Website profiles · Technology insights · Alternatives

hol.edu

The Heritage Institute offers the best professional development courses in teaching for K-12 educators, through workshops, field studies and online and continuing education classes.

No paid content found
Visit website
Profile views 9 Outbound visits 2 Normal
The Heritage Institute, Professional Development Courses For Teachers Full homepage screenshot

At a glance

Category
Education & Learning
Language
English
Paid-content signal
No paid content foundObserved
Registered
Unknown
Hosting
Amazon.com, Inc.Inferred
HTTPS certificate trusted
PassedObserved
Last updated

Website review

This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.

What is The Heritage Institute?

The Heritage Institute is a professional-development provider for K–12 educators, offering courses for teachers through workshops, field studies, and online and continuing-education classes. Its catalog is built around practical classroom topics rather than academic degrees: featured titles include Creating Inclusive Classrooms, Unplugging & Disconnecting for Our Health, Self Awareness & Discipline, Science of Reading, Overcoming Adversity, Mindsets in the Classroom, and Helping Students Motivate Themselves. It also lists an Antioch University partnership, group-collaboration options, and credit-for-school-inservice routes.

The main appeal is flexibility for working teachers. Courses appear to be offered in different formats and lengths, and the site advertises more than 100 courses with credit options described as quarter credits, clock hours, PDUs, or CEUs. That variety suits teachers who need to satisfy district requirements, renew a license, or earn salary-schedule credit without committing to a full graduate program. It is less suited to someone seeking a traditional degree, a research-heavy program, or a cohort-based certification with a fixed schedule.

What to check before choosing a course

  • Confirm the credit type your district accepts. Clock hours, PDUs, CEUs, and quarter credits are not interchangeable everywhere.
  • Match the topic to a real classroom need. A book study such as Science of Reading works well for a department initiative; Self Awareness & Discipline may fit an individual classroom-management goal.
  • Check the workload against the credit value. The featured listings pair different hour totals with different credit amounts, so compare the time commitment before registering.
  • Ask about the Antioch University partnership if you need graduate credit rather than continuing-education units.

A useful next step is to open the course list and filter by the credit type your school or state requires, then read the instructor videos and course descriptions for the two or three titles closest to your goals. If you are weighing alternatives, Education Week and ASCD publish professional-learning guidance that can help you judge whether a course fits your development plan.

How do I register for a course at The Heritage Institute?

Registration happens through the account system on the site: you create an online account or sign in, add the course you want to your cart or wishlist, and then complete checkout. The homepage navigation also lists a Mail in Registration Form, which is the alternative path if you prefer not to register online.

A practical sequence:

  1. Create an account or log in. New users register with an email address and a password.
  2. Browse to the course page. Courses are organized under All, New, Featured, Live Workshops, and Create Your Own.
  3. Add the course to your cart (or save it to your wishlist first).
  4. Choose your credit option. Many courses appear in two versions, such as ED481o and ED581o, with one priced for clock hours/PDUs/CEUs and the other for quarter credits.
  5. Check out, or mail in the registration form if you are paying by district purchase order or another offline method.

Choosing between the two registration routes

Route Best for Trade-off
Online account and cart Individual teachers paying by card who want immediate enrollment Requires creating a login and managing a password
Mail-in registration form District-funded registrations, purchase orders, or anyone who prefers paper Slower turnaround and more paperwork

A concrete example

A middle school teacher in another state needs 60 clock hours for license renewal and wants to start this weekend. She creates an account, opens a featured course such as "Creating Inclusive Classrooms," selects the clock-hour version rather than the quarter-credit version, and checks out. If her district is paying, she skips the cart and submits the mail-in form instead, since the district needs an invoice rather than a personal card charge.

Before you register

Decide which credential your state or district accepts — clock hours, PDUs, CEUs, or quarter credits — because that choice determines which course number you select. Then confirm whether your district requires pre-approval, since that is the most common reason a reimbursement is denied. If you are unsure which version fits your renewal requirements, the site's FAQ and credit policies pages are the place to check before you pay.

For Antioch University credit questions specifically, the site notes an Antioch University Partnership, which is worth reviewing if you need graduate credit rather than clock hours. The broader organization is The Heritage Institute.

What types of professional development courses does The Heritage Institute offer for teachers?

