Website profiles · Technology insights · Alternatives

aorn.org

AORN empowers perioperative nurses with guidelines, continuing education, and clinical resources for safer surgery. Join now to advance your practice.

No paid content found
Visit website
Profile views 4 Outbound visits 0 Normal
AORN Full homepage screenshot

At a glance

Category
Education & Learning
Language
English
Paid-content signal
No paid content foundObserved
Registered
1994
Hosting
CloudflareInferred
HTTPS certificate trusted
PassedObserved
Last updated

Website review

This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.

What is AORN?

AORN — the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses — is a professional membership organization for nurses who work in surgical and procedural settings. Its core purpose is to define and spread standards for safe perioperative care through evidence-based guidelines, continuing education, and clinical resources. In practical terms, it functions as the place where OR nurses go for the "how this should be done" answers: recommended practices, implementation tools, and training that hospitals adopt facility-wide.

Who it's for

  • Perioperative nurses (OR, PACU, ambulatory surgery, procedural areas)
  • Nurses moving into surgery from another specialty, and new graduates entering the OR
  • Nurse educators, managers, and leaders responsible for standardizing practice
  • Facilities that want a shared guideline set across a surgical department

What it actually offers

  • Guidelines for Perioperative Practice, with implementation tools that help a team apply standardized techniques consistently rather than reading a document once.
  • Continuing education in several formats, including online courses for novice OR nurses and hybrid courses for nurses who support cesarean procedures.
  • Events and workshops, such as guideline and leadership workshops, plus a research symposium and award programs.
  • Community and career resources, including a journal, a store, and a career hub.
  • Public comment periods on draft guidelines, which is how the standards get revised with input from practicing nurses.

How it differs from adjacent resources

If you need… AORN is a good fit Consider instead
Perioperative-specific standards and OR training Yes — this is its focus General nursing bodies cover broader practice
Specialty society guidance for surgeons No Surgical specialty organizations
Facility-wide accreditation preparation Partly — guidelines support it Accreditation bodies set the requirements

A concrete scenario: a nurse educator at an ambulatory surgery center is onboarding four new OR nurses and needs a consistent curriculum plus a way to align the whole department on one guideline set. AORN's novice-nurse course and facility subscription model are built for exactly that combination. A single staff nurse who mainly wants to keep a license current may find the education offerings useful but should check whether the credits count toward their state requirements first.

Next step: decide which problem you're solving — individual credential maintenance, onboarding new OR staff, or department-wide standardization — then look at the membership versus facility options and the specific course credit types before committing. A trial membership is a low-cost way to test whether the guideline tools match how your team actually works.

How do I become a member of AORN and what does membership include?

You join AORN through its website by choosing a membership tier and completing an online application, and membership centers on evidence-based perioperative guidelines, continuing education, and community support.

How joining works

  • Go to AORN and use the Join/Renew entry point in the main navigation.
  • Create an account, select your membership category, and pay online; the site also offers a low-cost introductory trial for new members.
  • If your employer is a facility subscriber, check with your education or nursing leadership before paying individually, since course and guideline access may already be covered.

What membership includes

  • Access to AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice and implementation tools that help teams standardize technique facility-wide.
  • Continuing education, including CNE-bearing courses; the site lists courses such as a hybrid Cesarean-section course for labor and delivery nurses and Periop 101 OR for novice OR nurses, with credit hours shown per course.
  • Member resources and services: the AORN Journal, an online store, a career hub, and the AORN Foundation.
  • Community and professional programs: events and workshops, awards and nominations, research symposium abstract submissions, and public comment periods on draft guidelines.
  • A dedicated member area for managing your profile and benefits.

Who benefits most

  • New perioperative nurses get structured orientation content and foundational courses.
  • Experienced nurses and leaders get guideline updates, leadership workshops, and implementation support.
  • Managers and educators can compare individual membership with a facility subscription, which suits teams needing broad guideline access.

H3. Practical next step Decide whether you need individual benefits or team-wide guideline access, then compare the trial, standard membership, and facility options on the site. If you are unsure which course or credit type fits your role, contact AORN member services before enrolling.

How can I earn continuing education (CNE) credits through AORN?

