Website profiles · Technology insights · Alternatives

eshop.macsales.com

Upgrade your Apple devices with premium Apple Mac upgrades and computer products from MacSales.com. We also provide docks, external storage, & more!

No paid content found
Visit website
Profile views 1 Outbound visits 0 Normal
Apple Mac Upgrades and Computer Products – RAM, SSDs & More Full homepage screenshot

At a glance

Category
Shopping
Language
English
Paid-content signal
No paid content foundObserved
Registered
1996
Hosting
edgekey.netInferred
HTTPS certificate trusted
PassedObserved
Last updated

Website review

This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.

What is MacSales.com used for?

MacSales.com is an online store for buying and upgrading Apple hardware. Its main focus is helping people get more performance or lower prices than buying new from Apple: memory and internal storage upgrades, external drives, docks and accessories, plus new, used and certified pre-owned Macs, iPhones, iPads and Apple Watches.

Typical uses

  • Upgrading an existing Mac: adding RAM or swapping in a larger SSD to extend a machine's useful life.
  • Expanding storage cheaply: the site positions external OWC drives (such as the Express 4M2 and Express 1M2) as a lower-cost alternative to paying for more internal storage on a new Mac Studio.
  • Buying refurbished Apple devices: certified pre-owned iPhones, iPads and watches are tested and sold as a budget route into Apple hardware.
  • Equipping a desk or studio: docks, power adapters, displays and storage arrays, including multi-bay RAID units aimed at video and backup work.
  • Researching repairs and upgrades: the Rocket Yard blog carries DIY guides and technical advice.

Who it suits

Buyer Fit
Someone with an older Mac that feels slow Strong — upgrades are the core offer
A video or media user needing fast external storage Strong — RAID and high-speed drive options
A shopper wanting a cheaper iPhone or iPad Good — certified pre-owned stock
Someone who wants only new, current Apple gear with Apple warranty Weaker — a general retailer or Apple itself is simpler

The trade-off is that upgrades and refurbished units require you to check compatibility and warranty terms yourself, which is more work than a straight new purchase.

As a next step, identify your exact Mac model and year before browsing, since memory and storage options vary by machine; then compare the upgrade cost against the price of a used or new system on the same site. For cross-checking refurbished prices, Apple's own certified refurbished store at Apple is a useful baseline.

How can I upgrade the RAM or SSD in my Mac to improve performance?

For most modern Macs, the honest answer is that RAM is soldered and cannot be upgraded after purchase, so the practical route is choosing enough memory when you buy and expanding storage externally. On older Intel models with user-accessible slots, a memory and SSD swap is a real option. Treat this as general guidance, not a promise about your specific machine.

Match the upgrade to your Mac

  • Apple silicon (M-series) MacBook Air/Pro, Mac mini, iMac, Mac Studio: RAM is fixed at purchase. Internal SSD is not a simple swap either; use external Thunderbolt/USB storage or a dock for more capacity.
  • Older Intel MacBook Pro/Air, Mac mini, iMac: many have accessible RAM slots and a replaceable drive. Check your exact model's service manual or a model-specific guide before buying parts.
  • Mac Pro (older tower models): designed for user upgrades; verify generation and slot type.

Where each upgrade actually helps

Upgrade Best for Limitation
More RAM Many browser tabs, virtual machines, photo/video editing, large datasets Impossible on soldered-memory Macs
Faster/larger internal SSD Boot speed, app launches, large project files Often not user-replaceable on newer Macs
External SSD via Thunderbolt/USB Media libraries, backups, moving large files off the boot drive Slightly slower than internal; adds a device to carry

A practical next step

Identify your exact model (Apple menu > About This Mac), then look up whether RAM and storage are user-serviceable. If they aren't, price an external SSD with the right interface for your ports and confirm it supports your workflow's sustained speeds.

For parts, upgrade kits and model-specific guides, MacSales.com sells Mac upgrades, external storage and docks, and publishes DIY install videos. For official service procedures, Apple Support lists specifications and repair options by model.

Which OWC external storage option should I choose for expanding Mac Studio storage?

For most Mac Studio owners who just need more room for projects, media and backups, the OWC Express 1M2 is the simpler pick; choose the OWC Express 4M2 when you want a multi-drive enclosure you can populate and expand yourself. The page presents both as alternatives to paying Apple's internal storage upgrade prices, framing capacity and real-world speed as the deciding factors rather than raw benchmarks.