The Heritage Institute offers online professional development courses for K–12 educators, with a catalog of more than 100 titles. The courses shown on its site are self-paced, instructor-supported classes that combine clock hours, PDUs, CEUs, or quarter credits, and they cover both classroom practice and teacher well-being.

Course topics you can expect

  • Inclusive teaching: Creating Inclusive Classrooms: Setting Yourself Up for Success focuses on building a classroom where all students can participate.
  • Teacher well-being and sustainable habits: Unplugging & Disconnecting for Our Health addresses burnout and screen fatigue; Self Awareness & Discipline looks at personal regulation and focus.
  • Literacy instruction: Science of Reading – Shifting the Balance Book Study supports reading instruction grounded in research.
  • Student motivation and mindset: Mindsets in the Classroom, Helping Students Motivate Themselves, and Overcoming Adversity: Lessons in Life & Teaching deal with engagement, resilience, and achievement.
  • Specific student populations and grade levels: 10 Students You'll Meet in Your Classroom: Tips for Secondary Teachers targets secondary educators.

Formats and structure

The catalog includes online courses, live workshops, field studies, and a "Create Your Own" option for group collaboration. Credit-bearing courses appear in paired numbers (for example, ED481o and ED581o), which typically indicates a 400-level and 500-level version of the same content. Course length ranges from 30 to 60 hours, and the site lists quarter-credit equivalents alongside clock-hour, PDU, CEU, and ACT 48 options.

Who it suits

These courses fit K–12 teachers who need continuing education credit, salary advancement, or recertification, and who want to choose topics by their own classroom challenges rather than follow a fixed program. The mix of short 30-hour courses and longer 60-hour courses lets you match the workload to your available time and credit requirement.

A practical next step

Start with your district or state requirement: confirm whether you need clock hours, PDUs, CEUs, or quarter credits, then filter the catalog by that credit type and the number of hours you need. If you are choosing between two similar titles, compare the course descriptions for the specific grade band and student population each one addresses. For credit transfer questions, check the Antioch University partnership information and the policies/credits FAQ before registering.

How much do The Heritage Institute's courses cost and what are the credit options?

The Heritage Institute lists its professional development courses at two main price points: $195 for 30-hour courses and $380 for 50- to 60-hour courses, with optional graduate credit costing more ($280 for 3 quarter credits; $415–$495 for 5–6 quarter credits). These are list prices shown on the site's featured courses, not quotes for every course or cohort.

Credit and hour options shown

Option Typical hours Listed price Credit
Clock/PDU/CEU/ACT 48 30 hours $195 Non-credit
Clock/PDU/CEU/ACT 48 50–60 hours $315–$380 Non-credit
Graduate quarter credit 3 credits $280 Credit
Graduate quarter credit 5–6 credits $415–$495 Credit

Examples from the featured list:

  • Self Awareness & Discipline (ED477d/ED577d): 30 hours, $195; 3 quarter credits, $280.
  • Creating Inclusive Classrooms (ED481o/ED581o): 60 hours, $380; 6 quarter credits, $495.
  • Mindsets in the Classroom (ED459q/ED559q): 50 hours, $315; 5 quarter credits, $415.

How to choose

  • If you need salary-schedule or license renewal hours and your district accepts clock hours/PDUs/CEUs, the non-credit option is the lower-cost route.
  • If you need graduate credit for a degree, lane change, or tuition reimbursement, expect to pay roughly $100–$115 more than the non-credit price for the same course.
  • If you are unsure which credit type your state or district accepts, check the course page first, then confirm with your licensure office before registering.

The site also mentions an Antioch University partnership, which is relevant if you specifically need university-issued graduate credit rather than in-house CEUs. For current course-by-course pricing and credit details, start at The Heritage Institute.

Can I earn graduate credit or clock hours through The Heritage Institute?

Yes. The Heritage Institute's professional development courses for educators are structured around both options: clock hours (listed alongside PDUs, CEUs, and ACT 48) and graduate quarter credits through its Antioch University partnership. Each featured course shows a dual structure, with one course number for the clock-hour/PDU version and another for the credit-bearing version — for example, ED481o/ED581o for "Creating Inclusive Classrooms" and ED477v/ED577v for "Unplugging & Disconnecting for Our Health."