AORN offers CNE through its courses, events, and publications, with credits typically expressed in contact hours (CH), AEU, and IPCH. The main routes are:

  • Periop 101 and specialty courses. Periop 101 OR is an online course that prepares novice nurses for the operating room; a hybrid course is aimed at new and returning labor and delivery nurses who participate in Cesarean section procedures. Both carry stated credit totals (for example, 39.8 CH/39.8 AEU/10.8 IPCH for Periop 101 OR).
  • Guideline and leadership workshops. Interactive sessions such as AORN Guideline and Leadership Workshops provide practical learning that can count toward continuing education.
  • Events and experiences. AORN Congress and similar events include education sessions; the Nursing Research Symposium also accepts abstract submissions.
  • Facility subscriptions. An online facility subscription gives teams access to current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice plus implementation tools, which supports ongoing education across a department.

If you are deciding where to start, match the credit type your state board or employer requires to the course description: CH and AEU are AORN's general measures, while IPCH indicates infection prevention contact hours. A staff nurse new to the OR would get the most direct credit path from Periop 101 OR; an experienced nurse seeking leadership credit would look at the guideline and leadership workshops.

Next step: check the individual course or event page for its credit statement and any accreditation details before registering, then confirm those credits are accepted by your licensing body.

What are the AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice and how do I access or implement them?

The AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice are evidence-based standards that define recommended practices for surgical and perioperative care, covering areas such as asepsis, sterilization, patient positioning, medication safety, and moderate sedation. AORN describes them as the standards that help keep healthcare workers and surgical patients safe, and it pairs them with education and implementation resources rather than publishing them as a standalone document.

Who they are for: perioperative nurses, OR educators, infection preventionists, and facility leaders responsible for standardizing practice across a surgical service. The page also points to related audiences: new OR nurses through Periop 101, labor and delivery nurses who participate in Cesarean procedures, and facilities buying team-wide access.

How access typically works

  • Individual membership: AORN promotes a trial membership for full access to guideline implementation tools and continuing education, with the stated option to cancel.
  • Facility subscription: the page describes an online facility subscription providing access to the most current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice plus a complete set of implementation tools, so a team can apply standardized techniques facility-wide.
  • Education add-ons: courses such as Periop 101 OR and the Cesarean-focused hybrid course carry continuing education credit and are aimed at building the clinical foundation for safe surgical practice. The page lists credit values for several offerings, but treat those as page-level details that can change.
  • Public input: AORN opens public commenting on individual guidelines, for example the Guideline for Care of the Patient Receiving Moderate Sedation/Analgesia.

A practical implementation path

  1. Confirm which edition your facility is currently using and who holds the subscription.
  2. Pick one or two high-risk topics rather than rolling out everything at once.
  3. Use the implementation tools to translate the recommendation into your unit's policy, competency checklists, and auditing.
  4. Assign an owner for each guideline and set a review date.
  5. Feed gaps into education — AORN's own course catalog shows how it links guidelines to training for novice OR nurses and specialty areas.

Decision criterion: if you need the guidelines for a single nurse's practice and continuing education, an individual membership is the lighter route. If you need organization-wide standardization, auditing, and onboarding, the facility subscription is the better fit because it distributes access and implementation tools across the team.

Next step: check your facility's current subscription status before buying individual access, then start with the guideline that maps to your most recent safety event or accreditation finding.

How do I register for AORN events such as Congress or leadership workshops?

Registration happens on AORN's own site, but the path differs by event: Congress and large meetings use the main registration system, while leadership workshops are listed under Events & Experiences with their own workshop registration pages.

AORN

What to expect on the site

  • Events & Experiences is the hub for workshops and conference listings. The homepage currently points to AORN Guideline and Leadership Workshops described as practical, interactive learning; the registration link sits with that listing.
  • AORN Congress has its own event area, including delegate sessions and Congress news. If you need to register as a delegate rather than an attendee, expect a separate process handled through your chapter or state council.
  • Workshops are typically smaller and may have limited seats, so registering early matters more than for a large annual meeting.
  • Membership status can affect what you pay and what you can access. The site is promoting a $1 two-month trial membership, which is worth checking before you register if you are not currently a member.

