Website review
This review may include AI-generated content and is not individually verified. Domain, certificate and other facts come from the observed data on this page.
What is the Gary R. Carlson, MD, College of Veterinary Medicine?
The Gary R. Carlson, MD, College of Veterinary Medicine is Oregon State University's veterinary school, described on its site as "Oregon's Veterinary Hub." Its stated purpose is to educate future veterinarians and veterinary scientists and to serve the public through a teaching hospital, a diagnostic laboratory and research.
What it covers
- Academics: Degrees in veterinary medicine and comparative health sciences, plus an undergraduate certificate in One Health.
- Lois Bates Acheson Veterinary Teaching Hospital: Faculty and staff treat patients of all species while training veterinary students.
- Oregon Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory: The state's front-line lab for animal-health diagnostics and testing, including links between animal and human health.
- News and events: The site highlights faculty appointments and clinical programs, such as a new canine total hip replacement program and new specialists in emergency and critical care, clinical pathology and large animal surgery.
Who it serves
Prospective students and residents considering veterinary or comparative-health training; pet and livestock owners referred to the teaching hospital; veterinarians and agencies needing diagnostic testing; and researchers or partners in One Health work.
A practical next step
Match your role to the right part of the site: applicants should look at the academics pages for program and admission details, animal owners at the teaching hospital pages for services and referral guidance, and veterinarians at the diagnostic laboratory pages for testing information. For broader context, compare with other veterinary programs such as UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine or University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine.
What degree programs and undergraduate certificates does Oregon State's College of Veterinary Medicine offer?
Oregon State's College of Veterinary Medicine offers degree programs in veterinary medicine and comparative health sciences, plus an undergraduate certificate program in One Health, according to the college's own description of its academics.
What each option suits
- Veterinary medicine (DVM path): for students aiming to become practicing veterinarians; the college's teaching hospital and diagnostic laboratory support clinical training.
- Comparative health sciences: a graduate-level research route for those interested in the intersections of animal and human health rather than clinical practice alone.
- One Health undergraduate certificate: a fit for undergraduates in related majors (animal science, public health, biology) who want formal grounding in the links between animal, human and environmental health without committing to a veterinary degree.
How to choose
Decide first whether your goal is clinical practice, research, or adding a health-focused credential to another degree. Prospective applicants should confirm admission requirements, prerequisites and delivery format directly with the college, since the page summary does not detail them.
For broader university context, see Oregon State University.
How can pet and livestock owners access the Lois Bates Acheson Veterinary Teaching Hospital for care?
Pet and livestock owners reach the Lois Bates Acheson Veterinary Teaching Hospital through Oregon State University's College of Veterinary Medicine, which runs the hospital as a teaching facility serving patients of all species. The college describes the hospital as a place where faculty and staff teach veterinary students while providing medical care, so owners should expect a university teaching-hospital model rather than a standard private practice.
What the site tells you
- The hospital is part of Oregon State's College of Veterinary Medicine and is presented as serving "patients of all species," which points to both companion animals and livestock.
- The college frames its mission around three public-facing arms: the teaching hospital, the Oregon Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, and research. The diagnostic lab is separate from clinical care and is described as the state's front-line lab for animal health testing.
- The site lists a "Contact Info" section, which is the practical starting point for an appointment inquiry.
A sensible next step
Call the hospital's published contact number before traveling, and be ready to describe species, age, symptoms, duration, current medications, and your regular veterinarian's details. Ask three things directly: whether your animal's case fits the hospital's services, whether a referral is required, and what the expected cost range and wait time look like. For livestock, confirm hauling and unloading arrangements and whether the large-animal service is available on your preferred date.
Decision criteria
| Situation | Better first move |
|---|---|
| Routine wellness, vaccinations, minor illness | Your local veterinarian; the teaching hospital is typically geared to referral-level and complex cases |
| Complex, specialty, or emergency case | Call the teaching hospital and ask about referral and emergency intake |
| Herd or flock testing, necropsy, disease investigation | Ask about the Oregon Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory rather than the clinic |
Because teaching hospitals involve students under faculty supervision, appointments can take longer and may include observation or discussion—useful if you want a thorough workup, less ideal if you need speed and simplicity. Owners traveling from outside the Corvallis area should also confirm parking, overnight boarding options, and whether follow-up can be handled by their local vet.
What diagnostic testing services does the Oregon Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory provide for animal and human health?