How the two tracks differ

Clock hours / PDUs / CEUs / ACT 48 Graduate quarter credits
Typical listing 30–60 hours per course 3–6 quarter credits
Course number pattern Lower number (e.g., ED481o) Higher number (e.g., ED581o)
Best for Salary-schedule movement, state recertification requirements, district PD documentation Degree programs, lane changes that require graduate-level credit, credential renewals that specify graduate work

The hour-to-credit ratio is consistent across the featured courses: 60-hour courses carry 6 quarter credits, while a 30-hour course carries 3. That consistency makes it easy to compare courses at a glance.

A practical scenario

Suppose you teach secondary English and need 60 clock hours before your license renewal, but you are also three credits short of a master's-plus lane on your district's salary schedule. A single 60-hour course such as "Science of Reading — Shifting the Balance Book Study" or "Mindsets in the Classroom" can be taken on the credit track, satisfying the graduate credit need while the seat time still counts toward your hours. If your state or district only accepts non-credit PD hours, take the clock-hour version instead and keep the transcript documentation.

Before you choose

  • Confirm with your district or state licensing office which designation it accepts — the two are not always interchangeable for recertification.
  • Check the Antioch University partnership page on the site for registration steps and transcript requests, since credit enrollment may follow a different process than clock-hour registration.
  • If you are weighing other providers, compare transcript and accreditation terms directly: Antioch University issues the credit, while The Heritage Institute handles the courses and registration.

The clearest next step is to open a specific course page, note both course numbers, and ask your licensure office which one it will accept before registering.

Does The Heritage Institute offer group collaboration options for schools or districts?

Yes. The Heritage Institute lists group collaboration as a distinct option, alongside individual online courses, live workshops, and a "create your own" course route. Its navigation includes a Group Collaboration entry and a Credit for School Inservices page, which points to arrangements made for a school or district rather than one teacher enrolling alone.

What that likely means in practice

  • A cohort from one building or district can work through the same course together, with one administrator coordinating enrollment.
  • Inservice credit is handled through the school or district, so a professional development day can connect to continuing education credit rather than sitting separate from it.
  • Custom topics are possible via the "Create Your Own" option, useful when a district has a specific initiative (for example, inclusive classrooms or reading instruction) and wants a course built around it.

How to choose between the routes

Route Best for Trade-off
Individual online course One teacher needing clock hours or graduate credit on their own schedule No shared planning with colleagues
Group collaboration A grade-level team, department, or district cohort Needs a coordinator and a common timeline
Create your own A district with a specific goal not covered by the catalog More upfront design work
Live workshop Staff who want synchronous, scheduled sessions Fixed dates

Practical next step

If you are a curriculum director or PD coordinator, start by gathering three things before contacting the institute: the number of participants, the credit type your staff need (clock hours, PDUs, CEUs, or graduate quarter credits), and your target completion window. Then ask whether your chosen course can be run as a closed group and how inservice credit would be documented for your records. The institute's own FAQ and policies pages are the place to confirm transcript and credit details, since those rules vary by state and district.

Related questions

More questions →
What is The Heritage Institute (hol.edu)?

The Heritage Institute (hol.edu) is a professional development course provider for K-12 educators. It offers workshops, field studies, and online and continuing education classes, with credit options that include quarter credits, clock hours, PDUs, and CEUs. It is aimed at teachers who need continuing education or salary-advancement credit rather than at students seeking a degree.

Who it serves

The site describes itself as offering "Professional Development Courses for Educators" and states that it serves K-12 educators. If you are a K-12 teacher looking for continuing education, clock hours, or graduate-level quarter credits tied to your teaching practice, this is the intended audience. If you are looking for a full degree program, this is not that — the catalog is made up of individual courses and workshops.

What it offers

The homepage lists "100 + COURSES" and shows credit types of "Quarter Credits / Clock Hours / PDUs / CEUs." Course formats named on the site include:

  • Workshops
  • Field studies
  • Online and continuing education classes
  • Live workshops
  • Group collaboration
  • Create Your Own (custom course option)

There is also a section for "Credit for School Inservices" and a mail-in registration form, which suggests some enrollment and credit processes happen outside a purely online checkout.

Example courses and pricing

The featured courses on the homepage show a consistent pricing pattern: a lower price for clock hours/PDU/CEU/ACT 48 and a higher price for quarter credit.