A practical sequence

  1. Create or sign in to your AORN account (the My AORN / Log In links in the header).
  2. Go to Events & Experiences and open the specific event.
  3. Choose your registration category — member, non-member, student, or group/facility.
  4. Complete payment and save the confirmation email; it usually carries the link to claim continuing education credit.
  5. For Congress, book housing and travel separately, and check the schedule for pre-conference sessions that require their own add-on fee.

Choosing between them

Congress Leadership / guideline workshops
Scale Large annual meeting with delegates, exhibits and research sessions Smaller, focused sessions
Best for Broad updates, networking, presenting abstracts, delegate duties Building specific skills or leadership capacity
Planning Register and book travel well ahead Watch for limited capacity and waitlists

If you get stuck

Contact AORN member services directly rather than relying on third-party event pages — those often lag behind the official listing, and only AORN can confirm your registration, transfer a seat, or issue a receipt for employer reimbursement. If your facility is paying, ask for an invoice option and the exact course codes (the CH, AEU and IPCH figures shown with each course) so your education department can process it without back-and-forth.

What resources does AORN offer for new perioperative nurses, such as Periop 101?

AORN's core offer for new perioperative nurses is Periop 101, an online course designed to prepare novice nurses for the operating room. The page also lists a related hybrid course for new and returning labor and delivery nurses who take part in Cesarean section procedures, providing the clinical foundation for safe surgical practice there.

Beyond formal courses, new nurses get:

  • Evidence-based guidelines and implementation tools — AORN describes these as the standards that help keep surgical patients and healthcare workers safe, with tools meant to apply standardized techniques facility-wide.
  • Continuing education (CNE) — the education spotlight lists contact hours (CH), AEU and IPCH values for its courses, which matters if you need to track credits for licensure or certification.
  • Community and support — the membership pitch emphasizes guideline implementation tools, CNE and 24/7 support from a perioperative community.
  • Events and workshops — guideline and leadership workshops for practical, interactive learning.
  • Career and research channels — a Career Hub, a Nursing Research Symposium where you can submit abstracts, and award nominations.

If you are evaluating Periop 101 for yourself or a new hire, check three things before committing: how much of the course is self-paced versus proctored, whether your facility's educators are set up to supervise the clinical component, and whether the contact hours count toward the credential you are pursuing. A new graduate hired into a hospital OR, for example, will usually need the facility to pair the online curriculum with hands-on preceptorship — the course supplies the didactic foundation, not the supervised cases.

For the authoritative course list, hours and enrollment steps, go to AORN and open the education section; for comparison, the Competency & Credentialing Institute at CCI covers perioperative certification rather than onboarding training.

Related questions

More questions →
What Is AORN (aorn.org)?

AORN is the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses, a professional organization that supports surgical and perioperative nurses with evidence-based guidelines, continuing education, and clinical resources. Its stated purpose is to define standards that help keep healthcare workers and surgical patients safe while supporting high-quality care. The site is most useful if you are a perioperative nurse, a nurse manager, or a facility looking for standardized practice guidance, CNE, or team training.

What AORN Provides

The organization centers on three main offerings, based on the site's own description:

  • Evidence-based guidelines — AORN defines standards for perioperative practice, and offers implementation tools and resources so teams can apply standardized techniques facility-wide.
  • Continuing education — Courses and education spotlighted on the site carry credit hours in several formats (for example, CH, AEU, and IPCH).
  • Clinical and community resources — Including 24/7 support from a perioperative community, plus a journal, store, career hub, and foundation.

Education and Training Options

The homepage's "Spotlight on Education" section lists several programs. Credit values shown on the page include:

Program Credits listed
Hybrid course for labor and delivery nurses participating in Cesarean section procedures 36.4 CH, 36.4 AEU, 9.7 IPCH
Periop 101 OR (online course preparing novice nurses for the operating room; part of the full Periop 101 Program) 39.8 CH, 39.8 AEU, 10.8 IPCH
Additional comprehensive course (description truncated on page) 18.5 CH, 18.5 AEU

A facility subscription is also described: it provides access to the most current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice along with a complete set of implementation tools and resources.