How the two options differ in practice

Situation Better fit Why
Everyday expansion: photo libraries, Final Cut libraries, archives Express 1M2 Single portable drive; buy the capacity you need and carry it between machines
Large, growing workloads; editing directly from external storage Express 4M2 Four bays let you add drives over time and configure them together
You want one cable and nothing to configure Express 1M2 No enclosure setup or drive installation decisions
You already own spare drives or expect to add more later Express 4M2 Reuses drives and scales by adding bays rather than replacing the whole unit

The trade-off is simplicity versus flexibility: a single portable drive is easier to recommend to a freelancer or home user, while a multi-bay enclosure suits a small studio or anyone whose storage needs will keep climbing. Note that the page pairs the 4M2 with high-capacity configurations and the 1M2 with a "80G" designation, so confirm the exact port speed and included drive capacity on each product page before deciding.

A useful next step

List the size of your current Mac Studio library plus one year of expected growth, then compare that figure against the capacity of each option. If the answer fits comfortably on one drive, take the Express 1M2; if it is close to or beyond a single drive, the Express 4M2 leaves headroom. For background on OWC's testing and upgrade process, the Rocket Yard Blog linked from the site is a reasonable starting point, and Apple's own support pages at Apple Support cover Mac Studio port and storage basics.

Are certified pre-owned iPhones, iPads, and Apple Watches from OWC reliable, and how are they tested?

OWC presents its certified pre-owned iPhones, iPads and Apple Watches as "tested, trusted and ready to ship," and its page describes a behind-the-scenes process in which an expert team tests, upgrades and certifies each device for speed, reliability and sustainability. That is the company's own account of its process, so treat it as OWC's quality claim rather than independent proof. The page does not publish a detailed checklist—no battery-health thresholds, cosmetic grading definitions, diagnostic steps or warranty terms appear in the supplied content—so ask for those specifics before buying.

How to judge reliability in practice

  • Ask for the battery report. For iPhones and Apple Watches, battery health is the most common source of disappointment in used devices. Request the cycle count and maximum capacity for the exact unit.
  • Ask what "certified" covers. Clarify the return window, warranty length, and whether the battery or display is replaced during refurbishment.
  • Check the cosmetic grade. Decide whether you need a pristine screen or can accept light wear, since grading standards vary between sellers.
  • Confirm the device is unlocked and that Activation Lock is cleared, so you can use your own carrier and Apple ID.

A concrete scenario: a parent buying a first iPhone for a teenager may find a tested pre-owned unit sensible, because the savings matter more than the latest model. A professional relying on an Apple Watch for health tracking should instead prioritize a recent model with strong battery health, or buy new.

Trade-offs and alternatives

Pre-owned devices cost less and reuse hardware, but you accept an older model, possible cosmetic wear and shorter remaining software support. If you want Apple's own refurbishment standards, compare with Apple; for broader used-device selection, Back Market and Swappa are established marketplaces. As a next step, contact OWC support for the battery-health figures, warranty length and return policy on the specific model you are considering.

Can I buy a used Mac from MacSales.com, and what coverage or warranty comes with it?

Yes. MacSales.com sells used Macs alongside new ones, and its page describes a certification process in which its team tests, upgrades and certifies each device before sale. The site also advertises a year of extended coverage with Mac purchases for US customers, powered by OWC Eclipse.

What the page supports

  • Used Macs: The “Shop New & Used Macs” section confirms used Macs are part of the lineup, not just accessories or upgrades.
  • Condition checks: The “bring a Mac back to life” feature describes expert testing, upgrading and certification against standards for speed, reliability and sustainability.
  • Coverage: Buying any Mac is advertised with a year of extended coverage at no extra cost, limited to US customers.

What to confirm before ordering

The page does not spell out the full warranty terms, so check the individual product listing or coverage documents for:

  • The exact used condition grade and what is included in the box.
  • Whether the one-year coverage begins at purchase and what it covers, such as defects versus accidental damage.
  • Whether coverage applies to used Macs as well as new ones, and any eligibility limits for US customers.
  • The return window and who handles repairs.

A practical next step is to choose a specific used Mac model, then read its listing’s condition and coverage details before comparing it with refurbished options from Apple’s official store at Apple.

Which docks, power adapters, and Apple accessories does MacSales.com sell for setting up a Mac workspace?

MacSales.com sells docks and connectivity, power adapters, external and internal storage, memory upgrades, and genuine Apple accessories, alongside new and certified pre-owned Macs and Apple devices. For a Mac workspace, the relevant sections are Docks & Connectivity (hubs, docks, cables, adapters), Power Adapters, and Apple Accessories for chargers, cables and input devices. The site also lists displays, so you can source a monitor and the dock or adapter needed to connect it from one place.