Course Clock/PDU/CEU/ACT 48 Credit option
Creating Inclusive Classrooms: Setting Yourself up for Success 60 hours, $380 6 Qtr Credits, $495
Unplugging & Disconnecting for Our Health 60 hours, $380 6 Qtr Credits, $495
Self Awareness & Discipline 30 hours, $195 3 Qtr Credits, $280
Science of Reading – Shifting The Balance Book Study 60 hours, $380 6 Qtr Credits, $495
Overcoming Adversity: Lessons in Life & Teaching 60 hours, $380 6 Qtr Credits, $495
Mindsets in the Classroom: Increase Student Achievement 50 hours, $315 5 Qtr Credits, $415
Helping Students Motivate Themselves 60 hours, $380 6 Qtr Credits, $495
10 Students You'll Meet in Your Classroom: Tips For Secondary Teachers 30 hours, $195 3 Qtr Credits, $280

These figures come from the featured-course listings on the homepage. Prices and credit hours for other courses in the catalog are not shown in the source material, so check the individual course page before enrolling.

Topics covered

The featured courses indicate the topical range: inclusive classroom practice, digital disconnection and health, self-awareness and discipline, reading instruction (science of reading), overcoming adversity, student mindsets, student motivation, and understanding student types. The catalog is practice-oriented — courses are framed around classroom application rather than academic theory alone.

Credit and partnership details

The site references an Antioch University Partnership, which is relevant if you need to know whether the quarter credits come through an accredited university. It also lists "Policies/Credits/FAQ" and "Transcript Resources" pages, which are where you would confirm how credits are recorded and how to request a transcript. The source material does not specify accreditation details beyond the Antioch University Partnership mention, so verify credit acceptance with your district or state before enrolling if the credit is for salary advancement or licensure.

Practical notes before you enroll

  • There is a login/registration system, and a wishlist and cart are present, so some courses can be purchased directly online.
  • A mail-in registration form exists, which means not every enrollment path is digital.
  • The site has a "Create Your Own" option and group collaboration, useful if you are arranging training for a school team rather than as an individual.
  • Confirm which credit type your district accepts (clock hours vs. quarter credits) before choosing the more expensive credit option, since the price difference is significant — for example, $380 vs. $495 on a 60-hour course.
How Do Online Master's Courses in Europe Work?

Online master's courses in Europe are generally structured the same way as on-campus degrees: you complete a set number of credits (usually 60–120 ECTS), pass assessments, and receive the same degree title as campus students at that institution. What changes is the delivery mode. Programs range from fully online and asynchronous to hybrid formats that require short residencies, and recognition depends far more on the institution's accreditation than on whether you studied from home or on campus.

The main formats you'll encounter

Fully online, asynchronous

All coursework, lectures, and materials are delivered through a learning platform. You study on your own schedule within weekly or module deadlines. This is the most flexible option and the most common for working professionals.

Fully online, synchronous

You attend live seminars and lectures at fixed times, often via video conferencing. This mimics a campus timetable and works well for discussion-heavy subjects, but it requires you to be available in the institution's time zone.

Hybrid or blended

Most study is online, but you attend one or more short on-campus periods — typically a kick-off week, a lab-intensive block, or a final thesis defense. Some programs in fields like engineering, health, or business use this to cover practical components.

Online with optional campus tracks

A smaller number of programs let you switch between online and on-campus modules, or complete the degree online but attend electives in person.

Credits, ECTS, and what the degree is worth

European master's programs use the ECTS system:

Program type Typical credits Typical duration (full-time)
Taught master's (MA, MSc, LLM) 60–120 ECTS 1–2 years
MBA 60–90 ECTS 1–2 years
Research master's (MPhil, MRes) 120 ECTS 2 years

One ECTS credit represents roughly 25–30 hours of total student workload, including self-study. A 90-ECTS online master's therefore carries the same academic weight as a 90-ECTS on-campus master's at the same institution.

The key question is not "online or not" but who accredits the program. In most European countries, the national quality assurance agency or the state recognizes degrees from accredited institutions regardless of delivery mode. If you need the degree for a regulated profession, a visa, or a public-sector job, verify recognition with the relevant authority in your own country before enrolling — this is a general rule, not legal advice for your situation.