Membership and Access

The site promotes a trial offer: AORN Membership for Just $1, described as two months of full access to guideline implementation tools, CNE, and community support, with the note "No risk. Cancel anytime." If you only need to evaluate whether the guidelines and tools fit your practice, this is the lowest-commitment entry point mentioned on the page. Beyond the trial, the site does not state pricing in the material available here, so check the JOIN/RENEW page for current terms.

Other Things You Can Do on the Site

  • Events and workshops — Registration for AORN Guideline and Leadership Workshops, described as practical, interactive learning to strengthen expertise and leadership.
  • Awards and research — Nominations for the Award for Excellence and Individual Achievement Awards (open through Sept. 30), and abstract submissions for the Nursing Research Symposium.
  • Guideline public commenting — Open commenting on the Guideline for Care of the Patient Receiving Moderate Sedation/Analgesia.
  • Congress updates — Coverage such as the passing of the gavel to a new president at the Second House of Delegates.
  • Mission Partner Program — Long-term, purpose-driven partnerships intended to advance perioperative care.

Who It's For

AORN is aimed at perioperative and operating room nurses, labor and delivery nurses involved in surgical procedures, nurse educators, and facilities seeking standardized, evidence-based practice resources. If your goal is individual credentialing and CNE, the membership trial and education courses are the relevant starting points. If your goal is facility-wide standardization, the guidelines plus facility subscription and implementation tools are the relevant path.

What Does AORN Membership Include and How Can I Try It?

AORN (the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses) membership gives perioperative nurses access to evidence-based guidelines, guideline implementation tools, continuing education (CNE), and community support. If you're new to AORN, the site advertises a trial: 2 months of full access for just $1, described as no risk and cancel anytime. That trial offer is the fastest way to evaluate whether the resources fit your practice before committing.

What the membership provides

Based on AORN's own description of the offer, the $1 trial includes:

  • Guideline implementation tools — practical tools for applying AORN's evidence-based guidelines in your facility
  • CNE (continuing education) — credited education relevant to perioperative practice
  • 24/7 support from a perioperative community — ongoing access to peers and professional support

AORN's broader mission, as stated on the site, is to define standards that help keep healthcare workers and surgical patients safe while providing education and resources for high-quality care. Membership is positioned as the way to advance your perioperative practice.

Resources tied to membership

The site's navigation points to several member-facing areas:

Resource What it appears to be
AORN Journal The association's professional publication
Store Purchasable products and materials
Career Hub Career and job-related resources
Periop Corner Community/content area
My AORN Member account area
AORN Syntegrity AORN product line
AORN Foundation Foundation arm
Pfiedler Education Education partner

Note that the site does not state which of these require membership versus separate purchase or login. Treat the table as a map of what exists, not a guarantee of what's included at no extra cost.

Education and courses mentioned on the site

AORN highlights several education offerings with credit hours:

  • A hybrid course for labor and delivery nurses who participate in Cesarean section procedures — 36.4 CH, 36.4 AEU, 9.7 IPCH — described as providing the clinical foundation for safe surgical practice
  • Periop 101 OR — an online course preparing novice nurses for the operating room, part of the full Periop 101 Program — 39.8 CH, 39.8 AEU, 10.8 IPCH
  • An online facility subscription providing access to the most current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice, with a complete set of implementation tools to standardize techniques facility-wide

These are listed as education products; the site does not indicate whether they are included in individual membership or priced separately.

How to try it

  1. Go to aorn.org and look for the "New to AORN? Try AORN Membership for Just $1" prompt on the homepage.
  2. Select the trial offer ("Start Your Trial Today").
  3. Complete the sign-up process. The site states the trial covers 2 months of full access and can be canceled anytime.

Expected result: full member access for two months at $1, with the ability to cancel.

Common sticking points

  • Pricing beyond the trial isn't shown in the source material. The site advertises the $1 trial but does not list standard membership rates here, so check the join/renew page for current pricing.
  • Course vs. membership inclusion is unclear. The credit-bearing courses and facility subscription may be separate purchases. Confirm before assuming the trial covers them.
  • Login is required for member areas. "My AORN" and "Log In" appear in the navigation, so expect an account gate on personalized resources.
  • Cookie consent appears first. The site uses necessary cookies plus optional ones for ads, content, and analytics; you can accept or close before browsing.