Matching the category to the setup

Workspace need MacSales.com section What to check before buying
Connecting a monitor, drive and peripherals through one cable Docks & Connectivity Port types on your specific Mac (Thunderbolt/USB-C vs. older ports), number of display outputs, and whether the dock supplies power to the laptop
Replacing or adding a charger Power Adapters Wattage and connector type required by your model; avoid guessing from the listing alone
Keyboard, mouse, trackpad, cables Apple Accessories Whether the item is genuine Apple or a third-party equivalent, and compatibility with your Mac's OS version
Extra or faster storage External Storage, Internal Storage Enclosure interface and drive speed versus what your Mac's ports can actually deliver
More memory Memory Exact model and year of your Mac; memory is model-specific and not universal

A practical buying sequence

Start with the Mac model and year, then list the ports it has. That determines whether you need a Thunderbolt dock, a simpler USB-C hub, or an adapter for legacy connections. Only then compare docks, because a hub that fits a MacBook Air may be redundant on a desktop with plenty of built-in ports.

For power, match the adapter to the wattage your Mac expects; an underpowered adapter may charge slowly or not at all under load. For accessories, decide whether you want genuine Apple parts or lower-cost alternatives, since the site presents both.

Where to look beyond the store

If you want independent buying guidance before choosing a dock or adapter, Apple publishes official compatibility information for its own accessories, and MacRumors covers accessory roundups and compatibility notes. Use those for model-specific confirmation, then return to MacSales.com for the purchase itself.

Related questions

More questions →
Buying Certified Pre-Owned Apple Devices from MacSales.com: What to Know First

MacSales.com (eshop.macsales.com) sells OWC-certified pre-owned Macs, iPhones, iPads, and Apple Watches alongside new and used Macs and upgrade parts. Before buying, know four things: every device is tested, upgraded, and certified by OWC's team; the site describes its standards as speed, reliability, and sustainability; some promotions add extended coverage (for example, a year of OWC Eclipse coverage on Mac purchases, US customers only); and the pitch is value versus new, not identical-to-new condition. The sections below cover what the site actually states, what it leaves open, and how to decide.

What "certified pre-owned" means on this site

MacSales.com's own description of its process is a behind-the-scenes look at how its expert team "tests, upgrades, and certifies each device to meet our high standards for speed, reliability, and sustainability." That tells you the workflow has three stages—testing, upgrading, certifying—but the public page does not publish the specific test checklist, battery-health thresholds, cosmetic grading scale, or return window. Treat "certified" as a claim to verify per product, not a spec you can assume.

The categories the site explicitly covers as certified pre-owned:

Category How the site frames it
Macs New & used Macs; "Buy Any Mac. Get a Year of Extended Coverage On Us!" (US customers only, powered by OWC Eclipse)
iPhone "OWC Tested, Verified, and Ready to Ship"; "Your Next iPhone, for Less"
iPad "OWC Certified Pre-Owned iPads"; "A Smarter Value"
Apple Watch "Pre-Owned. OWC Tested. Wrist-Ready."

The value case, and where it stops

The site's core argument is price versus new: "Save Big vs. New," "Upgrade for Less," and storage upgrades that avoid "the premium price" of configuring storage inside a new Mac Studio. For budget-conscious buyers, that is the real draw—especially on Macs, where Apple's own storage and memory upgrades are expensive and fixed at purchase.

Two caveats follow from the page itself:

  • "Premium" appears in the site's own pricing language ("premium Apple Mac upgrades," "without the premium price"). The site positions its products as premium-tier, not bargain-bin. Expect certified pre-owned pricing to sit between generic used listings and new.
  • No prices, warranty lengths, or return terms are published on the page. The only concrete coverage signal is the promotional year of OWC Eclipse coverage on Mac purchases, limited to US customers. Confirm warranty and return terms on the individual product page before checkout.

How to evaluate a specific listing

Because grading and warranty details aren't standardized on the landing page, work through this checklist for each device:

  1. Confirm the certification label. Look for "OWC Certified Pre-Owned" or "OWC Tested, Verified" on the product page—not just "used."
  2. Check the configuration. For Macs, note RAM and storage as shipped; on Apple silicon these are generally not user-upgradable, so buy the capacity you need up front. (The site's upgrade pitch centers on external storage like OWC Express 4M2 and Express 1M2 for Mac Studio, which is the workaround when internal capacity is fixed.)
  3. Read the warranty and coverage terms. Verify what the included warranty covers and whether the Eclipse extended-coverage promotion applies to your device and country.
  4. Check battery and cosmetic condition for iPhones, iPads, and Watches—ask support if the listing doesn't state it.
  5. Compare against new. Price the same configuration new (including Apple's upgrade costs) and against other certified-refurbished sellers; the savings should justify any cosmetic wear and shorter coverage.