Admission requirements for international applicants

Requirements vary by country and institution, but online master's programs commonly ask for:

  • A completed bachelor's degree (or equivalent) in a relevant field.
  • A minimum grade or GPA, sometimes expressed as a class of degree.
  • English proficiency — IELTS, TOEFL, or an equivalent, unless your previous degree was taught in English. Some programs accept a waiver or an internal test.
  • A motivation letter or statement of purpose.
  • A CV, especially for MBA and executive programs.
  • Letters of recommendation (often 1–2).
  • Work experience for MBA and some professional master's degrees.
  • Specific prerequisites such as statistics, programming, or a portfolio for design and technical fields.

Typical application steps

  1. Shortlist 3–5 programs and check each one's accreditation and recognition in your country.
  2. Confirm the language of instruction and whether your proficiency test meets the threshold.
  3. Prepare documents early — transcripts, translations, and credential evaluations can take weeks.
  4. Check application deadlines; many European programs have rolling admissions, but some have fixed intakes.
  5. Submit the application and any application fee.
  6. If admitted, complete enrollment, pay any deposit, and set up your student account and platform access.

How exams, thesis work, and support are handled remotely

  • Assessment: written assignments, online proctored or open-book exams, group projects, presentations, and participation. Some programs use timed take-home exams instead of invigilated ones.
  • Thesis or capstone: usually supervised remotely via video calls and email, with milestones and a final written submission. Some institutions require an oral defense by video; a few require it on campus.
  • Support: academic advisors, library access (often digital), technical helpdesk, and career services. Quality varies widely, so ask current students or check program pages for what is actually provided.
  • Interaction: discussion forums, cohort groups, and live sessions. Asynchronous programs can feel isolating if you don't build in regular contact.

Practical considerations before you commit

  • Time zones: synchronous programs may schedule classes in the institution's local time. Check whether live sessions fall at workable hours for you.
  • Language of instruction: many European master's programs are taught in English, but not all. Confirm the language for lectures, exams, and thesis supervision.
  • Tuition structure: online programs are often priced per credit or per year, and may differ from on-campus rates. Public universities in some countries charge modest fees; private and executive programs cost more. Ask for a full breakdown of tuition, platform fees, and any residency costs.
  • Recognition and mobility: if you plan to work in a regulated profession or apply for a visa, confirm in advance that the specific degree is accepted where you intend to use it.
  • Time commitment: expect 15–20 hours per week for a full-time online master's, or roughly half that for part-time study.

Online vs. on-campus: a quick comparison

Factor Online On-campus
Flexibility High; study around work Fixed timetable
Networking Digital, sometimes weaker In-person, stronger
Cost Often lower tuition, no relocation Tuition plus living costs
Practical/lab work Limited or via short residencies Full access
Recognition Depends on accreditation, not mode Depends on accreditation
Campus experience Minimal Full

A simple decision checklist

  1. Is the program accredited and recognized in the country where you plan to use the degree?
  2. Does the format (async, sync, hybrid) fit your schedule and time zone?
  3. Are the language requirements realistic for you?
  4. Can you meet the prerequisites and admission documents?
  5. Does the total cost — tuition plus any residency travel — fit your budget?
  6. Does the program offer the support you'll need to finish a thesis remotely?

If you can answer yes to all six, an online master's from a European institution is a credible route to the same degree title as campus study. If any answer is uncertain, resolve that point before you apply rather than after you enroll.

What Types of Professional Development Courses Does The Heritage Institute Offer for Teachers?

The Heritage Institute (hol.edu) offers professional development courses for K-12 educators across a range of formats and topics, with more than 100 courses available. Courses can be taken for quarter credits, clock hours, PDUs, or CEUs, and featured offerings include titles on inclusive classrooms, student motivation, the science of reading, and disconnecting for health. If you need continuing education credit in one of these subject areas, the site's course catalog is the place to check whether a specific course matches your requirement.

Course Formats

Based on the site's navigation and course listings, The Heritage Institute structures its offerings around several formats:

  • Online courses — the main catalog of distance courses, including book studies and self-paced options.
  • Live workshops — scheduled, instructor-led sessions.
  • Field studies — courses built around experiential, place-based learning.
  • Group collaboration — a format for teams of educators to work through a course together.
  • Create Your Own — a pathway for educators to design an independent course.
  • Credit for school inservices — a route to turn district or school inservice work into credit.

The site also provides a mail-in registration form, which suggests some courses or registrations can be handled offline.