If your goal is simply to read the guidelines and use the implementation tools, the $1 trial is a low-cost way to test access. If you need CNE credits for licensure, verify that the specific courses you want are reachable through the trial before it ends.

How AORN Develops and Provides Its Perioperative Guidelines

AORN (the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses) develops its Guidelines for Perioperative Practice using evidence-based methods, then distributes them through membership, facility subscriptions, and a public comment process. The guidelines exist to define standards that help protect both surgical patients and healthcare workers, and AORN pairs them with implementation tools so teams can apply standardized techniques facility-wide. If you want the current guidelines plus the tools to put them into practice, the practical routes are an AORN membership or an online facility subscription.

How the guidelines are developed

AORN states that it uses evidence-based guidelines to define the standards that help keep healthcare workers and surgical patients safe. Two features of the process are visible on the site:

  • Evidence-based foundation — the guidelines are positioned as standards derived from evidence rather than individual opinion, which is why they are described as supporting high-quality care.
  • Public comment on drafts — AORN opens selected guidelines for public commenting before finalization. At the time of the source material, commenting was open for the Guideline for Care of the Patient Receiving Moderate Sedation/Analgesia, with an invitation to "share your input."

That public comment window is the main way non-members and the broader perioperative community can influence a guideline while it is still in draft form.

How the guidelines are provided

AORN does not distribute the guidelines through a single channel. The source material shows several access paths, each aimed at a different user.

Access route What it provides Who it suits
AORN membership (trial offer) Full access to guideline implementation tools, CNE, and community support Individual nurses who want tools plus education
Online facility subscription Current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice plus a complete set of implementation tools and resources Teams and facilities standardizing practice organization-wide
Public comment pages Draft guideline text open for feedback Anyone wanting to shape a guideline before publication

The membership trial is described as "$1" for two months of full access, with the stated terms "No risk. Cancel anytime." Because the source does not list standard membership pricing beyond this trial, treat the $1 figure as a trial offer rather than the ongoing rate.

What the facility subscription adds

The online facility subscription is the route built for applying guidelines across a whole department. According to the source, it provides access to the most current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice and comes with a complete set of implementation tools and resources intended to "empower your team to apply standardized techniques facility-wide." If your goal is consistency across an OR suite rather than individual reference, this is the relevant option.

Where education fits in

Guidelines and training are connected on the site. AORN's education offerings carry credit values in CH (contact hours), AEU (AORN Education Units), and IPCH (IPCH credits), and several are explicitly tied to applying perioperative standards:

  • A hybrid course for new and returning labor and delivery nurses who participate in Cesarean section procedures, listed at 36.4 CH, 36.4 AEU, 9.7 IPCH, described as providing the clinical foundation for safe surgical practice.
  • Periop 101 OR, an online course preparing novice nurses for the operating room, listed at 39.8 CH, 39.8 AEU, 10.8 IPCH, and described as part of the full Periop 101 Program.
  • Additional courses listed with credit values such as 18.5 CH, 18.5 AEU.

These are education products rather than the guidelines themselves, but they are the structured way to build the knowledge the guidelines assume.

Choosing your route

  • If you are an individual nurse who wants the guidelines plus implementation tools and continuing education, start with the membership trial and confirm the ongoing price before it renews.
  • If you are equipping a facility or team, the online facility subscription is the option described as delivering current guidelines with a full implementation toolset for facility-wide use.
  • If you want to influence a specific guideline, watch the public comment announcements and submit input during the open window — for example, the moderate sedation/analgesia guideline when commenting was open.
  • If you need structured training alongside the standards, look at the credit-bearing courses and match the course to your role (for example, Periop 101 OR for nurses new to the OR).

One caveat worth noting: the source material does not list standard membership pricing, subscription pricing, or login requirements, so verify current cost and access terms directly on aorn.org before committing.

What Events, News, and Opportunities Are Available on AORN's Website?