Who this fits

Certified pre-owned from MacSales.com suits buyers who want a tested Apple device at below-new pricing and are comfortable verifying condition and warranty per listing—particularly Mac buyers who can pair a lower-cost machine with OWC external storage. It fits less well if you need published, uniform grading standards, non-US delivery of the Eclipse promotion, or the full manufacturer warranty that comes only with new. In those cases, compare new or Apple-refurbished options on the same configuration before deciding.

What is eshop.macsales.com (MacSales.com)?

eshop.macsales.com — commonly known as MacSales.com — is an online store for Apple users, focused on Mac upgrades (memory, internal and external storage), accessories, and OWC-branded hardware. It also sells new and certified pre-owned Macs, iPhones, iPads, and Apple Watches. It's a good fit if you want to extend the life of an existing Mac with an upgrade, add storage or connectivity, or buy tested pre-owned Apple gear rather than paying new-device prices.

What the site sells

The store organizes its catalog around a few core areas:

Category What you'll find
Mac upgrades Memory and internal storage upgrades for Macs
External storage OWC Express 4M2, portable OWC Express 1M2 80G, OWC ThunderBay 4 RAID enclosure
Docks & connectivity Docks and connection accessories
Power Power adapters
Apple accessories Curated genuine Apple accessories
Macs New and used Macs
Pre-owned devices OWC certified pre-owned iPhones, iPads, and Apple Watches
Displays & other devices Displays, Apple TV, Apple Watch

The homepage frames the whole store around one promise: "Upgrade the Performance of Nearly Any Mac."

The upgrade angle

The site's main differentiator is upgrading rather than replacing. Two examples from the page show how this is positioned:

  • Mac Studio storage: Instead of paying for a higher-capacity drive inside a new Mac Studio, the store suggests an external OWC solution — the high-capacity OWC Express 4M2 or the portable OWC Express 1M2 80G — to get the capacity and real-world performance a workflow needs "for far less."
  • ThunderBay 4: A four-bay RAID enclosure with universal 2.5" or 3.5" drive bays, speeds up to 1527MB/s, and configurations up to 96TB, listed from $229.00. The page positions it for everything from everyday backup to multi-stream compressed 4K video.

If your goal is to keep a working Mac in service longer, these are the kinds of products to look at first. If you need a whole new machine, the new and pre-owned Mac sections are the relevant entry point.

OWC branding and certified pre-owned devices

Much of the hardware is OWC-branded, and the store also runs an OWC certified pre-owned program. The page describes a behind-the-scenes process in which "our expert team tests, upgrades, and certifies each device" for speed, reliability, and sustainability. Pre-owned iPhones, iPads, and Apple Watches are described as "OWC Tested, Trusted, and Ready to Ship."

That certification claim is the main thing to verify when comparing a pre-owned listing against a new device: check the specific condition grade and warranty terms on the product page rather than relying on the general marketing language.

Current promotions mentioned on the page

  • Extended coverage: "Buy Any Mac. Get a Year of Extended Coverage On Us!" — powered by OWC Eclipse, US customers only.
  • OWCtoberfest: a seasonal savings event on tech deals.
  • Mac Savings Event: discounts across the Mac lineup.

Promotions like these rotate, so confirm the offer is still active at checkout.

Who it's for

  • Mac owners wanting more speed or space without buying a new machine — memory, internal SSD, or external storage upgrades.
  • Workflows that need high-capacity, fast storage — the ThunderBay 4 and Express line are aimed at backup and video work.
  • Budget-conscious Apple buyers — certified pre-owned iPhones, iPads, and Watches, plus used Macs.
  • People who want one store for Apple accessories — the site markets itself as a one-stop shop for genuine Apple accessories with expert support.

If you need the latest unopened Apple release at standard retail, a first-party store is the more direct route; MacSales.com is strongest when upgrading, adding storage, or buying tested pre-owned gear.

Practical next step

Start from the category that matches your task — "Shop Your Upgrades" for memory and storage, the Mac lineup for machines, or the pre-owned sections for iPhones, iPads, and Watches. Before buying, confirm three things on the product page: exact compatibility with your Mac model, the warranty or coverage terms (especially for pre-owned devices and the US-only extended coverage offer), and whether any listed promotion still applies.

How to Upgrade Your Mac’s Performance or Storage Through MacSales.com

MacSales.com (eshop.macsales.com) is an OWC storefront for Mac upgrades and accessories. You can improve a Mac in three practical ways: add memory where your model allows it, expand storage with an internal or external SSD, and improve connectivity with docks and adapters. The site also sells new and certified pre-owned Macs, iPhones, iPads, and Apple Watches, so it can serve as a single stop for both upgrades and replacement devices. Before buying, confirm your exact model’s compatibility and whether the part is user-installable.