Credit Types

Courses are listed with multiple credit options, and the credit type you choose affects both the hours and the price. From the featured course listings:

Credit option Typical hours Example price
Clock/PDU/CEU/ACT 48 30–60 hours $195–$380
Quarter credits (400/500 level) 3–6 quarter credits $280–$495

The 400 and 500 numbers in course codes (for example, ED481o and ED581o) appear to distinguish undergraduate-level from graduate-level sections of the same course. If your district or state requires a specific credit type, confirm which option satisfies it before registering.

Topics Covered

The featured courses show the range of subject matter:

  • Creating Inclusive Classrooms: Setting Yourself Up for Success — classroom inclusion practices.
  • Unplugging & Disconnecting for Our Health — educator wellbeing and digital balance.
  • Self Awareness & Discipline — a shorter 30-hour course on personal and classroom discipline.
  • Science of Reading – Shifting the Balance Book Study — a book study on reading instruction.
  • Overcoming Adversity: Lessons in Life & Teaching — resilience in teaching.
  • Mindsets in the Classroom: Increase Student Achievement — student mindset and achievement.
  • Helping Students Motivate Themselves — student motivation strategies.
  • 10 Students You'll Meet in Your Classroom: Tips for Secondary Teachers — practical guidance for secondary educators.

The catalog also includes instructor videos, a "New" section, and a "Featured" section, so the full list extends beyond these examples.

How to Decide Whether It Fits Your Needs

Use these conditions to narrow your choice:

  • If you need a specific credit type (clock hours, PDUs, CEUs, or quarter credits), filter by that requirement first — the same course may be offered under more than one credit option at different prices.
  • If you need graduate-level credit, look for the 500-level course code rather than the 400-level one.
  • If you want to work with colleagues, the group collaboration format may be more suitable than an individual online course.
  • If your learning goal is tied to a district initiative, the "credit for school inservices" pathway may let you apply existing work toward credit.
  • If you want to design something specific to your context, the "Create Your Own" option is the relevant starting point.

Because credit requirements vary by state, district, and license renewal cycle, check your own requirements against the course's listed credit type and hours before enrolling. The site's Resources/FAQ and Policies/Credits/FAQ pages are the appropriate places to confirm those details.

How much do The Heritage Institute professional development courses cost?

The Heritage Institute (hol.edu) lists two price points for each featured course: a clock-hour/PDU/CEU rate and a higher quarter-credit rate. On the featured courses shown, 30-hour courses cost $195 for clock hours/PDUs/CEUs or $280 for 3 quarter credits, and 60-hour courses cost $380 for clock hours/PDUs/CEUs or $495 for 6 quarter credits. These are the prices shown on the site's featured course listings; the page evidence does not state whether other courses follow the same pattern.

What the listed prices include

Each featured course shows two parallel options:

Course length Clock/PDU/CEU/ACT 48 Quarter credits
30 hours $195 3 Qtr Credits — $280
60 hours $380 6 Qtr Credits — $495
50 hours (ED459q/ED559q) $315 5 Qtr Credits — $415

The pattern is consistent across the featured listings: the credit option costs more than the clock-hour option, and the price scales with course length. A 50-hour course sits between the 30- and 60-hour tiers at $315 / $415.

Featured courses and their listed prices

From the page evidence:

  • CREATING INCLUSIVE CLASSROOMS: Setting Yourself up for Success (ED481o, ED581o) — 60 hours, $380 clock/PDU/CEU/ACT 48; 6 Qtr Credits, $495
  • UNPLUGGING & DISCONNECTING FOR OUR HEALTH (ED477v, ED577v) — 60 hours, $380; 6 Qtr Credits, $495
  • SELF AWARENESS & DISCIPLINE (ED477d, ED577d) — 30 hours, $195; 3 Qtr Credits, $280
  • SCIENCE OF READING – Shifting The Balance Book Study (ED476o, ED576o) — 60 hours, $380; 6 Qtr Credits, $495
  • OVERCOMING ADVERSITY: Lessons in Life & Teaching (ED465b, ED565b) — 60 hours, $380; 6 Qtr Credits, $495
  • MINDSETS IN THE CLASSROOM: Increase Student Achievement (ED459q, ED559q) — 50 hours, $315; 5 Qtr Credits, $415
  • HELPING STUDENTS MOTIVATE THEMSELVES (ED448F, ED548F) — 60 hours, $380; 6 Qtr Credits, $495
  • 10 STUDENTS YOU'LL MEET IN YOUR CLASSROOM: Tips For Secondary Teachers (ED448H, ED548H) — 30 hours, $195; 3 Qtr