The page does not list specific diagnostic tests. It describes the Oregon Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory as "Oregon's front-line laboratory for diagnostics and testing for animal health and its relationship to human health," and positions it alongside the teaching hospital and research programs as one of the college's three public-facing services. So the reliable answer is about role and scope, not a test menu.
What the page supports
- Purpose: diagnostic testing focused on animal health and its connection to human health, which points to a One Health orientation rather than companion-animal testing alone. The college also offers an undergraduate certificate in One Health, which fits that framing.
- Who it serves: the public, through the laboratory, alongside veterinarians and researchers. The teaching hospital treats "patients of all species," suggesting the lab's caseload is not limited to dogs and cats.
- How it fits the college: testing supports clinical care in the Lois Bates Acheson Veterinary Teaching Hospital and the college's research efforts, and it gives students real diagnostic material to learn from.
What is not stated
No test categories, turnaround times, submission requirements, fees or species-specific panels appear on this page. Anyone who needs a necropsy, histopathology, microbiology, toxicology or molecular result should not infer availability from this overview.
Practical next step
If you are a veterinarian or owner deciding where to send a sample, treat this page as a pointer to the laboratory rather than a service catalog. Start from the laboratory's own section of the college site, where submission forms and test lists normally live, and confirm species, sample type and turnaround before shipping anything time-sensitive. For a suspected zoonotic case, ask explicitly whether the test you need is one the lab handles, since the animal–human health link is described as its focus but not itemized.
For comparison, other veterinary diagnostic labs publish full test directories, such as UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine and Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Checking a published menu against your sample type is a faster way to judge fit than reading a college overview page.
What does the new canine total hip replacement program involve and which dogs qualify?
The Oregon State veterinary college's October 16, 2026 story announces a new canine total hip replacement program described as "removes the source of pain." Beyond that framing, the page evidence does not detail the surgical technique, implant system, recovery protocol or eligibility criteria, so specifics on which dogs qualify are not stated there.
What the program is positioned to do
Total hip replacement is a surgical option for dogs whose hip pain stems from conditions such as severe hip dysplasia or osteoarthritis that no longer respond well to conservative management. The program's stated aim of removing the source of pain fits that pattern: replacing the diseased joint rather than managing it. The college frames the work through its Lois Bates Acheson Veterinary Teaching Hospital, where faculty and staff treat patients while teaching students, so cases are likely handled within a referral teaching-hospital setting.
How a dog would typically be assessed (general veterinary guidance, not program rules)
- Confirmation that hip disease is the main source of pain, through examination and imaging.
- Body condition and overall health sufficient for anesthesia and surgery.
- No active infection or other condition that would make implantation risky.
- Owner commitment to a structured recovery and follow-up.
Next step
For a dog with persistent hip pain, ask your primary veterinarian whether referral to a teaching hospital is reasonable, then contact the hospital directly to confirm the program's current candidacy criteria and referral process. The college's main site is Oregon State College of Veterinary Medicine.
Who is eligible to apply to the DVM program and what does the admissions process require?
The page evidence from the Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine site states that the college offers degrees in veterinary medicine and comparative health sciences, but it does not list DVM eligibility rules or the application requirements. Those details live on the college's admissions pages, not on this landing page.
What the page does establish
- The college educates future veterinarians and veterinary scientists, so the DVM is a professional degree delivered through its academic programs.
- Students train alongside clinicians in the Lois Bates Acheson Veterinary Teaching Hospital and the Oregon Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, which is the kind of hands-on experience applicants are usually preparing for.
- There is also an undergraduate One Health certificate and comparative health sciences degrees, which are separate pathways and not the DVM.
What to confirm before applying
Typical DVM admissions processes in the US ask for:
- Prerequisite coursework in biology, chemistry, organic chemistry, physics, math and English, usually with minimum grades.
- A bachelor's degree or a set number of credits; some programs admit without a completed degree.
- Standardized test scores, though many schools have made them optional.
- Animal and veterinary experience hours, plus letters of evaluation.
- A centralized application (VMCAS for most US programs) with transcripts and a personal statement, followed by a supplemental application and possibly an interview.
Treat this as general guidance: verify each item against the college's own admissions requirements, since prerequisite lists, deadlines and test policies vary by school and change year to year.
Next step
Open the admissions section of Oregon State's Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine and look for the DVM admissions requirements page, then compare its prerequisite list against your transcript. If you are an Oregon resident, check residency and tuition classification rules at the same time, because they affect both eligibility for certain seats and cost.
For a broader comparison of requirements across programs, the AAVMC's official site at AAVMC publishes application timelines and school-specific prerequisites.
User reviews (0)