What you can upgrade, and what to check first

Upgrade path What it changes Check before ordering
Memory (RAM) Multitasking headroom and performance in memory-heavy apps Exact Mac model and year; whether RAM is soldered or replaceable; required specification
Internal storage Capacity and drive speed on supported models Model-specific drive compatibility; installation difficulty; warranty implications
External storage Capacity and workflow speed without opening the Mac Port type and speed (Thunderbolt/USB); whether you need bus-powered portability or a multi-bay desktop unit
Docks and connectivity Port expansion, display connections, power delivery Ports your Mac provides; displays and peripherals you need to connect
Power adapters Replacement or spare charging Wattage and connector required by your device

The site’s own framing is “Upgrade the Performance of Nearly Any Mac,” with configuration choices and savings versus buying new. That “nearly” matters: Apple has soldered RAM on many recent models, so memory upgrades are not universal. Treat the compatibility check as the first step, not the last.

Storage: the most broadly applicable upgrade

Storage is where MacSales.com puts the most emphasis, and it is usually the easiest upgrade to justify. Two routes:

External SSD for Mac Studio and other sealed Macs

The site specifically promotes expanding Mac Studio storage without paying the premium for a factory storage upgrade. It points to the OWC Express 4M2 (high-capacity desktop enclosure) and the portable OWC Express 1M2 80G. The logic is straightforward: buy the Mac with the storage you need for the system and active projects, then put large media libraries, archives, and project files on external drives. You get capacity and real-world speed for less than configuring a larger internal drive at purchase.

This approach suits video editors, photographers, and anyone with large asset libraries. It does not suit people who need everything on internal storage for travel or who dislike managing multiple volumes.

RAID and multi-bay storage for heavier workflows

For sustained throughput and redundancy, the site highlights the OWC ThunderBay 4: four bays accepting 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch drives, speeds up to 1527MB/s, and capacity up to 96TB, listed from $229.00. That class of device fits backup, multi-stream compressed 4K video, and centralized project storage. A single portable SSD is simpler and cheaper for lighter use; a four-bay RAID makes more sense when you need capacity and speed together and can accept desktop-only hardware.

Internal drives

Internal SSD upgrades are model-dependent. Check the specific drive listing against your Mac’s model identifier, and note whether installation requires special tools or a service provider. If your Mac’s storage is soldered, skip this path entirely and use external storage.

Memory, docks, and the rest of the catalog

Memory upgrades deliver the clearest benefit for users running many apps, virtual machines, or large browser workloads, but only on models with replaceable RAM. Verify the exact specification before ordering; the wrong speed or density can prevent booting.

Docks and connectivity products solve a different problem: port scarcity. If you regularly connect displays, card readers, audio interfaces, or Ethernet, a dock can turn a limited-port laptop into a desk setup. Match the dock to your Mac’s fastest available port so you are not paying for bandwidth you cannot use.

The site also stocks power adapters, Apple accessories, and certified pre-owned iPhones, iPads, and Apple Watches, described as OWC-tested and ready to ship. These are replacement purchases rather than upgrades, but they follow the same rule: confirm the model and condition details in the listing.

Upgrade versus buy new: how to decide

Use this comparison on the same dimensions:

  • Cost: The site positions upgrades and certified pre-owned devices as savings versus new. Compare the upgrade price against the cost of a new Mac configured with equivalent storage or memory.
  • Performance ceiling: RAM and storage upgrades help memory- and storage-bound work. They do not make an older CPU faster. If your bottleneck is processor performance, an upgrade will disappoint.
  • Longevity: An upgrade can extend a Mac’s useful life by years if the rest of the machine still meets your needs.
  • Risk and effort: Internal installs carry compatibility and warranty considerations. External drives and docks carry almost none.
  • Convenience: External storage means managing multiple volumes; a larger internal drive does not.

A reasonable default: if your Mac is otherwise fast enough and you are running out of space or memory, upgrade. If it struggles with CPU-heavy tasks, put the money toward a newer machine.

Ordering checklist

  1. Identify your exact Mac model and year (Apple menu > About This Mac).
  2. Open the product listing and confirm compatibility with that model.
  3. Confirm the port type and speed for external drives and docks.
  4. Decide between portable and desktop storage based on whether the drive travels.
  5. For internal installs, confirm the tools and steps required, or plan for professional installation.
  6. Check the listing for warranty, coverage, and shipping details; the site advertises a year of extended coverage with Mac purchases for US customers, so read the terms that apply to your order.