What to check before budgeting

  • Which credit type you need. If your district accepts clock hours, PDUs, or CEUs, the lower price applies. If you need quarter credits (for salary advancement or recertification), budget the higher figure.
  • Course length. Prices track hours: 30-hour courses are roughly half the cost of 60-hour courses.
  • Whether your course is listed. The page evidence covers featured courses only. The site states it offers "100 + COURSES," so confirm the specific course page for its price before committing.
  • Fees and payment options. The provided page evidence does not mention additional fees, payment plans, or refund terms. Treat those as unconfirmed and verify directly with the institute.

Practical takeaway

For budget planning, use these working figures: $195–$315 for clock-hour/PDU/CEU enrollment and $280–$415 for quarter-credit enrollment, depending on course length. If you only need PDUs or clock hours, the clock-hour option is the cheaper path; if you need transcripted quarter credits, expect to pay roughly 45–50% more.

How to Register for Courses and Access Resources on The Heritage Institute (hol.edu)

The Heritage Institute (hol.edu) is a professional development provider for K-12 educators, offering 100+ courses through workshops, field studies, and online/continuing education classes. To register, you can either create an account on the site or use the mail-in registration form; once registered, you can access transcripts, lesson templates, FAQ, and other resources. The steps below cover account setup, course selection, and resource access based on what the site itself provides.

Creating an Account or Logging In

The site uses a standard account system to unlock features like your wishlist and cart.

  1. Click Log In (or the sign-in prompt).
  2. Enter your email address and submit.
  3. If the system recognizes your email, enter your password to continue. If you've forgotten it, use Forgot Password?
  4. If the system does not recognize your email, you can register with that email and a password of your choice, or try another email you may have used.

Expected result: You're signed in and can add courses to your wishlist or cart.

Common snag: If you see a message that your email "has been moved to another account," the site will prompt you to log in with a different address. This typically means the email is already tied to an existing account under another login.

Choosing and Registering for a Course

Courses are organized under Courses, with filters for All, New, Featured, and Live Workshops. Each course listing shows a course number, clock/PDU/CEU hours, and pricing.

Course Course No. Hours Clock/PDU/CEU Price Credit Price
Creating Inclusive Classrooms ED481o, ED581o 60 $380 6 Qtr Credits – $495
Unplugging & Disconnecting for Our Health ED477v, ED577v 60 $380 6 Qtr Credits – $495
Self Awareness & Discipline ED477d, ED577d 30 $195 3 Qtr Credits – $280
Science of Reading – Shifting The Balance Book Study ED476o, ED576o 60 $380 6 Qtr Credits – $495
Overcoming Adversity: Lessons in Life & Teaching ED465b, ED565b 60 $380 6 Qtr Credits – $495
Mindsets in the Classroom ED459q, ED559q 50 $315 5 Qtr Credits – $415
Helping Students Motivate Themselves ED448F, ED548F 60 $380 6 Qtr Credits – $495
10 Students You'll Meet in Your Classroom ED448H, ED548H 30 $195 3 Qtr Credits – $280

Registration paths available on the site:

  • Online — add to cart and check out after logging in.
  • Mail in Registration Form — listed under both the main navigation and Resources.
  • Group Collaboration — a separate option for group enrollments.
  • Create Your Own — for custom course arrangements.
  • Credit for School Inservices — for inservice credit.

Expected result: You're enrolled in your chosen course at either the clock-hour/PDU/CEU rate or the credit rate.

Common snag: Note that the clock-hour price and the credit price are separate — choosing credit costs more. Confirm which one you need before checkout.

Accessing Resources After Registration

Once you have an account, the Resources / FAQ section gives you access to:

  • Transcript Resources — for retrieving your records.
  • Mail in Registration Form — if you prefer offline enrollment.
  • Lesson Template — a downloadable template for coursework.
  • Challenging Students — a resource page.
  • Credit for School Inservices — guidance on inservice credit.
  • Blog — articles and updates.

Contact information is also available via the site for support questions.

Expected result: You can pull transcripts, download templates, and find answers to common policy questions without contacting support.