AORN's website (aorn.org) serves as a hub for perioperative nursing professionals to register for workshops, follow industry news, submit research, and participate in awards and guideline commenting. The homepage highlights four main areas: Events & Experiences, News & Updates, Membership, and Education. Below is a breakdown of what each area offers and how to engage.

Events & Experiences

AORN hosts in-person and hybrid events designed to strengthen clinical and leadership skills.

  • AORN Guideline and Leadership Workshops — Practical, interactive learning sessions. Registration is available directly through the Events & Experiences section.
  • AORN Congress — A major industry event featuring delegate sessions and leadership transitions. The site notes the "Last Day Second House of Delegates" where the gavel was passed to a new president.
  • Nursing Research Symposium — Accepts abstract submissions for nurses to showcase their work.

News & Updates

The News & Updates section keeps members informed about opportunities to contribute and be recognized.

Opportunity Details Deadline / Status
Abstract submission Showcase work at the Nursing Research Symposium Open (check site for current dates)
Award nominations AORN Award for Excellence and Individual Achievement Awards Through Sept. 30
Guideline public commenting Open for the Guideline for Care of the Patient Receiving Moderate Sedation/Analgesia Open

These are time-sensitive opportunities. The site lists specific deadlines, so check the News & Updates section for the latest status.

Membership and Trial Access

AORN offers a low-commitment entry point for new members:

  • $1 trial membership — Provides 2 months of full access to guideline implementation tools, CNE, and 24/7 support from the perioperative community.
  • No risk, cancel anytime — The trial is described as cancellable at any time.

This is useful if you want to explore AORN's resources before committing to a full membership.

Education and Training

The Spotlight on Education section lists courses with continuing education credits (CH, AEU, IPCH). Examples from the site include:

  • Cesarean section hybrid course — 36.4 CH, 36.4 AEU, 9.7 IPCH. Designed for new and returning labor and delivery nurses.
  • Periop 101 OR — 39.8 CH, 39.8 AEU, 10.8 IPCH. An online course preparing novice nurses for the operating room.
  • Facility subscription — Provides access to current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice with implementation tools for team-wide standardization.

These courses are aimed at both individual nurses and facilities seeking to standardize training.

How to Participate

  1. Register for workshops — Go to the Events & Experiences section and select the workshop you want.
  2. Submit an abstract — Use the News & Updates link for the Nursing Research Symposium.
  3. Nominate a colleague — Award nominations are open through Sept. 30.
  4. Comment on guidelines — Public commenting is open for the moderate sedation/analgesia guideline.
  5. Start a trial membership — Use the $1 trial link to access tools and CNE for 2 months.

Key Takeaways

  • AORN's website is not just a resource library; it's an active platform for events, awards, research, and guideline development.
  • Deadlines matter — award nominations close Sept. 30, and guideline commenting windows are limited.
  • The $1 trial membership is a low-barrier way to access guideline tools and CNE.
  • Education offerings carry specific credit hours (CH, AEU, IPCH), which can support licensure and certification requirements.

For the most current dates and registration links, visit the respective sections on aorn.org.

What Continuing Education and Training Courses Does AORN Offer?

AORN (the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses) offers continuing education and training through its online courses and facility subscriptions, with credits reported in CH (contact hours), AEU (AORN Education Units), and IPCH (IPCH credits). The courses named on its site target two specific groups: nurses new to the operating room, and labor and delivery nurses who take part in Cesarean section procedures. If you are outside those groups, the site's listed course catalog is narrower than the full range of perioperative education AORN describes.

Courses named on the site

Course Audience Format Credits listed
Periop 101 OR Novice nurses preparing for the operating room Online course; part of the full Periop 101 Program 39.8 CH, 39.8 AEU, 10.8 IPCH
Cesarean section course New and returning labor and delivery nurses who participate in C-section procedures Hybrid 36.4 CH, 36.4 AEU, 9.7 IPCH
Facility subscription Perioperative teams at a facility Online subscription Not stated

Periop 101 OR

This is an online course that prepares novice nurses for the operating room. AORN describes it as part of the full Periop 101 Program, so the OR course is one component rather than the whole program. The credit values above are the ones listed for this course.