The main pitfall is buying a part for the wrong model generation. The second is assuming every Mac can be opened and upgraded. Confirm both before checkout, and the rest of the purchase is straightforward.

What Support and Warranty Options Does MacSales.com Offer?

MacSales.com (eshop.macsales.com) pairs its hardware with several layers of after-sales help: a year of extended coverage on purchased Macs for US customers, expert support tied to accessories and upgrades, a technical blog for DIY guidance, and a testing/certification process behind its certified pre-owned devices. The exact warranty terms for each product category are not spelled out on the page reviewed here, so confirm coverage for a specific item before ordering.

Extended coverage on Mac purchases

The site's homepage headline offer is "Buy Any Mac. Get a Year of Extended Coverage On Us!" The page describes this as "total peace of mind, powered by OWC Eclipse" and notes it is for US customers only.

What this means in practice:

  • The benefit attaches to buying a Mac through the store, not to accessories or upgrades bought separately.
  • Eligibility is limited by geography — if you are outside the US, do not count on this inclusion.
  • The page does not state whether the coverage stacks with Apple's own warranty, what it covers, or how claims are filed. Ask support to confirm those details for the specific Mac you are considering.

Expert support and buying help

The page positions the store as a "one-stop shop" for Apple accessories "backed by expert support," and frames its pre-owned devices as "OWC Tested, Trusted, and Ready to Ship." For buyers who are unsure which upgrade fits their machine, that support channel is the practical starting point — describe your Mac model and workflow, and ask which memory, storage, or dock option matches it.

The site also organizes shopping by category (Macs, external storage, internal storage, memory, docks and connectivity, power adapters), which helps narrow choices before you contact anyone.

Self-service help: the Rocket Yard blog

MacSales.com runs the Rocket Yard Blog, described as a source for "tech tips, advice, industry news, DIY guides, Apple news, deep dives into all that is computing." If your question is "can I install this myself?" or "how do I migrate data to a new drive?", the blog is the first place to look before opening a support ticket. It is guidance content, not a warranty document — installation mistakes are a separate matter from product coverage.

Certified pre-owned devices: what the page does and doesn't say

The store sells OWC Certified Pre-Owned iPhones, iPads, and Apple Watches, and shows a behind-the-scenes video on how its team "tests, upgrades, and certifies each device to meet our high standards for speed, reliability, and sustainability."

That tells you about the refurbishment process. It does not state the warranty length, return window, or remedy for a pre-owned device that fails. Those are the questions to put in writing to support before purchase, along with:

  • Whether the one-year extended coverage applies to pre-owned Macs or only new ones.
  • What proof of purchase you need for a claim.
  • Who handles service — OWC/MacSales or Apple.

A quick way to decide

Your situation What to do first
Buying a Mac in the US Confirm in writing that the one-year extended coverage is included and what it covers
Buying a Mac outside the US Assume the coverage offer does not apply; ask what local support exists
Buying a pre-owned iPhone, iPad, or Watch Request the warranty term and return policy before checkout
Planning a DIY upgrade Read the relevant Rocket Yard guide, then confirm compatibility with support
Unsure which upgrade fits your model Contact expert support with your exact Mac model and workflow

The pattern across all of these: the site advertises coverage and expertise clearly, but the binding details live with support. Get the terms for your specific product in writing, and the rest of the purchase is straightforward.

Should I upgrade Mac Studio storage internally or use an OWC external drive?

For most Mac Studio owners, an external OWC drive is the more practical way to add capacity: MacSales.com explicitly positions its OWC Express 4M2 and portable Express 1M2 80G as ways to "upgrade your Mac Studio storage without the premium price," and says OWC delivers "the capacity and real-world performance your workflow demands… for far less" than paying to upgrade storage inside a new Mac Studio. Internal upgrades make sense mainly if you need maximum built-in capacity and want no external device in your workflow. The trade-off is cost versus convenience, and the right answer depends on how much space you need and whether your work is stationary or mobile.

The core comparison

Dimension Internal Mac Studio storage upgrade OWC external drive (Express 4M2 or Express 1M2 80G)
Cost MacSales.com frames internal upgrades as carrying a "premium price" Positioned as "far less" for the same capacity and real-world performance
Capacity Fixed at the capacity you configure or buy Chosen separately; the 4M2 is described as a "high-capacity" option
Form factor Built in, nothing extra to carry 4M2 is a multi-drive enclosure; 1M2 80G is portable
Best fit Users who want everything inside the machine Users who want more space per dollar, or who move between setups

The site does not publish specific prices for either path in the material reviewed, so treat the cost gap as a directional claim from MacSales.com rather than a number you can budget against without checking current listings.