Quick Reference: What You Can Do Without an Account

  • Browse all courses, featured courses, and instructor videos.
  • View course details, hours, and pricing.
  • Read the FAQ, blog, and The Heritage Story.

You need an account to use the wishlist, cart, and checkout, and to access transcript resources tied to your enrollment.

Key Takeaways

  • Register either online (after account setup) or by mail-in form.
  • Course pricing depends on whether you choose clock hours/PDUs/CEUs or quarter credits.
  • The site offers 100+ courses, with a filter for new, featured, and live workshops.
  • Post-registration resources include transcripts, lesson templates, and FAQ.

Website Overview

Several search or sharing settings need attention. Together they may make snippets, preview images or preferred URLs less consistent across platforms.

Domain and Registration

Unknown

DNS and Email

The lowest TTL is 60 seconds, supporting rapid record changes at the cost of more frequent lookups. Nameservers are provided by Amazon Route 53, indicating managed DNS hosting. MX records point to the Google Workspace email service. No CNAME was found; the observed records resolve directly to addresses. SPF and DMARC are configured. DKIM status is unknown.

TLS and Certificates

The certificate uses an RSA 2048-bit public key, offering broad client compatibility. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. No organization name is present in the certificate; the available fields are consistent with domain validation. The certificate was issued within the Amazon cloud or CDN ecosystem. The certificate is valid for about 197 days in total, with 147 days remaining.

HTTP and Browser Security

The response lacks these common security headers: CSP, Referrer-Policy, Permissions-Policy. No X-Powered-By header was found, reducing one common source of backend fingerprinting information. No obvious internal addresses or debug information were found in the headers. The Server header identifies Apache without an exact version. Cookie security attributes are unknown.

Technology Stack Analysis

The public page identifies HubSpot CMS, Google Analytics, Apache without precise versions, leaving fewer clues for version-specific scanning.

Search and Social Sharing

The title has 69 characters and may be truncated in search results. The meta description has 181 characters and may be shortened in search results. No Open Graph metadata was detected, so social previews may depend on platform inference. The observed directives allow indexing and link following. No Generator meta tag is publicly exposed.

Hosting and Email

DNSAmazon Route 53
HostingAmazon.com, Inc.
EmailGoogle Workspace
Approximate IP geolocation (inferred; a CDN or proxy may differ from the origin server) United States flagBoardman, Oregon, United States Inferred 35.167.226.146

Registration details

RDAP / WHOIS

Unknown

DNS records

DNS

TypeNameValueTTLPriority
Awww.hol.edu35.167.226.14660—
Awww.hol.edu44.232.202.22060—
MXhol.eduaspmx.l.google.com3001
MXhol.edualt1.aspmx.l.google.com3005
MXhol.edualt2.aspmx.l.google.com3005
MXhol.eduaspmx2.googlemail.com30010
MXhol.eduaspmx3.googlemail.com30010
NShol.eduns-1381.awsdns-44.org172800—
NShol.eduns-1597.awsdns-07.co.uk172800—
NShol.eduns-54.awsdns-06.com172800—
NShol.eduns-717.awsdns-25.net172800—
TXThol.educfjpfloro668aauoadsoggijlb60—
TXThol.eduv=spf1 a mx include:_spf.google.com ~all60—
DMARC_dmarc.hol.eduv=DMARC1; p=none;60—

TLS and certificates

TLS / SSL

AssessmentNormal configuration
Supported protocolsTLSv1.2
Negotiated protocolTLSv1.2
Certificate subject*.hol.edu
IssuerAmazon
Valid until2027-03-02T23:59 · Remaining when checked: 147 days
Verification detailsCertificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed

HTTP response headers

HTTP

HeaderValue
content-typetext/html; charset=UTF-8
cache-controlmax-age=0, no-cache, s-maxage=10
serverApache
strict-transport-securitymax-age=432000
x-frame-optionsSAMEORIGIN
x-content-type-optionsnosniff
set-cookieRedacted

Identified technologies

HubSpot CMSGoogle AnalyticsApache

Pages, Search and Sharing

Meta descriptionThe Heritage Institute offers the best professional development courses in teaching for K-12 educators, through workshops, field studies and online and continuing education classes.
Canonical URLhttps://www.hol.edu
LanguageEnglish (default)
Twitter CardNot detected

Unknown

All bots 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/

User reviews (0)

  • No reviews yet.