Cesarean section course

AORN describes this as a hybrid course for new and returning labor and delivery nurses who participate in Cesarean section procedures. Its stated purpose is to provide the clinical foundation for safe surgical practice in that setting. Because it is hybrid, expect both online and in-person components; the site does not detail the split.

Facility subscription

This is an online facility subscription that provides access to the most current AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice, along with a complete set of implementation tools and resources. AORN frames it as a way to apply standardized techniques facility-wide. It is a subscription for a facility rather than an individual course, and no credit values are listed for it.

What the credits mean

AORN reports course credit in three units: CH, AEU, and IPCH. The site lists all three for the Periop 101 OR and Cesarean section courses, and lists none for the facility subscription. Whether a given unit satisfies your state board, employer, or certification requirement depends on your own licensing and credentialing rules, which the site does not address.

Other education-related activity on the site

Beyond the courses above, the site points to:

  • Guideline and Leadership Workshops — practical, interactive learning intended to strengthen expertise and leadership; registration is open.
  • AORN Guidelines — evidence-based guidelines that AORN says define standards helping keep healthcare workers and surgical patients safe.
  • Nursing Research Symposium — abstract submissions are open.
  • Awards — nominations for the Award for Excellence and Individual Achievement Awards.

How to decide whether this fits you

  • You are a nurse new to the OR: the Periop 101 OR course is the named option, and it sits inside the larger Periop 101 Program.
  • You are a labor and delivery nurse involved in C-sections: the hybrid Cesarean section course is the named option.
  • You need your whole team working from current guidelines: the facility subscription is the named option, and it is purchased at the facility level.
  • You want to sample AORN before committing: the site advertises a membership trial for $1 giving 2 months of full access, with cancellation at any time. The site does not state a regular membership price, so treat the $1 figure as trial pricing only.

The site does not publish prices for the courses or the facility subscription, and it does not state whether any of these require login or membership to enroll. Confirm cost, enrollment requirements, and whether your specific credit needs are met directly with AORN before registering.

Website Overview

An established domain and managed infrastructure suggest continuity of operations and may support dependable delivery, although neither guarantees service quality.

Domain and Registration

Registered in 1994, this domain has about 32 years of history. That suggests continuity, although ownership and purpose may have changed. Transfer-protection status is present, helping reduce the risk of unauthorized domain transfers. The registrar is Cloudflare, Inc., a widely used domain service provider. The domain uses the common .org extension, which is not an independent safety signal.

DNS and Email

Nameservers are provided by Cloudflare, indicating managed DNS hosting. MX records point to the Microsoft 365 email service. No CNAME was found; the observed records resolve directly to addresses. SPF and DMARC are configured. DKIM status is unknown. TXT records include verification markers for Google, Apple, Atlassian, Meta. Such markers may also remain after a service stops being used.

TLS and Certificates

The public key uses EC with 256 bits. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. No organization name is present in the certificate; the available fields are consistent with domain validation. The certificate was issued within the Google Trust Services cloud or CDN ecosystem. The certificate's total validity is about 90 days, consistent with a short renewal cycle.

HTTP and Browser Security

X-Powered-By exposes backend information: ASP.NET. The response lacks these common security headers: CSP, Permissions-Policy. The cf-ray response header indicates a CDN or caching proxy in the delivery path. No obvious internal addresses or debug information were found in the headers. The Server header identifies cloudflare without an exact version.

Technology Stack Analysis

The public page identifies Sitefinity 15.4.8636.0 DX, Google Tag Manager, Cloudflare, Microsoft IIS without precise versions, leaving fewer clues for version-specific scanning.

Search and Social Sharing

The Generator tag identifies Sitefinity 15.4.8636.0 DX, making the publishing system easier to fingerprint. Open Graph is partially configured; og:image is missing. JSON-LD includes Organization data, helping describe the organization as an entity. The title has 53 characters, within a common display range. A meta description is present, with 150 characters.