Which OWC option fits your workflow

OWC Express 4M2 — for stationary, high-capacity work

The 4M2 is the choice when your Mac Studio stays on a desk and you need a large pool of storage. MacSales.com describes it as the "high-capacity" option for Mac Studio expansion. This suits video editors, photographers, and anyone archiving large project libraries who wants one attached volume rather than juggling several drives.

OWC Express 1M2 80G — for portability

The 1M2 80G is the portable alternative. Choose it if you move between a desk, a client site, or a laptop, and want your working files to travel with you. It trades the 4M2's bay capacity for something you can carry.

When internal still wins

Pick the internal upgrade if any of these apply:

  • You regularly work in locations where attaching and powering an external drive is impractical.
  • You want a single device with no cables or extra power bricks.
  • Your total storage need is modest enough that the premium is a one-time cost you accept for simplicity.

Matching capacity and performance to your workflow

MacSales.com's pitch is about "real-world performance your workflow demands," not benchmark bragging. Use that framing to decide:

  1. Estimate your working set. Add up the size of active projects, not your entire archive. That number tells you whether a portable 1M2 80G is enough or whether you need the 4M2's larger capacity.
  2. Separate active from archival. Keep current projects on fast storage and move finished work to a larger, slower pool. The 4M2's capacity makes it a natural archive and backup target.
  3. Check the connection on your Mac. Confirm which ports your Mac Studio model offers before buying, so the drive connects at the speed you expect. MacSales.com lists Docks & Connectivity and External Storage as categories if you need adapters.
  4. Verify before you commit. Because the site does not publish drive speeds or prices for these two models in the material reviewed, confirm current specs and pricing on the product pages before ordering.

Who should choose external

External OWC storage is the better fit if you:

  • Want more capacity than the internal upgrade price justifies.
  • Work primarily at one desk and can leave a drive attached.
  • Need a large archive or backup volume alongside your main drive.
  • Are willing to manage a second device in exchange for lower cost per terabyte.

Internal is the better fit if you value an all-in-one machine, work untethered, or have modest storage needs.

Practical next steps

  • Browse the Mac Studio upgrade options and the OWC Express 4M2 and Express 1M2 80G product pages on eshop.macsales.com to compare current capacity and pricing.
  • If you are also buying a Mac, note the site's offer of a year of extended coverage (OWC Eclipse) with any Mac purchase, US customers only.
  • Check the Trending Categories (External Storage, Internal Storage, Docks & Connectivity) if you need related gear.
  • For DIY guidance, the Rocket Yard Blog carries tech tips and upgrade guides.

Website Overview

An established domain and managed infrastructure suggest continuity of operations and may support dependable delivery, although neither guarantees service quality.

Domain and Registration

Registered in 1996, this domain has about 30 years of history. That suggests continuity, although ownership and purpose may have changed. Transfer-protection status is present, helping reduce the risk of unauthorized domain transfers. The domain uses the common .com extension, which is not an independent safety signal.

DNS and Email

The lowest TTL is 20 seconds, supporting rapid record changes at the cost of more frequent lookups. Nameservers are provided by Akamai Edge DNS, indicating managed DNS hosting. MX records point to the Microsoft 365 email service. SPF and DMARC are configured. DKIM status is unknown. TXT records include verification markers for Apple, Atlassian, Meta, Microsoft. Such markers may also remain after a service stops being used.

TLS and Certificates

The certificate includes the organization field Other World Computing, Inc.. The certificate issuer is DigiCert Inc, a commercial certificate authority. The certificate uses an RSA 2048-bit public key, offering broad client compatibility. The server supplied a complete certificate chain. The certificate is valid for about 198 days in total, with 195 days remaining.

HTTP and Browser Security

The response lacks these common security headers: HSTS, X-Content-Type-Options, Referrer-Policy, Permissions-Policy. CORS permits any origin to read this response. This is common for public resources; sensitive responses need narrower handling. No X-Powered-By header was found, reducing one common source of backend fingerprinting information. No obvious internal addresses or debug information were found in the headers. The Server header identifies nginx without an exact version.

Technology Stack Analysis

The public page identifies Google Tag Manager, Google Analytics, nginx without precise versions, leaving fewer clues for version-specific scanning.

Search and Social Sharing

Open Graph is partially configured; og:title, og:description, og:type is missing. JSON-LD includes Organization data, helping describe the organization as an entity. The title has 59 characters, within a common display range. A meta description is present, with 148 characters. The observed directives allow indexing and link following.

