduced and my skin feels smoother." (James T., Verified Buyer)

If your breakouts cluster around hormonal patterns — jawline, chin, cyclical timing — this is the part of the formula the brand wants you to focus on. If your acne is mainly from clogged pores or irritation, the exfoliating and antibacterial steps will likely matter more to your day-to-day results.

The 3 steps and what each one does

The site describes the system as a "3-Step treatment" and lists a "step-by-step application guide" among its how-to videos, but does not break out the individual steps by name in the available page content. What the product description does confirm is the active ingredient in each version:

Version Key active Price Best suited for
30-Day Ultimate Acne Clearing 3-Step Treatment 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide $29.95 Standard acne, including inflammatory breakouts
30-Day Sensitive Skin Acne Clearing 3 Step Treatment Salicylic Acid $39.95 Sensitive skin that reacts to benzoyl peroxide

Both are 30-day supplies. The general logic of a 3-step acne system is a cleanser, a treatment, and a moisturizer or balancing step — but since the site doesn't spell out each step's role in the text available, treat the specific sequence as something to confirm from the product's own application guide before you buy.

What the clinical and dermatologist claims actually say

The site makes several specific claims worth reading carefully:

  • Dermatologist Formulated & Recommended — the formula was developed by dermatologists
  • Clinically Proven, 95% Effective — stated as a headline figure
  • Dramatic results in clinical studies
  • Results in 30 Days / Visible improvement in one month
  • 94% of users experienced significant acne reduction within 28 days (from the FAQ)

Note that the site uses both "95% effective" and "94% of users" in different places. These are marketing figures from the brand, not independently verified numbers, so weigh them as you would any brand's clinical claims.

The FAQ also addresses a practical question directly: most customers see noticeable improvements within 2–4 weeks of consistent use, and the brand recommends using the treatment as directed for at least 3 months for best results. That's a longer commitment than the 30-day product size implies — plan on roughly three purchase cycles if you want to judge it fairly.

Who this is likely to work for

Based on what the site states, this treatment is aimed at:

  • Teens and adults — the description explicitly covers both
  • Hormonal acne — given the DHT-blocking positioning
  • Sensitive skin — via the salicylic acid version, which the site says is "dermatologist-tested and specifically designed to be gentle on sensitive skin"
  • People who've tried other treatments without lasting results — one testimonial notes "I've tried countless acne treatments but this is the first one that actually delivered"

If you have sensitive skin, the salicylic acid version is the one the site points you toward. If your acne is primarily inflammatory and your skin tolerates benzoyl peroxide, the $29.95 version is the cheaper entry point.

What to verify before buying

A few things the available page content doesn't resolve, and that are worth checking on the product pages themselves:

  • The exact three steps — what each product in the kit is and the order to apply them
  • Full ingredient lists — especially if you have known sensitivities to benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid
  • Shipping, returns, and the guarantee — the site mentions being "Guaranteed to work," but the terms behind that guarantee aren't detailed in the content available
  • Whether the 30-day size matches the 3-month recommendation — it doesn't, so budget accordingly

The clearest takeaway: Clearogen's pitch is that it treats acne as a hormonal problem first and a surface problem second. Whether that framing fits your skin is the real question — and the two formula options let you test it at either $29.95 or $39.95 for the first month.

Website Overview

An established domain and managed infrastructure suggest continuity of operations and may support dependable delivery, although neither guarantees service quality. Several search or sharing settings need attention. Together they may make snippets, preview images or preferred URLs less consistent across platforms.

Domain and Registration

Registered in 2003, this domain has about 22 years of history. That suggests continuity, although ownership and purpose may have changed. Transfer-protection status is present, helping reduce the risk of unauthorized domain transfers. The registrar is GoDaddy.com, LLC, a widely used domain service provider. The domain uses the common .com extension, which is not an independent safety signal.

DNS and Email

Nameservers are provided by GoDaddy, indicating managed DNS hosting. MX records point to the accountservergroup.com email service. No CNAME was found; the observed records resolve directly to addresses. SPF and DMARC are configured. DKIM status is unknown. DNSSEC signatures were not detected, so this additional DNS authenticity protection is not confirmed.

TLS and Certificates

The public key uses EC with 256 bits. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. No organization name is present in the certificate; the available fields are consistent with domain validation. The certificate was issued by Let's Encrypt, commonly associated with automated certificate services. The certificate's total validity is about 89 days, consistent with a short renewal cycle.

HTTP and Browser Security

The response lacks these common security headers: Referrer-Policy, Permissions-Policy. No X-Powered-By header was found, reducing one common source of backend fingerprinting information. The cf-ray response header indicates a CDN or caching proxy in the delivery path. No obvious internal addresses or debug information were found in the headers. The Server header identifies cloudflare without an exact version.

Technology Stack Analysis

The public page identifies Shopify, Cloudflare without precise versions, leaving fewer clues for version-specific scanning.

Search and Social Sharing

The title has 66 characters and may be truncated in search results. The meta description has 265 characters and may be shortened in search results. Open Graph is partially configured; og:image is missing. Twitter Card metadata is configured. JSON-LD includes Organization data, helping describe the organization as an entity.