Hosting and Email

DNSCloudflare
HostingCloudflare
EmailMicrosoft 365
Approximate IP geolocation (inferred; a CDN or proxy may differ from the origin server) United States flagUnited States Inferred 2606:4700::6812:1e85

Registration details

RDAP / WHOIS

RegistrarCloudflare, Inc.
Registered1994-08-22
Expires2027-08-21
Domain statusclient transfer prohibited
Nameserverschris.ns.cloudflare.com、diva.ns.cloudflare.com
DNSSECunsigned

DNS records

DNS

TypeNameValueTTLPriority
Awww.aorn.org104.18.30.133300—
Awww.aorn.org104.18.31.133300—
AAAAwww.aorn.org2606:4700::6812:1e85300—
AAAAwww.aorn.org2606:4700::6812:1f85300—
MXaorn.orgaorn-org.mail.protection.outlook.com36000
NSaorn.orgchris.ns.cloudflare.com86400—
NSaorn.orgdiva.ns.cloudflare.com86400—
TXTaorn.org1password-site-verification=OD2SPUDYDVGNTDUPBDLXWQCIZA300—
TXTaorn.orgB/Vloh7BNJh/zUUsbiJu/HSenLpOx0f8nycyrHfOgqp43dfkEV+EXbppVgYUSgV2vXxo3xsdMyUqVEGV9it7Xw==300—
TXTaorn.organthropic-domain-verification-97gwva=5mkOKksAD99ZN976WwZkM7qHS300—
TXTaorn.orgapple-domain-verification=tuL9mdMlwMift8XG300—
TXTaorn.orgatlassian-domain-verification=UnKKevP77HVGb7JPKla8BseKNz4OOqaF5G4Lw4T4wBBamy/AIEwhI2UxIdNacw04300—
TXTaorn.orgcloudflare_dashboard_sso=bc07a2be592b3f6342bd1c8183b39849300—
TXTaorn.orgfacebook-domain-verification=u5gtd9jwzzzvingt6u238qd6t9xgoh300—
TXTaorn.orggoogle-site-verification=rrZxms79ZTDXzFKQzgyM7s7t0nx25zg1giGCRjb_dLg300—
TXTaorn.orginfoblox-domain-mastery=59efc065f338b984721d6f49d68229ca88eb7eb7bd721720c9c7c83f9778d8c869300—
TXTaorn.orgsitecore-280430-cd.azurewebsites.net300—
TXTaorn.orgv=spf1 include:spf.protection.outlook.com include:_spf.smallworldlabs.com include:_spf.salesforce.com include:spf.cadmiumcd.com +ip4:130.94.64.172 +ip4:128.241.121.222 +ip4:64.132.221.110 +ip4:64.132.221.30 +ip4:50.200.223.114 +ip4:34.193.83.200 +ip4:34.193.55.148 +ip4:12.162.231.60 +ip4:50.246.222.33 include:email.nimbleams.com ~all300—
TXTaorn.orgvf028nb4465mmfoauhbvkdeebf300—
DMARC_dmarc.aorn.orgv=DMARC1; p=quarantine; rua=mailto:[email protected],mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; fo=0; rf=afrf; pct=100300—

TLS and certificates

TLS / SSL

AssessmentNormal configuration
Supported protocolsTLSv1.2、TLSv1.3
Negotiated protocolTLSv1.3
Certificate subjectwww.aorn.org
IssuerGoogle Trust Services
Valid until2026-12-13T22:15 · Remaining when checked: 69 days
Verification detailsCertificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed

HTTP response headers

HTTP

HeaderValue
content-typetext/html; charset=utf-8
cache-controlno-cache
servercloudflare
strict-transport-securitymax-age=31536000; includeSubDomains
x-frame-optionsSAMEORIGIN
x-content-type-optionsnosniff
referrer-policyno-referrer-when-downgrade
set-cookieRedacted

Identified technologies

Sitefinity 15.4.8636.0 DXGoogle Tag ManagerCloudflareMicrosoft IIS

Pages, Search and Sharing

Meta descriptionAORN empowers perioperative nurses with guidelines, continuing education, and clinical resources for safer surgery. Join now to advance your practice.
Canonical URLhttps://www.aorn.org
LanguageEnglish (default)
Twitter CardNot detected
All bots 0 allowed · 2 disallowed
  • Disallow/docs/default-source/guideline-essentials-documents/
  • Disallow/docs/default-source/tool-kit-documents/

No sitemaps found

User reviews (0)

  • No reviews yet.