Hosting and Email

DNSAkamai Edge DNS
Hostingedgekey.net
EmailMicrosoft 365
Approximate IP geolocation (inferred; a CDN or proxy may differ from the origin server) United States flagAtlanta, Georgia, United States Inferred 184.87.32.218

Registration details

RDAP / WHOIS

RegistrarWild West Domains, LLC
Registered1996-04-02
Expires2028-10-16
Domain statusclient delete prohibited、client renew prohibited、client transfer prohibited、client update prohibited
Nameserversa1-71.akam.net、a11-66.akam.net、a13-67.akam.net、a18-64.akam.net、a22-65.akam.net、a6-66.akam.net
DNSSECunsigned

DNS records

DNS

TypeNameValueTTLPriority
Ae4755.dsca.akamaiedge.net184.87.32.21820—
AAAAe4755.dsca.akamaiedge.net2600:1402:b800:d83::129320—
AAAAe4755.dsca.akamaiedge.net2600:1402:b800:d88::129320—
MXmacsales.commacsales-com.mail.protection.outlook.com3000
NSmacsales.coma1-71.akam.net172800—
NSmacsales.coma11-66.akam.net172800—
NSmacsales.coma13-67.akam.net172800—
NSmacsales.coma18-64.akam.net172800—
NSmacsales.coma22-65.akam.net172800—
NSmacsales.coma6-66.akam.net172800—
TXTmacsales.com539083C611300—
TXTmacsales.com838659392-14384149300—
TXTmacsales.comEUG7UNMLRW._autotask.macsales.com300—
TXTmacsales.comMS=4C60A6532D8932C700A0D6ED402D452CBDC2B9E5300—
TXTmacsales.comMS=ms90787704300—
TXTmacsales.comZOOM_verify_lzpJwbBcS7WVNHgMfEQ6bw300—
TXTmacsales.comapple-domain-verification=AXSiKd3PDWCgdiwD300—
TXTmacsales.comatlassian-domain-verification=PNsEfsrF9Xnrl74xmBlJzOXerhISt1T8BMt2TYlrkYSszovW2P8P1EHPLjFLLxc7300—
TXTmacsales.combw=wphNKftb5X3wc2vNSoAfOzqIY6cUrRnMbhdODlP6LHSW300—
TXTmacsales.comduo_sso_verification=nGjLhtvn6YEo3gtTDyA1bxgxW9EWusiuTMHNeuN8mXo988NOVWgxf94UrRNET2po300—
TXTmacsales.comfacebook-domain-verification=1lralhb8dxozpjp0p7rgxn66z8p7u7300—
TXTmacsales.comjamf-site-verification=cQRytlRRPHeJzIHPLDIPZA300—
TXTmacsales.comklaviyo-site-verification=X7cMuJ300—
TXTmacsales.comknowbe4-site-verification=406622d44c04eeb8b5c42f9adb577f69300—
TXTmacsales.comv=spf1 redirect=macsales.com.hosted.spf-report.com300—
CNAMEeshop.macsales.comeshop.macsales.com.edgekey.net7200—
DMARCmacsales.com.hosted.dmarc-report.comv=DMARC1; p=reject; rua=mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; fo=1; pct=100300—

TLS and certificates

TLS / SSL

AssessmentNormal configuration
Supported protocolsTLSv1.2
Negotiated protocolTLSv1.2
Certificate subjectmacsales.com
IssuerDigiCert Inc
Valid until2027-05-13T23:59 · Remaining when checked: 195 days
Verification detailsCertificate trust: Passed · Hostname match: Passed

HTTP response headers

HTTP

HeaderValue
content-typetext/html;charset=UTF-8
servernginx
content-security-policyframe-ancestors *.macsales.com *.ntdist.com *.owcnow.com www.sjwoe.com owc-ms.my.salesforce-sites.com *.owc.com:*
x-frame-optionsSAMEORIGIN
access-control-allow-origin*
set-cookieRedacted

Identified technologies

Google Tag ManagerGoogle Analyticsnginx

Pages, Search and Sharing

Meta descriptionUpgrade your Apple devices with premium Apple Mac upgrades and computer products from MacSales.com. We also provide docks, external storage, & more!
Canonical URLhttps://eshop.macsales.com/
LanguageEnglish (default)
Twitter CardNot detected
googlebot 0 allowed · 0 disallowed
googlebot-image 0 allowed · 0 disallowed
adsbot-google 1 allowed · 0 disallowed
  • Allow/
All bots 2 allowed · 3 disallowed
  • Allow/blog/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
  • Allow/
  • Disallow/blog/wp-includes/
  • Disallow/blog/wp-admin/
  • Disallow/blog/wp-content/plugins/

User reviews (0)

  • No reviews yet.