Hosting and Email

DNSGoDaddy
HostingCloudflare
Emailaccountservergroup.com
Approximate IP geolocation (inferred; a CDN or proxy may differ from the origin server) Canada flagOttawa, Ontario, Canada Inferred 23.227.38.32

Registration details

RDAP / WHOIS

RegistrarGoDaddy.com, LLC
Registered2003-11-20
Expires2026-11-20
Domain statusclient delete prohibited、client renew prohibited、client transfer prohibited、client update prohibited
Nameserversns43.domaincontrol.com、ns44.domaincontrol.com
DNSSECunsigned

DNS records

DNS

TypeNameValueTTLPriority
Aclearogen.com23.227.38.32600—
MXclearogen.comuscentral445.accountservergroup.com6001
NSclearogen.comns43.domaincontrol.com3600—
NSclearogen.comns44.domaincontrol.com3600—
TXTclearogen.comv=spf1 +a +mx +include:websitewelcome.com +include:unifiedlayer.com include:mailgun.org ~all600—
DMARC_dmarc.clearogen.comv=DMARC1; p=none1800—

TLS and certificates

TLS / SSL

AssessmentNormal configuration
Supported protocolsTLSv1.2、TLSv1.3
Negotiated protocolTLSv1.3
Certificate subjectclearogen.com
IssuerLet's Encrypt
Valid until2026-12-25T12:25 · Remaining when checked: 69 days
Verification detailsCertificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed

HTTP response headers

HTTP

HeaderValue
content-typetext/html; charset=utf-8
content-languageen-US
cache-controlprivate, max-age=0, must-revalidate
servercloudflare
strict-transport-securitymax-age=7889238
content-security-policyblock-all-mixed-content; frame-ancestors 'none'; upgrade-insecure-requests;
x-frame-optionsDENY
x-content-type-optionsnosniff
set-cookieRedacted

Identified technologies

ShopifyCloudflare

Pages, Search and Sharing

Meta descriptionA 3-Step treatment, formulated by dermatologists to address the root cause of acne and prevent future breakouts. Guaranteed to work. Contains Benzoyl Peroxide and Salicylic Acid. Leaves your skin clear of acne and blemishes, smooth, and healthy. For teens & adults.
Canonical URLhttps://clearogen.com/
LanguageEnglish (default)
Twitter Cardsummary_large_image
All bots 23 allowed · 40 disallowed
  • Allow/
  • Allow/products/account
  • Allow/products/orders
  • Allow/products/checkout
  • Allow/*/products/account
  • Allow/*/products/orders
  • Allow/*/products/checkout
  • Allow/collections/account
  • Allow/collections/orders
  • Allow/collections/checkout
  • Allow/*/collections/account
  • Allow/*/collections/orders
  • Allow/*/collections/checkout
  • Allow/pages/checkout
  • Allow/*/pages/checkout
  • Allow/blogs/*account
  • Allow/blogs/*orders
  • Allow/blogs/*checkout
  • Allow/*/blogs/*account
  • Allow/*/blogs/*orders
  • Allow/*/blogs/*checkout
  • Allow/account/login
  • Allow/*/account/login
  • Disallow/admin
  • Disallow/cart/
  • Disallow/*/cart/
  • Disallow/checkout
  • Disallow/*/checkout
  • Disallow/checkouts/
  • Disallow/*/checkouts/
  • Disallow/orders
  • Disallow/*/orders
  • Disallow/account
  • Disallow/*/account
  • Disallow/4618846275
  • Disallow/cdn/wpm/*.js
  • Disallow/services
  • Disallow/sf_*
  • Disallow/cart.js
  • Disallow/*/cart.js
  • Disallow/recommendations/products
  • Disallow/*/recommendations/products
  • Disallow/collections/*sort_by*
  • Disallow/*/collections/*sort_by*
  • Disallow/collections/*+*
  • Disallow/collections/*%2B*
  • Disallow/collections/*%2b*
  • Disallow/*/collections/*+*
  • Disallow/*/collections/*%2B*
  • Disallow/*/collections/*%2b*
  • Disallow/collections/*filter*&*filter*
  • Disallow/*/collections/*filter*&*filter*
  • Disallow/blogs/*+*
  • Disallow/blogs/*%2B*
  • Disallow/blogs/*%2b*
  • Disallow/*/blogs/*+*
  • Disallow/*/blogs/*%2B*
  • Disallow/*/blogs/*%2b*
  • Disallow/*?*ls=*&ls=*
  • Disallow/*?*ls%3*ls%3*
  • Disallow/*?*oseid=*
  • Disallow/*?*preview_theme_id=*
  • Disallow/*?*preview_script_id=*
adsbot-google 12 allowed · 10 disallowed
  • Allow/products/
  • Allow/*/products/
  • Allow/collections/
  • Allow/*/collections/
  • Allow/pages/
  • Allow/*/pages/
  • Allow/blogs/
  • Allow/*/blogs/
  • Allow/pages/checkout
  • Allow/*/pages/checkout
  • Allow/blogs/*checkout
  • Allow/*/blogs/*checkout
  • Disallow/checkout
  • Disallow/*/checkout
  • Disallow/checkouts/
  • Disallow/*/checkouts/
  • Disallow/orders
  • Disallow/*/orders
  • Disallow/services
  • Disallow/sf_*
  • Disallow/4618846275
  • Disallow/cdn/wpm/*.js

User reviews (0)

  • No reviews yet.